What is Swimmer's itch? "Swimmers itch" or "water rash" is the name given to a temporary skin irritation acquired by swimmers.

Swimmer's Itch Symptoms

Tingling Sensations: Shortly after emerging from the water, swimmers will notice a tingling sensation on exposed parts of the body.

Red Spots:

Swimmers will next notice small red spots where the organism has penetrated the skin.

Itching:

Hours later, the tingling sensation will disappear, and the red spots will enlarge and become itchy. The degree of discomfort varies with the sensitivity of the individual, the severity of the infestation and prior exposure.

Preventative Measures:

Waterproof sunscreen or baby oil provides a greasy barrier over the skin that prevents the itch parasite from entering the pores. Showering and toweling off immediately after swimming also reduce the chances of the itch.

  • Avoid beaches where swimmer’s itch is prevalent
  • Dry off with a towel
  • Shower in warm water
  • Avoid areas with aquatic plants
  • Use a fragrant suntan oil

What can you do if a rash appears?

There are two main ways of treating swimmer’s itch, either through a topical medicine or taking antihistamines, which can be purchased at many local shops. To make a baking soda paste, mix a small amount of baking soda and water to form a light paste and then apply to afflicted areas. If the itch is really bad, try a warm bath with baking soda.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/swimmersitch/faqs.html
https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/swimmersitch/biology.html

Qu'est-ce que la dermatite du nageur ?

La dermatite du nageur est le nom donné à une irritation temporaire de la peau chez les nageurs.

Symptômes de la dermatite des nageurs

Fourmillement : peu après être sorti de l'eau, le nageur remarque une sensation de fourmillement sur les parties du corps qui ont été au contact de l'eau.

Points rouges :

Les nageurs remarqueront de petits points rouges là où le parasite en cause a pénétré la peau.

Démangeaison :

Quelques heures plus tard, la sensation de fourmillement disparaît, mais les points rouges se transforment en plaques qui commencent à démanger. Le degré d'inconfort varie selon la sensibilité de l'individu et la gravité de l'infestation, et selon qu'il y a eu ou non exposition antérieure.

Mesures préventives :

Un écran solaire à l'épreuve de l'eau ou une application d'huile pour bébé offre une protection grasse sur la peau qui empêche le parasite de pénétrer par les pores. Prendre une douche et s'essuyer avec une serviette immédiatement après la baignade permettent aussi de réduire les chances de démangeaison.

  • Éviter les plages où les cas de dermatite du nageur sont répandus
  • Se sécher avec une serviette en sortant de l’eau
  • Prendre une douche chaude après la baignade
  • Éviter les endroits où il y a des plantes aquatiques
  • Utiliser une huile de bronzage parfumée

Que pouvez-vous faire en cas d'éruption ?

Il y a deux grands moyens de traiter la dermatite du nageur : appliquer un médicament topique ou prendre un antihistaminique. Les deux produits peuvent être achetés dans beaucoup de magasins locaux. Pour fabriquer une crème à base de bicarbonate de soude, mélanger un peu de bicarbonate de soude avec de l’eau pour former une pâte légère. Appliquer la pâte sur la zone affectée. Si la démangeaison est très sévère, prendre un bain chaud et mettre du bicarbonate de soude dans l’eau.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/swimmersitch/faqs.html (en anglais seulement)
https://www.cdc.gov/parasites/swimmersitch/biology.html (en anglais seulement)