Distance: 14 km (8.7 mi) return trip
Time: 7-11 hours
Elevation gain: 1,180 m (3,870’)
Maximum elevation: 1,960 m (6,429’)

Trailhead: 8 km (5 mi) south of Thechàl Dhâl Visitor Centre (63 km (39 mi) north of Haines Junction) on the Alaska Highway, park at the old Kluane Lake Lodge.
Topo map: Jarvis River 115 B/16.

In summary

This route provides stunning views from the top of Kluane Plateau onto the Slim’s River, Kluane Lake, the Ruby Ranges, and Thechàl Dhâl (Sheep Mountain).

The route described here is not within the boundaries of Kluane National Park and Reserve.

Download the Kluane Plateau route description (PDF, Kb)


A route is not a trail

Routes are not marked with signs or maintained in any manner. The route described here is only a suggestion that may help guide you on your trip. Self-reliance and wilderness travel experience are essential, including excellent route finding skills, map and compass skills. It is the responsibility of individual hikers who choose to follow such routes to adequately prepare and be prepared to rely on themselves.

The details

Park in the pull-off in front of the old Kluane Lake Lodge. Cross the Alaska Highway and start walking north towards the Thechàl Dhâl Visitor Centre; you will come to a creek bed about 300 M north of the Lodge. Twenty meters past this creek bed is the start of a game trail, locally known as Williams Horse Trail (Mike’s trail). The game trail veers into the bushes perpendicular to the Alaska Highway. Nearly 20 meters into the bush the game trail crosses the old clear-cut from a former pipeline (identifiable as a strip of willows that runs parallel to the highway, with no large spruce). Do not follow the trails along the old pipeline clear-cut, but continue walking in a direction perpendicular to the highway. Within 40 to 50 meters the game trail will become more obvious. Along this section of the route, the game trail follows an old bulldozed trail (evident from a lack of large spruce trees within a few meters on either side of the game trail). There is an abundance of soapberries in this area, so make lots of noise to avoid bear encounters.

The game trail comes out onto a creek bed, follows the creek for roughly 100 meters, and then veers left back into the trees. Follow any visible rock cairns and flagging tape through this section. From here the route follows the game trail as it gains elevation for 2-3 hours. Nearing the plateau, the game trail reveals itself as a possible bear trail (bushes are cleared to just above waist height, and you must separate the willows at shoulder height to move through). This section of the trail is a bit of a bushwhack. The trail eventually opens up into sparse willow leading into the alpine. Travel as far as you like, noting where you have left the willows so you can find the right game trail upon your return (it may be a good idea to carry flagging tape). Taking note of additional recognizable landmarks along the way may aid you in route finding upon your descent.

The knolls located on the south side of Kluane Plateau are a beautiful final destination, giving stunning views from all directions. If you choose to continue further west, on a route that takes you inside the Park boundary overnight, be aware that hikers are required to register with the Park for any night spent within the Park.

What you need to know

Bear sightings are common in this area. Review recommendations for travel within the You Are in Bear Country brochure. Please report all bear sightings to the staff at the Kluane National Park and Reserve Visitor Centre in Haines Junction or at the Thechàl Dhâl Visitor Centre.

Using topographic a map at a 1:50,000 scale is highly recommended: Jarvis River 115 B/16

 

Parks Canada 24 hour emergency dispatch

1-780-852-3100

Cellular telephones do not work in most of the park. Satellite phones or satellite messaging devices are strongly recommended.

Distance : 14 km (8,7 mi) aller-retour
Durée : 7-11 heures
Dénivellation : 1 180 m (3 870’)
Altitude maximale : 1 960 m (6 429’)

Point de depart : 8 km (5 mi) au sud du centre d’accueil de Thachäl Dhäl (63 km (39 mi) au nord de Haines Junction) sur la route de l’Alaska, garez-vous à l’ancien lodge du lac.
Carte topographique : Jarvis river 115B/16.

