Hiking

With its open terrain and abundant wildlife, Ivvavik National Park is an ideal setting for an Arctic hiking experience. Wildlife viewing, photography and birding are all popular activities for park visitors traveling on foot. Enjoy the changing landscape and vegetation as you travel from the rolling mountains, through the river valley, and to the coastal plain. Watch out for some of the natural inhabitants of the park such as caribou, grizzly bears, wolves, foxes, muskoxen, gyrfalcons, and golden eagles.

Remember that you are in bear country. Visit our visitor safety page for more information.

    Know before you go

    The hiking season extends from mid-June until mid-August. A particularly beautiful time to visit is the end of June and early July, when the tundra is carpeted with wildflowers and the caribou are migrating through the park. Hikes can be extended into the third week of August when the autumn colours are at their peak. However, hikers who plan trips this late in the season must be prepared for winter-like conditions and delays due to heavy fog.

    Popular air access points for hiking include Sheep Creek, Margaret Lake, Komakuk Beach and Stokes Point. All private visitors must obtain a landing permit. Contact infoinuvik-inuvikinfo@pc.gc.ca for more information and to discuss other options for accessing the park.

    Terrain

    All hiking takes place by following approximate routes, general directions from one area to another, and unmistakable landmarks such as creeks, rivers, valleys, lakes, eskers, and hills. Your intended hiking route should be thoroughly investigated using topographic maps and, if possible, air photos.

    Permits

    Contact the park office in Inuvik to discuss your plans, schedule an orientation, register, and obtain your backcountry camping permit. You must supply a detailed description of your planned route on 1:50 000 scale before your departure to the park.

    Trails accessible from Ivvavik Base Camp

    Easy Trails
    Time
    (roundtrip)
    Distance
    (roundtrip)
    Elevation
    gain
    Description
    Sheep Slot 1.5 hrs 3.5 km 16 m Head south along the plateau from the junction of Sheep Creek and the Firth River to a formidable Class IV rapid.
    Gordon’s Food Cache 1-2 hrs 2.8 km 126 m This hike leaves the base camp’s airstrip and follows game trails along the Firth River canyon. It may take a few moments to locate this food cache, as only the fallen remains of a “stage” are now visible.
    Sheep Creek 4-6 hrs 5.5 km 16 m This route leaves Ivvavik Base Camp and follows an old mining trail up the valley along the creek.

    Moderate Trails
    Time
    (roundtrip)
    Distance
    (roundtrip)
    Elevation
    gain
    Description
    Ridge Walk
    (Trapper’s
    Campsite)
    6 hrs 5.2 km 555 m This is a comfortable, middle length hike with a moderate slope and wonderful views.
    Inspiration
    Point
    5 hrs 3.8 km 368 m At the peak of this moderate hike, you will enjoy an inspiring view of Ivvavik Base Camp and the Firth River valley below.
    Click here for a map of hiking routes accessible from Ivvavik Base Camp.

    Difficult Trails
    Time
    (roundtrip)
    Distance
    (roundtrip)
    Elevation
    gain
    Description
    Wolf Tors 6-10 hrs 14.4 km 422 m From Inspiration Point, follow the ridge away from the Firth River to the majestic Wolf Tors. This spectacular set of rocky pinnacles was named after Wolf Creek, located across the Firth River to the north.
    Halfway to
    Heaven
    6-12 hrs 11.4 km 594 m This rigorous hike takes you to three large tors; Halfway to Heaven is the leftmost tor. Peek out the ‘window’, a hole in the tor that gives you a stunning view of the ridge you just hiked up.

    Click here (26 MB JPG) for a map of hiking routes accessible from Ivvavik Base Camp.

Randonnée pédestre

Son terrain dégagé et sa faune abondante font du parc Ivvavik un endroit idéal de randonnée arctique. L'observation de la faune, la photographie et l'observation d'oiseaux sont des activités prisées par les visiteurs qui se déplacent à pied. Admirez le paysage et la végétation qui changent à mesure que vous traversez les montagnes et la vallée fluviale jusqu’à la plaine côtière. Vous aurez probablement l'occasion de voir certains des habitants du parc tels que caribou, grizzli, loup, renard, bœuf musqué, faucon gerfaut et aigle royal.

