A fuel break is an area where coniferous trees (trees with needles) and forest floor woody fuels are removed. These are the fuels that burn hot and fast in dry conditions while leafy trees and bushes burn more slowly. By creating an area that is predominantly aspen and grassland, a wildfire that comes in contact with the fuel break is more likely to move from rolling through the tree tops of pine, fir and spruce to a ground fire that can be easier to manage. Prescribed fire and hand thinning are used to maintain the fuel break as organic material accumulates through the years.
A fuel break may appear to be a drastic measure in the beginning, but the area will recover and rejuvenate with fresh foliage within one to two years. Coniferous forest in the park and this region is large enough that creating these small fuel breaks will not cause harm to any species. The area provides habitat that is preferred by other native species and allows them to flourish.

Waskesiu Community Fuel Break

Prince Albert National Park developed the Waskesiu Community Fuel Break (CFB) in 2001-2002. About 300 hectares of forest was harvested to reduce the risk to the townsite from wildfires.
Each spring, dead and excess vegetation is removed from a part of the fuel break using prescribed fire, an intentionally lit, controlled fire. The green grass that grows back slows down an approaching wildfire, moves fire from the tree tops to the ground where it is more easily extinguished, and provides a strategic line between approaching wildfires and Waskesiu.

 

Waskesiu: Reducing the risk of wildfire - Prince Albert National Park

Transcript

Parks Canada beaver logo appears on screen

Prescribed fire is used in Prince Albert National Park, Saskatchewan, to improve rare fescue grasslands, a habitat favoured by wild plains bison. There are three critical steps when using prescribed fire that are described in the video.

[Music] [Narrator]The use of controlled fire is one way Prince Albert National Park is improving fescue meadows to reconnect grasslands, bison and people. On the west side of the park, the free-roaming Sturgeon River plains bison rely on this diminishing habitat.

A UTV emerges from a smokey scene. An aerial view of Prince Albert National Park's West Side grasslands. Scenes of bison cows and calves in grasslands.

[ECOLOGIST DUSTY GUEDO]: “In Prince Albert National Park, wildfire is one of the main ecological disturbances within the landscape, over the last 70/80 years we've been suppressing fire on this landscape and we found that it's changed the landscape to the point where we now realize that fire is a very important mechanism to help renew forest landscape and to also open up areas such as grasslands and keep those areas free from forest encroachment.”

The Prince Albert National Park sign. An ecologist standing in a green, grassy area a few weeks after a fire went through. Scenes of a helicopter with water bucket, green grass growing over ash, a meadow seen from the air appear while he speaks.

[Narrator] Prescribed fires being conducted in Prince Albert National Park contribute to maintaining a diversity of habitat for wildlife, like wild plains bison. There are a few steps to creating a prescribed fire.

A wildland firefighter uses a terra torch to burn grass and trees. A bull bison is seen from the air walking through an area that was burned.

Step One – Planning Prescribed fires are only lit after an intensive planning period that includes peer review of fire plans by other fire management specialists as well as public consultations.

Scenes of fire personnel in safety meetings.

Step Two – Blacklining A blackline is a 10- to 20-metre-wide guard that goes around the burn unit and is created by burning the ground and standing vegetation. Blacklining is a control feature that is carried out in either early spring or late fall. This is a period where the fire crew has the most control over burning conditions.

A line of fire is shown as fire personnel create the blackline. Two firefighters stand in a charred, smokey meadow.

Step Three – Ignition

Parks Canada has a variety of methods for igniting prescribed fires like the hand-held drip torch, the flame-throwing-like Terra Torch and an aerial ignition device mounted to a helicopter that drops chemical-filled ping pong balls that ignite shortly after landing on the ground.

A firefighter uses a terra torch to light a large spruce tree on fire. Close ups of the three tools used in prescribed fire are shown - drip torch, terra torch, aerial ignition device mounted on a helicopter.

The main unit fire usually takes place in spring when the fire will carry through to the targeted vegetation, but only when all the weather parameters are just right, particularly the wind. Wasstrom’s Flats and Sugar Creek prescribed fires were approximately two thousand hectares in total.

