Massive quantities of snow accumulate as moist Pacific air moves over the St. Elias Mountains, feeding the St. Elias Icefields. Valley glaciers radiate out from the icefields, fed by the icefields themselves. Glacial movements are often immense and spectacular and the St. Elias Mountains are home to the greatest concentration of surging glaciers in North America.

Surge Cycle

crevsses on surface of glacier
The Little Kluane Glacier during a surge

Surge type glaciers alternate between quiescent periods of slow movement and brief periods of fast surging motion when the toe of the glacier rapidly advances. During the quiescent period the glaciers continue to slowly flow, but ice gradually builds up in the reservoir zone until a threshold is reached at which point ice is rapidly transferred down-glacier in a surge.

During a surge a glacier can move 100 times faster than usual leaving ice stranded on valley walls and forming jumbled ice cliffs, chaotic crevassing and seracs on its surface. The toe of the glacier advances down valley, often by several kilometres in a matter of months. The advance doesn’t mean there is more glacial ice, but that the ice is moving downhill more quickly. Milder temperatures at the glacier’s terminus cause the ice to melt more quickly and the toe of the glacier recedes. And the cycle begins again. As the climate continues to warm and glaciers continue to lose ice mass, ongoing monitoring is needed to warn area residents of unstable lakes.

Tales of two glaciers

Nàłùdäy (Lowell Glacier)

Nàłùdäy

In the past, surges of Nàłùdäy (Lowell Glacier) have dammed the Alsek River at Goatherd Mountain. The resulting lake extended well back to and over the present site of the Village of Haines Junction. The most recent Neoglacial Lake Alsek drained around 1850 in two days after the ice dam broke, with a flow rate comparable to that of the Amazon River. Huge gravel current ripples from this outflow, as well as wave-cut lake benches, are visible in the park along the Alsek Trail. The flooding events associated with Nàłùdäy's surges are the subject of Southern Tutchone First Nation people's legends and stories.

Since 1948 Nàłùdäy has surged five times, once about every fifteen years. Even though the toe has rapidly and dramatically advanced each time, causing consternation, it hasn’t caused a complete blockage of the river. And a pattern is emerging. Each surge is a little less pronounced and doesn’t last quite as long as the previous one.

Wasting away
View of Lowell Glacier
Nàłùdäy, 2018

Over the same period Nàłùdäy has undergone significant wasting, which is consistent with other glaciers in the region, and likely underlies the reduction in surge extent and duration. Even if a surge were to completely block the river today, Nàłùdäy's ice has thinned so much that the impounded lake would likely spill over the top of the ice dam before the rising lake waters would reach Haines Junction. That's good news for the Village.

Snow swamp

More recently, during the summer of 2018, record temperatures resulted in a massive “snow swamp”, a slushy mixture of snow and melt water, forming on the upper reaches of Nàłùdäy surface. While the phenomenon itself is not unusual in the warm summer months, its size (45 square kilometres) and the speed with which it formed (a matter of several days) were unprecedented. Over the next several weeks the melt water drained into Lowell Lake at Nàłùdäy's toe increasing the rate of flow in the Alsek River downstream of the lake. A little more ice shed from an already thinning glacier. And a reminder that the warming world we are inhabiting might not be good news for glaciers.

Dän Zhür (Donjek Glacier)

Dän Zhür

Dän Zhür has a documented history of surging that dates back to the 1930s. Since then it has surged eight times, advancing several hundred meters further into the Dän Zhür Chù (Donjek River) valley. Surges typically last 1 to 3 years, during which time glacier flow speeds can be as high as 1,500 m per year. Like all of Kluane’s glaciers, Dän Zhür is losing ice mass each year due to rising temperatures from the combustion of fossil fuels. This has led to less extensive surge events and overall retreat of the glacier.

The last surge
Dän Zhür, 2016

Dän Zhür’s last surge in 2012-2013 caused the glacier to advance and partially dam the Dän Zhür Chù. By the end of the surge a lake had formed at the terminus of the glacier at the intersection of the glacier and river. Since the surge, satellites and time lapse cameras have helped to monitored the growth of the lake.

