Ivvavik is one of the most isolated parks in North America, and rescue services and facilities are limited. Keeping this in mind, it is important for visitors to be self-sufficient, self-reliant, and capable of handling emergencies. Parks Canada has a search and rescue team based in Inuvik, however, rescue operations are conditioned by weather, aircraft or staff availability.  Response times could be anywhere from 1-2 days or more depending on the circumstances. 

Visitors joining our Arctic Base Camp Trips will be accompanied by trained Parks Canada guides and do not need to be self-sufficient like independent visitors. 

All visitors to Ivvavik National Park must register and de-register with Parks Canada in Inuvik, NT and will receive an orientation before entering the Park.

Visit https://www.adventuresmart.ca/tripplanning/gear.htm for tips on how to dress and what to pack.

For important information about staying safe while enjoying Ivvavik National Park, please explore the topics below:

Emergency Contact Information

Emergency assistance can be obtained by contacting Parks Canada at any time throughout the year.

From May to September:

1. Call  867-678-0705. This is a local Duty Officer who is available 24/7.

2. If you are unable to reach the local Duty Officer, call Parks Canada Dispatch (located in Jasper, Alberta) at: 1-877-852-3100.

From September to April:

1. Call Parks Canada Dispatch (located in Jasper, Alberta) at: 1-877-852-3100.

  • Satellite based communications devices like satellite phones, "SPOT" and "InReach" devices are the only method of communications that work in Ivvavik National Park. There is no cell service or land lines.
  • Be familiar with your device before you start your trip. Understand the SOS/Emergency and messaging functions. Enter messaging and a contact list before your trip and be sure to include the Parks Canada Duty Officer number.
  • Personal Locator Beacons (PLB) are an alternate device that are available, these devices send out a distress signal and are for emergency use only.
Climate

Climate

When preparing for visiting Ivvavik National Park it is necessary to be ready for all extremes. Weather conditions can change quickly. Summer temperatures in the park average 14°C and usually range between 5° and 25°C. Extreme weather can bring snowfall and temperatures as low as -15°C even in the summer, though this is rare. Always bring plenty of warm clothing and food. Your tent and other shelters should be able to withstand strong winds. 

Visit

www.adventuresmart.ca/trip_safety/gear.htm for tips on how to dress and what to pack.

Visitors venturing into the park on their own must provide a detailed route and travel plans to the Parks Canada office in Invuik before entering the park. This is done as part of the pre-trip orientation. 

Visitors on our Arctic Base Camp Trips travel most frequently with Parks Canada staff, but if they choose to hike independently, routes and plans are communicated to Parks Canada staff.

Water Safety

River crossings

Small creek crossings are a common part of any hiking or rafting trip in the park, and should be done with caution. Creek crossings are usually straightforward but can lead through knee- deep, fast-flowing water. 

Extreme caution is necessary when crossing rivers such as the Babbage, Trail, Crow, Spring and Malcolm Rivers and Joe Creek. The seasonal water levels of these drainages vary significantly, depending on snow pack and precipitation. In rainy summers some of the crossings may be dangerous or impossible. Do not attempt to cross the Firth River without a watercraft. Exposure to the cold water temperatures of the rivers and lakes can quickly lead to hypothermia.

When crossing creeks, we recommend you:

  • Cross early in the day when water levels are at their lowest;
  • Wear boots or sandals to prevent cuts from sharp stones and to give you better footing;
  • Avoid wearing hip waders as they may fill with water during crossing attempts;
  • Undo the waist belt and chest strap of your backpack;
  • Use a walking stick, positioned upstream to provide more support;
  • Move across the stream in a diagonal fashion, facing upstream and yielding to the current; and link arms with one or more people.

Water Quality

Although there have not been any reported human cases of giardiasis, Giardia microbes are present in the park. Visitors are advised to filter, treat, or boil all drinking water. 

