Monitoring

Parks Canada’s monitoring work is the voice of flora, fauna and the processes necessary for a healthy functioning ecosystem. The information that we collect from insects, trees, fish and wildlife tells us their story. We work hard to get their stories right! In Ivvavik we use two key indicators to measure and report on how healthy our park ecosystems are: freshwater and tundra. Each indicator has five specific ecological measures used to assess the health of the indicator ecosystem. We regularly monitor and assess these measures to get a clear picture of whether we are successfully maintaining and restoring the park ecosystems. This helps us to plan and make decisions that will keep Ivvavik National Park ecosystems healthy for the present and the future.

Research

When questions come up from monitoring or from communities, research can answer them. We begin by collecting data that gives us a detailed picture of the issue. We use this picture to come up with and test out solutions. We use the results to make improvements and solve problems.

Parks Canada encourages research and monitoring projects in the protected areas we manage. As national parks in the western Arctic are co-managed with the Inuvialuit under the Inuvialuit Final Agreement (IFA), our research permitting process has additional steps and complexity. In general, plan for a minimum of three to four months to complete all of the necessary steps.

All research activities in national parks or historic sites must take place under the authority of a Parks Canada Research/Collecting Permit for natural and physical sciences or a Parks Canada Archaeological Research Permit. Contact Parks Canada early and build your proposal based on our guidelines and suggestions.

You must send a copy of all permits and licenses to Parks Canada, at the contact given below, before a Parks Canada Research/Collecting Permit or Archaeological Permit can be issued.

    Research Guides

    To obtain a good overview of the Northwest Territories (NWT) research permitting process, go to the Aurora Research Institute's (ARI) website or write/phone them for a copy of their guide, Doing Research in the Western Northwest Territories: a guide for researchers. To obtain a good overview of the Yukon North Slope's process, read the Wildlife Management Advisory Council’s (North Slope) Yukon North Slope Research Guide.

    Both of these guides are excellent resource documents covering topics such as: which permits, licenses and review processes apply, where to find funding, how to involve communities in research and monitoring, how to consult with the communities, how to access traditional and local knowledge, how to communicate information to the communities, and ethical conduct.

    Environmental Assessment

    All research conducted on Crown Lands within the Inuvialuit Settlement Region, which our parks and Landmark fall within, must be screened by the Environmental Impact Screening Committee (EISC), the Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment Board (YESAB), the Aurora Research Institute (ARI) or the Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre (PWNHC) before it can be licensed by Parks Canada. For information on how to make a submission to the EISC, download their Operating Guidelines and Procedures. Proposals must be received by the Environmental Impact Screening Committee at least one month prior to the meeting at which they will be screened. Call (867) 777-2828 to find out the dates of scheduled meetings.

    Other federal permits and licenses

    If research is to be conducted on migratory birds, a Migratory Birds Scientific Permit is required. Within the Yukon, apply to Wildlife Enforcement, Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada, R.R. 1, 5421 Robertson Rd., Delta, BC, V4K 3N2. Tel: 604-940-4710. Within the NWT apply to Wildlife Enforcement Coordinator, Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada, Box 637, Yellowknife, NT, X1A 2N5. Tel: 867-920-6060, Fax: 867-873-8185.

    Yukon Territory permits and licenses

    All archaeological or anthropological research within the Inuvialuit Settlement Region requires approval from the Inuvialuit Social Development Program of the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation. Contact them through the Joint Secretariat at adminjs@jointsec.nt.ca.

    If you are conducting archaeological or paleontological research in the Yukon, a Yukon Archaeological Sites Regulation Permit is required from the Heritage Branch, Dept. of Tourism, Government of the Yukon, Box 2703, Whitehorse, YT, Y1A 2C6. Tel: 867-667-5363, Fax: 867-667-8844.

    For all non-archaeological or non-paleontological research that may extend beyond the boundaries of Ivvavik National Park a Yukon Scientists and Explorers License is required, from the department listed above.

