Pets are part of the family and are welcome in Prince Albert National Park. The park is a great place for both you and your beloved pet to enjoy forests, lakes and meadows. Bringing you dog on the trail for a hike or ski is a great motivator and after a hike in the hot summer cool your dog off with a swim. Dogs are allowed on most beaches, outside of buoyed swimming areas.

For visitors who do choose to bring domestic animals to Prince Albert National Park, the following Parks Canada regulations* and pet etiquette help ensure your personal safety and the safety of your pet. These rules also respect the comfort of other visitors and protect park wildlife and habitat.

  • Dogs and Cats must be under physical control at all times. Physical control includes restraint by a leash that does not exceed 3 metres in length or confinement in a container or enclosure suitable for keeping the animal.
  • Dogs and cats must not chase, molest, bite or injure any person, other domestic animal or wildlife.
  • Domestic animals must not be allowed to become a nuisance or cause unreasonable disturbance to persons, wildlife, property or facilities. This includes excessive barking.
  • Domestic animals must not be left unattended. This includes on your campsite or in a tent.
  • Domestic animals are not allowed in areas designated by a sign or other clearly posted notice. This includes all buoyed swimming areas in the park.
  • You are responsible for cleaning up your pet’s feces. Fecal matter deposited by the animal shall be immediately picked up and be removed to a refuse container or from the park.
  • Be mindful that other visitors may be afraid of dogs. Do not let your dog approach other people without an invitation. On the trail, pet owners should yield to other visitors.
  • Visitors remaining in the park with their dog or cat for more than 30 days must acquire permission from the park Superintendent. A permit can be obtained from Prince Albert National Park’s Waskesiu Townsite administration office.
  • Cattle, sheep, pigs, goats and live poultry are not allowed in Prince Albert National Park.

*Please be aware that this is not a comprehensive list of all national park domestic animal regulations. For additional information about legislation within national parks, please visit the Parks Canada Acts and Regulations webpage.

Les animaux de compagnie font partie de la famille, et ils sont les bienvenus dans le parc national de Prince Albert. Le parc est un endroit formidable où vous et vos animaux chéris pourrez profiter des forêts, des lacs et des prés. Il est très motivant de faire une promenade à pied ou à skis avec son chien. Après une randonnée sous la chaleur estivale, rafraîchissez votre chien par une baignade. Les chiens sont autorisés sur la plupart des plages, à l’extérieur des lieux de baignade balisés.

Si vous choisissez d’amener votre animal de compagnie dans le parc national de Prince Albert, les règlements* énumérés ci-dessous et l’étiquette des propriétaires d’animaux de compagnie contribueront à assurer votre sécurité personnelle et celle de votre animal. Ces règles favorisent aussi le confort des autres visiteurs, tout en protégeant la faune et l’habitat du parc.

  • Les chats et les chiens doivent être contenus par un moyen de retenu en tout temps. Par moyen de retenue, on entend, entre autres, contrôler l’animal avec une laisse d’au plus 3 mètres de long ou le garder dans une cage ou un enclos prévu à cette fin.
  • Les chats et les chiens ne doivent pas pourchasser, molester, mordre ou blesser une personne, un autre animal domestique ou une espèce faunique.
  • Les animaux domestiques ne doivent pas devenir une nuisance ou déranger excessivement les autres visiteurs, la faune, les biens ou les installations. Cela comprend le jappement excessif.
  • Les animaux domestiques ne doivent pas être laissés sans surveillance, notamment dans votre emplacement de camping ou à l’intérieur de votre tente.
  • Les animaux domestiques sont interdits dans les endroits désignés par un panneau ou un autre avis affiché clairement. Les endroits désignés comprennent tous les lieux de baignade balisés du parc.
  • Il vous incombe de ramasser les excréments de votre animal. Les matières fécales déposées par votre animal doivent être immédiatement placées dans un bac à ordures ou sorties du parc. 
  • Tenez compte du fait que d’autres visiteurs pourraient avoir peur des chiens. Ne laissez pas votre chien s’approcher d’autres personnes sans y avoir été invité. Sur les sentiers, les propriétaires d’animaux domestiques devraient céder le passage aux autres visiteurs.
  • Les visiteurs qui séjournent dans le parc avec leur chien ou leur chat durant plus de 30 jours doivent obtenir une autorisation du directeur du parc. Vous pouvez obtenir un permis au Centre administratif du parc national de Prince Albert à Waskesiu.
  • Le bétail, les moutons, les porcs, les chèvres et la volaille vivante ne sont pas autorisés dans le parc national de Prince Albert.

*Veuillez noter qu’il ne s’agit pas d’une liste complète des règlements relatifs aux animaux domestiques dans les parcs nationaux. Pour de l’information additionnelle au sujet de la législation applicable aux parcs nationaux, veuillez consulter le site Web des lois et règlements de Parcs Canada.