Flash Floods

Water from snowmelt and rain quickly makes its way into the Firth River and can raise water levels very quickly. The volume of water in the river can double in a matter of hours. . River users must remain alert and be prepared to move camp to higher groundduring periods of sustained heavy rain In high water, travellers must use sound judgment when making decisions about entering or remaining in the canyon section of the river. The difficulty and classification of many rapids increases with higher water volumes.  

Aufeis

Aufeis are extensive sheets of ice 2 to 5 meters thick found at the head waters and the delta of the Firth River. These sheets of ice are formed by water from underground springs running over top of existing river ice and then freezing. The ice often becomes so thick that it may not melt completely during the summer.

Aufeis hazards include:

  • Channels of the river can flow into and under the ice. You must remain alert and stay clear of these channels to avoid submersion.
  • Channels of the river can undercut the edges of aufeis. These overhanging sheets of ice are very unstable and should be avoided as they can separate from the main sheet of ice and pin a boat or a person underwater.
  • Chunks of ice that calve off of the main sheets of ice into the river can pose serious navigational problems.
  • Fishing

    Use caution when fishing at the water’s edge as the ground can be uneven, loose or slippery. In areas close to fast moving water such as rapids a fall in could result in exposure to icy water,  being swept by the current, or drowning. When travelling on the shore or river bank, select areas with stable ground. Watch where you step - be sure to use solid, dry, ground to avoid slipping or falling. Fish in areas where the water is calm. Distance yourself from fast moving water. 

    Wildlife Safety

     

    One of the strong appeals of Ivvavik is its wilderness setting. We want to ensure that our visitors understand how to keep Ivvavik a place where wildlife roam comfortably and untouched by our presence in the Park.

    Bear Safety

    Ivvavik is home to three species of bears: black, grizzly, and polar bear. The most commonly viewed of these three are grizzlies.

    A Bear safety briefing will be provided during pre-trip orientations where visitors watch Staying Safe in Bear Country and are given You Are in Bear Country and Safety in Polar Bear Country brochures. These resources provide excellent information focusing on prevention and what to do if you encounter a bear.

    Follow these safety tips to avoid encounters with bears:

    • Store and prepare food at least 50 metres away from your camp to eliminate smells that would attract a bear. Never store food or scented toiletries in or around your tent and use bear-proof containers to store your food and toiletries when not in use. 

    Please note: Storage for toiletries and food is available for Arctic Base Camp Trip visitors in a building at base camp. Bear safe canisters are not required for these trips.

    • Use unscented toiletries to avoid smells that would attract a bear.
    • Pack out what you have packed with you to ensure that bears never learn to associate humans with a food source. Practice leave no trace principles. 
    • Travel in groups. The larger the group, the greater the chances of deterring a bear.
    • Stay alert and watch for fresh signs of bear activity such as scat, tracks, and freshly tramped plants. When hiking, announce your presence by calling out, singing or talking loudly, especially near streams and in the dense shrub vegetation along valley bottoms. This helps to alert a bear of your presence and helps to prevent a surprise encounter.
    • If you see a bear, calmly gather group members together. Do not approach the bear for a closer look. If possible leave the area calmly.
    • Carry bear deterrents such as bear spray and air horns and make sure you know how to use these devices.
    • If you encounter a large dead animal, leave the area immediately.
    • Set up tents in a line rather than a circle and maintain at least 5 metres between them.

    If a bear acts aggressively toward you , contact the Parks Canada Duty Officer as soon as possible.

    A note on polar bears:
    Polar bear behaviour is very different from that of a grizzly and black bears. Although it is unlikely that you will encounter a Polar Bear in Ivvavik during the summer months, they are occasionally spotted along the park’s coastline. Ensure you read the Safety in Polar Bear Country brochure and report all polar bear sightings and signs to park staff as soon as possible by calling the Duty Officer.