    Conditions of Approval

    Please read the conditions of approval before submitting your research proposal to the western Arctic Research Collection Permit Coordinator.

    Conditions of approval PDF 487 KB

    Issuing of Parks Canada Research/Collection Permit

    Once the research proposal has been approved, the issuing of a permit will depend upon receipt of all approvals from the Environmental Screening Committee and other required licensing agencies. It is the responsibility of the research project leader to ensure that these approvals are transmitted to the western Arctic Research Collection Permit Coordinator.

    Once these approvals have been received, a Parks Canada Research/Collection Permit will be issued upon the agreement that the researcher adheres to the conditions identified above and any others that may be attached to the permit.

    The permit may be picked up at the Parks Canada office in Inuvik (81 Kingmingya Road) or arrangements can be made to have it sent via mail or email. One copy must be signed and returned to the Parks Canada office. Researchers are strongly encouraged to check in with the Parks Canada office to check on recent conditions and any closures that may have come into effect prior to entering Parks Canada sites.

    This permit is valid until December 31 of the issuing year, unless the project has been approved for multiple years, in which case the permit will state the expiry date on it.

    Checklist of Permits, Licenses and Approvals Required

    Non-archaeological research entirely within a national park or site:

    • Parks Canada Research/Collecting Permit
    • Environmental Impact Screening Committee Approval
    • Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment Board Approval
    • Migratory Birds Scientific Permit (for migratory bird projects only)
    • Approval of the appropriate community organization

     

    In addition, if your research extends beyond the park or site boundaries, you require:

    • Yukon Scientists and Explorers License

     

    Archaeological research entirely within a national park or site:

    • Parks Canada Archaeological Research Permit
    • Environmental Impact Screening Committee Approval
    • Yukon Environmental and Socio-economic Assessment Board Approval
    • Approval for Archaeological Research from the Inuvialuit Regional Corp.
    • Yukon Archaeological Sites Regulation Permit
    • Approval of the appropriate community organization

     

    Remember, it is the proponent's responsibility to ensure that copies of all required permits, licenses and approvals are forwarded to the Parks Canada western Arctic Research Collection Permit Coordinator. Parks Canada will not issue research permits until these external approvals are received.

For more information about research and monitoring in Ivvavik National Park, contact the Parks Canada office in Inuvik at infoinuvik-inuvikinfo@pc.gc.ca.

Surveillance

Le travail de surveillance mené par Parcs Canada est axé sur la flore, la faune et les phénomènes essentiels à un écosystème fonctionnel et sain. Les renseignements que nous recueillons des insectes, des arbres, des poissons et des animaux racontent une histoire. Nous travaillons fort pour bien la comprendre! À Ivvavik, nous utilisons deux indicateurs clés, l’eau douce et la toundra, pour mesurer la santé des écosystèmes du parc et en faire rapport. Chaque indicateur comporte cinq mesures écologiques précises servant à évaluer la santé de l’écosystème en question. Nous surveillons et évaluons régulièrement ces mesures pour déterminer si nous réussissons à préserver et à restaurer les écosystèmes du parc. Ceci nous aide à planifier et à prendre des décisions qui contribueront à la santé des écosystèmes du parc national Ivvavik, maintenant et dans l’avenir.

Recherche

Lorsque les activités de surveillance ou les communautés soulèvent des questions, la recherche permet généralement d’y répondre. Nous commençons par recueillir des données qui nous donnent un tableau détaillé de la question. Nous utilisons alors ce tableau pour trouver et mettre à l’essai des solutions. Les résultats servent ensuite à apporter des améliorations et à résoudre des problèmes.

L’Agence Parcs Canada encourage les projets de recherche et de surveillance dans les aires protégées qu’elle gère. Étant donné que les parcs nationaux de l’Arctique de l’Ouest sont gérés conjointement avec les Inuvialuit en vertu de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit, notre processus d’octroi de permis de recherche est plus complexe et comporte des étapes supplémentaires. Il faut en général prévoir trois à quatre mois pour l’ensemble du processus.