After the surge

In 2017, on August 15 or 16, the 1.3 km2 lake drained. The following winter, a lake refilled in the same area, growing to 1.86 km2 before it drained again, between August 19 and 21, 2018. The most recent lake formed over the winter of 2018-19 and reached 2.2 km2 at the glacier terminus, the largest lake observed in the last hundred years.

Here today and gone tomorrow

On July 13, 2019 an ice dam holding back the lake broke and the entire lake drained within a period of 36 hours. Fortunately, no one was injured nor was infrastructure damaged during the recent lake drainage event. This event formed an ice canyon at the terminus of Dän Zhür, meaning that lake formation is unlikely to occur again this winter.

07-12-2019

07-13-2019

07-14-2019

07-15-2019

07-16-2019

Days of future past

To form another lake at Dän Zhür, a surge is needed to create a new ice dam. A new surge is forecast for the mid-2020s based on the fairly consistent 12-year repeat interval of Dän Zhür’s surges. The big question for Dän Zhür is if and how lakes will continue to form. Will they get bigger, smaller, or cease to form in the future?

More information on surging glaciers

Characteristics of the last five surges of Lowell Glacier
Terminus advance, kinematics and mass redistribution during eight surges of Donjek Glacier

Quand l’air humide du Pacifique passe au-dessus de la chaîne Saint-Élie, la neige s’accumule en quantité énorme sur le champ de glace de Saint-Élie. Les glaciers de vallée naissent du champ de glace et sont alimentés par ce dernier. Les avancées glaciaires sont souvent formidables et spectaculaires et la chaîne Saint-Élie est l’endroit d’Amérique du Nord où l’on trouve la plus grande concentration de surges glaciaires.

Cycle des surges

Une crue glaciaire du Little Kluane Glacier

Les glaciers sujets à des surges alternent entre des périodes calmes de mouvement lent et des périodes brèves de surge rapide lorsque le front du glacier se déplace vite. Pendant la période calme, le glacier continue de glisser lentement, mais la glace s’amoncelle progressivement dans la zone d’accumulation jusqu’à ce qu’elle atteigne un seuil où elle dévale le glacier sous forme de surge.

Au cours d’une surge, un glacier peut se déplacer jusqu’à 100 fois plus vite qu’en temps normal, laissant de gros blocs de glace sur les parois de la vallée et formant un enchevêtrement de falaises de glace, et des crevasses et des séracs chaotiques à sa surface. Le front du glacier se déplace vers l’aval, souvent de plusieurs kilomètres en quelques mois. Cette avance ne signifie pas que le volume du glacier augmente, mais plutôt que la glace descend plus rapidement. Sous l’effet de températures plus douces, la glace se trouvant à l’avant du glacier fond plus vite et le front recule. Ensuite, le même cycle se répète. Comme le climat continue de se réchauffer et que les glaciers continuent de perdre de la masse glaciaire, une surveillance plus poussée est nécessaire pour avertir les résidents de la région de l’instabilité des lacs.

L’histoire de deux glaciers

Nàłùdäy (glacier Lowell)

Nàłùdäy

Par le passé, les surges du Nàłùdäy (glacier Lowell) ont barré la rivière Alsek au mont Goatherd. La lac ainsi formés couvraient une superficie allant jusqu’à l’emplacement actuel du village de Haines Junction ou même encore plus loin. Le dernier lac « néoglaciaire » Alsek s’est vidé vers 1850, deux jours après la rupture du barrage de glace, avec un débit comparable à celui du fleuve Amazone. Dans le parc, le long du sentier Alsek, on peut observer les énormes ondulations du torrent de gravier et les replats de lac qu’il a créés. Les inondations provoquées par les mouvements du Nàłùdäy sont le sujet des contes et légendes de la Première Nation des Tutchones du Sud.

Depuis 1948, le Nàłùdäy a connu cinq surges glaciaires, soit environ une tous les quinze ans. Bien que le front ait avancé rapidement et dramatiquement à chaque surge, provoquant la consternation, il n’a pas bloqué la rivière. Toutefois, on a constaté l’apparition d’une tendance : chaque surge est un peu moins forte et ne dure pas aussi longtemps que la précédente.

