2021 rafting season

Permits

Visitors are able to obtain overnight backcountry permits for rafting the section of the Alsek River within Kluane National Park and Reserve. Registration and de-registration is mandatory. To learn more about the registration process, please visit Overnight registration. To save time during registration and limit the number of people at the front desk, we encourage you to use the Pre-registration form. A park staff member will contact you to complete the registration process.

An aircraft access permit is required for a Lowell Glacier take-out and you must fly with a company licensed to land in Kluane National Park and Reserve. Aircraft landings at Lowell Lake are limited to one group per day every other day. Aircraft access permits can be obtained when you pick up your Kluane overnight backcountry permit.

Fees apply.

Trip scheduling

To schedule a rafting trip with the park, please contact us prior to registering to discuss your options. If you have made a reservation with a commercial operator please contact them directly for information about your booking. For those traveling to Turnback Canyon a permit is not required to travel through Tatshenshini-Alsek Provincial Park, but provincial park use fees apply. Contact BC Parks.

Until border restrictions on non-essential travel change, rafting to Glacier Bay from Canada is not possible.

Commercial operators

Commercial operators will need a Parks Canada Business License and Kluane guide licenses, along with a COVID-19 Operational Plan as required by Yukon Government regulations. Guides will need to present their Kluane license card when registering.


In order to ensure a wilderness experience and protect natural and cultural resources, the number and frequency of rafting trips on the Alsek River are controlled by a permit system. The Alsek River flows through Kluane National Park & Reserve in the Yukon, Tatshenshini-Alsek Provincial Park in British Columbia and Glacier Bay National Park & Preserve in Alaska. Separate fees apply to each of the three parks. Be sure you have the latest information on fees and registration procedures by contacting each agency directly.


Permits

Kluane National Park and Reserve

All river trips travelling through Kluane National Park and Reserve must obtain an overnight backcountry permit and reserve their put-in date with Parks Canada. Put-in dates are limited to one departure from Serpentine Creek every other day.

An aircraft access permit is required for a Lowell Glacier take-out and you must fly with a company licensed to land in Kluane National Park and Reserve. Aircraft access permits can be obtained when you pick up your Kluane overnight backcountry permit.

Fees apply.

Tatshenshini-Alsek Park

A permit is not required to travel through Tatshenshini-Alsek Provincial Park. Fees apply.

Glacier Bay National Park and Preserve

Trips travelling through to Dry Bay must also obtain an Alsek River Permit and reserve their take-out date with the U.S. National Park Service. Only one trip per day is allowed to arrive at Dry Bay. Fees apply.

Reservations (required)

Step 1
If you are taking out at Dry Bay, Alaska:
you must first obtain a take-out date from Glacier Bay National Park & Preserve. Take out dates are allocated in December for the upcoming season. A waiting list is maintained for Dry Bay trips. Fees apply.

Contact Glacier Bay National Park & Preserve

Step 2
Once you have a take-out date
, or if taking out at Lowell Lake or Turnback: request a put-in date from Kluane National Park and Reserve. Doing this as soon as possible will help to ensure you get the date that works best for you.

Contact Kluane National Park & Reserve

Note: You must pick up your overnight backcountry permit and aircraft access permits (if applicable) and pay applicable fees at the Visitor Reception Centre in Haines Junction the day prior to, or the day you start your trip.

Step 3
Once you have reserved your Put-in and Take-out dates: pay your Tatshenshini-Alsek Provincial Park user fees.

Contact BC Parks 

Contact information

Kluane National Park and Reserve
Box 5495
Haines Junction, Yukon
Y0B 1L0, CANADA
Phone: 867-634-7207 (summer season) or at 867-634-5248 (off season)
Fax: 867-634-7208

Tatshenshini-Alsek Provincial Park
To pay Park User Fees: 250-387-2928

Summer
Tatshenshini-Alsek Park Ranger
Box 5544,
Haines Junction, Yukon
Y0B 1L0, CANADA
Phone: 867-634-4248
Fax: 867-634-2108

Winter
Postal Bag 5000,
Smithers, British Columbia
V0J 2N0 CANADA
Phone: 250-847-7320
Fax: 250-847-7659

Glacier Bay National Park and Preserve
Park Headquarters
PO Box 140
Gustavus AK
99826 USA
Phone: (907) 697-2230
Fax: (907)697-2654

Yakutat Ranger Station
Box 137,
Yakutat, Alaska
99689 USA
Phone: 907-784-3295
Fax: 907-784-3535
Recorded River Information Line: 907-784-3370

Saison 2021

Permis

Les visiteurs peuvent obtenir un permis pour faire du rafting sur la section de la rivière Alsek dans le parc national et la réserve de parc national de Kluane. Les visiteurs doivent obligatoirement s’inscrire et signaler leur retour. Pour en savoir plus sur les enregistrements pour les nuitées dans l’arriere-pays, veuillez aller sur Enregistrement pour l'arrière-pays. Pour gagner du temps durant le processus d’inscription et pour limiter le nombre de personnes à l’accueil, nous vous encourageons à remplir le formulaire de préinscription. Un employé de parc vous contactera pour compléter la procédure d’enregistrement.

