Waskesiu Lake in Prince Albert National Park is a terrific place for sail sport activities. At over 950 square kilometres its wide open spaces provide plenty of room for you to run with the wind and tack your way back.

Windsurfing and sailboarding

With a number of beaches and picnic areas around Waskesiu Lake, you’ll find an ideal location to enjoy your favourite sail sport any time the wind blows. With sail or kite, you’ll breeze across the waters of Prince Albert National Park thanks to Saskatchewan’s reliable winds.

When engaging in your favourite sail sport, please watch for simmers and keep out of designated swimming areas. Waskesiu Lake is also popular with other boaters; watch for paddling craft and motorized vessels when enjoying your time on the water.

Traction kiting

During the winter months Waskesiu Lake is a wide open and windswept vista of ice and snow. This makes it a great place to strap on a board and fly a kite. With the picnic and day use areas and covered warm-up shelters around Waskesiu Lake, Prince Albert National Park becomes the ideal location for traction kiting enthusiasts.

Sail boating

Not too big and not too small, Waskesiu Lake offers a great destination for small sailing vessels. Including the Narrows, Waskesiu Lake from east to west is almost 25 km in length offering sailors plenty of lake to enjoy on breezy summer days. More experienced sailors may also choose to navigate through the Hanging Heart Lakes into the wide open waters of Crean Lake. At over 100 square kilometers, Crean Lake is the largest lake within Prince Albert National Park and offers terrific backcountry camping.

Water levels can fluctuate from year to year and throughout the season. Boat launch facilities in Prince Albert National Park are suitable for sail boats with a flat bottom or drop keel.

Aquatic Invasive Species

In collaboration with partners, park management is working hard to keep aquatic invasive species like zebra mussels out of the park’s lakes and rivers. Learn more about how you can help!

Visit the Prince Albert National Park visitor safety pages for information and tips on how to make your windy adventures safe and enjoyable.

Le lac Waskesiu est un endroit fantastique pour la voile. Il occupe une superficie de plus de 950 km2, et ses grandes étendues dégagées vous offrent amplement de place pour aller et venir au gré des vents.

Planche à voile

En raison des nombreuses plages et aires de pique-nique autour du lac Waskesiu, vous trouverez toujours un endroit idéal pour profiter des sports de voile à tout moment lorsque le vent souffle. Avec une voile ou un cerf-volant, vous vous propulserez sur les eaux du parc national de Prince Albert grâce aux vents fiables de la Saskatchewan.

Lorsque vous pratiquez ces sports, faites attention aux baigneurs et évitez les lieux de baignade désignés. Le lac Waskesiu est également une destination de prédilection pour d’autres plaisanciers; faites attention aux pagayeurs et aux embarcations à moteur lorsque vous passez du temps sur l’eau.

Cerf-volant de traction

Pendant les mois d’hiver, le lac Waskesiu offre un panorama de glace et de neige, ouvert et battu par les vents. C’est alors un excellent endroit pour vous attacher à une planche et faire voler un cerf-volant. Les aires de pique-nique, les aires de fréquentation diurne ainsi que les abris couverts pour se réchauffer, tous situés autour du lac Waskesiu, font du parc national de Prince Albert le lieu idéal pour les enthousiastes du cerf-volant de traction.

Voile

Ni trop petit ni trop grand, le lac Waskesiu est une destination formidable pour les petits voiliers. En comptant le passage Narrows, le lac Waskesiu fait près de 25 km d’est en ouest, ce qui procure aux amateurs de voile amplement d’espace pour profiter de la brise estivale. Les marins plus expérimentés peuvent choisir de traverser les lacs Hanging Heart en direction des eaux libres du lac Crean. Ce bassin d’eau, qui fait plus de 100 km2, est le plus vaste du parc national de Prince Albert, et il constitue une destination extraordinaire pour le camping dans l’arrière-pays.

Les niveaux d’eau peuvent fluctuer d’une année à l’autre et tout au long de la saison. Les installations de mise à l’eau du parc national de Prince Albert conviennent aux voiliers à fond plat ou avec quille de sécurité.

Espèces aquatiques envahissantes

Pour s’assurer que les lacs et les rivières du parc national de Prince Albert demeurent sains, Parcs Canada et ses partenaires déploient de nombreux efforts pour empêcher les espèces aquatiques envahissantes comme la moule zébrée d’entrer dans les lacs et rivières du parc. Apprenez-en davantage sur la façon dont vous pouvez aider!

Rendez-vous aux pages sur la sécurité des visiteurs du parc national de Prince Albert afin de trouver de l’information et des conseils sur la façon de rendre sécuritaires et agréables vos aventures dans le vent.