Perte de masse

Pendant la même période, le Nàłùdäy a perdu beaucoup de son volume, comme d’ailleurs les autres glaciers de la région. Cela explique probablement la réduction de l’ampleur et de la durée des surges glaciaires. L’épaisseur du Nàłùdäy ayant tellement diminué, même si une surge bloquait complètement la rivière de nos jours, l’eau du lac qui en résulterait passerait au dessus du barrage de glace avant qu’elle ne puisse atteindre Haines Junction. C’est une bonne nouvelle pour le village.

Marais de neige

Dernièrement, pendant l’été 2018, des températures record ont créé un énorme « marais de neige », mélange de neige et d’eau de fonte, sur la partie supérieure du Nàludäy. Bien que le phénomène ne soit pas rare en soi pendant le réchauffement qui accompagne les mois d’été, la superficie du lac (45 km2) et la vitesse à laquelle il s’est formé (en l’espace de quelques jours) sont sans précédent. Au cours des semaines qui ont suivi, les eaux de fonte se sont déversées dans le lac Lowell au front du Nàłùdäy, augmentant le débit de la rivière Alsek en aval du lac. Un glacier déjà bien réduit a encore perdu un peu plus de glace. Cela nous rappelle que le réchauffement du monde dans lequel nous vivons n’augure rien de bon pour les glaciers.

Dän Zhür (glacier Donjek)

Dän Zhür

Dän Zhür a un historique de crues glaciaires qui remonte aux années 1930. Depuis lors, il y en a eu huit, et le glacier s’est avancé de plusieurs centaine de mètres plus loin dans la vallée de la rivière Donjek (Dän Zhür Chù). L’avancée rapide du glacier dure généralement de 1 à 3 ans, période pendant laquelle la vitesse d’écoulement glaciaire peut atteindre 1 500 m par an. Comme tous les glaciers de Kluane, Dän Zhür perd chaque année une partie de sa masse glaciaire en raison de la hausse des températures due à la combustion de combustibles fossiles. Cela a entraîné une atténuation de l’ampleur des crues glaciaires et, globalement, un retrait du glacier.

La dernière crue glaciaire
Dän Zhür, 2016

La dernière crue glaciaire du Dän Zhür, en 2012-2013, a fait avancer le glacier et a bloqué en partie la Dän Zhür Chù. À la fin de cette crue, un lac s’était formé à l’extrémité du glacier, à l’intersection entre celui-ci et la rivière. Depuis, l’imagerie par satellite et les appareils pour prises de vue en accéléré permettent de surveiller l’étendue du lac.

Après la crue glaciaire

En 2017, le 15 ou le 16 août, le lac de 1,3 km2 s’est drainé. L’hiver suivant, un lac s’est formé de nouveau dans le même secteur, atteignant une superficie de 1,86 km2 avant de se drainer encore une fois, entre le 19 et 21 août 2018. Le lac le plus récent s’est formé pendant l’hiver 2018-2019 et a atteint une superficie de 2,2 km2 à l’extrémité du glacier. C’était le plus grand lac observé à cet endroit au cours des 100 dernières années.

Ici aujourd’hui et parti demain

Le 13 juillet 2019, l’embâcle qui retenait le lac s’est rompu, et le lac s’est complètement drainé en 36 heures. Heureusement, personne n’a été blessé et l’infrastructure n’a pas été endommagée lors de cet événement, qui a entraîné la formation d’un canyon de glace à l’extrémité du Dän Zhür, de sorte que la formation d’un lac est peu susceptible de se reproduire.

07-12-2019

07-13-2019

07-14-2019

07-15-2019

07-16-2019

Que réserve l’avenir

Pour qu’un autre lac se forme dans la région du Dän Zhür, il faudrait qu’une crue glaciaire entraîne une nouvelle digue de glace. Sur la base de l’intervalle de 12 ans relativement constant des crues glaciaires du Dän Zhür, on prévoit qu’il y en aura une nouvelle au milieu des années 2020. La grande question pour le Dän Zhür, c’est de savoir si des lacs vont continuer à se former et comment. Deviendront-ils plus grands, plus petits ou cesseront-ils de se former à l’avenir?  

Pour en savoir davantage sur les surges glaciaires

Characteristics of the last five surges of Lowell Glacier (anglais seulement)
Terminus advance, kinematics and mass redistribution during eight surges of Donjek Glacier (anglais seulement)