Mountaineering parties must be entirely self-sufficient and able to handle any emergency situations on their own. In the event of an emergency you should be prepared for lengthy delays in search and rescue response times due to weather conditions and/or the availability of both aircraft and rescue personnel.

Climate and weather | Altitude | Objective hazards | Rescue capability | Communication | Emergency contact information


Climate and weather

The weather within the Icefield Ranges remains in winter-like conditions all year round. Severe storms involving cold temperatures, high winds in excess of 160 km/h (100 mph) and excessive snowfalls are common and can last for several days at a time. Prolonged confinement within cramped tents or snow caves often occurs due to bad weather.

Making camp in the Icefields

Air temperatures can range from minus 40 degrees Celsius to well above freezing during the climbing season depending on elevation, aspect and current weather patterns. Cold injuries such as frostbite and hypothermia are always possible and should be guarded against with high quality winter mountaineering clothing, sleeping bags and tents.Intense solar radiation and long hours of daylight make sunscreen and good quality sunglasses a necessity.

Food high in fat and carbohydrates is recommended for maintaining strength and warmth. Sufficient water must be consumed to prevent dehydration.

  • Allow for extra time, food and fuel in the event of delays in flying into and out of the Icefield Ranges.
To the top

Altitude

As a mountaineer you will be carrying loads of 20 to 40 kilograms (40 to 90 pounds) at altitudes of 2000 to 5700 meters (6,500 to 19,500 feet). Proper acclimatization must always be considered.

  • Acclimatize slowly: carry high and sleep low.

Acute mountain sickness may occur on routes that are ascended too rapidly. The following list of dangers and risks is not exhaustive but may include: headache, muscle cramps, cough, Cheyne-Stokes breathing, digestive disturbances, dehydration, poor sleep, and intense fatigue. Serious cold injuries (particularly to the feet and hands), hypothermia, snow blindness, pulmonary edema, cerebral edema and direct injuries due to falls can also occur.

To the top

Objective hazards

Ascending Pinnacle Peak

Objective hazards such as crevasses, avalanches and corniced ridges may be encountered during any expedition.

  • Travel roped on all glaciers

All members of your expedition should be knowledgeable of crevasse rescue, wilderness first-aid, glacier travel, winter mountaineering and navigation.

To the top

Rescue capability

All expeditions should be fully capable of self-rescue and should be able to bring their sick or injured members to a location where an aircraft landing and evacuation is possible.

  • Expeditions of four or more people are stronger and more capable of self-rescue than smaller groups.

In the event of an emergency you should be prepared for lengthy delays in search and rescue response times due to:

  • Delays in reporting the emergency
  • Availability of suitable aircraft
  • Adverse weather conditions
  • Elevation and location of the sick, injured or stranded persons
  • Time required for members of a rescue team to arrive and acclimatize
To the top

Communication

Mt. Steele (5,073 m)

Reliable communication with someone outside of the Icefield Ranges is strongly recommended for all expeditions. It is important to be able to call for assistance in the event of injury or illness and to request food drops, weather information and transportation arrangements.

Satellite telephones are the preferred form of communications. These may be rented locally from telecommunications business in Whitehorse, Yukon. Other satellite GPS messenger devices, such as a SPOT or inReach, are also effective.  

Personal locator beacons (PLB’s) are another option for emergency notification. These lightweight devices can be manually activated to transmit a distress signal that is received by satellite and relayed to a National Search and Rescue organisation. In Canada these devices should transmit at 406 MHz and should be registered with the Canadian Beacon Registry.

 

Emergency contact information

Parks Canada 24 hr emergency dispatch

1-780-852-3100

Les groupes des alpinistes doivent donc être entièrement autonomes et capables de composer seuls avec les urgences. En cas d’urgence, attendez-vous à ce que les délais d’intervention des moyens de recherche et de sauvetage soient longs à cause des conditions atmosphériques ou de problème de disponibilité des aéronefs et des sauveteurs.

Le climat | L'altitude | Dangers | La capacité de sauvetage | Communication | En cas d'urgence


Le climat

Le climat dans les chaînons Icefield se résume à des conditions hivernales tout au long de l'année. Les violentes tempêtes, accompagnées de temps froid, de vents soufflant à plus de 100 kilomètres à l'heure et d'abondantes chutes de neige, sont fréquentes et durent parfois plusieurs jours. Le mauvais temps entraîne souvent un confinement prolongé dans des tentes exiguës ou dans des cavernes creusées dans la neige.

