Special Recognition | Final Agreements |  Background | Baikal SedgeGuiding Principles | Harvesting Rights and Responsibilities | Preparing for Harvesting in KNPR | After a Succesful Hunt in KNPR | Hunting and Visitors | Heritage Resources | Contact Information

Printable Version

You can download the informatinon found on this web page in PDF format.


Special Recognition

The rights of citizens of Champagne and Aishihik First Nations and Kluane First Nation to harvest all species of fish, wildlife, and edible plants in Kluane National Park and Reserve are protected under the Constitution of Canada.

Picking soapberries

Welcome to Kluane National Park and Reserve (KNPR). This area is an important part of the traditional territories of Champagne and Aishihik First Nations (CAFN), and Kluane First Nation (KFN) and continues to be highly valued for its abundance and diversity of northern plant, fish, and wildlife populations. Today, KNPR is managed cooperatively with CAFN and KFN who maintain a deep cultural and spiritual relationship with the land.

This web page is intended to summarize the harvesting rights of CAFN and KFN citizens as well as to promote safe and responsible harvesting practices within KNPR to ensure visitor safety.

Final Agreements

Champagne and Aishihik First Nations Final Agreement - Chapter 10 – Special Management Areas – Schedule A – Kluane National Park – Section 4.0 outlines the harvesting rights and responsibilities of Champagne and Aishihik First Nations people in the Park Reserve. Champagne and Aishihik people shall have the exclusive right to Harvest for Subsistence within the CAFN Region, all species of Fish and Wildlife for themselves and their families in all seasons of the year and in any numbers, subject only to limitations prescribed pursuant to this schedule.

Youth picking berries

Kluane First Nation Final Agreement - Chapter 10 – Special Management Areas – Schedule C – Kluane National Park and Park Reserve – Section 4.0 outlines the harvesting rights and responsibilities of Kluane First Nation people in the Park Reserve. Kluane People shall have the right to Harvest for Subsistence within the Tachäl Region, all species of Fish and Wildlife for themselves and their families in all seasons of the year and in any numbers, subject only to limitations prescribed pursuant to this schedule, and that right shall become exclusive to Kluane people on the coming into effect of a White River First Nation Final Agreement.

For more detail, please consult the appropriate First Nations’ Final Agreement or contact your local First Nations’ office.

Background

Nän käy shäwthǟn uk’ats’änáta - The earth, take care of it

Wringing a moose hide

The Kluane region has long been a traditional gathering place for Southern Tutchone people. For thousands of years, Dän (indigenous people) pursued a subsistence-hunting and gathering lifestyle throughout much of the region now called Kluane National Park and Reserve (KNPR). In 1943, the Canadian government set aside this area as a game sanctuary to protect local wildlife, a move that also effectively banned First Nations from hunting and trapping and pursuing their subsistence lifestyle. A portion of the Kluane Game Sanctuary became what is now Kluane National Park and Reserve in 1973, but First Nations understanding of their subsistence harvesting rights within the park boundary remained somewhat uncertain until further clarity was brought to the matter with the signing of the CAFN comprehensive agreement in 1993, and later, the KFN comprehensive agreement in 2003. Through the signing of these agreements, the Canadian government finally recognized formally that CAFN and KFN citizens have subsistence harvesting rights on their traditional lands in KNPR.

The lack of harvesting by the area’s indigenous peoples in the game sanctuary and later the park has had serious and lasting effects on First Nations’ culture and livelihood’s, as well as adversely impacting the region’s ecosystem. First Nations and subsistence harvesting are an integral part of the ecological integrity of Kluane National Park and Reserve and the greater Kluane region.

 

Baikal sedge

Baikal Sedge

As this plant is threatened and sensitive to disturbance, CAFN citizens are asked to exercise caution when accessing the Alsek Dune area, located at the confluence of the Dezadeash and Kaskawulsh Rivers.


Guiding Principles

CAFN and KFN governments encourage all subsistence harvesters to follow their traditional practices of caring for and respecting the land and its inhabitants.

