The Kaskawulsh Glacier has retreated so far that its meltwaters have altered course, transforming the regional drainage.

St. Elias Icefield

St. Elias IcefieldsSt. Elias Icefields

The icefields of the St. Elias mountains, a remnant of the ice sheets that once cloaked much of what-is-today Canada, are amongst the most expansive in the world and offer a window into our Ice Age past. Valley glaciers radiating out from the St. Elias Icefield, feed rivers flowing southward to the Gulf of Alaska and northward into the Yukon River, which flows westward through Alaska into the Bering Sea.

Since the end of the Ice Age, the volume of ice in the icefields has continually expanded and contracted in response to cyclic warming and cooling of the Earth’s climate over periods of hundreds of years. In concert, the valley glaciers, fed by the icefields, have advanced and retreated, working and reworking the architecture of their valleys – like gigantic bulldozers with each advance, and massive dump trucks, with each retreat.

Kaskawulsh Glacier

View of the Kaskawulsh Glacier
Kaskawulsh Glacier

Flowing from the icefields, the Kaskawulsh Glacier forms the stem of a Y. From its toe the Kaskawulsh River flows southeastward, forming one arm of the Y. Downstream it merges with the Dezadeash River to form the Alsek River, which continues southward into the Gulf of Alaska.

The other arm of the Y is formed by the valley of the Ä’äy Chù (Slim’s River), which heads northwards from the toe of the glacier before opening into Kluane Lake. Kluane Lake feeds the Kluane River, which flows into the White River, a tributary of the Yukon River which flows to the Bering Sea.

Advance and retreat

During glacial advances, the toe of the Kaskawulsh Glacier can advance right across the valley, separating the Kaskawulsh River valley from the valley of the Ä’äy Chù by a solid ridge of glacial ice. When this happens melt waters from the glacier flow in two directions: southeastward, down the Kaskawulsh River to the Alsek, and northward down the Ä’äy Chù into Kluane Lake.

view of Ä’äy Chù (Slim’s River), Vulcan Mountain on right, Kluane Lake in the background
Ä’äy Chù (Slim’s River), Kluane Lake in the background

When the Kaskawulsh Glacier retreats, a gap opens up between the toe of the glacier and the base of the mountain. Then, all that separates the Kaskawulsh River from the Ä’äy Chù is a jumble of rubble and ice left strewn across the valley floor by the retreating ice. And the melt water will do what it may. Generally it all flows down the shorter, steeper Kaskawulsh River into the Alsek. But at other times, the melt waters have continued to feed both the Kaskawulsh River and the Ä’äy Chù. That has been the case during the most recent retreat which started in the mid-19th Century, at the end of the “Little Ice Age”.

Stream capture

Toe of the Kaskawulsh Glacier with the Kaskawulsh River in background
Toe of the Kaskawulsh Glacier with the Kaskawulsh River in background

Since the middle of the1950’s the retreat of the Kaskawulsh Glacier has accelerated. During that time two melt water lakes, separated by the ice and rock debris abandoned by the retreating glacier, have formed at its toe. One lake fed the Kaskawulsh River, the other the Ä’äy Chù. And then, in May of 2016, during an unusually warm spring, a meltwater channel formed through a section of dead ice separating the two lakes. Within a few days the channel became a gorge, diverting the water from the lake that fed the Ä’äy Chù into the lake that feeds the Kaskawulsh. The outlet at the head of the gorge is now 17 metres lower than the outlet which previously fed the Ä’äy Chù.

The remaining flow in the Ä’äy Chù, from sidestreams between the toe of the glacier and Kluane Lake, is drastically reduced, The level of Kluane Lake has dropped significantly,affecting access to and use of the lake. Longer term impacts on fisheries in the lake are unknown. Meanwhile, the head of the gorge which diverted the flow is lower than the current water level in Kluane Lake. Given enough time, “headward” erosion of the Kaskawulsh River will see it gradually capture the remaining flow of the Ä’äy Chù and eventually claim Kluane Lake as its headwaters and sever the connection to the Yukon watershed.

Before and after

2013
Kluane Lake and the mouth of the Ä’äy Chù in 2013 Pre-capture
2016
Kluane Lake and the mouth of the Ä’äy Chù in 2016 Post-capture

Back to the future

Stream capture, or “river piracy” as it has sometimes been dubbed, has not been seen in the modern era, though it was not uncommon as the world emerged from the grips of the last great Ice Age. It would take nothing less than a major re-advance of the Kaskawulsh Glacier to reverse the process. Given the current industrially-driven warming of the climate that seems like a remote possibility in the foreseeable future. Perhaps this throwback to the end of the Ice Age is a harbinger of things to come. Perhaps, we are entering a new age.

Le glacier Kaskawulsh a tellement reculé que ses eaux de fonte ont changé de cours, transformant le drainage régional.

Le champ de glace Saint-Élie

St. Elias IcefieldsLe champ de glace Saint-Élie

Le champ de glaces Saint-Élie au Kluane, vestige des calottes glaciaires qui recouvraient à une époque la plus grande partie du Canada d’aujourd’hui, donne un aperçu de la dernière glaciation. Les glaciers de vallée provenant du champ de glace Saint-Élie alimentent les rivières qui coulent en direction du sud jusqu’au golfe d’Alaska et en direction du nord pour rejoindre le fleuve Yukon, lequel coule vers l’ouest, traversant l’Alaska avant de se jeter dans la mer de Béring.

