The best defense is a good offence – Learn how to keep aquatic invasive species out of Prince Albert National Park!

Aquatic invasive species like zebra mussels are on the move in Canada. It’s going to take all of us being diligent about cleaning, draining and drying our boats, trailers and other water equipment to protect Prince Albert National Park’s lakes and rivers.

Common invasive organisms that can hitch a ride into park waters include zebra mussels (Dreissena polymorpha), spiny waterflea (Bythotrephes longimanus), Eurasian water-milfoil (Myriophyllum spicatum), and purple loosestrife (Lythrum salicaria).

For example, zebra mussels attach to any hard surface, and in a matter of months can encrust boat motors, plug community drinking water and wastewater infrastructure, and ruin popular beach areas, costing millions of dollars in damages. They permanently alter aquatic ecosystems. To date, there is no proven method for removing zebra mussels.

Zebra mussels cover a buoy. They fully cover the propeller of a boat motor in as little as three months making it unusable.

A park employee inspects the back of a boat and the accumulated debris on the back of the boat trailer.

Plan ahead

It is critical that boats and trailers or other sporting equipment that were in a body of water outside of Prince Albert National Park are cleaned with hot water from a secure source (ie. car wash or house hose), drained (ie. fuel bilge, live well ) and dried for at least five days before being put into park waters.

Beyond the motor boat and trailer. Items to clean, drain and dry include:

  • Life jackets
  • Sand pails and shovel
  • Inner tubes and inflatable toys
  • Kite boards and sails
  • Flippers and fins
  • Masks and snorkel tubes
  • Kayaks, canoes and rafts
  • Paddles, throw ropes and bailers
  • Fishing rods and associated gear
  • Rubber boots

For more information on aquatic invasive species, contact the Visitor Centre at 1-306-663-4522 or go to Saskatchewan Environment. You can also watch a video about zebra mussel monitoring in Riding Mountain National Park, Manitoba.

La meilleure défense est une bonne offensive – Apprenez comment empêcher les espèces aquatiques envahissantes d’entrer dans le parc national de Prince Albert!

Les espèces aquatiques envahissantes comme la moule zébrée se propagent au Canada et peuvent détruire l’écosystème et nuire à l’utilisation récréative de la région. Nous devons tous faire preuve de diligence pour nettoyer, vider et sécher nos bateaux, remorques et autres équipements aquatiques afin de protéger les lacs et rivières du parc national de Prince Albert.

Les moules zébrées se collent à n’importe quelle surface dure et, en l’espace de quelques mois, peuvent s’incruster sur les moteurs des bateaux, boucher les infrastructures communautaires d’eau potable et d’eaux usées et ruiner les plages très fréquentées, ce qui cause des millions de dollars en dommages. Elles modifient en permanence les écosystèmes aquatiques. À ce jour, il n’existe aucune méthode éprouvée pour éliminer les moules zébrées.

Des moules zébrées recouvrent une bouée. Elles peuvent recouvrir les moteurs des bateaux en à peine trois mois et ceux-ci deviennent donc inutiles.

Un employé du parc inspecte la boue et les débris qui s’accrochent au pare-chocs arrière d’une remorque à bateau.

Planifiez à l’avance

Il est important d’enlever tout le matériel aquatique et végétal des bateaux, remorques et autres équipements de sports nautiques afin que les espèces aquatiques envahissantes ne se propagent pas dans de nouvelles régions.

Il est essentiel que l’équipement qui se trouvait dans un plan d’eau à l’extérieur du parc national de Prince Albert soit nettoyé avec de l’eau chaude provenant d’une source sûre (comme un lave-auto ou le boyau d’une résidence), vidé (cale de carburant, vivier) et séché pendant au moins cinq jours avant d’être mis dans l’eau du parc.

En plus du bateau à moteur et de la remorque, les articles à nettoyer, vider et sécher comprennent ce qui suit :

  • Gilets de sauvetage
  • Seaux à sable et pelles
  • Chambres à air et jouets gonflables
  • Planches à cerf-volant et voiles
  • Palmes
  • Masques et tubas
  • Kayaks, canots et radeaux
  • Pagaies, cordes à lancer et écopes
  • Cannes à pêche et autre équipement de pêche
  • Bottes en caoutchouc

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes, communiquez avec le centre d’accueil au 1-306-663-4522 ou consultez le site du ministère de l’Environnement de la Saskatchewan à. Vous pouvez également visionner une vidéo sur la surveillance de la moule zébrée dans le parc national du Mont-Riding, au Manitoba.