Mandatory registration and permits

Issued: June 22, 2020

Mandatory registration/deregistration

Pursuant to section 6(1) of the National Parks General Regulations all overnight travel and camping (with the exception of the Kathleen Lake Campground**) in Kluane National Park & Reserve, between June 22 and November 15, has been designated as a hazardous activity. Visitors who will be camping are required to register prior to entering Kluane National Park & Reserve, and to de-register immediately upon their return*. 

Permit requirement

Pursuant to section 7.1(2) of the National Parks General Regulations the following are deemed designated activities within Kluane National Park & Reserve. A permit is required prior to engaging in any of these activities*:

  • All camping** and overnight travel from June 22 – November 15;
  • Aircraft landings and take offs (including use of UAVs and drones);
  • Bringing in or keeping horses, donkeys or mules (except on the Dezadeash River Trail);
  • Research activities; and
  • Filming or photography for commercial purposes.

* Visitors can obtain permits, register, and deregister by calling 867-634-7207 or by sending an email to pc.kluaneinfo.pc@canada.ca.
** Camping at the Kathleen Lake Campground is by self-registration, and permits are available on-site (separate registration and de-registration is not required).

Approved by: Diane Wilson
Field Unit Superintendent, Yukon

Provisions of Yukon First Nation Final Agreements, court decisions, and other aboriginal rights, as reached through an agreement with Canada, may take precedence over any restrictions/prohibitions made under these Regulations.

Inscription et permis obligatoires

Émis le : 22 juin 2020

Inscription et confirmation de départ obiligatoires

En vertu du paragraphe 6(1) du Règlement général sur les parcs nationaux, tous les déplacements pendant la nuit et tous les séjours de camping (à l’exception de ceux au camping du Lac-Kathleen**) dans le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane du 22 juin au 15 novembre ont été désignés comme activité dangereuse. Les visiteurs qui comptent faire du camping doivent s’inscrire avant d’entrer dans le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane, et ils doivent confirmer leur départ dès qu’ils s’en vont*.

Permis obligatoire

En vertu du paragraphe 7.1(2) du Règlement général sur les parcs nationaux, les activités suivantes sont considérées comme des activités désignées dans le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane. Les visiteurs doivent obtenir un permis avant d’exercer l’une ou l’autre de ces activités* :

  • tous les séjours de camping** et tous les déplacements pendant la nuit du 22 juin au 15 novembre;
  • faire atterrir ou décoller un aéronef (y compris un UAV ou un drone);
  • faire entrer ou garder dans le parc ou la réserve de parc des chevaux, des ânes ou des mules (sauf sur le sentier de la Rivière-Dezadeash);
  • réaliser des activités de recherche;
  • filmer ou prendre des photos à des fins commerciales.

* Les visiteurs peuvent obtenir un permis, s’inscrire et confirmer leur départ en téléphonant au 867-634-7207 ou en écrivant à l’adresse pc.kluaneinfo.pc@canada.ca.
** Les campeurs au camping du Lac-Kathleen doivent s’auto-inscrire et peuvent obtenir un permis sur place (ils n’ont pas à s’inscrire puis à confirmer leur départ à deux moments distincts).

Approuvé par : Diane Wilson
Directrice de l’unité de gestion, Yukon

Les dispositions des ententes définitives des Premières Nations du Yukon, les décisions judiciaires et d’autres droits autochtones, convenus dans le cadre d’une entente avec le Canada, peuvent avoir préséance sur toute restriction ou toute interdiction imposée en vertu de ce règlement.