First Nation Harvesting Rights | Background | Recreation and Harvesting Rights | Heritage Resources | Frequently Asked Questions | Contact Information

Printable Version

You can download the information found on this web page in PDF format.


First Nation Harvesting Rights

Dännch’e / Welcome

Showing youth how to identify animal tracks

Welcome to Kluane National Park and Reserve (KNPR). This area is part of the traditional territory of the Champagne and Aishihik First Nations (CAFN), and Kluane First Nation (KFN) and continues to be highly valued for its abundance and diversity of northern plant and fish and wildlife populations. Harvesting plants and animals for food, medicine and ceremonial purposes has long sustained the local indigenous peoples of Kluane and today remains a vital part of their culture. Today, KNPR is managed cooperatively with CAFN and KFN.

Citizens of these two First Nation governments maintain a deep cultural and spiritual connection to the lands now within the park. They are key partners in the management and conservation of natural and cultural resources in KNPR. This information is intended to inform visitors about the harvesting rights of CAFN and KFN citizens within KNPR.

For more detail, please consult the appropriate First Nation’s Final Agreement.

Background

Nän käy shäwthǟn uk’ats’änáta - The earth, take care of it

For thousands of years, Dän (indigenous people) pursued a subsistence-hunting and gathering lifestyle throughout much of the region now called Kluane National Park and Reserve (KNPR). In 1943, the federal government set aside this area as a game sanctuary to protect wildlife in the area, a move that also effectively banned First Nations from hunting and trapping and pursuing their subsistence lifestyle. Prohibiting subsistence harvesting by the area’s indigenous peoples has had serious and lasting effects on First Nations’ culture and livelihoods, as well as the region’s ecosystem. A portion of the Kluane Game Sanctuary became what is now Kluane National Park and Reserve in 1973. Parks Canada recognizes that First Nation harvesting is an integral part of the ecological integrity of Kluane National Park and Reserve and the greater Kluane region. Now, a renewal of First Nations subsistence harvesting within the park is helping to restore the relationship between First Nations and their environment.

Hunting Dall sheep

The recognition of aboriginal peoples’ rights to harvest within the Kluane Game Sanctuary (and later the park) was not easily achieved. Not until 1993 did CAFN finally receive legislated assurance, through a comprehensive agreement, that they could return to their traditional lands in the Kluane area and resume harvesting in the park. In 2003, KFN also negotiated a comprehensive agreement confirming similar rights.

During negotiations, all parties (CAFN, KFN and Canadian government) expressed concerns related to conservation and public health and safety, and were recognized as essential in maintaining the natural and cultural environment. These principles have been adopted by all parties, and remain key principles in managing First Nations subsistence harvesting activities.

The rights of citizens of Champagne and Aishihik First Nations and Kluane First Nation to harvest all species of fish, wildlife, and edible plants in Kluane National Park and Reserve are protected under the Constitution of Canada.

The Constitution of Canada has recognized and affirmed the existing aboriginal and treaty rights of aboriginal peoples of Canada. This includes rights that now exist by way of land claims agreements or may be so acquired – The Constitution of Canada, 1982 s.35

Recreation and Harvesting Rights

Hunters meeting hikers on the Cottonwood Trail

If you are visiting KNPR, be aware that First Nations may be exercising their subsistence harvesting rights in the park. You may encounter harvesting activities anywhere in KNPR, and at any time of the year, but this is more likely between June and October. CAFN and KFN citizens have rights to use both traditional and current tools and methods to engage in subsistence harvesting within KNPR, which may include the use of snowmobiles and ATVs. In the event that you do encounter any signs of harvesting activities during your visit, please be respectful of First Nations harvesting rights and follow these guidelines:

  • If you see harvesting activities taking place in the park, exercise caution and use your best judgement to determine if the harvester is aware of your presence. You may decide to make yourself known to harvesters by waving or calling out. Alternatively, you may also decide to just leave the area if it is safe to do so. Please keep in mind that a harvester could be stalking wildlife and noise may scare their quarry away:
  • Please don’t interfere with any harvesting activities. Be considerate, polite, and courteous of other users and allow them to carry out their activities in a respectful manner;
  • Only approach subsistence harvesters if you are invited and remember that some people may feel uncomfortable with visitors observing them;
  • Always ask the harvester for permission before taking any video or photographs of harvesting activities.