Firefighters stand in a protected green meadow while fire burns safely around sweat lodge structures. Aerial view of a prescribed fire and large smoke column are shown.

At all times, safety for firefighters, visitors and infrastructure are always the priority. Fire crew members are ready to attack any fire that escapes a blackline, again, mostly by helicopters with water buckets and ground crews using pumps from rivers, water backpacks and hand tools.

Fire personnel are shown in safety briefings, fixing equipment and assessing the fire. A helicopter with a water bucket flies in front of the smoke column.

The Final Step – Repetition Trembling aspen are hardy trees that send suckers underground in an effort to expand their claim on grasslands. Because of their resilience, prescribed fires need to be repeated every one to three years in the same area to increase the extent of the grasslands.

Aspen trees are shown from the air and then up close on the ground. Firefighters light grass and aspen on fire with drip torches.

The Prince Albert National Park fire management program has successfully carried out more than 25 prescribed fires since 2002. This supports Parks Canada’s commitment to improving the ecological health in national parks for present and future generations.

Firefighters stand and assess an area to be burned. A green and leafy West Side forest, meadow and river are shown from the air. Bison cows with calves are shown up close standing in a meadow.

[FIRE MANAGEMENT OFFICER JIM DURNIN] “There’s no more grass.”

A fire management officer looks around as he walks a few steps.

[Blowing out a flame and crinkle of dead grass and sound of fire as man walks away]

He blows out the flame on the drip torch in his hands and walks off camera.

Logos appear on-screen

Parks Canada logo. © Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by Parks Canada, 2016. Canada wordmark.

East Boundary Fuel Break

Work on the East Boundary Fuel Break began in winter 2017. The East Boundary Fuel Break between Prince Albert National Park and Elk Ridge Resort and community, combined with the adjacent fuel break created by the Ministry of Environment’s Wildfire Management Branch in 2016, provides an important feature to help reduce the intensity of a wildfire that threatens park neighbours.

The fuel break stretches half a kilometre along Highway 264 near the East Gate park entrance and 1 km north of the highway, along the park boundary parallel to Elk Ridge, encompassing 15 hectares of forest. Other plans over the next few winters include expanding the East Boundary Fuel Break on the south side of the highway and enlarging the Waskesiu Community Fuel Break. (see map)

What can cottage and homeowners do?

While a fuel break can help reduce the risk to a community from wildfire, people can do other things to lessen the chance that the fire will spread into their communities. FireSmart Canada is a nationally recognized agency that has information and actions for people to use. For more information visit https://www.firesmartcanada.ca

map

Un pare-feu est un secteur où on a enlevé les conifères (arbres à aiguilles) et les matières ligneuses combustibles du tapis forestier. Dans des conditions sèches, ces matières brûlent rapidement et dégagent une forte chaleur, tandis que les arbres et les arbustes feuillus brûlent plus lentement. Un feu de forêt qui parviendrait à un secteur aménagé où dominent les trembles et les prairies risque davantage de passer d’un feu brûlant à la cime des pins, des sapins des épinettes à un feu de profondeur, souvent plus facile à maîtriser. Les brûlages dirigés et l’éclaircissage à la main permettent de maintenir le pare-feu au fur et à mesure que les matières organiques s’y accumulent avec les années.
Bien que l’aménagement d’un pare-feu puisse au départ sembler être une mesure draconienne, la végétation se rétablit et de jeunes pousses apparaissent en un à deux ans. La forêt de conifères du parc et de la région est assez vaste pour que de petits coupe-feux ne nuisent pas aux espèces présentes. Ces secteurs offrent, au contraire, un habitat de choix à certaines espèces indigènes, et leur permettent d’y prospérer.

Pare-feu de Waskesiu

Le pare-feu de Waskesiu a été aménagé au parc national de Prince Albert en 2001-2002. Une récolte a eu lieu dans quelque 300 hectares de forêt afin de réduire les risques que posent les feux échappés pour le lotissement urbain.