Depuis la fin de la période glaciaire, le volume du champ de glace Saint-Élie n’a pas cessé de croître et de décroître sur des centaines d’années au rythme des cycles de refroidissement et de réchauffement du climat terrestre. Par conséquent, les glaciers de vallée, alimentés par le champ de glace, ont avancé et reculé, sculptant et sculptant à nouveau l’architecture des vallées – agissant comme de gigantesques bulldozers à chaque avancée, et comme d’énormes camions bennes à chaque recul.

Glacier Kaskawulsh

View of the Kaskawulsh Glacier
Glacier Kaskawulsh

Venant du champ de glace, le glacier Kaskawulsh forme la base d’un Y. Naissant au front du glacier, la rivière Kaskawulsh coule vers le sud-est, formant une des branches du Y. En aval, elle se joint à la rivière Dezadeash pour créer la rivière Alsek, qui poursuit sa course vers le sud jusqu’au golfe d’Alaska.

L’autre branche du Y est formée par la vallée de l’Ä’äy Chù (rivière Slim’s), qui se dirige vers le nord à partir du front du glacier avant d’aboutir au lac Kluane. Ce dernier alimente la rivière Kluane, qui se déverse dans la rivière White, affluent du fleuve Yukon qui lui se jette dans la mer de Béring.

Avance et recul

Durant les avancées glaciaires, le front du glacier Kaskawulsh peut occuper toute la vallée, séparant la vallée de la rivière Kaskawulsh de la vallée de l’Ä’äy Chù par une crête glaciaire. Lorsque cela se produit, les eaux de fonte du glacier s’écoulent dans deux directions : vers le sud-est, par la rivière Kaskawulsh jusqu’à l’Alsek, et vers le nord, par l’Ä’äy Chù jusqu’au lac Kluane.

L’Ä’äy Chù (rivière Slim’s), avec le lac Kluane à l’arrière-plan

Quand le glacier Kaskawulsh recule, un espace se crée entre son front et le versant opposé de la vallée. La rivière Kaskawulsh n’est alors plus séparée de l’Ä’äy Chù que par l’amas de rochers et de glace laissé dans la vallée par le recul du glacier. Les eaux de fonte ont donc libre cours. Généralement, elles s’écoulent par le chemin le plus court et le plus abrupt, à savoir la rivière Kaskawulsh, jusqu’à l’Alsek. Autrement, elles continuent d’alimenter à la fois la rivière Kaskawulsh et l’Ä’äy Chù. C’est le cas depuis le dernier recul qui a débuté au milieu du XIXe siècle, à la fin du « petit âge glaciaire ».

Capture

Toe of the Kaskawulsh Glacier with the Kaskawulsh River in background
Le front du glacier Kaskawulsh, avec la rivière Kaskawulsh à l’arrière-plan

Depuis le milieu des années 1950, le recul du glacier Kaskawulsh s’est accéléré. Deux lacs d’eaux de fonte, séparés par la glace et les débris rocheux abandonnés par le recul du glacier, se sont formés devant le front de ce dernier. L’un des lacs alimente la rivière Kaskawulsh, l’autre l’Ä’äy Chù. En mai 2016, lors d’un printemps exceptionnellement chaud, un chenal d’eau de fonte s’est creusé dans une section de glace morte qui séparait les deux lacs. En l’espace de quelques jours, le chenal s’est transformé en une gorge qui a détourné l’eau du lac alimentant l’Ä’äy Chù dans le lac alimentant la Kaskawulsh. La décharge à l’embouchure de la gorge se trouve maintenant 17 mètres plus bas que la décharge qui alimentait auparavant l’Ä’äy Chù.

Le volume restant dans l’Ä’äy Chù, alimenté par des cours d’eau latéraux situés entre le front du glacier et le lac Kluane, a considérablement diminué. Le niveau de l’eau du lac Kluane a énormément baissé, ce qui a des répercussions sur l’accès au lac et son utilisation. On ignore ce qu’y seront les effets à long terme pour la pêche. Pendant ce temps-là, l’embouchure de la gorge qui a détourné les eaux se trouve à un niveau inférieur au niveau actuel du lac Kluane. Avec le temps, en raison de l’érosion régressive, la rivière Kaskawulsh va progressivement capturer le volume restant de l’Ä’äy Chù pour, en définitive, être alimentée par le lac Kluane; ce dernier ne fera alors plus partie du bassin hydrographique du Yukon.

Avant et après

Lac Kluane et l'embouchure de l'Ä’äy Chù, 2013
Lac Kluane et l'embouchure de l'Ä’äy Chù, 2013
Avant la capture
Lac Kluane et l'embouchure de l'Ä’äy Chù, 2016
Lac Kluane et l'embouchure de l'Ä’äy Chù, 2016
Après la capture

Retour vers le futur

Une telle « capture de rivière » n’avait jamais été observée durant l’ère moderne, alors qu’elle n’était pas rare à la fin de la dernière glaciation. Il ne faudrait rien de moins qu’une progression considérable du glacier Kaskawulsh pour inverser ce phénomène. Étant donné le réchauffement climatique causé actuellement par l’activité industrielle, cela semble être fort peu probable dans un avenir prochain. Ce retour en arrière vers la fin de la période glaciaire serait-il un signe annonciateur de ce qui s’en vient? Peut-être, entrons-nous dans une nouvelle ère.