Heritage Resources

A Land Rich in History, A Land That Provides

First Nations have occupied this landscape for time immemorial. As a result, there are numerous historic sites and artifacts in the park. Common types of heritage sites and signs that can be found in KNPR include:

N'jal
  • Brush houses, brush shelters and drying racks
  • Trail blazes/markers
  • Cabins, caches and dog houses
  • Campsites with old pots, pans, traps and mining equipment
  • Archaeological sites with stone tools scarpers, spear points, etc.) and flakes left behind when making stone tools
  • Evidence of old fireplaces (cracked rocks, small fragments of cooked bone)
  • Piles of rocks covered with lichen (especially in the high subalpine country), indicating hunting blinds, caches, or trails/routes.

Heritage sites in the park are protected and are not to be disturbed. Please respect these sites by leaving them in the same condition as they are found. Do not collect artifacts, burn stumps or wooden structures or remains. If you see something unusual, please report it to KNPR staff and if possible GPS the site and take images of the location.

Please remember that this is the homeland of CAFN and KFN and their presence on the land forms a vital part of the park’s ecological integrity. Parks Canada recognizes that the First Nations of this region are integral to a functioning and healthy ecosystem.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What harvest activities will I encounter?
Common harvesting activities in Kluane National Park and Rerserve (KNPR) include hunting, trapping, fishing, or gathering plants for food and medicine as well as any travel and camping associated with harvesting activities.

2. Are there any places where I can travel where harvesting activities are not allowed?
The entire area within the boundary of KNPR that falls within Champagne and Aishihik First Nations (CAFN) and Kluane First Nation (KFN) traditional territories can be utilized for harvesting. There are three No Harvest Zone’s (NHZ) located in the Ä’äy Chù Valley and Thachäl Dhǟl (see Map). However there are special circumstances that allow for First Nation harvest to occur within these NHZ’s as well.

First Nations harvesting activities are less likely in those areas of KNPR where there is less fish, wildlife, or plants, such as the icefields. CAFN members are asked to observe a Voluntary No Firearms Discharge Zone within a 1 km of the Kathleen Lake Campground.

3. Who can I contact to report a problem or to ask questions?
Contact Kluane National Park and Reserve in Haines Junction for general questions and information. Contact the Resource Conservation and Park Warden office for matters related to law enforcement, or to report a kill site. All contact information is provided at the end of this brochure.

4. Is it possible to know ahead of time, what harvest activities are taking place and where?
No, it is not always possible. Visitors to the park will be told if there are any planned harvesting activities in the area; however, as harvesting often occurs opportunistically or spontaneously, this is not always possible. First Nations harvesting occurs as needed throughout the year and when resources are available, but the majority of harvesting is between June and October.

5. What happens if I run across a kill site?
In the event that you do encounter a kill site with gut pile remains (entrails), leave the area immediately and report the location to parks staff as soon as possible. Animal remains can attract bears and other scavenging animals and the area can be very dangerous.

6. Can I approach a harvester with a kill to help or to watch?
If you encounter a harvester who is field dressing game, make yourself known to the harvester, respect the harvester’s space needed to safely field dress the game, and approach only if invited by the harvester. Again, only take pictures or video if the harvester gives you permission.

7. What First Nations are allowed to harvest? How can I tell?
Citizens of Champagne and Aishihik First Nations (CAFN) and Kluane First Nation (KFN) have the legal right to harvest in their respective traditional territories within KNPR (See map). Only Park Wardens and other enforcement officers are allowed to ask for identification from First Nations harvesters in KNPR. Please contact the Park Wardens if you have any concerns regarding harvesting activities in KNPR.

8. How can I know that I am safe?
First Nation harvesters are experienced hunters and follow safe hunting practices. Generally, hunters tend to avoid areas with high visitor traffic as wildlife is also likely to avoid these areas as well. Following the same safety precautions as you would for travelling in bear country and for wilderness safety (i.e. making noise, wearing bright colors) will help ensure your safety when pursuing recreational activities in KNPR.

