Rafting the Firth River to the Arctic Ocean

Regarded as the trip-of-a-lifetime by many, rafting the Firth River offers challenging Class IV rapids, epic canyons, breathtaking hikes, and many opportunities to view wildlife.

Rafting trips typically begin at Margaret Lake, located in the heart of the park. From there, the Firth River valley gradually narrows, funneling rafters into a succession of canyons – eventually ending at Nunaluk Spit on the coast of the Arctic ocean. Rafting trips can be done over the course of one or two weeks.

Along the way, rafters have the chance to see wildlife, fish for Dolly Varden char, pull ashore to hike jagged ridgelines, or explore Engigstciak – a dramatic peak rising from the coastal plain that hunters have used to scan the horizon for more than 9,000 years.

    About the Firth River

    The Firth River is the oldest flowing river in Canada, as the landscape that is now Ivvavik National Park was never glaciated. The river flows through four distinct regions of the park and offers an incredible way to discover the classic wilderness of the area. The stunning scenery is characterized by unique geological features, varying elevations, Arctic plant life, and periods of calm and rough water. Often there are opportunities to see wildlife such as muskoxen, caribou, eagles, and falcons that nest in the overhead cliffs and tors.

    Length: 132 km from Margaret Lake. 106 km runs entirely in the British Mountains.

    Elevation drop: approximately 460 meters.

    Photo gallery

    Photo: Tyler Garnham

    Photo: Tyler Garnham

    Photo: Drew Davidson

    Photo: Drew Davidson

    Photo: Drew Davidson

    Photo: Tyler Garnham

    Photo: Drew Davidson

    Photo: Tyler Garnham

    Photo: Tyler Garnham

    Photo: Tyler Garnham

    Photo: Drew Davidson

    Photo: Tyler Garnham

    Photo: Tyler Garnham

    Photo: Tyler Garnham

    Photo: Drew Davidson

    Photo: Drew Davidson

    Photo: Tyler Garnham

    Photo: Drew Davidson

    Photo: Drew Davidson

    Photo: Tyler Garnham
    Featured experience

    Join the researchers

    For the keen learners, you can raft the Firth River alongside Parks Canada staff and expert guides from Canadian River Expedition. Together, you will collect research samples that will help Parks Canada monitor the health of the park.

    Rafting with researchers gives visitors the opportunity to learn about the deep connections Inuvialuit have with Ivvavik National Park and gain a true appreciation for the work Inuvialuit and Parks Canada conduct together to share and care for this special place.

    Plan your trip

    Plan your guided river trip with a licensed commercial operator.

    Canadian River Expedition
    Nahanni River Adventures
    1-800-297-6927

    Organise your own trip (experienced rafters only).

    Contact Parks Canada for more information on available dates, how to obtain a permit, and safety requirements.

    Phone: 1-867-777-8800

    Email: infoinuvik-inuvikinfo@pc.gc.ca

Un parcours en rafting sur la rivière Firth jusqu’à l’océan Arctique

Considérée comme le voyage de leur vie par de nombreux pagayeurs, la descente de la rivière Firth River est marquée par des rapides de classe IV, de profonds canyons, de magnifiques randonnées et une foule d’occasions d’observer la faune.

Les excursions en canot pneumatique partent généralement du lac Margaret, au cœur du parc. De là, la vallée de la rivière Firth rétrécit progressivement pour emporter les pagayeurs, pendant une ou deux semaines, dans une succession de canyons avant d'aboutir à la flèche Nunaluk au bord de l’océan Arctique.

En cours de route, les pagayeurs peuvent observer la faune, pêcher le Dolly Varden, gravir des crêtes escarpées ou explorer Engigstciak, un sommet impressionnant qui se dresse dans la plaine côtière et d’où les chasseurs scrutent l’horizon depuis plus de 9 000 ans.

    À propos de la rivière Firth River

    La rivière Firth River est la plus ancienne rivière au Canada, car le territoire qui est maintenant le parc national Ivvavik n’a jamais été englacé. La rivière traverse quatre régions distinctes du parc et permet de découvrir la nature sauvage du secteur. Le paysage époustouflant est marqué par des caractéristiques géologiques uniques, une altitude variable, une végétation arctique et des périodes d’eaux calmes et agitées. Les pagayeurs peuvent souvent observer des bœufs musqués, des caribous, des aigles et des faucons qui nichent sur les falaises et les tors surplombant la rivière.

    Parcours : 132 km à partir du lac Margaret; 106 km entièrement dans les monts Britanniques.

    Baisse d’altitude : environ 460 m.

    Galerie de photos

    Photo : Tyler Garnham

    Photo : Tyler Garnham

    Photo : Drew Davidson

    Photo : Drew Davidson

    Photo : Drew Davidson

    Photo : Tyler Garnham

    Photo : Drew Davidson

    Photo : Tyler Garnham

    Photo : Tyler Garnham

    Photo : Tyler Garnham

    Photo : Drew Davidson

    Photo : Tyler Garnham

    Photo : Tyler Garnham

    Photo : Tyler Garnham

    Photo : Drew Davidson

    Photo : Drew Davidson

    Photo : Tyler Garnham

    Photo : Drew Davidson

    Photo : Drew Davidson

    Photo : Tyler Garnham
    Expérience en vedette

    Joignez-vous à des chercheurs

    Si vous aimez apprendre, vous pouvez descendre la rivière Firth en compagnie d’employés de Parcs Canada et de guides de Canadian River Expeditions (en anglais seulement). Ensemble, vous prélèverez des échantillons à des fins de recherche pour aider Parcs Canada à surveiller la santé du parc.

    Les visiteurs peuvent alors découvrir les liens profonds qu’entretiennent les Inuvialuits avec le parc national Ivvavik, et apprécier à sa juste valeur le travail que mènent ensemble les Inuvialuits et Parcs Canada pour faire connaître cet endroit bien particulier, et en prendre soin.

    Organisez votre excursion

    Organisez votre excursion guidée avec un exploitant commercial autorisé.

    Canadian River Expeditions
    Nahanni River Adventures (en anglais seulement)
    1-800-297-6927

    Organisez votre propre excursion (pagayeurs expérimentés seulement).

    Communiquez avec Parcs Canada pour obtenir des renseignements sur les dates, le processus d’obtention de permis et les exigences en matière de sécurité.

    Tél : 867-777-8800

    Adresse électronique : infoinuvik-inuvikinfo@pc.gc.ca

    Carte  

    Cliquez ici (51Mo PDF) pour voir une carte de la rivière Firth.