Toutes les activités de recherche dans les parcs nationaux ou les lieux historiques nationaux doivent se dérouler dans le respect des modalités d’un permis de recherche/collecte de Parcs Canada pour les sciences naturelles et physiques, ou d’un permis de recherche archéologique de Parcs Canada. Communiquez tôt avec Parcs Canada et rédigez votre proposition en vous fondant sur nos lignes directrices et nos suggestions.

Veuillez noter que vous devez envoyer une copie des permis et licences à Parcs Canada (personne-ressource dont le nom est indiqué ci-dessous) avant que l'organisme puissent vous délivrer un permis de recherche/collecte ou un permis de recherches archéologiques.

    Guides de recherche

    Pour avoir un bon aperçu du processus d'attribution de permis dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (T.N.-O.), consultez le site Web de l'Institut de recherche Aurora (IRA) (en anglais seulement) ou encore écrivez ou téléphonez à l'institut pour qu'on vous envoie un exemplaire du guide intitulé Doing Research in the Western Northwest Territories: a guide for researchers (en anglais seulement). Pour avoir un bon aperçu du processus en vigueur dans le versant nord du Yukon, lisez le Conseil consultatif de gestion de la faune (versant nord)  Yukon North Slope Research Guide (en anglais seulement).

    Ces deux guides constituent d'excellents ouvrages de ressources. Vous y trouverez une foule de renseignements : quels sont les permis, licences ou processus d'examen qui s'appliquent, où trouver du financement, comment intéresser les collectivités à la recherche et à la surveillance, comment avoir accès aux connaissances ancestrales et locales, comment faire circuler l'information dans les collectivités, et enfin, quel est le code d'éthique.

    Évaluation Environnementale

    Toutes les recherches effectuées sur les terres de l'État situées à l'intérieur de la région désignée des Inuvialuit, dont font partie nos parcs et le site canadien des Pingos, doivent être examinées par le Comité d'étude des répercussions environnementales (CÉRE) (en anglais seulement) avant qu'un permis ne puisse être délivré par Parcs Canada, Commission d'évaluation environnementale et socio-économique du Yukonl'Institut de recherche Aurora (IRA) (en anglais seulement) ou le Centre du patrimoine septentrional du Prince de Galles (CPSPG). Pour savoir comment faire une soumission au CÉRE, téléchargez leur document intitulé Operating Guidelines and Procedures (en anglais seulement). Les propositions doivent parvenir au Comité d'étude des répercussions environnementales au moins un mois avant la réunion au cours de laquelle les demandes seront examinées. Composez le (867) 777-2828 pour connaître les dates des réunions prévues.

    Autres permis et licences du gouvernement fédéral

    Si la recherche porte sur les oiseaux migrateurs, il vous faudra un permis scientifique sur les oiseaux migrateurs. Au Yukon, faites parvenir votre demande au Coordonnateur de l'exécution de la loi sur la faune, Service canadien de la faune, Environnement Canada, R.R. 1, 5421 Robertson Rd., Delta (C.-B.) V4K 3N2. Tél. : (604) 940-4710. Dans les T.N.-O., adressez votre demande au Coordonnateur de l'exécution de la loi sur la faune, Service canadien de la faune, Environnement Canada, C.P. 637, Yellowknife (T.N.-O.) X1A 2N5. Tél. : (867) 920-6060; téléc. : (867) 873-8185.

    Permis et licences du Yukon

    Tous les travaux de recherche de nature archéologique ou anthropologique à l'intérieur de la région désignée des Inuvialuit doivent être approuvés dans le cadre du programme de développement social de la Société régionale des Inuvialuit. Veuillez prendre contact avec cette dernière par l'intermédiaire du secrétariat mixte à : adminjs@jointsec.nt.ca.