N’oubliez pas que vous êtes au pays des ours. Consultez notre page sur la sécurité des visiteurs pour en savoir plus.

    À savoir avant de partir

    La saison des randonnées dans le parc va de la mi-juin à la mi-août. Fin juin début juillet est un moment particulièrement magnifique lorsque la toundra est tapissée de fleurs et que le caribou traverse le parc lors de sa migration. La saison peut se prolonger jusqu'à la troisième semaine d'août, moment où les coloris automnaux sont les plus beaux. Toutefois, les randonneurs qui sont en route si tard dans la saison doivent toutefois être prêts à affronter des conditions hivernales et des retards en raison d'épais brouillard.

    Les points d'accès par voie aérienne sont le ruisseau Sheep, le lac Margaret, la plage Komakuk et la pointe Stoke. Tous les visiteurs autonomes doivent obtenir un permis d’atterrissage. Envoyez un courriel à infoinuvik-inuvikinfo@pc.gc.ca pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements et pour discuter d’autres moyens de vous rendre dans le parc.

    Terrain

    Les itinéraires de randonnée indiquent approximativement les directions qu'il faut prendre entre un point général et un autre point de repère qu'on ne peut manquer tels que ruisseaux, rivières, vallées, lacs, eskers et collines. Vous devriez étudier attentivement l'itinéraire que vous désirez suivre à l'aide de cartes topographiques et, si possible, de photos aériennes.

    Permis

    Communiquez avec le bureau du parc à Inuvik pour discuter de vos plans, organiser une orientation, vous inscrire et obtenir votre permis de séjour dans l’arrière-pays. Vous devez fournir une description détaillée de l'itinéraire prévu sur une échelle de 1:50 000 avant votre départ à destination du parc.

    Sentiers accessibles à partir du camp de base d’Ivvavik
    Sentiers
    faciles
    Durée
    (aller-retour)
    Distance
    (aller-retour)
    Gain d'altitude Description
    Rapides Sheep Slot 1.5 hrs 3,5 km 16 m Suivez le plateau vers le sud à partir confluent du ruisseau Sheep et de la rivière Firth jusqu’à de redoutables rapides de classe IV.
    Cache pour nourriture de Gordon 1-2 hrs 2,8 km 126 m Vous partirez de la bande d’atterrissage du camp de base et vous suivrez des pistes de gibier le long du canyon de la rivière Firth. Il faut parfois quelques minutes pour trouver cette cache de nourriture, car seuls les vestiges d’une « estrade » sont visibles.
    Ruisseau Sheep 4-6 hrs 5,5 km 16 m Ce trajet commence au camp de base d’Ivvavik et suit un ancien sentier d’exploitation minière en remontant la vallée le long du ruisseau.

    Sentiers modérés
    Durée
    (aller-retour)
    Distance
    (aller-retour)
    Gain d'altitude Description
    Promenade
    de la crête
    6 hrs 5,2 km 555 m Cette randonnée de durée moyenne comporte une pente modérée et offre des vues magnifiques.
    Pointe
    Inspiration
    5 hrs 3,8 km 368 m Au sommet de cette randonnée modérée, vous admirerez une vue inspirante du camp de base d’Ivvavik et de la vallée de la rivière Firth en contrebas.

    Sentiers difficiles
    Durée
    (aller-retour)
    Distance
    (aller-retour)
    Gain d'altitude Description
    Tors Wolf 6-10 hrs 14.,4 km 422 m D’Inspiration Point, suivez la crête en vous éloignant de la rivière Firth River jusqu’aux majestueux tors Wolf. Cet ensemble spectaculaire de pinacles rocheux tire son nom du ruisseau Wolf, de l’autre côté de la rivière Firth, vers le nord.
    Crête Halfway
    to Heaven
    6-12 hrs 11,4 km 594 m Cette randonnée exigeante vous emmène vers trois grands tors, Halfway to Heaven étant celui le plus à gauche. Regardez par la « fenêtre », une ouverture dans le tor qui offre une vue époustouflante de la crête que vous venez de gravir.
    Cliquez ici (26 KO JPG) pour voir une carte des itinéraires de randonnée accessibles à partir du camp de base d’Ivvavik.