Prince Albert National Park Nature Centre

Come get reacquainted with the Nature Centre, or discover its wonders for the very first time! This beautiful heritage building houses interactive exhibits that will guide you in learning about the park's natural and cultural heritage using all of your senses. You can explore the three major ecosystems of Prince Albert National Park – lakes and wetlands, grasslands, and boreal forest – and learn about the critters that call these places home! The Nature Centre is also a place for learning about the rich Indigenous cultures and history that existed here long before the national park was created.

The Nature Centre is located on Lakeview Drive in Waskesiu. While the exhibits are self-guided, Parks Canada staff are available to answer questions and provide suggestions about which trails to hike or lakes to paddle as you seek the wild nature of the park.

Opening Hours

Weekends only May 21 to June 26
10 am to 5 pm

Daily June 27 to August 31
10 am to 5 pm


Waskesiu Heritage Museum and Friends of the Park bookstore

Sharing space in the historic warden’s headquarters building is the Waskesiu Heritage Museum and the Friends of Prince Albert National Park book store.

Waskesiu Heritage Museum

The Waskesiu Heritage Museum shares the history of the park and Town of Waskesiu since Prince Albert National Park was officially opened in 1928. Outdoor exhibits at the museum feature a canvas roof shack tent, a fire tower cupola and a railcar portage. Interior exhibits highlight generations of life in the park, including boating, fishing, golfing, dancing and more!

The Friends of Prince Albert National Park bookstore

Along with new and used books, crafts and art that highlight the natural and cultural heritage of the park, you will find a replica of Grey Owl’s cabin, also known as Beaver Lodge. A room was designed using interior photographs of Beaver Lodge taken when Grey Owl was living in the cabin at Ajawaan Lake and offers a rare glimpse into the life of one of Canada’s earliest environmentalists.

Centre de la nature du parc national de Prince Albert

Venez-vous familiariser à nouveau avec le centre de la nature, ou découvrez ses merveilles pour la toute première fois ! Ce magnifique édifice patrimonial abrite des expositions interactives qui vous guideront dans l’apprentissage du patrimoine naturel et culturel du parc en utilisant tous vos sens. Vous pouvez explorer les trois principaux écosystèmes du parc national de Prince Albert – lacs et zones humides, prairies, et forêt boréale – en apprenant davantage sur les bestioles qui habitent ces endroits ! Le centre de la nature est également un endroit pour étudier l’histoire et la riche culture des peuples autochtones qui habitaient sur ce territoire bien avant que le parc fasse partie du réseau d’aires protégées du Canada.

Le centre de la nature est situé sur la promenade Lakeview à Waskesiu. Bien que les expositions soient autoguidées, le personnel de Parcs Canada est disponible pour répondre aux questions et fournir des suggestions sur les sentiers à parcourir ou les lacs à pagayer lorsque vous recherchez la nature sauvage du parc.

Heures d’ouverture

Du 21 mai au 26 juin (fins de semaine seulement)
10 h à 17 h

Du 27 juin au 31 août (tous les jours)
10 h à 17 h


Musée du patrimoine de Waskesiu et librairie de l’association coopérante

Le musée du patrimoine de Waskesiu et la librairie de l’association coopérante Friends of Prince Albert National Park occupent conjointement l’ancien bureau des gardes de parc.

Musée du patrimoine de Waskesiu

Le musée du patrimoine de Waskesiu fait connaître l’histoire du parc et du village de Waskesiu depuis l’ouverture du parc national de Prince Albert en 1928. Parmi les pièces exposées à l’extérieur de ce musée se trouvent un abri de fortune au toit en toile, une coupole de tour de guet et un wagon de portage. Ce qui est exposé à l’intérieur, et qui porte entre autres sur la navigation, la pêche, le golf et la danse, témoigne des générations qui ont vécu dans le parc.

Librairie de l’association coopérante

En plus de livres neufs et d’occasion ainsi que d’œuvres d’art et d’artisanat qui mettent en valeur le patrimoine naturel et culturel du parc, vous trouverez une reproduction de la cabane de Grey Owl, également connue sous le nom de « Beaver Lodge ». Une pièce a été conçue à partir de photographies de l’intérieur du Beaver Lodge, prises lorsque Grey Owl vivait dans sa cabane au lac Ajawaan. Cette pièce donne un rare aperçu de la vie de l’un des premiers environnementalistes du Canada.