Si vous voulez qu'on vous ramasse au glacier Lowell, vous devez vous procurer un permis d’accès aux aéronefs et payer les droits afférents. Ils sont limites à un groupe par jours tous les deux jours. Le permis vous sera remis au même moment que votre permis de nuitées dans l'arrière-pays.

Tarifications

Réservations

Si vous souhaitez réserver une excursion de rafting avec le parc, veuillez nous contacter avant de vous enregistrer. Si vous avez effectué une réservation auprès d'un exploitant commercial, veuillez le contacter directement pour obtenir des informations sur votre réservation. Les personnes continuant jusqu’au canyon Turnback n’ont pas besoin de permis pour traverser le parc provincial Tatshenshini-Alsek, mais des frais d’utilisation s’appliquent. Veuillez contacter les parcs de Colombie-Britannique.

Jusqu’à ce que les restrictions frontalières sur les déplacements non essentiels changent, le rafting vers Glacier Bay à partir du Canada n’est pas possible.

Exploitants commerciaux

Les exploitants commerciaux auront besoin d’un permis d’exploitation de Parcs Canada ainsi qu’une licence de parc pour chaque guide, accompagné d’un plan opérationnel relatif à la COVID 19, comme l’exigent les règlements du gouvernement du Yukon.

 


Pour que les visiteurs puissent faire l'expérience de la nature sauvage et pour que les ressources naturelles et culturelles demeurent intactes, le nombre et la fréquence des excursions de rafting sont contrôlés par un système de permis. La rivière Alsek traverse le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane au Yukon, le parc provincial Tatshenshini-Alsek en Colombie-Britannique et le parc national et la réserve de parc national Glacier Bay en Alaska. Des droits distincts sont cependant exigés par chacun des trois parcs. Assurez-vous d'obtenir les derniers renseignements sur les droits et les procédures d'inscription en communiquant directement avec les organismes concernés.


Permis

Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane

Tous les excursionnistes doivent réserver leur date de mise à l’eau des embarcations et se procurer un permis de nuitées dans l'arrière-pays auprès du parc Kluane. À ruisseau Serpentine les départs sont limités à un tous les deux jours.

Si vous voulez qu'on vous ramasse au glacier Lowell, vous devez vous procurer un permis d’accès aux aéronefs et payer les droits afférents. Le permis vous sera remis au même moment que votre permis de nuitées dans l'arrière-pays.

Tarifications.

Parc provincial Tatshenshini-Alsek

Il n'est pas nécessaire de se procurer un permis pour passer par le parc provincial Tatshenshini-Alsek. Des droits sont exigés (anglais seulement).

Parc national et réserve de parc national Glacier Bay

Ceux qui vont jusqu'à Dry Bay doivent également obtenir un permis et fixer une date d'arrivée en communiquant avec le parc Glacier Bay en Alaska. Une seule arrivée par jour est autoriseé à Dry Bay. Des droits sont exigés (anglais seulement).

Réservations (obligatoire)

1. Si vous faites une excursion jusqu'à Dry Bay en Alaska : vous devez réserver une date d'arrivée auprès de l'administration du parc Glacier Bay. Les dates d’attribution pour la prochaine saison sont déterminées en décembre. L'administration du parc Glacier Bay tient une liste d'attente pour les excursions à Dry Bay.

Communiquez avec Parc national et réserve de parc national Glacier Bay (anglais seulement).

2. Après avoir obtenu votre date d'arrivée, ou si vous faites une excursion jusqu'au lac Lowell ou Turnback : réservez une date de mise à l’eau des embarcations auprès de l'administration du parc Kluane. Faites-le le plus vite possible pour avoir de meilleures chances d'obtenir les dates qui vous conviennent.

Communiquez avec Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane.

Nota : Procurez-vous un permis de nuitées dans l'arrière-pays et un permis d’accès aux aéronefs auprès du Centre d'accueil de Haines Junction et acquittez les droits applicables le jour du début de votre excursion ou le jour précédant.

3. Après avoir obtenu vos dates d'arrivée et de mise à l’eau des embarcations : payer les droits applicables de Tatshenshini-Alsek.

Communiquez avec l'administration des parcs provinciaux de la Colombie-Britannique (anglais seulement).

Coordonnées

Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane
C.P. 5495
Haines Junction (Yukon)
Y0B 1L0 CANADA
Tél. : 867-634-7250 ext 216
Télé : 867-634-7208

Parc Tatshenshini-Alsek
(anglais seulement)
Paiement des droits : 250-952-0932

Été
Conservateur de parc principal
C.P. 5544
Haines Junction (Yukon)
Y0B 1L0 CANADA
Tél. : 867-634-4248
Télé : 867-634-2108

Hiver
Sac postal 5000
Smithers (Colombie-Britannique)
V0J 2N0 CANADA
Tél. : 250-847-7320
Télé : 250-847-7659
Parc national et réserve de parc national Glacier Bay
(anglais seulement)
Yakutat Ranger Station
C.P. 137
Yakutat (Alaska)
99689 États-Unis
Tél. : 907-784-3295
Télé : 907-784-3535
Ligne d'information automatisée 907-784-3370