    For more information on bear safety, please visit: http://www.bearsmart.com/ (English website)

    Musk ox and Moose

    Muskoxen and moose can be found throughout the park at any time of the year. While normally docile, muskoxen and moose can, on occasion, charge humans, especially if they feel threatened or provoked. The likelihood of this increases as the bulls enter the rut towards late July. Remember, these are wild animals. Do not approach them, and where possible, keep a physical barrier such as a ravine, pond or creek between you and the muskoxen.

    Wolves and Wolverine

    Wolves and wolverine are found throughout the park. It is extremely rare for these animals to pose a threat to humans, but they are predators and may become aggressive in exceptional circumstances. Travel in groups, do not approach these (or any other) wild animals and defend yourself by making noise or deploying bear spray and an air horn in the event of aggressive behavior.

    Biting insects

    Insects are only active during the brief arctic summer, so they pack a lot of activity into their short lives. The numbers of mosquitos, blackflies and horseflies seem to increase gradually in June and begin to decrease in August. July is reliably buggy. Repellent, bug jackets and bug hats are essential equipment.

    Rabies

    Be suspicious of any friendly or unusually bold animals. As a general rule, keep a safe distance from all wildlife.

    Back-country camping

    Back-country camping

    Back-country camping

    Ivvavik has no designated campsites. You may camp anywhere you like, except at archaeological sites.

    Parks Canada has, where possible, identified scenic and appropriate camping sites on the Firth River. Contact Parks Canada for a copy of the Firth River Map and Guide.

    In order to protect this pristine wilderness, please practice No Trace Camping. All garbage must be packed out with you.

    The winds can be very strong and prolonged in Ivvavik National Park. A good quality tent, able to withstand fierce winds, is crucial for a comfortable visit.

    Please also read the section on bear safety to learn tips on setting up a safe camp.

     

    Hiking

    Hiking

    While there are no designated trails in Ivvavik, the hiking opportunities are endless.

    Follow these tips for staying safe:

    • Wear good hiking boots with strong ankle support
    • Hike in groups
    • Bring bear deterrents such as bear spray and air horns.
    • Carry extra food, water, first aid supplies, and extra layers of clothing
    • Communicate your hiking plan to Parks Canada staff

    Slopes

    Ivvavik NP is a mountain wilderness. Cliffs, slopes, unstable terrain and highly variable weather and surface water conditions can present significant hazards in some areas. We recommend you do not attempt to enter, climb or traverse steep slopes during rainy periods.

    Route finding and Orientation

    Most of the park’s hiking routes follow unmistakable natural landmarks such as rivers, canyons, valleys and ridge tops. These landmarks are easily identified in the field and indicated on topographical maps. Navigation and route finding is generally easy, but orientation in the vast landscape can be difficult. Pack a map, compass and GPS and make sure you know how to use them.

    Safety is everyone’s responsibility.

    At Parks Canada, we do our part to make sure you can have a safe visit by assessing the risks, managing hazards, and making sure that safety information is freely available to everyone. You can do your part as visitors by making sure you seek out the information you need to stay safe and make well informed decisions while enjoying these special places. We encourage visitors to contact our office in Inuvik to speak with our knowledgeable employees for the most up to date information. Make sure you are fully prepared for whatever activities you choose to participate in so you can have a safe, enjoyable and memorable visit.

Visiteurs qui lisent la rivière avant d’entrer dans les rapides avec leurs canots pneumatiques

Ivvavik est l’un des parcs les plus isolés en Amérique du Nord et les installations et services de sauvetage sont limités. C’est pourquoi les visiteurs doivent être autosuffisants, autonomes et capables de faire face à des urgences seuls. Parcs Canada a une équipe de recherche et sauvetage à Inuvik, mais les opérations de sauvetage dépendent du temps et de la disponibilité des aéronefs et du personnel. Le délai d’intervention peut aller d’un à deux jours ou même plus selon les circonstances.

Les visiteurs qui se joignent à nos excursions au camp de base dans l’Arctique sont accompagnés par des guides formés de Parcs Canada et n’ont pas besoin d’être autonomes comme les visiteurs indépendants.