9. Can I ask a First Nations harvester what they are doing?
This depends on the individual harvester and can vary with the situation. As a general guideline, make yourself known to the harvester and approach a harvester only if you are invited to do so. If there is no communication with the harvester(s) please continue on your journey.

10. Can a harvester be working as a commercial guide?
First Nations harvesting rights in KNPR is for subsistence purposes only and guiding hunters is prohibited within KNPR. Other forms of commercial guiding require a Parks Canada Business and Guiding license.

11. Can a First Nations harvester sell what they harvest in KNPR?
First Nations harvesting in KNPR is for subsistence use and may be shared, traded, or sold among other Yukon First Nations for domestic use. However, any furs or handicrafts such as moccasins or other items made from animal, plant, or other natural products harvested in KNPR, may be sold to the general public.

12. What is being done to ensure healthy species populations are being maintained?
The Minister of Environment has the authority to impose harvest limits, including allowable harvests and seasons for harvesting. KNPR has an extensive environmental monitoring program tracking the numbers and health of different plant and animal populations in the park. If a population goes beyond an established threshold, KNPR will work with CAFN, KFN, and the Kluane Park Management Board to address the issue.

13. How will the public be notified of management changes to zones or management actions?
The Kluane Park Management Board and KNPR will communicate significant changes through the Parks Canada website, local media, Parks Canada brochures, and signs/notices at trailheads and at the two KNPR Visitor Centers. You can always call the park to get the status of any trail closures or travel advisories before you arrive.

Contact Information

Please contact the appropriate office for further information related to harvesting, for help planning your recreational activities in Kluane National Park and Reserve, or to report a kill site or law enforcement incident.

Kluane National Park and Reserve
119 Logan Place
P.O. Box 5495
Haines Junction, Yukon Y0B 1L0
Phone (867) 634-7250
Visitor Center Front Desk (867) 634-7207
Fax (867) 634-7208

Resource Conservation & Park Warden
Law Enforcement Branch
P.O. Box 5495
Haines Junction, Yukon Y0B 1L0
Phone (867) 634-7279
24-Hour Emergency Dispatch (877) 852-3100
Fax (867) 634-2043

The information on this web page was a joint initiative developed in co-operation by Champagne and Aishihik First Nations, Kluane First Nation, Kluane National Park & Reserve, and Kluane Park Management Board.

Droit des Premiéres Nations | Contexte | Visiteurs et activitiés de récolte des ressources | Ressources patrimoniales | Foire aux questions | Ressources

Version imprimable

Vous pouvez télécharger les renseignements sur ce page Web en format PDF.


Droit des Premiéres Nations

Dännch’e / Bienvenue

Montre à des jeunes à identifier des pistes d'animaux

Bienvenue au parc national et à la réserve de parc national Kluane. Ce secteur fait partie du territoire traditionnel des Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik et de la Première Nation de Kluane, et il demeure très important pour elles en raison de la grande diversité de plantes, de poissons et d’animaux nordiques qu’on y trouve. Élément culturel de premier plan, ces espèces sauvages sont utilisées depuis longtemps à des fins de subsistance par les peuples autochtones de la région, qui en tirent aliments et remèdes en plus de s’en servir dans des cérémonies traditionnelles. Le parc est maintenant géré en collaboration avec les Premières Nations.

De profonds liens culturels et spirituels unissent toujours les citoyens de ces Premières Nations aux terres qui sont maintenant intégrées au parc national Kluane. Leurs gouvernements sont des partenaires clés dans la gestion et la conservation des ressources naturelles et culturelles du parc. Le présent document* vise à informer les visiteurs sur le droit des Autochtones à y récolter des ressources.

Contexte

Nän käy shäwthǟn uk’ats’änáta - La terre, prenons-en soins

Pendant des milliers d’années, les Dän (peuples autochtones) ont eu un mode de vie axé sur la chasse et la récolte de subsistance, qu’ils pratiquaient dans une bonne partie de la région qui forme aujourd’hui le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane. En 1943, le gouvernement du Canada a fait de ce territoire un refuge faunique afin d’y protéger les animaux sauvages. Cette mesure a eu pour effet d’interdire aux Premières Nations locales la chasse et le piégeage essentiels à leur mode de vie de subsistance. L’interdiction a eu des conséquences graves et durables sur leur culture et leurs moyens de subsistance, ainsi que sur l’écosystème. Une partie du refuge faunique Kluane est devenue, en 1973, ce qu’on appelle aujourd’hui le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane. Parcs Canada reconnaît que la récolte des ressources par les Premières Nations est essentielle à l’intégrité écologique du parc ainsi que de l’ensemble de la région. De nos jours, les Autochtones renouent avec la récolte de subsistance dans le parc, ce qui contribue à rétablir le lien qui les unit à leur environnement.

