Each year thousands of visitors enjoy the lakes and rivers of Prince Albert National Park. From canoeing and stand-up-paddle boarding to fishing and wakeboarding there is a huge variety of ways to spend a day at the lake. Escape the busy beach and make the most of every water adventure by carrying essential safety equipment as required by Transport Canada, including an approved personal flotation device.

Safety is a shared responsibility. Take the following steps to ensure each adventure on the water is a safe one:

  1. Complete a pre-departure checklist and take a boating safety course to learn how to avoid potential dangers and operate pleasure crafts safely.
  2. File a trip plan with a trusted adult and become familiar with equipment to help prevent a minor issue from becoming a life-threatening situation.
  3. Purchase a park entry pass. Passes are available at Parks Canada's entry gates, information centres and online.
  4. Ensure the vessel complies with Transportation Canada’s Small Vessel Regulations. Failure to comply with Transport Canada Small Vessel Regulations could result in penalties or being required to remove your vessel from the water until requirements are met.
  5. Ensure the vessel is registered with the registration numbers properly displayed and only properly licensed persons operate the vessel. Operate the vessel in a safe, lawful manner.
  6. Stay close to shore and use pleasure crafts at own risk as beaches and open water are not patrolled.
  7. Prepare for potentially strong winds and waves on lakes as weather can change quickly. Check forecasted weather conditions before departure.
  8. Be self-reliant and prepare to self-rescue should any boat, canoe or kayak capsizes as help may not be immediately available.

For more information visit the Transport Canada pleasure craft information webpage.  

Cellphone coverage varies by carrier and may not be available in remote areas of Prince Albert National Park. It is important that you and your companions are prepared for any emergency or delay that may arise.

Paddling

A day kayak trip on the Hanging Heart Lakes or an overnight canoe adventure on the Kingsmere Lake can be a vacation highlight. Plan ahead to make the most of each paddling adventure. Carrying the essential safety items, filing a trip plan and being familiar with equipment will help prevent minor issues from becoming a life threatening situation.

Remember, always wear an approved personal flotation device and use caution while on the water. Even during the summer months many Saskatchewan lakes have water temperatures that can lead to hypothermia in a short time. Plan routes close to shore to minimize time in the water should a capsize occur.

Saskatchewan weather can change quickly. Be alert to changes in wind and weather conditions. Know your limitations and wait on shore for weather conditions to improve if struggling on the water.

Information on paddling safety can be obtained at the Visitor Center or visit AdventureSmart.

Power boating

Whether fishing on Kingsmere Lake, wakeboarding on Waskesiu Lake or enjoying a relaxing cruise on Crean Lake it is important to be prepared for the unexpected. Knowing how equipment works, watching out for paddlers and having the proper safety equipment are all ways of ensuring everyone enjoys their time on the lake.

Always wear an approved personal flotation device and use caution while on the water. Ensure that the vessel has the required safety equipment on board and be familiar with its operation. Operate motorized vessels in a manner that complies with Transport Canada’s pleasure craft legislation. As in other motor vehicles, it is unlawful to consume alcoholic beverages in a motor vessel or operate a motor vessel while impaired.

Cellphone coverage varies by carrier and may not be available in remote areas of Prince Albert National Park. It is important to be prepared for any emergency or delay that may arise.

Carrying the essential safety items and filing a trip plan can also ensure safety on the water. To learn more about water safety talk to a Parks Canada employee or visit AdventureSmart.

Swimming safety

The large lakes in Prince Albert National Park become ice-free about the middle to end of May. Water temperatures suitable for swimming are usually reached by end of June and continue until early September.

Remember, beaches are unsupervised and swimming in these areas is at your own risk. Swimming skills and approved personal floatation devices are not always enough to save a life. Often drowning incidents involve other factors beyond swimming ability. Water safety awareness - such as how to prepare for an emergency, and what to do if one occurs - helps prevent an emergency in or on the water.

