Distance: 10 km (6 mi) return to cirque; 16 km (10 mi) return to summit
Time: 4 - 6 hours to cirque; 8 - 10 hours to summit
Elevation gain: 548 M (1,800') to cirque; 1,442M (4,729') to summit
Maximum elevation: 1,280 M (4 200') at cirque; 1,990 M (6,529') at summit

Trailhead: 27 km (17 mi) south of Haines Junction on the Haines Road, on the Kathleen Lake access road. 
Topo map: Kathleen Lakes 115 A/11

In summary

This is a steep trail up to a spectacular cirque—the “seat” of the King’s Throne. It is possible to follow an unmarked, unmaintained route to the peak of the mountain. Alpine flowers and great views are some of the highlights of this trail. Keep in mind this trail is steep and the rocks can be slippery when descending, even in dry weather.

Download the King's Throne trail and summit route descriptions (PDF, 409 Kb)


The details

Kings Throne trail 

The trail begins at the Cottonwood trailhead (located between the campground road and the lake shore on the Kathleen Lake access road). For approximately the first 2 km, the trail follows an old mining road along the south side of Kathleen Lake. Watch for a trail marker indicating where the King's Throne trail and Cottonwood trail branch off to the left. Here, at the base of the mountain, the trail begins to climb through a forested area. Another trail marker will indicate where the Cottonwood trail branches to the right. Stay left to continue up the King’s Throne trail. Once the trail emerges from the trees, it zigzags back and forth up the mountain. Please hike on the switchbacks and avoid shortcut trails to prevent erosion. This will take you to the bench of the throne. The maintained trail ends here.

Summit route

A route is not a trail

Routes are not marked with signs or maintained in any manner. The route described here is only a suggestion that may help guide you on your trip. Self-reliance and wilderness travel experience are essential, including excellent route finding skills, map and compass skills. It is the responsibility of individual hikers who choose to follow such routes to adequately prepare and be prepared to rely on themselves.

Distance: 6 km (3.8 mi) return trip
Time: 2-4 hours
Elevation gain: 710 m (2,329’)
Maximum elevation: 1,990 m (6,529')

To follow the unmarked, unmaintained route to the peak of the mountain climb the grassy ridge on the left side of the cirque (as you face into the cirque). After a steep climb up the ridge, the terrain levels out somewhat at about 1,830 m (6000') and you can walk along the ridge, gaining the final elevation to eventually reach the peak.

What you need to know

The steep scree and rock slopes encountered on this trail and route can be unstable, slippery and can present some difficult hiking. Weather is another factor to consider on this route. Strong wind gusts can be a hazard on the exposed ridges. Clouds can descend rapidly and make finding the trail or route difficult. The rocks can be slippery when descending, even when dry. If it starts to rain, the descent can become even more slippery. Please use caution.

Sturdy footwear and hiking poles are highly recommended for the trail and route.

Bear sightings are common in the area. Review recommendations for travel within the You Are In Bear Country brochure. All bear sightings should be reported to the staff at the Kluane National Park and Reserve Visitor Centre in Haines Junction or the Thechàl Dhâl Visitor Centre.

Parks Canada 24 hour emergency dispatch

1-780-852-3100

Cellular telephones do not work in most of the park. Satellite phones or satellite messaging devices are strongly recommended.

map of Kings Throne trail and route
A topographic map at a 1:50,000 scale is available for the route: Kathleen Lakes 115 A/11

Distance : 10 km (6 mi) aller-retour à cirque; 16 km (10 mi) aller-retour à sommet
Durée : 4 à 6 heures à cirque; 8 à 10 heures à sommet
Dénivellation : 548 m (1 800 pi) à cirque; 1 442 m (4 729 pi) à sommet
Altitude maximale : 1 280 m (4 200 pi) à cirque; 1 990 m (6 529 pi) à sommet

Point de départ : 27 km (17 mi) au sud de Haines Junction en direction de Haines, sur la route d’accès au lac Kathleen.
Carte topographique : Lac Kathleen 115 A/11