Tous les visiteurs du parc national Ivvavik doivent s’inscrire et se désinscrire auprès de Parcs Canada à Invuik, dans les T.N.-O., et participer à une séance d’orientation avant de se rendre dans le parc.

Consultez le site https://www.adventuresmart.ca/french/tripplanning/gear.htm pour obtenir des conseils sur la façon de s’habiller et sur le matériel à emporter.

Pour obtenir de l’information importante sur la façon de rester en sécurité tout en profitant du parc national Ivvavik, veuillez parcourir les sujets ci-dessous :

Coordonnées en cas d’urgence

Vous pouvez obtenir de l’aide en cas d’urgence en communiquant avec Parcs Canada en tout temps, toute l’année.

De mai à septembre :
1. Composez le  867-678-0705 pour joindre un agent de service disponible 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7.
2. Si vous n’arrivez pas à joindre l’agent de service, communiquez avec le service de répartition de Parcs Canada (situé à Jasper, en Alberta) au 1-877-852-3100.

De septembre à avril :
1. Communiquez avec le service de répartition de Parcs Canada (situé à Jasper, en Alberta) au 1-877-852-3100.

  • Les appareils de communication par satellite tels que dispositifs SPOT et InReach sont le seul moyen de communication utilisé dans le parc national Ivvavik comme il n’y a pas de couverture cellulaire ni de lignes de terre.
  • Familiarisez-vous avec votre dispositif avant de commencer votre voyage. Comprenez comment fonctionnent les appels d’urgence et les fonctions de messagerie. Entrez un message et une liste de contacts avant de commencer votre voyage et assurez-vous d’inclure le numéro de l’agent de service de Parcs Canada.
  • Les balises de localisation personnelle (BLP) sont aussi disponibles. Ces appareils envoient un signal de détresse et doivent être utilisés en cas d’urgence seulement.

Climat

Climat

Lorsque vous vous préparez à visiter le parc national Ivvavik, il faut être prêt à affronter tous les temps. Les conditions météorologiques changent rapidement. En été, la température moyenne dans le parc est de 14 °C et le mercure varie habituellement de 5 à 25 °C. Des conditions météorologiques exceptionnelles peuvent apporter de la neige et des températures pouvant tomber à -15 °C, bien que cela soit rare. Apportez toujours beaucoup de vêtements chauds et de nourriture. Votre tente et vos autres abris devraient pouvoir résister à des vents forts.

Visitez

www.adventuresmart.ca/french/trip_safety/gear.htm pour obtenir des conseils sur la façon de s’habiller et sur le matériel à emporter.

Les visiteurs indépendants doivent fournir au bureau de Parcs Canada à Inuvik un itinéraire et des plans de voyage détaillés avant de se rendre dans le parc. Cela se fait durant la séance d’orientation.

Au cours de nos excursions au camp de base dans l’Arctique, les visiteurs se déplacent le plus souvent avec des membres du personnel de Parcs Canada, mais s’ils choisissent de faire de la randonnée seuls, ils doivent communiquer leurs plans et leurs itinéraires au personnel.

Sécurité de l'eau

Traversée des rivières

Vous devrez sûrement traverser des ruisseaux lorsque vous faites de la randonnée dans le parc. Il est normalement simple de passer à gué, mais l’eau peut être rapide et à la hauteur du genou. Soyez prudent.

Il faut être extrêmement prudent quand on traverse des cours d’eau rapides comme le ruisseau Joe, et les rivières Babbage, Trail, Crow, Spring et Malcolm. Leur niveau saisonnier peut varier considérablement selon le manteau neigeux et les précipitations. Il peut être très dangereux, voire impossible de traverser certains des cours d’eau si l’été est pluvieux. N’essayez pas de traverser la rivière sans embarcation. L’exposition à l’eau froide et des rivières et des lacs peut entraîner rapidement l’hypothermie.