Des chasseurs des Premières Nations à l’affût de mouflons de Dall

La reconnaissance du droit des Autochtones de récolter des ressources dans le refuge faunique (puis dans le parc) Kluane n’a pas été facile à obtenir. Ce n’est qu’en 1993 que les Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik ont reçu, grâce à une entente globale, l’assurance législative qu’elles pouvaient reprendre la récolte des ressources dans leur territoire traditionnel au sein du parc. En 2003, la Première Nation de Kluane, à son tour, a négocié une entente globale lui conférant des droits semblables.

La reconnaissance du droit des Autochtones de récolter des ressources dans le refuge faunique (puis dans le parc) Kluane n’a pas été facile à obtenir. Ce n’est qu’en 1993 que les Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik ont reçu, grâce à une entente globale, l’assurance législative qu’elles pouvaient reprendre la récolte des ressources dans leur territoire traditionnel au sein du parc. En 2003, la Première Nation de Kluane, à son tour, a négocié une entente globale lui conférant des droits semblables.


Le droit des citoyens des Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik et de la Première Nation de Kluane de récolter toute espèce de poisson, d’animal sauvage et de plante comestible dans le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane est protégé par la Constitution du Canada.

La Constitution du Canada a reconnu et confirmé les droits existants – ancestraux ou issus de traités – des peuples autochtones du Canada, y compris les droits existants issus d’accords sur des revendications territoriales ou ceux susceptibles d’être ainsi acquis – Constitution du Canada, 1982, article 35.

Visiteurs et activitiés de récolte des ressources

Des chasseurs des Premières Nations accueillant des randonneurs

Si vous fréquentez le parc national Kluane, vous devez savoir que des Autochtones peuvent y exercer leur droit d’y récolter des ressources aux fins de subsistance. Vous pourriez être témoin de ces activités à n’importe quel endroit du parc et en toute saison, mais surtout entre juin et octobre. Les citoyens des Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik et de la Première Nation de Kluane ont le droit d’utiliser des outils et des méthodes traditionnels comme modernes pour récolter des ressources aux fins de subsistance dans le parc, y compris des motoneiges et des véhicules tout-terrain. Si vous apercevez toute trace de telles activités durant votre visite, respectez les droits des Autochtones et suivez les directives suivantes :

  • Si vous voyez un Autochtone qui récolte des ressources dans le parc, soyez prudent et faites preuve de discernement pour établir s’il a remarqué votre présence. Vous pouvez lui faire signe ou lui parler pour vous en assurer. Vous pouvez également décider de quitter le secteur, si vous pouvez le faire en toute sécurité. N’oubliez pas qu’il peut s’agir d’un chasseur à l’affût d’animaux sauvages, que vous risquez d’effrayer en faisant du bruit.
  • Ne perturbez en aucune façon les activités de récolte des ressources. Soyez respectueux, poli et courtois à l’égard des autres utilisateurs du parc et laissez-les mener leurs activités sans les déranger.
  • Si vous voyez un Autochtone qui récolte des ressources aux fins de subsistance, ne vous approchez pas à moins d’y avoir été invité et soyez conscient que se faire observer par des visiteurs risque de le mettre mal à l’aise.
  • Demandez toujours la permission avant de prendre des photos ou des vidéos d’activités de récolte des ressources.