Elder Jimmy Kane
  • Take only what you can use and use all that you take;
  • Respect the rights of other KNPR users and encourage public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of the park;
  • Please carry out your harvesting activities in a respectful manner, and be considerate and respectful of each others use;
  • Practice safe and responsible harvesting that will minimize encounters with wildlife and ensure public safety;
  • Leave the land in the same condition or better than you found it;
  • Citizens of CAFN and KFN have the right to use both traditional and current methods and equipment for subsistence harvesting within KNPR, which may include snowmobiles and ATVs.

Please remember, your harvesting rights only apply within your respective traditional territory of KNPR, and you are also reminded to observe the No Harvest Zones (see Map).

Harvesting Rights and Responsibilities

Elder and son hunting Dall sheep

Harvesting in KNPR means hunting, trapping, fishing, or gathering plants and includes travel and camping associated with harvesting activities. Harvesting methods have evolved over time and CAFN and KFN citizens may harvest using traditional or modern equipment and technologies such as firearms, motorized vehicles, GPS, etc. CAFN citizens are asked to observe the Voluntary No Discharge of Firearms Zone within 1 km of the Kathleen Lake Campground.

As provided for in Chapter 10, Schedule A (CAFN) & Schedule C (KFN) of the First Nations’ Final Agreements, CAFN and KFN citizen harvesting may occur:

  • for all fish, wildlife and plants for yourself, family and for ceremonial purposes 
  • using traditional and/or current methods and equipment 
  • year round in the First Nations defined territory (see Map for traditional territory boundaries and No Harvest Zones); 
  • for trees, as needed for harvesting activities (ie. Building temporary brush huts, campfires, etc)

CAFN and KFN subsistence harvesters also have the right:

  • to share, trade, barter or sell any edible fish, wildlife and plant products with each other and other Yukon First Nations for domestic purposes.
  • to give, trade, barter or sell (in the case of traditionally produced handicrafts or as associated with harvesting furbearers) any non edible by-product of fish and wildlife to any person.

Please note that all harvesting is subject to restrictions pertaining to public health and safety, and conservation. There are currently 3 No-Harvest Zones in the park that restrict harvesting. Please contact your local First Nations office for more information. 

Preparing for Harvesting in KNPR

Preparing to pack out a moose carcass

While harvesting is often spontaneous, Parks Canada is requesting First Nation harvesters to inform KNPR staff in advance of any planned wildlife harvesting activities within the park. This is not a requirement, but rather a request that will allow parks staff to notify other users and reduce the likelihood of human-bear and other wildlife conflicts. Contact information for KNPR is provided at the end of this web page.

No permit is required for CAFN and KFN citizens exercising their harvesting rights within the park; however, you should carry proof of enrollment from your respective First Nation while harvesting in KNPR, as it may be requested by a Park Warden or enforcement officer.

After a Succesful Hunt in KNPR

CAFN and KFN citizens are asked to report successful harvest within KNPR to their local First Nations offices. This information will allow for better monitoring and management of resources within the park, by both the First Nations governments and by Parks Canada. We are also requesting that you report successful wildlife harvest directly to KNPR as soon as possible so that parks staff can help mitigate any possible public safety concerns (eg: hikers coming across a kill site with bear activity).

Hunting and Visitors

Please remember that some areas in KNPR attract a high number of visitors in the summer months. Visitors may be very curious about First Nations culture, and harvesting activities in particular.

Hunters and hikers on the Cottonwood Trail.
  • Visitors to the park are being asked to make themselves known to the harvester and not to approach unless invited to. Should the visitor decide to approach, they have been asked to exercise caution, be respectful, polite, and courteous and if the harvester indicates they do not want company, that the visitor leaves the area. Please notify KNPR staff if you have any concerns about visitors’ attitudes or behaviors associated with your subsistence harvesting activities. 
  • The harvester is asked to observe the same considerations; being respectful, polite and courteous if approached by a visitor. The harvester may also choose to identify themselves and state they are exercising their harvesting rights, but are not required to do so.