Lorsque vous traversez des rivières, nous vous recommandons de:

  • traverser les cours d’eau tôt le matin, lorsque le niveau d’eau est au plus bas;
  • porter des bottes ou des sandales afin d’être plus stable et d’éviter de vous couper sur les pierres pointues;
  • ne pas porter de cuissardes, car elles peuvent se remplir d’eau;
  • défaire la ceinture de votre sac à dos autour de votre taille et de votre poitrine;
  • vous servir d’une canne de marche placée en amont pour un meilleur appui;
  • vous déplacer en diagonale en faisant face à l’amont et en cédant au courant; et
  • tenir une ou plusieurs personnes par le bras.
  • Qualité de l’eau

    Bien qu’aucun de cas de giardiase n’ait été signalé chez des humains au parc nous savons que les microbes qui causent cette maladie y sont présents. Nous conseillons donc de filtrer, de traiter ou de faire bouillir l’eau avant de la boire.

    Crues Soudaines

    L’eau provenant de la fonte des neiges et de la pluie pénètre rapidement dans la rivière Firth et les niveaux d’eau peuvent monter très vite. Le volume d’eau dans la rivière peut doubler en quelques heures. Les usagers de la rivière doivent demeurer vigilants et être prêts à déplacer leur camp plus haut pendant les périodes de forte pluie continue. Lorsque les niveaux d’eau sont élevés, ils doivent faire preuve de bon sens lorsqu’ils décident d’entrer dans le canyon ou d’y rester. La difficulté et le classement de nombreux rapides augmentent lorsque l’eau monte.

    Aufeis

    Les aufeis sont des couches de glace étendues de deux à cinq mètres d’épaisseur que l’on trouve à la source et au delta de la rivière Firth. Ils se forment lorsque l’eau de source qui s’écoule par-dessus la glace gèle. La glace est si épaisse qu’il est rare qu’elle fonde entièrement.

    Les dangers que ce phénomène entraîne sont les suivants :

    • Canaux circulant sous la glace : la rivière se creuse des canaux dans la glace et sous la glace. Il faut rester vigilant et se tenir éloigné de ces canaux, car une embarcation ou une personne pourrait être entraînée sous la glace, avec les conséquences graves que cela comporte.
    • Canaux sapant à la base le bord de la glace : des canaux de la rivière peuvent saper à la base les bords des aufeis. Ces couches de glace amincies en surplomb sont très instables. Il faut les éviter, car elles pourraient se détacher de la couche principale et immobiliser une embarcation ou une personne sous l’eau.
    • Icebergs : ces blocs de glace qui se détachent des couches principales et flottent sur la rivière peuvent poser de grosses difficultés pour la navigation.

    Pêche

    Soyez prudent lorsque vous pêchez sur le bord de l’eau puisque le sol peut être irrégulier, meuble ou glissant. Dans les régions près d’étendues d'eau coulant rapidement comme des rapides, une chute peut entraîner l’exposition à de l’eau glacée, l’entraînement par le courant ou la noyade. Lorsque vous empruntez la rive ou le lit d’une rivière, choisissez des zones ayant un sol stable. Regardez où vous marchez pour vous assurer que le terrain est solide et sec afin d’éviter de glisser ou de tomber. Pêchez dans des zones où l’eau est calme. Éloignez-vous des eaux qui coulent rapidement.

    Sécurité de la faune

    Un des grands attraits d’Ivvavik est son paysage sauvage. Nous voulons nous assurer que nos visiteurs comprennent la façon de conserver le parc comme un endroit où la faune est à l’aise de se promener sans restriction et qui n’est pas touché par notre présence.

    Sécurité au pays des ours

    Le parc abrite trois espèces d’ours : l’ours noir, le grizzli et l’ours polaire. L’espèce la plus souvent aperçue parmi ces trois ours est le grizzly.