    Si vous menez des recherches de nature archéologique ou paléontologique au Yukon, il vous faut un permis délivré en vertu de la réglementation sur les sites archéologiques du Yukon que vous pouvez vous procurer à la Direction générale du patrimoine, ministère du Tourisme, gouvernement du Yukon, C.P. 2703, Whitehorse (YN) Y1A 2C6. Tél. : (867) 667-5363; téléc. : (867) 667-8844.

    Pour les recherches non archéologiques et non paléontologiques susceptibles de s'étendre au-delà des limites du parc national Ivvavik, il vous faudra une licence délivrée en vertu de la loi sur les explorateurs et les scientifiques du Yukon. Pour en obtenir une, adressez-vous au ministère indiqué ci-dessus.

    Conditions d'approbation

    Veuillez lire les conditions d’approbation avant de soumettre votre proposition de recherche au coordonnateur des permis de collecte et de recherche pour l'Arctique de l’ouest.

    Conditions d'approbation PDF 490 MO

    Délivrance du permis de recherche/collecte dans les parcs nationaux

    Une fois que la proposition de projet est approuvée, la délivrance d'un permis dépend de la réception des approbations en provenance du Comité d'étude environnementale et des autres organismes dont l'approbation est requise. Il incombe au responsable du projet de recherche de veiller à ce que les approbations soient transmises au coordonnateur des permis de recherche et de collecte pour l'Arctique de l’ouest.

    Une fois que les approbations sont reçues, on délivrera un permis de recherche/collecte dans les parcs nationaux sous réserve que le chercheur souscrive aux conditions décrites plus haut et à toutes celles qui pourraient être jointes au permis.

    On peut ramasser le permis au bureau de Parcs Canada à Inuvik (81, Kingmingya Road) ou prendre des dispositions pour le recevoir par la poste ou par courriel. Dans tous les cas, il faut en signer une copie et la renvoyer au bureau de Parcs Canada. On encourage vivement les chercheurs à vérifier les conditions récentes du parc et les fermetures éventuelles qui ont pu survenir.

    Le présent permis est valide jusqu'au 31 décembre de l'année d'émission, à moins que le projet ait été approuvé pour plusieurs années, auquel cas la date d'expiration y sera mentionnée.

    Liste de vérification pour les permis, licences approbations requises

    Recherche non archéologique effectuée entièrement à l'intérieur d'un parc ou lieu historique national :

    • Permis de recherche/collecte dans les parcs nationaux
    • Approbation du Comité d'étude des répercussions sur l'environnement
    • Approbation de l'Office d'évaluation environnementale et socio-économique du Yukon
    • Permis scientifique sur les oiseaux migrateurs (projets touchant aux oiseaux migrateurs seulement)
    • Approbation de l'organisme communautaire concerné

     

    En outre, si votre recherche s'étend au-delà des limites du parc ou du lieu, il vous faudra:

    • une licence en vertu de la loi sur les scientifiques et explorateurs du Yukon

     

    Recherche archéologique effectuée entièrement dans le parc ou lieu historique national :

    • Permis de recherches archéologiques dans les parcs nationaux
    • Approbation du Comité d'étude des répercussions sur l'environnement
    • Approbation de l'Office d'évaluation environnementale et socio-économique du Yukon
    • Approbation de la Société régionale des Inuvialuit pour la recherche archéologique
    • Permis émis en vertu des règlements sur les sites archéologiques du Yukon
    • Approbation de l'organisme communautaire concerné

     

    Rappel : il incombe au soumissionnaire de veiller à ce que des copies de tous les permis, de toutes les licences et de toutes les approbations soient transmises au coordonnateur des permis de recherche et de collecte pour l'Arctique de l’ouest. Aucun permis de recherche ne sera issu avant que ces approbations externes ne lui soient parvenues.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la recherche et la surveillance dans le parc national Ivvavik, communiquez avec le bureau de Parcs Canada à Inuvik à infoinuvik-inuvikinfo@pc.gc.ca.