Heritage Resources

A Land Rich in History, A Land That Provides

First Nations have occupied this landscape for time immemorial. As a result, there are numerous historic sites and artifacts in the park. Common types of heritage sites and signs that can be found in KNPR include:

N'jal (brush hut)
  • Brush houses, brush shelters and drying racks
  • Trail blazes/markers
  • Cabins, caches and dog houses
  • Campsites with old pots, pans, traps and mining equipment
  • Archaeological sites with stone tools (scarpers, spear points, etc.) and flakes left behind when making stone tools
  • Evidence of old fireplaces (cracked rocks, small fragments of cooked bone)
  • Piles of rocks covered with lichen (especially in the high subapline country), indicating hunting blinds, caches, or trails/routes.

Heritage sites in the park are protected and are not to be disturbed. Please respect these sites by leaving them in the same condition as they are found. Do not collect artifacts, burn stumps or wooden structures or remains. If you see something unusual, please report it to KNPR staff or First Nation staff and if possible GPS and take images of the location.

Contact Information

Please contact the appropriate office for further information related to harvesting, or for help planning your harvesting activities in KNPR.

Champagne and Aishihik First Nations
#1 Allen Place
PO Box 5310, Haines Junction, Yukon, Y0B 1L0
CAFN Renewable Resources
(867) 634-4248 or 634-4211
CAFN Lands (867) 634-4231
CAFN Heritage (867) 634-3308
Fax # (867) 634-2108

Kluane First Nation
#15 Sedata Street
PO Box 20, Burwash Landing, Yukon, Y0B 1V0
KFN Main Office (867) 841-4274
Fax # (867) 841-5900

Kluane National Park and Reserve
119 Logan Place
PO Box 5495, Haines Junction, Yukon, Y0B 1L0
Main Switchboard (867) 634-7250
Resource Conservation & Park Warden Office (867) 634-7279
Parks Canada 24-Hour Emergency Dispatch (877) 852-3100
Visitor Center Front Desk (867) 634-7207
Fax # (867) 634-7208

This information was a joint initiative developed in co-operation by Champagne and Aishihik First Nations, Kluane First Nation, Kluane National Park & Reserve, and Kluane Park Management Board.

Reconnaissance particulière | Entente défubutuve | Contexte | Carex des sables | Principes directeurs | Droits et responsabilités des Premiéres Nations | Récolte prévue au parc national Kluane | Après la récolte de ressources dans le parc national Kluane | Récolte des ressources et visiteurs du parc | Ressources patrimoniales | Ressources

Version imprimable

Vous pouvez télécharger les renseignements sur ce page Web en format PDF.


Reconnaissance particulière

Le droit des citoyens des Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik et de la Première Nation de Kluane de récolter toute espèce de poisson, d’animal sauvage et de plante comestible dans le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane est protégé par la Constitution du Canada.

Cueillir des baies de la shépherdie du Canada

Bienvenue au parc national et à la réserve de parc national Kluane. Le parc occupe une partie importante des territoires traditionnels des Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik et de la Première Nation de Kluane, et il demeure très important pour elles en raison de la grande diversité de plantes, de poissons et d’animaux nordiques qu’on y trouve. De nos jours, le parc est géré en collaboration avec les Premières Nations, que de profonds liens culturels et spirituels unissent toujours à la terre.

Ce page web vise à résumer les droits des citoyens des Premières Nations en ce qui a trait à la récolte des ressources ainsi qu’à promouvoir des méthodes de récolte sûres et responsables permettant d’assurer la sécurité des visiteurs.

Entente défubutuve

Des jeunes des Premières Nations cueillant de petits fruits

Les droits et les responsabilités des Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik en ce qui a trait à la récolte des ressources dans la réserve de parc sont résumés à l’article 4.0 de l’Annexe A (Parc national Kluane) du chapitre 10 (Zones spéciales de gestion) de l’Entente définitive des Premières nations de Champagne et de Aishihik. Les membres de ces Premières Nations ont le droit exclusif de récolter toute espèce de poisson et d’animal sauvage dans leur région désignée pour leur subsistance et celle de leur famille, en toute saison et sans limite de prises, sous réserve seulement des limites établies dans l’annexe en question.