Children and weak swimmers need constant supervision in and around water. Even someone who knows how to swim are at risk for drowning. All children and weak swimmers need to be supervised in the water. When swimming, be aware of the following:

  • Keep children and weak swimmers within arm’s reach of an adult
  • Lakes or ponds might be shallow near the bank, and can suddenly increase in depth
  • Wear foot protection such as aqua socks or water shoes as hazards may be present in the water
  • Watch out for weeds and grass that can entangle a leg or arm
  • Unlike the calm waters of a swimming pool, the beach may have hazards such as strong wind, waves and sharp rocks
  • Keep off and out of the water when there is lightning
  • For more information on child safety in and around water, visit the Canadian Red Cross

For the safety of swimmers, the use of boats and canoes is not allowed in buoyed swimming areas. Swimmer's Itch is a rare occurrence in large lakes but can be found in park waters. Contact the Visitor Centre staff for up-to-date reports or to learn more about visitor safety.


Related Links

Chaque année, des milliers de visiteurs profitent des lacs et des rivières du parc national de Prince Albert. Que ce soit le canotage, la planche à rame, la pêche ou la planche nautique, il y a une large variété de manières de passer votre journée au lac. Échappez à la plage achalandée et profitez pleinement de votre aventure aquatique en vous munissant de l’équipement de sécurité essentiel exigé par Transports Canada, dont un vêtement de flottaison individuel approuvé.

La sécurité, c’est l’affaire de tous. Suivez les étapes ci-dessous pour que votre aventure sur le lac se déroule en toute sécurité :

  1. Faites vos vérifications avant le départ et suivez un cours sur la sécurité nautique pour apprendre comment éviter les dangers possibles et manœuvrer une embarcation de plaisance en toute sécurité.
  2. Remettez un plan de route à un adulte de confiance et familiarisez-vous avec votre équipement pour éviter qu’un problème mineur ne devienne une situation de vie ou de mort.
  3. Munissez-vous d’un laissez-passer du parc national. Vous pouvez vous en procurer un sur place, aux postes d’entrée et aux centres d’accueil de Parcs Canada, ainsi qu’ en ligne.
  4. Transport Canada exige que toutes les embarcations navigant dans les eaux canadiennes respectent le Règlement sur les petits bâtiments. Le défaut de se conformer au Règlement sur les petits bâtiments de Transport Canada peut entraîner des pénalités ou l’obligation de retirer l’embarcation du plan d’eau tant que les exigences ne sont pas satisfaites.
  5. Immatriculer votre bâtiment et veiller à ce que le numéro d’immatriculation soit bien visible. Veiller à ce que seules les personnes titulaires d’un permis adéquat pilotent manœuvrent l’embarcation. Manœuvrer l’embarcation de façon sécuritaire et dans le respect des lois.
  6. Restez près du rivage; sachez que vous utilisez une embarcation de plaisance à vos propres risques étant donné qu’il n’y a aucune patrouille sur les plages et les eaux du lac.
  7. Soyez prêt à affronter des vents forts et de grosses vagues sur les lacs, car les conditions météorologiques peuvent changer rapidement. Vérifiez les prévisions météorologiques avant votre départ.
  8. Soyez autosuffisant et préparez-vous à procéder à votre propre sauvetage si votre embarcation, canot ou kayak devait chavirer, car il se pourrait que les secours tardent à arriver.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez la page Web de Transport Canada sur les embarcations de plaisance

La couverture des téléphones cellulaires varie d’un fournisseur à l’autre et pourrait ne pas être disponible dans les secteurs éloignés du parc national de Prince Albert. Il est important que vous et vos compagnons soyez prêts à toute urgence ou tout retard qui peut survenir.

Canotage

Une journée de kayak sur les lacs Hanging Heart ou une aventure en canot sur le lac Kingsmere peut être un fait saillant de vos vacances. Planifiez tout pour profiter le plus possible de votre aventure de canotage. Le fait de prendre avec vous les articles de sécurité essentiels, de préparer un plan de voyage et de vous familiariser avec votre équipement aidera à faire en sorte qu’un problème mineur ne se transforme pas en situation de vie ou de mort.

Souvenez, portez toujours un vêtement de flottaison individuel approuvé et faites attention sur l’eau. Même durant les mois d’été, l’eau de nombreux lacs de la Saskatchewan peut avoir des températures pouvant mener rapidement à l’hypothermie. Tracez votre parcours près de la rive et soyez prêt à vous secourir vous-même si vous chavirez.