Vue d'ensemble

Il s'agit d'un sentier escarpé menant à un cirque spectaculaire. Il porte bien son nom puisqu'il ressemble au trône d'un roi (King's Throne). Il est possible de continuer et d'atteindre le sommet de la montagne. Les plantes alpines et les merveilleux points de vue qui s'offrent aux promeneurs sont les principaux points d'intérêt de ce parcours. Gardez à l’esprit que ce sentier est escarpé et que les pierres peuvent être glissantes lors de la descente, même par temps sec.

Téléchargez la description du Sentier et du Parcours Sommet King's Throne (PDF, 410 Ko)


Description

Le sentier

Le point de départ des sentiers Cottonwood/King’s Throne est situé entre la route du terrain de campement et l’aire d'utilisation diurne du lac Kathleen au bord du Lac Kathleen. Sur environ 2 kilomètres, on suit un ancien chemin d'exploitation minière du côté sud du lac Kathleen. Trouvez le repère indiquant l'endroit où le sentier King's Throne bifurque vers la gauche. Là, au pied de la montagne, le sentier commence à monter dans une région boisée. Un autre repère vous dirigera vers la droite, pour le sentier Cottonwood. Restez sur la gauche pour continuer l’ascension du sentier King’s Throne. Une fois sortis de la forêt, le sentier continue à monter en « zigzaguant » le long d’un talus d'éboulis. Veuillez demeurer sur le sentier et évitez les raccourcis en tout temps pour prévenir l’érosion. Vous êtes maintenant au siège du trône. Le sentier entretenu se termine ici.

Parcours sommet

Un parcours n’est pas un sentier

Les parcours ne sont pas indiqués avec des panneaux et ne sont pas entretenus. Le parcours décrit ici n’est qu’une suggestion qui peut vous aider. L’autonomie et l’expérience de randonnée en région sauvage sont essentielles. Ainsi que d’excellentes connaissances en orientation, lecture de cartes topographiques et utilisation de boussole. C’est la responsabilité de chaque randonneur qui s’engage sur ces parcours, d’avoir une préparation adéquat et d’être prêt à subvenir à ses propres besoins.

Distance : 6 km (3,8 mi) aller-retour
Durée : 2-4 heures
Dénivellation : 710 m (2 329’)
Altitude maximale : 1 990 m (6 529')

Continuez et d'atteindre le sommet de la montagne en suivant un parcours sans signalisation et sans entretien, qui suit la crête à votre gauche (vue du cirque). Après avoir grimpe la pente escarpées de la crête, a environ 1 830 mètres (6 000 pi), le terrain s'aplanit et vous pouvez marcher jusqu'au sommet.

Ce que vous devez savoir

Les talus d'éboulis escarpés qui se trouvent sur le parcours peuvent être instables, glissants et rendre cette randonnée difficile. On doit également tenir compte des conditions météorologiques. Les fortes bourrasques peuvent être dangereuses sur les crêtes exposées au vent. De plus, les nuages peuvent descendre rapidement et mettent difficile le repérage du sentier ou du parcours.

Il est recommandé de porter de solides chaussures et des bâtons de marche pour le sentier ainsi que pour le parcours. De plus, les roches peuvent être glissantes ; nous vous invitons donc à la prudence.

Les observations d’ours sont fréquentes dans la région. Passez en revue les recommandations contenues dans le dépliant Vous êtes au pays des ours. Veuillez signaler la présence d’ours au personnel de l’un des centres d’accueil.

Parcs Canada (service 24 heures sur 24 en cas d’urgence)

1-780-852-3100

Les téléphones cellulaires ne fonctionnent pas dans la plupart du parc. Les téléphones ou appareils de messageries par satellites sont fortement recommandés.

carte de sentierUne carte topographique à l’échelle 1/50000 est disponible pour le parcours : Kathleen Lakes 115 A/11.