Les droits et les responsabilités de la Première Nation de Kluane en ce qui a trait à la récolte des ressources dans la réserve de parc sont résumés à l’article 4.0 de l’Annexe C (Parc national et réserve Kluane) du chapitre 10 (Zones spéciales de gestion) de l’Entente définitive de la Première nation de Kluane. Les membres de la Première Nation ont le droit de récolter toute espèce de poisson et d’animal sauvage dans la région de Tachäl pour leur subsistance et celle de leur famille, en toute saison et sans limite de prises, sous réserve seulement des limites établies dans cette annexe. Le droit deviendra exclusif aux membres de la Première Nation de Kluane dès l’entrée en vigueur d’une entente définitive de la Première nation de White River.

Pour en savoir davantage, consultez l’entente définitive de votre Première Nation ou communiquez avec son bureau local.

Contexte

Nän käy shäwthǟn uk’ats’änáta - La terre, prenons-en soins

Tordre une peau d’orignal semi-tannée

Il y a très longtemps que les Tutchones du Sud se rassemblent dans la région de Kluane. Pendant des milliers d’années, les Dän (peuples autochtones) ont eu un mode de vie axé sur la chasse et la récolte de subsistance, qu’ils pratiquaient dans une bonne partie de la région qui forme aujourd’hui le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane. En 1943, le gouvernement du Canada a fait de ce territoire un refuge faunique afin d’y protéger les animaux sauvages. Cette mesure a eu pour effet d’interdire aux Premières Nations la chasse et le piégeage essentiels à leur mode de vie de subsistance. Une partie du refuge faunique Kluane est devenue, en 1973, ce qu’on appelle aujourd’hui le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane, mais les Autochtones comprenaient mal leur droit de récolter des ressources aux fins de subsistance dans les limites du parc et la situation n’a été clarifiée que par la signature de l’Entente définitive des Premières nations de Champagne et de Aishihik en 1993, puis de l’Entente définitive de la Première nation de Kluane en 2003. Dans ces ententes, le gouvernement du Canada reconnaissait enfin de façon officielle le droit des Premières Nations de récolter des ressources aux fins de subsistance sur leur territoire traditionnel dans le parc.

L’interdiction faite aux Autochtones de la région de récolter des ressources dans la réserve faunique, puis dans le parc, a eu des conséquences graves et durables sur leur culture et leurs moyens de subsistance, en plus d’avoir une incidence négative sur l’écosystème. La récolte de subsistance et les Premières Nations sont essentielles à l’intégrité écologique du parc national Kluane ainsi que de l’ensemble de la région.

Carex des sables

Carex des sables

Puisque cette plante, menacée, est sensible aux perturbations, nous demandons aux citoyens des Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik de faire très attention lorsqu’ils se rendent dans le secteur des dunes Alsek, au confluent des rivières Dezadeash et Kaskawulsh.

 


Principes directeurs 

Les gouvernements des Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik et de la Première Nation de Kluane encouragent ceux qui récoltent des ressources aux fins de subsistance à adopter les pratiques traditionnelles, c’est-à-dire tenir compte du bien-être de la Terre et de ses habitants et respecter celui-ci. Récoltez uniquement ce que vous pouvez utiliser et utilisez tout ce que vous récoltez.

Aîné des Premières Nations Jimmy Kane.
Aîné des Premières Nations Jimmy Kane
  • Respectez les droits des autres utilisateurs du parc et aidez-les à comprendre et à apprécier le parc, et à en profiter.
  • Menez toutes vos activités de récolte de façon respectueuse, en tenant compte des autres personnes qui fréquentent le parc et en respectant l’usage qu’ils en font.
  • Adoptez des pratiques de récolte sûres et responsables permettant de réduire les risques de rencontres avec des animaux sauvages et donc, la sécurité du public.
  • Laissez l’endroit dans le même ou en meilleur état qu’à votre arrivée.
  • Les citoyens des Premières Nations ont le droit d’utiliser les méthodes et l’équipement traditionnels comme modernes pour récolter des ressources aux fins de subsistance dans le parc, y compris des motoneiges et des véhicules tout-terrain.