Les conditions météorologiques de la Saskatchewan peuvent changer rapidement. Portez une attention aux changements liés au vent et aux conditions météorologiques.

Connaissez vos limites et attendez sur la rive pendant que les conditions météorologiques s'améliorent si vous éprouvez de la difficulté sur l'eau.

Des renseignements sur la sécurité en canotage sont disponibles au Centre d’accueil ou sur le site AdventureSmart.

Motonautisme

Que vous pêchiez sur le lac Kingsmere, fassiez de la planche nautique sur le lac Waskesiu ou profitiez d’une promenade relaxante sur le lac Crean, il est important de parer aux imprévus. Savoir comment fonctionne votre équipement, de garder un œil ouvert pour repérer les canoteurs et d’avoir l’équipement de sécurité adéquat sont toutes des façons de s’assurer que tout le monde profite de son temps sur le lac.

Portez toujours un vêtement de flottaison individuel approuvé et faites attention sur l’eau. Assurez-vous que votre embarcation a l’équipement de sécurité requis à bord et que vous vous êtes familiarisé avec son fonctionnement. Veuillez conduire votre embarcation motorisée d’une façon qui est conforme aux lois sur les navires de plaisance de Transports Canada. Comme pour les autres véhicules motorisés, il est illégal de consommer de l’alcool dans une embarcation motorisée ou d’en conduire une avec des facultés affaiblies.

La couverture des téléphones cellulaires varie d’un fournisseur à l’autre et pourrait ne pas être disponible dans les secteurs éloignés du parc national de Prince Albert. Il est important d’être prêt à toute urgence ou tout retard qui peut survenir.

Le fait de prendre avec vous les articles de sécurité essentiels et de produire un plan de voyage est aussi une démarche que vous pouvez entreprendre pour assurer votre sécurité sur l’eau. Pour en savoir plus au sujet de la sécurité sur l’eau, parlez à un employé de Parcs Canada ou visitez le site AdventureSmart.

Sécurité des baigneurs

Les grands lacs du parc national de Prince Albert sont libres de glace vers la mi-mai. La température de l’eau est habituellement acceptable pour la baignade entre la fin de juin et le début de septembre.

Rappelez-vous que les plages ne sont pas surveillées et que vous vous baignez à vos propres risques. Pour sauver une vie, il n’est pas toujours suffisant de savoir nager et d’avoir un vêtement de flottaison approuvé. Souvent, les noyades n’ont rien à voir avec le fait de savoir nager ou non. La sensibilisation à la sécurité nautique, notamment se préparer à une urgence ou savoir quoi faire en cas d’urgence, contribue à prévenir une situation d’urgence dans l’eau ou sur l’eau.

Les enfants et les mauvais nageurs doivent faire l’objet d’une surveillance constante dans l’eau et à proximité de l’eau. Même une personne qui sait nager peut se noyer. Lorsque vous vous baignez, soyez conscient de ce qui suit :

  • Les enfants et les mauvais nageurs doivent être à portée de main d’un adulte
  • Les lacs et les étangs peuvent être peu profonds près du rivage, puis devenir soudainement très profonds
  • Il faut porter des chaussons ou souliers pour l’eau pour se protéger les pieds en raison de la présence possible de dangers dans l’eau
  • Attention aux herbes et mauvaises herbes dans lesquelles peuvent s’emmêler une jambe ou un bras
  • Contrairement à une piscine où l’eau est calme, la plage peut présenter des dangers comme des vents forts, de grosses vagues et des roches acérées
  • N’allez pas dans l’eau quand il y a des éclairs
  • Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la sécurité des enfants dans l’eau et à proximité de l’eau, consultez le site de la Croix-Rouge canadienne.

Pour la sécurité des baigneurs, les bateaux et les canots sont interdits dans les lieux de baignade balisés. Les cas de dermatite du baigneur sont rares dans les grands lacs, mais le parasite peut se trouver dans les eaux du parc. Communiquez avec le personnel du Centre d’accueil afin d’obtenir des rapports à jour ou d’en apprendre davantage sur la sécurité des visiteurs.


Autres liens