Ressources patrimoniales

Une terre riche en histoire qui subvient aux besoins de son people
Les Premières Nations occupent ce paysage depuis des temps immémoriaux. Le parc abrite donc de nombreux lieux et artéfacts historiques et patrimoniaux, par exemple :

N'jal
  • Huttes, abris et séchoirs
  • Balises de pistes
  • Cabanes, caches et niches
  • Campements comportant des casseroles, des pièges et de l’équipement minier d’antan
  • Sites archéologiques où l’on trouve des outils de pierre (grattoirs, pointes de lance, etc.) et des éclats laissés lors de la fabrication d’outils de pierre
  • Traces d’anciens foyers (pierres fendues, petits fragments d’os cuits)
  • Amas de rochers couverts de lichen (en particulier à la limite supérieure de la zone subalpine) indiquant la présence d’affûts, de caches ou de pistes pour la chasse.

Les sites patrimoniaux du parc sont protégés et ne doivent pas être perturbés. Veuillez les respecter en les laissant dans l’état où vous les avez trouvés. Ne ramassez pas d’artéfact et ne faites pas brûler de souche, de structure en bois ou de restes. Si vous voyez quelque chose d’inhabituel, signalez-le aux employés du parc. Si possible, notez les coordonnées au moyen d’un GPS et prenez des photos de l’endroit.

N’oubliez pas que vous vous trouvez sur le territoire traditionnel de Premières Nations. Leur présence ici est essentielle à l’intégrité écologique du parc. Parcs Canada reconnaît que les Autochtones de la région font partie intégrante d’un écosystème sain et fonctionnel. ecosystem.

Foire aux questions

1. De quelles sortes d’activités de récolte des ressources pourrais-je être témoin?
Parmi les activités pratiquées au parc national Kluane, notons la chasse, le piégeage, la pêche et la cueillette de plantes comestibles ou médicinales, ainsi que les déplacements et le camping nécessaires à ces activités.

2. Puis-je fréquenter des endroits du parc où les activités de récolte des ressources sont interdites?
À l’intérieur des limites du parc national Kluane, la récolte est permise sur toutes les terres situées dans les territoires traditionnels des Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik et de la Première Nation de Kluane. Il existe trois zones de récolte interdite dans la vallée de l’Ä’äy Chù Valley et à Thachäl Dhǟl (voir carte). Cependant, dans certaines circonstances, la récolte par les Autochtones peut être autorisée même à ces endroits.

3.Avec qui puis-je communiquer si j’ai un problème ou des questions?
Pour les questions et renseignements d’ordre général, appelez au bureau du parc national Kluane, à Haines Junction. Si vous avez des questions liées à l’exécution de la loi ou si vous voulez signaler un endroit où un animal a été abattu, communiquez avec le bureau de la conservation des ressources et des gardes de parc. Les coordonnées sont données à la fin du présent document.

4. Est-il possible de savoir à l’avance quand et où auront lieu des activités de récolte des ressources?
Non, ce n’est pas toujours possible. Nous informons les visiteurs du parc lorsque des activités sont prévues dans un secteur donné; cependant, la récolte se fait souvent à l’improviste, lorsque l’occasion se présente. Les Premières Nations récoltent des ressources suivant leur disponibilité, au besoin, en toute saison, mais principalement entre juin et octobre.

5. Que dois-je faire si j’aperçois un lieu où un animal a été abattu?
Si vous apercevez un lieu de chasse où ont été abandonnées les entrailles d’un animal, quittez immédiatement le secteur et signalez votre découverte à un employé du parc dès que possible. Les restes d’animaux peuvent attirer des ours et d’autres charognards, ce qui rend le secteur très dangereux.

6. Puis-je m’approcher d’un Autochtone ayant abattu un animal pour l’aider ou l’observer?
Le Conseil de gestion et le parc national Kluane diffusent tout changement important sur le site Web de Parcs Canada, par les médias locaux, dans des documents publiés par Parcs Canada et au moyen de pancartes et d’avis affichés aux points de départ de sentiers et aux deux centres d’accueil du parc. Vous pouvez aussi appeler au parc avant d’y venir pour vous informer sur les fermetures de sentiers ou les avis aux voyageurs.

7. Quelles sont les Premières Nations autorisées à pratiquer la récolte des ressources? Comment puis-je en identifier les citoyens?
Les citoyens des Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik et de la Première Nation de Kluane sont autorisés par la loi à récolter des ressources dans le parc national Kluane, dans les limites de leur territoire traditionnel respectif (voir carte). Seuls les gardes de parc et les autres agents d’exécution de la loi peuvent demander une preuve d’identité aux Autochtones qui récoltent des ressources dans le parc. Si des activités qui y sont pratiquées vous semblent suspectes, parlez-en avec les gardes de parc.