N’oubliez pas que les droits de récolte sont valides uniquement sur le territoire de votre Première Nation dans le parc national Kluane et que vous devez respecter les zones d’interdiction de récolte (voir carte).

Droits et responsabilités des Premiéres Nations

Chassant le mouflon de Dall

La récolte des ressources au parc national Kluane inclut la chasse, le piégeage, la pêche et la cueillette, ainsi que les déplacements et le camping nécessaires aux activités de récolte. Les méthodes employées ont beaucoup changé au fil des ans et les Autochtones peuvent utiliser de l’équipement et des techniques de récolte traditionnels ou modernes (armes à feu, véhicules motorisés, GPS, etc.). Nous demandons cependant aux citoyens des Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik de ne pas décharger d’arme à feu dans un rayon d’un kilomètre du camping du Lac-Kathleen (zone d’interdiction volontaire).

Comme prévu au chapitre 10 de l’annexe A (Champagne et Aishihik) ou de l’annexe C (Kluane) des ententes définitives des Premières Nations, les citoyens de ces dernières ont le droit :

  • de récolter toute espèce de poisson, d’animal sauvage et de plante aux fins de cérémonies traditionnelles ;
  • d’utiliser des méthodes et des équipements traditionnels et modernes ;
  • de pratiquer ces activités en toute saison dans les limites du territoire établi des Premières Nations (voir les territoires traditionnels et les zones de récolte interdite sur la carte) ;
  • d’abattre des arbres s’ils en ont besoin pour pratiquer leurs activités de récolte (pour construire des abris temporaires, faire des feux, etc.) ;
  • Les citoyens des Premières Nations qui récoltent des ressources pour leur subsistance ont également le droit ;
  • de partager, d’échanger, de troquer ou de vendre toute espèce de poisson, d’animal sauvage ou de plante comestible entre eux ou avec d’autres Autochtones du Yukon à des fins domestiques ;
  • de donner, d’échanger ou de troquer avec toute personne, ou de lui vendre, des sous-produits animaux non comestibles provenant de la récolte de poissons ou d’animaux sauvages (dans le cas de produits d’artisanat traditionnels ou liés à la récolte d’animaux à fourrure).

Il est à noter que tous les droits de récolte peuvent faire l’objet de restrictions pour des raisons de conservation ou de santé et de sécurité publiques. Il existe actuellement dans le parc trois zones de récolte interdite où personne ne peut récolter de ressources. Pour en savoir plus, communiquez avec le bureau local de votre Première Nation.

Récolte prévue au parc national Kluane

Se préparer à ramener une carcasse d’orignal

Les activités de récolte des ressources se font souvent à l’improviste, mais Parcs Canada demande aux Autochtones qui prévoient se rendre dans le parc pour y récolter des ressources d’en informer le personnel. Bien que non obligatoire, cette précaution permet aux employés d’avertir les autres utilisateurs du parc et de réduire ainsi les risques de conflits avec des ours ou d’autres animaux. Vous trouverez à la fin du document les coordonnées de ressources à contacter.

Les Autochtones qui désirent exercer leur droit de récolter des ressources dans le parc n’ont pas besoin de permis, mais ils doivent avoir sur eux une preuve d’inscription à leur Première Nation, que pourrait demander à voir un garde de parc ou un autre agent d’exécution de la loi.

