Park Management

Park Establishment

Arctic Willow
Arctic Willow
© Parks Canada / Wayne Lynch

Ivvavik was the first national park in Canada to be created as a result of an Aboriginal land claim settlement - The Inuvialuit Final Agreement (1984). The Inuvialuit wanted to ensure that this biologically and culturally rich area would be protected from development. In the 1970s significant oil and gas reserves were found on the Alaskan North Slope and under the Beaufort Sea. A proposed plan to build a pipeline across the North Slope would have done irreparable damage to the integrity of the environment and potentially to the long-term survival of the caribou population. A large part of the herd's calving grounds were already protected in the adjacent Arctic National Wildlife Refuge in Alaska. By designating the Yukon's North Slope as a national park, the wishes of the Inuvialuit and other Canadians for protection of this special place were met.

 

Park Management

Red Fox Kits
Red Fox Kits
© Parks Canada / Wayne Lynch

Parks Canada and the Inuvialuit co-operatively manage Ivvavik. Common goals are to ensure the long-term integrity of the wilderness, the health of wildlife populations, and the preservation of cultural resources. They also ensure that the Inuvialuit can continue to practice their traditional lifestyles, which include hunting, trapping and fishing. A shared vision for Ivvavik is: The land will support the people who protect the land.

This vision statement illustrates that Ivvavik's managers will ensure the well being of the land, wildlife and their habitats. The land in turn will support the people -- traditional users and visitors -- by supplying good camping areas, clean water, traditional harvests, and enriching experiences.

 

Consultation Summary

In October 2018, the new management plan for Ivvavik National Park was tabled in Parliament and will guide management decisions for the next 10 years. Ivvavik National Park was established in 1984 through provisions in the Inuvialuit Final Agreement (IFA) and together with Parks Canada, the Inuvialuit have worked to manage Ivvavik with the attention to the spirit and intentions of the IFA. The new management plan was developed by Parks Canada in close collaboration with a variety of Inuvialuit and other regional partners including the community of Aklavik, the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation and the Yukon Territorial Government. The Wildlife Management Advisory Council (North Slope) – a cooperative management body created under the IFA to manage wildlife in Ivvavik National park and the remainder of the Yukon North Slope – provided valuable input during the drafting process and formally recommended the final version of the plan to the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change. During the summer of 2017, other regional partners, stakeholders and the public at large provided insightful feedback as part of the public consultation phase on a draft of the new plan. To allow for the broader public to view the management plan and provide feedback, a draft was posted on both the Parks Canada and Consulting with Canadians websites. Hard copies were mailed out to various stakeholders to review. Support for the management plan was received during consultation with Indigenous peoples, stakeholders and Canadians at large.

Gestion du parc

Création du parc

Saule de l'arctique
Saule de l'arctique.
© Parcs Canada / Wayne Lynch
 

Ivvavik est le premier parc national du Canada créé à la suite d'une entente visant une revendication territoriale des Autochtones - La Convention définitive des Inuvialuit (1984). Les Inuvialuit voulaient s'assurer que cette région riche sur le plan biologique et culturel serait protégée contre le développement. Dans les années 1970, on a découvert d'importantes réserves de pétrole et de gaz sur le versant nord de l'Alaska et en mer de Beaufort. La construction du pipeline proposé sur le versant nord aurait fait des dommages irréparables à l'intégrité de l'environnement et aurait peut-être à long terme compromis la survie de la population de caribou. Une grande partie de l'aire de mise bas de la harde était déjà protégée dans la Réserve faunique nationale de l'Arctique en Alaska. En faisant un parc national du versant nord du Yukon, on a respecté les désirs des Inuvialuit et d'autres Canadiens.

Gestion du parc

Renardeaux roux
Renardeaux roux
© Parcs Canada / Wayne Lynch

Parcs Canada et les Inuvialuit gèrent Ivvavik ensemble. Les objectifs communs sont d'assurer l'intégrité à long terme du milieu sauvage, la santé des populations fauniques et la préservation des ressources culturelles. Ils veillent également à ce que les Inuvialuit puissent poursuivre leur mode de vie traditionnel qui comprend la chasse, le piégeage et la pêche. La vision commune que l’on partage pour Ivvavik est la suivante : La terre subviendra aux besoins de ceux qui la protègent.

Cet énoncé de vision illustre la détermination des gestionnaires d'Ivvavik à assurer le bien-être du territoire, de la faune et de ses habitats. À son tour, le territoire subviendra aux besoins des gens -- utilisateurs traditionnels et visiteurs -- en fournissant de bons emplacements de camping, de l'eau propre, des récoltes traditionnelles et des expériences enrichissantes.

Sommaire de la consultation

En octobre 2018, le nouveau plan directeur du parc national Ivvavik a été déposé au Parlement et guidera les décisions de gestion pendant les 10 prochaines années. Le parc national du Canada Ivvavik a été créé en 1984 dans le cadre de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit (CDI) et, de concert avec Parcs Canada, les Inuvialuit veillent à gérer le parc Ivvavik en respectant l’esprit et les intentions de la CDI. Le nouveau plan directeur a été élaboré par Parcs Canada en étroite collaboration avec divers partenaires Inuvialuit et autres partenaires régionaux, notamment la communauté d’Aklavik, la Société régionale inuvialuite et le gouvernement du Yukon. Le Conseil consultatif de la gestion de la faune (Versant nord), un organisme de cogestion créé en vertu de la CDI pour gérer la faune dans le parc national Ivvavik et le reste du Versant nord du Yukon, a fourni de précieux commentaires durant le processus d’ébauche, et a officiellement recommandé la version finale du plan au ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique. D’autres partenaires régionaux, des intervenants et le public ont fourni une rétroaction judicieuse durant l’étape de consultation publique qui s’est déroulée pendant l’été 2017. Afin de permettre au public de prendre connaissance du plan directeur et de faire part de ses commentaires, l’ébauche a été publiée sur le site Web de Pars Canada et le site Consultations auprès des Canadiens. Des copies papier ont été envoyées par la poste à divers intervenants afin qu’ils puissent l’examiner. Le plan directeur a reçu l’appui des peuples autochtones, des intervenants et des Canadiens en général durant le processus de consultation.