Visitors in Prince Albert National Park enjoy a wide range of activities on the water. There are several lakes - large and small - that offer access to motorised pleasure craft and sail boats. Motorised pleasure craft are only permitted on Waskesiu, Crean, Kingsmere, Sandy and the Hanging Heart lakes. Non-motorised activities such as sail boating and paddling are permitted on all park waters.

Please note:

  • There is a 40 h.p. motor restriction on Kingsmere Lake
  • Personal watercraft such as Jet Ski, WaveRunner, or Sea-Doo are not permitted on park waters
  • All watercraft must conform to federal small vessel and pleasure craft regulations

See the visitor safety pages for more information on boating safety.

Moorage, boat tours and watercraft rentals

Marina facilities on Waskesiu and The Hanging Heart lakes provide moorage, dry storage, boat rentals, and guided boat tours in Prince Albert National Park. Please visit the Waskesiu Marina Adventure Centre for more information.

Water skiing and wakeboarding

A motorboat pulls a wake boarder through the lake.

© Waskesiu Wilderness Region

 

Action sports such as water-skiing, wakeboarding and wake-surfing are exciting ways to enjoy your time on the water and Waskesiu Lake is the perfect place. With over 950 square kilometers of open water and a number of lakeside beaches and picnic facilities, there is plenty of space on the lake to enjoy that perfect run.

Birch Bay beach and picnic area is a great place for watersport activity. Situated on the north shore of Waskesiu Lake, the beach is the perfect gathering place to enjoy the lake with family and friends. Large hills extend to the southwest from the beach offering almost 2 km of lee shoreline protected from the prevailing northwest winds.

Sail boating

Not too big and not too small, Waskesiu Lake offers a great destination for small sailing vessels. Including the narrows, Waskesiu Lake from east to west it is almost 25 km in total length offering sailors plenty of lake to enjoy on breezy summer days. More experienced sailors may also choose to navigate through the Hanging Heart Lakes into the wide open waters of Crean Lake. At over 100 square kilometers, Crean Lake is the largest lake within Prince Albert National Park and offers terrific backcountry camping.

Water levels can fluctuate from year to year and throughout the season. Boat launch facilities in Prince Albert National Park are suitable for sail boats with a flat bottom or drop keel.

Aquatic Invasive Species

In collaboration with partners, park management is working hard to keep aquatic invasive species like zebra mussels out of the park’s lakes and rivers. Learn more about how you can help!

Les visiteurs du parc national de Prince Albert bénéficient d’un large éventail de possibilités d’activités nautiques. Le parc renferme plusieurs lacs – grands et petits – qui offrent un accès à des embarcations à moteur et à des voiliers. Les embarcations de plaisance pourvues de moteur ne sont autorisées que sur les lacs Waskesiu, Crean, Kingsmere, Sandy et Hanging Heart. Les activités non motorisées comme la navigation à voile et les excursions en embarcation à pagaie sont permises dans toutes les eaux du parc.

Remarque : 

  • Les moteurs de plus de 40 hp sont interdits sur le lac Kingsmere.
  • Les motomarines telles que Jet Ski, WaveRunner ou Sea-Doo sont interdites dans les eaux du parc.
  • Les embarcations doivent être conformes à la réglementation fédérale sur les petits bateaux et les embarcations de plaisance.

Consultez les pages sur la sécurité des visiteurs afin d’en savoir plus sur la sécurité nautique.

Amarrage, croisières et location d’embarcations

Les marinas des lacs Waskesiu et Hanging Heart offrent des services d’amarrage, de rangement au sec et de location d’embarcations ainsi que des excursions guidées en bateau dans le parc national de Prince Albert. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez le site Web du Waskesiu Marina Adventure Centre.

Ski et planche nautiques

Un bateau à moteur tire un adepte de planche nautique sur un lac.© Waskesiu Wilderness Region

Les sports d’action tels que le ski nautique, la planche nautique et le surf sur le sillage sont des moyens excitants de profiter de l’eau, et le lac Waskesiu est la destination idéale pour ce genre d’activités. Le lac fait 950 km2 et est bordé par un certain nombre de plages et d’installations de pique-nique. Vous aurez donc tout l’espace dont vous avez besoin pour vous amuser.

La plage de la baie Birch et l’aire de pique-nique adjacente constituent une excellente destination pour les activités nautiques. Située sur la rive nord du lac Waskesiu, cette plage est un lieu de rassemblement idéal pour profiter du lac en famille et avec des amis. Les hautes collines qui se dressent du côté sud-ouest du lac protègent la rive contre les vents dominants du nord-ouest sur près de 2 km.

Voile

Ni trop petit ni trop grand, le lac Waskesiu est la destination par excellence pour les petits voiliers. En comptant le passage Narrows, le lac Waskesiu fait près de 25 km d’est en ouest, ce qui procure aux navigateurs amplement d’espace pour profiter de la brise estivale. Les marins chevronnés peuvent naviguer sur les lacs Hanging Heart vers les vastes étendues d’eaux libres du lac Crean. Ce bassin d’eau, qui fait plus de 100 km2, est le plus grand du parc national de Prince Albert, et il constitue une destination extraordinaire pour le camping dans l’arrière-pays.

Les niveaux d’eau peuvent fluctuer d’une année à l’autre et tout au long de la saison. Les installations de mise à l’eau du parc national de Prince Albert conviennent aux voiliers à fond plat ou avec quille de sécurité.

Espèces aquatiques envahissantes

Pour s’assurer que les lacs et les rivières du parc national de Prince Albert demeurent sains, Parcs Canada et ses partenaires déploient de nombreux efforts pour empêcher les espèces aquatiques envahissantes comme la moule zébrée d’entrer dans les lacs et rivières du parc. Apprenez-en davantage sur la façon dont vous pouvez aider!