Après la récolte de ressources dans le parc national Kluane

Nous vous demandons d’informer le bureau local de votre Première Nation des ressources récoltées au parc national Kluane. Ces renseignements permettront au gouvernement de la Première Nation comme à Parcs Canada de mieux surveiller et gérer les ressources du parc. Veuillez également avertir dès que possible le personnel du parc si vous y abattez un animal afin que les employés puissent contribuer à réduire les risques possibles pour la sécurité du public (p. ex. randonneurs passant par un lieu de chasse que risquent de fréquenter des ours).

Récolte des ressources et visiteurs du parc

N’oubliez pas que certains secteurs du parc national Kluane attirent de nombreux visiteurs durant l’été. Ceux-ci risquent de s’intéresser à la culture autochtone et plus particulièrement aux activités de récolte des ressources.

Des chasseurs accueillant des randonneurs sur le sentier Cottonwood
  • Nous demandons aux visiteurs du parc de signaler leur présence aux membres de Premières Nations qui récoltent des ressources dans le parc, mais de ne pas s’approcher d’eux à moins qu’on les y invite. S’ils le font tout de même, ils ont été prévenus d’être prudents, respectueux, polis et courtois, et de quitter le secteur si la personne qui récolte des ressources affirme vouloir rester seule. Si le comportement des visiteurs ou leur attitude à l’égard de vos activités de récolte aux fins de subsistance est problématique, informez-en le personnel du parc.
  • Nous demandons aux Autochtones qui récoltent des ressources dans le parc de respecter les mêmes règles : si un visiteur vous aborde, soyez respectueux, poli et courtois. Vous pouvez vous identifier et indiquer que vous exercez votre droit de récolter des ressources, mais vous n’êtes pas tenu de le faire.

Ressources patrimoniales

Une terre riche en histoire qui subvient aux besoins de son peuple
Les Premières Nations occupent ce paysage depuis des temps immémoriaux. Le parc abrite donc de nombreux lieux et artéfacts historiques et patrimoniaux, par exemple :

N'jal
  • Huttes, abris et séchoirs
  • Balises de pistes
  • Cabanes, caches et niches
  • Campements comportant des casseroles, des pièges et de l’équipement minier d’antan
  • Sites archéologiques où l’on trouve des outils de pierre (grattoirs, pointes de lance, etc.) et des éclats laissés lors de la fabrication d’outils de pierre
  • Traces d’anciens foyers (pierres fendues, petits fragments d’os cuits)
  • Amas de rochers couverts de lichen (en particulier à la limite supérieure de la zone subalpine) indiquant la présence d’affûts, de caches ou de pistes pour la chasse

Les sites patrimoniaux du parc sont protégés et ne doivent pas être perturbés. Veuillez les respecter en les laissant dans l’état où vous les avez trouvés. Ne ramassez pas d’artéfact et ne faites pas brûler de souche, de structure en bois ou de restes. Si vous voyez quelque chose d’inhabituel, signalez-le aux employés du parc ou de votre Première Nation. Si possible, notez les coordonnées au moyen d’un GPS et prenez des photos de l’endroit.

Ressources

Pour en savoir plus sur la récolte des ressources, ou pour préparer une activité de récolte au parc national Kluane, communiquez avec le bureau concerné.

Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik
1 Allen Place
C.P. 5310, Haines Junction (Yukon) Y0B 1L0
Service des ressources renouvelables : 867 634 4248 ou 867 634 4211
Service des terres : 867 634 4231
Service du patrimoine 867 634 3308
Télécopieur : 867 634 2108

Première Nation de Kluane
15, rue Sedata
C.P. 20
Burwash Landing (Yukon) Y0B 1V0
Bureau principal : 867 841 4274
Télécopieur : 867 841 5900

Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane
119 Logan Place
C.P. 5495
Haines Junction (Yukon) Y0B 1L0
Standardiste : 867 634 7250
Conservation des ressources et bureau des gardes du parc : 867 634 7279
Urgences (24 h sur 24) : 877 852 3100
Réception du Centre d’accueil : 867 634 7207
Télécopieur : 867 634 7208

Ce page web a été préparé conjointement par les Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik, la Première Nation de Kluane, le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane et le Conseil de gestion du parc national Kluane.