Chaque printemps, on retire la végétation morte et surabondante dans un secteur du pare-feu au moyen de brûlages dirigés, des incendies allumés intentionnellement et contrôlés attentivement. L’herbe verte qui repousse ralentirait l’approche d’un feu échappé, ferait passer celui-ci de la cime des arbres au sol, où il serait plus facile à éteindre, et formerait un obstacle stratégique entre l’incendie et Waskesiu.

Waskesiu: réduire les risques d'incendie - Parc national de Prince Albert

Transcription

Le logo du castor de Parcs Canada apparaît à l'écran.

Des feux dirigés sont allumés au parc national de Prince Albert, en Saskatchewan, pour restaurer les prairies de fétuque rares, habitat de choix du bison des plaines sauvage. Trois étapes essentielles doivent être suivies lors du recours aux feux dirigés; celles-ci sont décrites dans la vidéo.

[Musique] [Narrateur] Les feux dirigés sont un des moyens employés au parc national de Prince Albert pour restaurer les prés de fétuque et rétablir les liens entre la prairie, le bison et les gens. Dans l'ouest du parc, la harde en liberté de bisons des plaines de la rivière Sturgeon dépend de cet habitat en disparition.

Un véhicule utilitaire apparaît entouré de fumée. Vue aérienne des prairies du côté ouest du parc national de Prince Albert. Scènes montrant des bisons femelles avec leurs petits dans la prairie.

[ECOLOGISTE DUSTY GUEDO]: « Au parc national de Prince Albert, les feux de forêt sont parmi les principales perturbations écologiques du paysage. Dans les 70 à 80 dernières années, nous avons supprimé les feux, ce qui a transformé le paysage, et nous comprenons maintenant que le feu est un mécanisme très important qui aide au renouvellement du paysage forestier, dégage des secteurs de prairies et empêche les forêts d'empiéter sur celles-ci. »

Pancarte du parc national de Prince Albert. Un écologiste se tient dans un secteur vert gazonné quelques semaines après un feu. Pendant qu'il parle, on voit des scènes montrant un hélicoptère muni d'un réservoir, de l'herbe poussant sur les cendres et un pré vu des airs.

[Narrateur] Les feux dirigés allumés au parc national de Prince Albert contribuent au maintien de la diversité de l'habitat pour la faune, notamment le bison des plaines sauvages. Un brûlage dirigé comporte cependant plusieurs étapes.

Un pompier de végétation utilise un lance-flammes Terra Torch pour faire brûler de l'herbe et des arbres. Vue aérienne d'un bison mâle dans un brûlis.

Première étape : Planification On n'allume un feu dirigé qu'après une période de planification intensive durant laquelle les plans sont examinés par des pairs, notamment d'autres spécialistes de la gestion du feu, et soumis à des consultations publiques.

Scènes montrant des employés des services d'incendie lors de réunions de sécurité.

Deuxième étape : Création d'une ligne de protection Une ligne de protection est un coupe-feu de 10 à 20 m de largeur qui entoure le secteur devant être incendié. Pour la créer, on fait brûler le sol et la végétation sur pied. La ligne de protection, mesure de contrôle du feu dirigé, est créée au début du printemps ou à la fin de l'automne, moment où les équipes d'incendie ont le meilleur contrôle sur les conditions de brûlage.

Vue sur une ligne de feu alors que des employés des services d'incendie créent la ligne de protection. Deux pompiers se tiennent dans un pré calciné et fumant.

Troisième étape : Allumage

Parcs Canada emploie diverses méthodes pour allumer des feux dirigés : lance-flammes portable, lance-flammes Terra Torch et dispositif d'allumage aérien par hélicoptère qui fait tomber des balles remplies de produits chimiques qui s'allument peu après avoir touché le sol.

Un pompier utilise un lance-flammes Terra Torch pour allumer une grosse épinette. Gros plan sur les trois outils utilisés pour allumer des feux dirigés : lance-flammes portable, lance-flammes Terra Torch et dispositif d'allumage aérien par hélicoptère.