    Nous vous donnerons des renseignements sur la sécurité au pays des ours durant votre séance d’orientation avant votre départ. Vous regarderez la vidéo En sécurité au pays des ours en plus de recevoir les dépliants Vous êtes au pays des ours et Sécurité au pays des ours polaires. Ces ressources fournissent d’excellents renseignements axés sur la prévention et sur les mesures à prendre au cas où vous rencontreriez un ours.

    Suivez ces conseils de sécurité afin d’éviter de rencontrer des ours :

    • Entreposez et préparez la nourriture à au moins 50 mètres de votre campement afin d’éliminer les odeurs qui attireraient un ours. Ne rangez jamais des aliments ou des articles de toilette parfumés dans votre tente ou aux alentours, et servez-vous des contenants à l’épreuve des ours pour ranger votre nourriture et ces articles.

    Veuillez noter que les visiteurs qui participent à une excursion au camp de base dans l’Arctique ont accès à des casiers pour leurs articles de toilette et leur nourriture dans un bâtiment du camp de base. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’avoir des contenants à l’épreuve des ours pour ces voyages.

    •  Utilisez des articles de toilette sans parfum afin d’éviter les odeurs qui pourraient attirer un ours.
    • Remportez ce que vous avez apporté afin que les ours n’apprennent jamais à associer les humains à une source de nourriture. Respectez les principes Sans trace.
    • Voyagez en groupe. Plus le groupe est important, plus vous avez de chance de dissuader un ours.
    • Restez sur vos gardes et surveillez la présence de signes récents d’activités d’ours comme des fèces, des pistes et des plantes récemment piétinées. Lorsque vous faites de la randonnée, annoncez votre présence en criant, en chantant ou en parlant fort, surtout près des ruisseaux et dans la végétation arbustive dense le long des fonds de vallée. Cette mesure aide à alerter un ours à votre présence et aide à éviter une rencontre surprise.
    • Si vous voyez un ours, regroupez-vous calmement. Ne vous approchez pas. Quittez les lieux calmement si c’est possible.
    • Emportez des dispositifs de dissuasion des ours tels que gaz poivré et avertisseurs pneumatiques, et sachez les utiliser.
    • Si vous rencontrez un animal de grande taille mort, quittez les lieux immédiatement.
    • Si vous rencontrez un animal de grande taille mort, quittez la zone immédiatement.

    Si un ours a un comportement agressif envers vous, communiquez avec l’agent de service de Parcs Canada dès que possible.

    Une note à propos des ours polaires :
    Le comportement des ours polaires est très différent de celui des grizzlys et des ours noirs.

    Bien qu’une rencontre avec un ours polaire est peu probable, les visiteurs devraient tout de même connaître leur comportement et être préparés, à l’aide des renseignements adéquats, à éviter les rencontres.

    La majorité des ours polaires restent sur les plaques de glace en mouvement tout au long de l’été et ne devraient pas poser de problèmes aux visiteurs. Par contre, il est possible de les rencontrer le long de la côte au cours des années où la banquise permanente est poussée au sud vers le continent. Signalez toute présence et tout signe d’ours polaire au personnel du parc le plus rapidement possible en appelant l’agent de service.

    Pour plus d’information sur la sécurité liée aux ours, visitez http://www.bearsmart.com/ (en anglais)

    Bœufs Musqués et orignaux

    On trouve des bœufs musqués et des orignaux partout dans le parc à toutes les époques de l’année. Ils sont normalement dociles mais peuvent parfois charger, surtout s’ils se sentent menacés ou provoqués. Cela est plus probable lorsque les mâles sont en rut vers la fin juillet. N’oubliez pas que ce sont des animaux sauvages. Ne vous en approchez pas et conservez si possible entre vous et les animaux un obstacle physique tel que ravin, étang ou ruisseau.

