The big thaw

Every spring, as lengthening days overtake long winter nights, a day comes when the sunlight seems to hold a hint of warmth, and the wind no longer cuts like a knife. Gradually snow becomes rotten and begins to disappear, exposing patches of frozen earth beneath. On the barren, south facing slopes of Thechàl Dhâl, in the north end of the park, the melting and thawing releases a precious bit of moisture into the powdery soil. This is sufficient for sage, adapted to growing on these dry, windswept slopes, to start greening up.

Famine and feast

Dall sheep ram
Spring ram on Thechàl Dhâl

For the Dall's sheep who have spent long winter months foraging here on dried sage supplemented by the dried leaves and tips of willow twigs exposed by the winter winds, the fresh greenery is badly needed. Their winter diet does not provide them with adequate sustenance. They must also rely on their reserves of body fat to get them through the winter. Spring signals the end of the long winter famine.

Soon after the last of the snow disappears from the lower slopes, the ewes, heavy with lamb, retreat one by one to the solitude of nearby cliffs, to give birth. Within days they return to the open slopes with their newborn lambs, watchful for the ever-present threat of predators, the Golden Eagle and the Grizzly bear, eager to prey on their lambs.

Nursery group of ewes and lambs foraging
Nursery group of ewes and lambs foraging

In search of greener pastures

By the time the solstice ushers in the short northern summer, the sheep have followed the retreating snowline and freshly emerging vegetation to summer pastures in the high country. The ewes, with newborn and yearling lambs, migrate in nursery groups, while the mature rams, with their spiralled horns, travel in separate bachelor herds.

Dust of ages

Abandoned, the slopes of Thechàl Dhâl bask in the gentle sunlight of the long summer days overlooking the valley of the Ä´äy Chù (Slim’s River). Once, the Ä´äy Chù´ was a great river of ice, a glacier, creeping down the valley grinding bedrock into a flour-like powder. And then the glacier melted back, leaving the rock flour thick on the valley floor.

dust clound in the A'ay Chu Valley
Thechàl Dhâl and dust cloud blowing down the Ä´äy Chù valley

Since that time, summer winds—the restless marriage of warm coastal air and cold glacial breezes—have frolicked down the valley stirring up clouds of this mineral rich dust; draping it across the valley-facing slopes of Thechàl Dhâl. The accumulation of dust over the ages has formed a layer of wind deposited soil known as loess. The loess supports the sage which grows undisturbed all summer long, awaiting the return of the sheep.

Carousel of time

As summer wears on, the days begin to shorten. And the temperatures drop. Snow begins to accumulate in the high country, pushing the sheep back to the slopes of Thechàl Dhâl overlooking the Ä´äy Chù´valley. This is the shakat, the First Nations’ traditional autumn harvest season. And the time of the rut. When the rams, in peak condition after their summer feast, joust to determine who gets to mate. As breeding winds down a skiff of snow dusts the lower slopes and valley floor. And the ever-present winds blowing down off of the glaciers, begin to cut like a knife. And the brief northern autumn gives way to the long northern winter. And the cycle of life begins again.

Le grand dégel

Chaque printemps, alors que les jours de plus en plus longs remplacent les longues nuits d’hiver, il arrive un jour où le soleil semble enfin réchauffer l’air et la morsure du vent a disparu. Peu à peu, la neige s’effrite et disparaît, laissant apparaître des plaques de sol gelé. Sur les versants sud arides du Thechàl Dhâl, dans le Nord du parc, sous l’effet de la fonte des neiges et du dégel, un peu d’humidité précieuse pénètre le sol poudreux. C’est suffisant pour que la sauge, qui s’est adaptée au climat aride de ces pentes balayées par le vent, commence à pousser.

Pénurie et abondance

Un bélier sur le Thechàl Dhâl au printemps
Un bélier sur le Thechàl Dhâl au printemps

Le mouflon de Dall, qui s’est nourri pendant les longs mois d’hiver de sauge sèche, de feuilles mortes ou encore de brindilles de saule révélées par les vents hivernaux, a vraiment besoin de verdure. Ce dont il se nourrit pendant l’hiver ne suffit pas à sa subsistance. Il doit aussi compter sur ses réserves de graisse corporelle. Le printemps annonce la fin de la longue famine hivernale.

Peu de temps après la disparition de la dernière neige du bas des pentes, les brebis gravides se retirent une à une à l’abri des falaises proches pour mettre bas. Quelques jours plus tard, elles reviennent sur les pentes dégagées accompagnées de leurs petits, restant sur leurs gardes en raison de la menace constante que font peser sur les agneaux des prédateurs comme l’aigle royal ou le grizzly.

Groupe de brebis et d’agneaux en train de brouter
Groupe de brebis et d’agneaux en train de brouter

En quête de pâturages plus riches

Au moment où le solstice signale le début du bref été dans le Nord, les mouflons ont suivi le retrait de la neige et l’émergence de la nouvelle végétation jusqu’aux pâturages d’été en altitude. Les brebis, accompagnées de leurs nouveau-nés et des agneaux âgés d’un an, se déplacent en groupes, alors que les béliers adultes, avec leurs cornes enroulées, vont en troupeaux de célibataires.

Poussière des âges

Abandonnées, les pentes du Thechàl Dhâl baignent dans la douce lumière du soleil des longues journées d’été, surplombant la vallée de l’Ä´äy Chù (rivière Slim’s). À une époque, l’Ä´äy Chù´ était une grande rivière de glace, un glacier glissant dans la vallée et pulvérisant la roche sous-jacente. Puis, le glacier a fondu, laissant une épaisse couche de poussière de roche sur le sol de la vallée.

Le Thechàl Dhâl et un nuage de poussière dans la vallée de l’Ä´äy Chù
Le Thechàl Dhâl et un nuage de poussière dans la vallée de l’Ä´äy Chù

Depuis, les vents d’été — créés par l’union des masses d’air chaud côtières et des courants d’air glacial — ont balayé la vallée, soulevant des nuages de cette poussière riche en minéraux qu’ils déposent sur les pentes du Thechàl Dhâl côtoyant la vallée. Au fil des ans, l’accumulation de cette poussière a créé une couche que l’on appelle le loess. Sur ce dernier, la sauge pousse en paix pendant tout l’été, attendant le retour des mouflons.

Le manège du temps

Alors que la fin de l’été approche, les jours raccourcissent et la température baisse. La neige commence à s’amonceler en altitude, forçant les mouflons à descendre les pentes du Thechàl Dhâl. C’est ce qu’on appelle le « shakat », la saison traditionnelle des récoltes des Premières Nations pendant l’automne. C’est aussi la période du rut. Les béliers, au meilleur de leur forme après s’être nourris abondamment pendant l’été, s’affrontent pour décider qui pourra s’accoupler. Bientôt, une infime couche de neige vient blanchir le pied des versants et le sol de la vallée. Le vent incessant souffle depuis les glaciers et l’on ressent de nouveau sa morsure. Le bref automne du Nord laisse la place au long hiver. Le cycle de vie recommence alors.