Le principal brûlage dirigé a habituellement lieu au printemps, quand le feu peut se propager à toute la végétation ciblée, mais seulement lorsque les bonnes conditions météorologiques sont réunies, en particulier le vent. Les brûlages dirigés de la plaine Wasstrom et du ruisseau Sugar ont couvert environ 2 000 hectares en tout.

Des pompiers se tiennent dans un pré vert protégé tandis que le feu brûle en toute sécurité sans toucher les structures d'une suerie. Vue aérienne d'un feu dirigé et d'une vaste colonne de fumée.

La sécurité des pompiers, des visiteurs et de l'infrastructure demeure la priorité en tout temps. Les membres de l'équipe d'incendie sont prêts à s'attaquer à tout feu qui dépasserait la ligne de protection, en hélicoptère avec réservoir et au sol au moyen de pompes reliées aux cours d'eau, extincteurs dorsaux et outils manuels.

Scènes montrant des employés des services d'incendie qui participent à des séances d'information sur la sécurité, réparent de l'équipement et évaluent le feu. Un hélicoptère muni d'un réservoir passe devant la colonne de fumée.

Dernière étape : Recommencement Le peuplier faux-tremble est un arbre robuste qui fait pousser des drageons sous le sol pour mieux envahir les prairies. Étant donné sa résilience, des feux dirigés doivent être allumés tous les trois ans ou plus fréquemment dans le même secteur pour augmenter la surface des prairies.

Vue aérienne, puis gros plan au sol, de peupliers faux-trembles. Des pompiers font prendre en feu des herbes et des peupliers au moyen de lance-flammes portables.

Le programme de gestion du feu du parc national de Prince Albert a permis d'effectuer plus de 25 brûlages dirigés depuis 2002. Cela soutient l'engagement de Parcs Canada à améliorer la santé écologique des parcs nationaux pour les générations actuelle et future.

Des pompiers évaluent un secteur devant faire l'objet d'un brûlage. Vue aérienne de la forêt verte et luxuriante du côté ouest du parc, d'un pré et d'une rivière. Gros plan de bisons femelles avec leurs petits dans un pré.

[AGENT DE GESTION DU FEU JIM DURNIN] « Il n'y a plus d'herbe. »

Un agent de gestion du feu regarde autour de lui et fait quelques pas.

[Il éteint une flamme, et on entend le froissement de l'herbe morte et le bruit du feu alors qu'il s'éloigne.]

Il souffle sur la flamme du lance-flammes portable qu'il a à la main pour l'éteindre, puis sort du cadre de l'image.

Les logos apparaissent à l'écran.

Logo de Parcs Canada. © Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par Parcs Canada, 2016. Mot-symbole Canada.

Pare-feu aménagé le long de la limite est

Les travaux d’aménagement d’un pare-feu le long de la limite est du parc national de Prince Albert ont commencé à l’hiver 2017. Ce nouveau pare-feu, qui sépare le parc du centre de villégiature Elk Ridge Resort et de la collectivité, de pair avec le pare-feu adjacent aménagé en 2016 par la Direction de la lutte contre les feux de forêt du ministère de l’Environnement, constitue un élément important des mesures prises pour réduire l’intensité de feux de forêt qui pourraient menacer les voisins du parc.

Le pare-feu, qui inclut 15 hectares de forêt, s’étend sur un demi-kilomètre le long de la route 264, près de l’entrée est du parc, et sur un kilomètre au nord de la route, le long de la limite du parc parallèle au centre de villégiature. Lors des prochains hivers, on compte agrandir le pare-feu aménagé à la limite est du parc du côté sud de la route, de même que le pare-feu de Waskesiu (la carte).

Que peuvent faire les propriétaires de chalets et de résidences?

Un pare-feu peut aider à réduire les risques qu’un feu échappé atteigne la collectivité, mais la population peut aussi prendre d’autres mesures pour réduire les risques de propagation. Intelli-feu, organisme reconnu à l’échelle du pays, offre de l’information et suggère des mesures à prendre aux particuliers. Pour en savoir plus, visitez le https://www.firesmartcanada.ca/ (en anglais seulement).

carte