The 2018 Ivvavik National Park Plan

In October 2018, the new management plan for Ivvavik National Park was tabled in Parliament and will guide management decisions for the next 10 years. Ivvavik National Park was established in 1984 through provisions in the Inuvialuit Final Agreement (IFA) and together with Parks Canada, the Inuvialuit have worked to manage Ivvavik with the attention to the spirit and intentions of the IFA. The new management plan was developed by Parks Canada in close collaboration with a variety of Inuvialuit and other regional partners including the community of Aklavik, the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation and the Yukon Territorial Government. The Wildlife Management Advisory Council (North Slope) – a cooperative management body created under the IFA to manage wildlife in Ivvavik National park and the remainder of the Yukon North Slope – provided valuable input during the drafting process and formally recommended the final version of the plan to the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change. During the summer of 2017, other regional partners, stakeholders and the public at large provided insightful feedback as part of the public consultation phase on a draft of the new plan. This included making a draft of the plan available to the broader public on the Parks Canada website and social media. Support for the management plan was received during consultation with Indigenous peoples, stakeholders and Canadians at large.

Through this management plan, Parks Canada is meeting its promise to protect and present Canada’s natural heritage while also providing an opportunity for Canadians to experience and discover our environment in new and exciting ways.

This plan sets clear, strategic direction for the management and operation of Ivvavik National Park by articulating a vision, key strategies and objectives. Moving forward, a continual, open dialogue with the Inuvialuit will be maintained to ensure relevancy and meaningfulness of this plan.

The new plan for Ivvavik National Park outlines objectives based on the following key strategies:

  • Protect and conserve natural ecosystems, habitat, wildlife, cultural resources and Inuvialuit practices.
  • Encourage opportunities for use while respecting ecological and cultural values.
  • Ensure meaningful and tangible opportunities that strengthen Inuvialuit benefits from park related economic activities and management. With emphases placed on both direct benefits such as employment in park operations, as well as indirect benefits through park related business opportunities.
  • Develop understanding and awareness of the significance of the park to global natural and cultural diversity through the sharing of knowledge and experience with others.

Le 2018 plan du parc national Ivvavik

En octobre 2018, le nouveau plan directeur du parc national Ivvavik a été déposé au Parlement et guidera les décisions de gestion pendant les 10 prochaines années. Le parc national du Canada Ivvavik a été créé en 1984 dans le cadre de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit (CDI) et, de concert avec Parcs Canada, les Inuvialuit veillent à gérer le parc Ivvavik en respectant l’esprit et les intentions de la CDI. Le nouveau plan directeur a été élaboré par Parcs Canada en étroite collaboration avec divers partenaires Inuvialuit et autres partenaires régionaux, notamment la communauté d’Aklavik, la Société régionale inuvialuite et le gouvernement du Yukon. Le Conseil consultatif de la gestion de la faune (Versant nord), un organisme de cogestion créé en vertu de la CDI pour gérer la faune dans le parc national Ivvavik et le reste du Versant nord du Yukon, a fourni de précieux commentaires durant le processus d’ébauche, et a officiellement recommandé la version finale du plan au ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique. D’autres partenaires régionaux, des intervenants et le public ont fourni une rétroaction judicieuse durant l’étape de consultation publique qui s’est déroulée pendant l’été 2017

.

Grâce à ce plan, Parcs Canada respecte sa promesse de protéger et de mettre en valeur le patrimoine naturel du Canada tout en donnant l’occasion à la population canadienne de découvrir de façon nouvelle et intéressante notre environnement.

Le plan décrit une orientation claire et stratégique pour la gestion et l’exploitation du parc national Ivvavik en formulant une vision, des stratégies et des objectifs clés. On favorisera un dialogue ouvert avec les Inuvialuit sur sa mise en œuvre, pour s’assurer qu’il reste pertinent et significatif.

Le nouveau plan du parc national Ivvavik décrit des objectifs fondés sur les stratégies clés suivantes :

  • Protéger et conserver les écosystèmes naturels, l’habitat, la faune, les ressources culturelles et les pratiques des Inuvialuit.
  • Développer les utilisations du parc dans le respect des valeurs culturelles et écologiques.
  • Faire en sorte que des perspectives tangibles et significatives augmentent les avantages procurés aux Inuvialuit par la gestion et les activités économiques du parc en mettant l’accent à la fois sur les avantages directs, comme les emplois liés à l’exploitation du parc, et sur les avantages indirects, comme les débouchés naissant de l'activité du parc.
  • Accroître les connaissances et la compréhension de l'importance du parc pour la diversité naturelle et culturelle mondiale grâce à la diffusion de connaissances et d’expériences.