All Parks Canada consultations and formal engagement on management plans are suspended until further notice.

The health and safety of Canadians, visitors, and Parks Canada team members is of the utmost importance to the Agency. Parks Canada is following the advice of public health experts and implementing measures to support Canada’s efforts to limit the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) and reduce risks to employees and visitors.

As a result, Parks Canada has also suspended all public consultations and formal engagement with stakeholders and Indigenous peoples on management plans until further notice.
Management plans are developed through consultation and input from various people and organizations, including Indigenous peoples, local and regional residents, visitors, and the public.

The Agency is currently focusing its efforts on critical operations. There is, therefore, limited capacity to undertake full and meaningful management planning consultations at this time. Parks Canada also recognizes that the focus of the Canadian public, Indigenous partners and our stakeholders is on public health and safety and the economy.

Parks Canada is committed to resuming all management planning activities, including public consultations and formal engagement with stakeholders and Indigenous peoples, once operations return to normal and capacity allows.


Planning for the future at Kluane National Park and Reserve

Parks Canada has started the process of reviewing the management plan for Kluane National Park and Reserve for completion by 2020.

A management plan provides a vision and strategic direction for the future of a national park or historic site. It guides decision making to ensure that natural and cultural features are protected, while directing appropriate use so that visitors can experience and enjoy these treasured places.

Management plans are required for all national parks and national historic sites, and must be reviewed, by law, every ten years. In cases where sites are cooperatively managed, such as Kluane National Park and Reserve, managing partners, like the Kluane National Park Management Board, play a lead role in developing and endorsing the plans.

Public consultation is an important part of the management planning process, ensuring that Canadians have opportunities to provide meaningful input on how Parks Canada places are managed. Parks Canada is in the early stages of a plan review of Kluane National Park and Reserve and is committed to providing ongoing information about the processes. Detailed newsletters and notification of public participation opportunities will follow as planning progresses.

May 2019 update

Management Planning Newsletter - May 2019

September 2019 update

This summer, Parks Canada held a month-long session of public engagement that included open houses in Haines Junction, Burwash Landing and Whitehorse.

Thank you to everyone who provided their valuable time and feedback at this early stage of the plan review, your comments are being reviewed by the planning team and will help shape the draft management plan.

For more information

Kluane National Park and Reserve
Email: pc.plankluane.pc@canada.ca

Toutes les consultations et tous les processus de mobilisation officiels de Parcs Canada concernant les plans directeurs sont suspendus jusqu’à nouvel ordre

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes, des visiteurs et des membres de l’équipe Parcs Canada est d’une importance primordiale pour l’Agence. Parcs Canada suit les conseils des experts en santé publique et met en place des mesures pour appuyer les efforts du Canada visant à limiter la propagation de la COVID-19 et réduire les risques pour les visiteurs et les employés.

Par conséquent, Parcs Canada a également suspendu toutes les consultations publiques ainsi que tous les processus de mobilisation officiels des intervenants et des peuples autochtones concernant les plans directeurs jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

Les plans directeurs sont élaborés au moyen de consultations et selon les rétroactions de diverses personnes et organisations, notamment les peuples autochtones, les résidents locaux et régionaux, les visiteurs et le public.

L’Agence concentre actuellement ses efforts sur les activités clés. Les moyens pour entreprendre des consultations approfondies et utiles sur l’élaboration des plans directeurs sont donc limités en ce moment. Parcs Canada reconnaît aussi que l’attention du public canadien, des partenaires autochtones et des intervenants porte actuellement sur la santé et la sécurité publiques ainsi que sur l’économie.

L’Agence Parcs Canada est déterminée à reprendre toutes les activités d’élaboration des plans directeurs, notamment les consultations publiques et les processus de mobilisation avec les intervenants et les peuples autochtones, une fois que les activités seront de retour à la normale et que les moyens le permettront.


Préparer l’avenir du parc national et de la réserve de parc national Kluane

L’Agence Parcs Canada examine actuellement le plan directeur du parc national et de la réserve de parc national Kluane, qui devraient être terminés d’ici 2020.

Le plan directeur fournit une vision et une orientation stratégique pour l’avenir d’un parc national ou d’un site historique. Il oriente la prise de décisions afin d’assurer la protection du patrimoine naturel et culturel et de permettre aux visiteurs de découvrir et de profiter de ces endroits précieux d’une manière qui favorise leur conservation continue.

Les plans directeurs sont obligatoires pour tous les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux et doivent faire l’objet d’un examen tous les dix ans. Lorsqu’un site est géré en collaboration, comme c’est le cas pour le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane, les partenaires de gestion, y compris les gouvernements des Premières Nations, le Conseil de gestion du parc national Kluane, jouent un rôle de premier plan dans l’élaboration et l’approbation des plans.

La consultation publique est un élément important du processus de planification, car elle permet de s’assurer que les Canadiens ont l’occasion de donner leur avis sur la façon dont les lieux de Parcs Canada sont gérés. L’Agence Parcs Canada en est aux premières étapes de l’examen du plan du parc national et reserve du parc national Kluane et s’est engagée à fournir de l’information continue sur ce processus. Des bulletins d’information détaillés sur chaque plan et un avis sur les possibilités futures de participation du public suivront à mesure que le plan progresse.

Mise à jour - mai 2019

Bulletin d’information sur le plan directeur - Mai 2019

Mise à jour - septembre 2019

Cet été, Parcs Canada a organisé pendant un mois une consultation du public à l’aide de journées portes ouvertes à Haines Junction, à Burwash Landing et à Whitehorse.

Nous remercions les personnes qui ont bien voulu donner un peu de leur temps précieux et leur avis à ce stade préparatoire de l’examen du plan. L’équipe de la planification est en train de prendre connaissance de leurs commentaires, qui aideront à formuler la version provision du plan directeur.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements

Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane
Courriel : pc.plankluane.pc@canada.ca