Camping dans les chaînons Icefield

Pendant la saison d'escalade, la température peut atteindre -40 °C ou se maintenir bien au-dessus du point de congélation, selon l'altitude, l'orientation et les conditions atmosphériques.Le froid peut causer des problèmes. Il convient donc de se protéger contre les engelures et l'hypothermie au moyen de vêtements d'alpinisme d'hiver, de sacs de couchage et de tentes de bonne qualité. Étant donné les longues périodes d'ensoleillement et le rayonnement solaire intense, il faut employer de l'écran solaire et porter des verres fumés efficaces.

Il est recommandé de consommer des aliments à teneur élevée en matières grasses et en hydrates de carbone, pour conserver ses forces et se tenir au chaud.  Il faut également boire assez d'eau pour éviter la déshydratation.

  • Il convient de prévoir du temps, des rations et du combustible supplémentaires en cas d'imprévus au départ et au retour.
Haut de la page

L'altitude

En tant qu’alpiniste faisant une expédition dans le parc national et la réserve de parc national Kluane, vous transporterez des charges de 20 à 40 kg à des altitudes de 2 000 à 5 700 m. Il faut toujours prévoir une période suffisante d'acclimatation à l'altitude.

  • Il faut s'acclimater lentement, portez le matériel en haute altitude et dormez en basse altitude.

Les alpinistes souffrent parfois du mal des montagnes lorsque l'escalade s'effectue à un rythme trop rapide. La liste qui suit énumère certains des dangers et des risques inhérents à l'escalade : maux de tête, crampes musculaires, toux, respiration de Cheyne-Stokes, troubles digestifs, déshydratation, insomnie et extrême fatigue. Les alpinistes peuvent également être victimes d'engelures graves, particulièrement aux pieds, d'hypothermie, de cécité des neiges, d'oedème pulmonaire, d'oedème cérébral et de blessures causées par des chutes.

Haut de la page

Dangers

Pinnacle Peak

Toute expédition peut comporter des dangers tels crevasses, avalanches et corniches. La connaissance des techniques d'alpinisme et d'autosauvetage est donc nécessaire.

  • Il faut toujours s'encorder sur les glaciers.

Tous les membres de votre groupe connaissent bien les techniques de sauvetage en crevasse, de secourisme en milieu sauvage, de déplacement sur glacier, d’alpinisme hivernal et d’orientation.

Haut de la page

La capacité de sauvetage

Les alpinistes devraient être en mesure d'assurer pleinement les opérations de sauvetage et de transporter les malades ou les blessés là où il est possible d'atterrir et de les évacuer.

  • Les groupes comptant quatre personnes et plus sont mieux en mesure d'effectuer le parcours et de se débrouiller en cas d'urgence que les groupes moins nombreux.

En cas d’urgence, attendez-vous à ce que les délais d’intervention des moyens de recherche et de sauvetage soient longs à cause :

  • Le retard à signaler l'urgence
  • La possibilité de trouver un aéronef convenable
  • Les conditions atmosphériques
  • L'altitude et l'endroit où se trouvent les personnes malades, blessées ou immobilisées
  • Le temps qu'il faut à une équipe de sauvetage pour arriver et s'acclimater à l'altitude 

Haut de la page

Communication

Mt Steele
Mt. Steele (5 073 m)

Les alpinistes doivent pouvoir communiquer de manière fiable avec quelqu’un se trouvant avec quelqu’un se trouvant à l’extérieur des chaînons Icefield durant leur expédition. Elles doivent être en mesure d'appeler à l'aide en cas de blessure ou de maladie, de demander des parachutages de vivres et des renseignements sur la météo ou d'organiser le transport.

Nous privilégions les téléphones mobiles GSN comme mode de communications. Ceux-ci peuvent être loués localement dans une des entreprises de télécommunication de Whitehorse, au Yukon. D’autres systèmes de positionnement global servant à la communication par satellite, tel que le dispositif SPOT ou inReach, sont aussi efficaces.

Les balises de localisation personnelle (PLB) sont très utiles en cas d’urgence. Ces appareils légers peuvent être activés manuellement afin de transmettre un signal de détresse qui sera reçu par un satellite chargé de l’envoyer à un organisme national de recherche et de sauvetage. Au Canada, ces appareils devraient transmettre à 406 MHz et être inscrits au Registre canadien des balises.

 

En cas d'urgence

Parcs Canada (service 24 heures sur 24)

1-780-852-3100