8. Comment puis-je garantir ma sécurité?
Les Autochtones qui récoltent des ressources dans le parc sont des chasseurs expérimentés qui suivent des pratiques de chasse sûres. En général, les chasseurs évitent les secteurs très fréquentés puisque les animaux sauvages risquent, eux aussi, de s’y faire rares. Pour garantir votre sécurité tout en pratiquant des activités récréatives au parc national Kluane, respectez les règles de sécurité recommandées pour les déplacements au pays des ours et en milieu sauvage (faire du bruit, porter des vêtements aux couleurs voyantes, etc.).

9. Puis-je demander à un Autochtone pratiquant la récolte des ressources de l’information sur ses activités?
Tout dépend de chacun et de la situation. En règle générale, signalez votre présence, mais ne vous approchez pas à moins d’y être invité. Si on ne vous adresse pas la parole, passez votre chemin.

10. Un Autochtone qui pratique la récolte des ressources peut-il agir comme guide commercial?
Les droits des Premières Nations de récolter des ressources dans le parc national Kluane ne s’appliquent qu’aux fins de subsistance, et il est interdit d’y organiser des excursions de chasse guidées. Toute autre activité guidée doit être sanctionnée par un permis d’exploitation commerciale et de guide de Parcs Canada.

11. Les Autochtones qui récoltent des ressources dans le parc national Kluane peuvent-ils vendre le fruit de leur récolte?
Les citoyens des Premières Nations qui récoltent des ressources dans le parc doivent le faire pour leur subsistance, mais ils ont le droit de partager, d’échanger ou de vendre les produits récoltés avec d’autres Autochtones du Yukon à des fins domestiques. Ils sont également autorisés à vendre au grand public des fourrures ou des produits d’artisanat, par exemple des mocassins ou d’autres articles, fabriqués à partir d’animaux, de plantes ou d’autres produits naturels récoltés dans le parc.

12. Que fait-on pour s’assurer de ne pas nuire à la santé des espèces sauvages?
Le ministre de l’Environnement est autorisé à imposer des restrictions sur la récolte, notamment le nombre de prises et la saison de chasse. Le parc national Kluane jouit d’un vaste programme de surveillance de l’environnement qui permet de faire le suivi du nombre et de la santé de différentes populations de plantes et d’animaux. Si une population tombe en dessous d’un seuil établi, le parc collaborera avec les Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik, la Première Nation de Kluane et le Conseil de gestion afin de trouver une solution au problème.

13. Comment le public est-il informé si les gestionnaires du parc modifient les zones ou prennent d’autres mesures?
Le Conseil de gestion et le parc national Kluane diffusent tout changement important sur le site Web de Parcs Canada, par les médias locaux, dans des documents publiés par Parcs Canada et au moyen de pancartes et d’avis affichés aux points de départ de sentiers et aux deux centres d’accueil du parc. Vous pouvez aussi appeler au parc avant d’y venir pour vous informer sur les fermetures de sentiers ou les avis aux voyageurs.

Ressources

Pour en savoir plus sur la récolte des ressources, pour préparer une activité récréative au parc national et à la réserve de parc national Kluane ou pour signaler un lieu d’abattage aperçu ou un acte illégal dont vous avez été témoin, communiquez avec le bureau concerné.

Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane
119 Logan Place
C.P. 5495
Haines Junction (Yukon) Y0B 1L0
Téléphone : 867 634-7250
Réception du centre d’accueil : 867 634-7207
Télécopieur : 867-634-7208

Conservation des ressources et gardes de parc
Direction de l’application de la loi
C.P. 5495
Haines Junction (Yukon) Y0B 1L0
Téléphone : 867 634-7279
Urgences (24 h sur 24) : 877 852-3100
Fax (867) 634-2043

Cet renseignements a été préparé conjointement par les Premières Nations de Champagne et d’Aishihik, la Première Nation de Kluane, le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane et le Conseil de gestion du parc national Kluane.