    Loups et carcajous

    On trouve des loups et des carcajous partout dans le parc. Il est extrêmement rare que ces animaux soient une menace pour les humains, mais ce sont des prédateurs et ils peuvent devenir agressifs dans des circonstances exceptionnelles. Déplacez-vous en groupe, ne vous approchez d’aucun animal sauvage et défendez-vous s’il y a lieu en faisant du bruit ou en utilisant du gaz poivré ou un avertisseur pneumatique

    Insectes Piqueurs

    Dans l’Arctique, les insectes ne sont actifs que durant la brève saison estivale et ils ont beaucoup à faire durant leur courte vie. Le nombre de moustiques, de mouches noires et de taons semble augmenter graduellement en juin, puis diminuer en août. En juillet, on doit toujours s’attendre à se faire piquer. L’emploi d’un insectifuge et le port d’une veste de protection et d’un chapeau contre les insectes sont essentiels.

    Rage

    Méfiez-vous de tout animal « amical » ou trop audacieux. En règle générale, tenez-vous à une bonne distance de la faune.

    Camping sauvage

    Camping sauvage

    Il n’y a pas d’emplacements de camping désignés dans le parc. Vous pouvez camper où vous voulez, exception faite des sites archéologiques.

    Parcs Canada a déterminé si possible des emplacements de camping pittoresques et appropriés le long de la rivière Firth. Communiquez avec le bureau du parc pour obtenir un exemplaire de la carte et du guide de la rivière Firth.

    Veuillez pratiquer le camping écologique afin de protéger la nature vierge. Vous devez rapporter tous vos déchets.

    Les vents peuvent être très forts et durer longtemps dans le parc national Ivvavik. Il est essentiel de posséder une tente de bonne qualité capable de résister à des vents violents.

    Veuillez également lire la section sur la sécurité au pays des ours pour connaître certains conseils sur la façon d’installer un campement sécuritaire.

     

    Randonnée

    Randonnée

    Bien qu’il n’existe aucun sentier de randonnée pédestre désigné dans le parc, les possibilités sont innombrables.

    Suivez ces conseils pour rester en sécurité :

    • Portez de bonnes bottes de marche soutenant bien la cheville
    • Faites de la randonnée en groupe
    • Apportez des répulsifs à ours comme du gaz poivré ou avertisseurs pneumatiques
    • Apportez de la nourriture, de l’eau, des fournitures de premiers soins et des couches supplémentaires de vêtements
    • Remettez votre itinéraire au personnel de Parcs Canada

    Pentes

    Le parc national Ivvavik est situé dans un milieu sauvage de montagne. Certains secteurs comportent des falaises, des pentes et des reliefs accidentés qui peuvent être dangereux, sans oublier la variabilité des conditions du climat et des eaux de surface. Nous vous recommandons de ne pas essayer de gravir ou traverser les pentes raides au cours des périodes pluvieuses.

    Établissement d’itinéraire et orientation

    La plupart des itinéraires de randonnée du parc suivent des repères facilement reconnaissables comme des rivières, des canyons, des vallées et des crêtes de montagnes. Ces repères naturels sont faciles à identifier sur le terrain et sont indiqués sur les cartes topographiques. La navigation et le choix d’itinéraires sont généralement faciles, mais il peut être ardu de s’orienter dans le vaste paysage. Emportez une carte, une boussole et un appareil GPS, et assurez-vous de bien savoir les utiliser.

    La sécurité est l’affaire de tous.

    À Parcs Canada, nous fournissons notre part d’efforts pour veiller à ce que votre visite soit sécuritaire en évaluant les risques, en gérant les dangers et en offrant une information librement accessible à tous. En tant que visiteurs, vous pouvez également contribuer à cette démarche en vous assurant d’obtenir l’information dont vous avez besoin pour demeurer en sécurité et prendre des décisions éclairées, tout en appréciant ces lieux exceptionnels. Nous encourageons les visiteurs à communiquer avec notre bureau d’Inuvik pour parler à nos employés cultivés et pour obtenir l’information la plus récente. Pour vous assurer d’une visite sécuritaire et mémorable, vous devez être bien préparé avant d’entreprendre toute activité à laquelle vous souhaitez participer.