Vue d'ensemble

Depuis le plateau Kluane, ce parcours offre une vue splendide sur la rivière Slim, le lac Kluane, la chaine de montagne Ruby, et Thechàl Dhâl (la montagne Sheep).

Le parcours décrit ne se trouve pas dans les limites du parc national et réserve de Kluane.

Téléchargez la description du Parcours du plateau Kluane (PDF, Ko)


Un parcours n’est pas un sentier

Les parcours ne sont pas indiqués avec des panneaux et ne sont pas entretenus. Le parcours décrit ici n’est qu’une suggestion qui peut vous aider. L’autonomie et l’expérience de randonnée en région sauvage sont essentielles. Ainsi que d’excellentes connaissances en orientation, lecture de cartes topographiques et utilisation de boussole. C’est la responsabilité de chaque randonneur qui s’engage sur ces parcours, d’avoir une préparation adéquat et d’être prêt à subvenir à ses propres besoins.

Description

Quittez la route et garez-vous devant l’ancien Lodge du lac Kluane. Traversez la route de l’Alaska and commencez à marcher direction nord vers le centre d’accueil de Thechàl Dhâl ; vous arriverez au lit d’un ruisseau a environ 300m au nord du lodge. 20m plus loin, commence la piste d’animaux, que les gens de la région appellent ‘Mike’s trail’. La piste dévie dans les buissons perpendiculairement à la route de l’Alaska. A peu prêt 20m plus loin, la piste joint la coupe a blanc d’un vieux pipeline (identifiable par une ligne de saule sans gros épicéa, parallèle a la route). Ne suivez pas le sentier le long de pipeline, mais continuez à marcher perpendiculaire à la route. Dans 40 à 50m, la piste d’animaux devient plus visible. Le long de ce parcours, la piste suit un ancien chemin rasé (Évident par le manque de grand épicéa de chaque cote du sentier, pendant quelques mètres). Les shépherdie du Canada sont en grandes quantités dans cette région, donc faites du bruit pour éviter de rencontrer un ours. La piste d’animaux sort à un lit de rivière ; suivez celui-ci pendant environ 100m et devis sur la gauche retournant dans la forêt. Suivez n’importe quels cairns et rubans forestiers à travers cette section. De là, le parcours monte sur la piste d’animaux pendant 2 à 3 heures.

Approchant du plateau, la piste se révèle être probablement une piste d’ours (les buissons sont clairsemés jusqu’à hauteur de la poitrine et vous devez séparer les saules autour de votre taille pour avancer.). Cette partie du parcours est un peu une marche dans de la végétation dense. Il s’ouvre éventuellement sur des saules clairsemes avant d’atteindre l’alpin. Voyagez aussi loin que vous le souhaiter, mais pensez à repérer par où vous êtes arrivé, afin de trouver votre chemin du retour (peut être sage d’avoir du ruban forestier). Prendre des notes de repères reconnaissables tout au long du chemin peut vous aider à retrouver votre chemin retour plus facilement.

Le tertre au sud du plateau Kluane est une superbe destination finale avec une vue panoramique. Si vous décidez de continuer plus à l’ouest, sur un parcours vous amenant à passer la nuit dans les limites du Parc, sachez qu’il est requis par les randonneurs, de s’enregistrer avec le parc pour toute nuitée passée au sein de celui-ci.

Ce que vous devez savoir

Les observations d’ours sont fréquentes dans la région. Passez en revue les recommandations contenues dans le dépliant Vous êtes au pays des ours. Veuillez rapporter toutes observations d’ours aux employés de l’un des centres d’accueil.

Utiliser une carte topographiqueà l’échelle 1/50000 est fortementrecommande: Jarvis river 115B/16

 

Parcs Canada (service 24 heures sur 24 en cas d’urgence)

1-780-852-3100

Les téléphones cellulaires ne fonctionnent pas dans la plupart du parc. Les téléphones ou appareils de messageries par satellites sont fortement recommandés.