Sunshine, swimming and sand castles

A day at the beach is a tradition for many park visitors. Whether you enjoy the buzz of activity at the Waskesiu Main Beach or the quiet calm of a more secluded beach, with 10 vehicle-accessible beaches in Prince Albert National Park, visitors are sure to find a place in the sun.

Most of the beaches in Prince Albert National Park are also a great place for a picnic! With picnic tables, fire pits, fire wood and pit toilets nearby you have everything to make you picnic comfortable and convenient.

These beaches also make a great home base for on-the-water activities. Have a paddling adventure in a canoe, kayak or on a stand-up paddleboard. On Waskesiu Lake you can fuel up a powerboat (or rent one in the park’s marina) for a day of fishing, waterskiing, wakeboarding and other motorized fun. 

A motorboat is parked on the beach and there are many people enjoying various beach activities on the Waskesiu main beach.

Waskesiu Lake beaches

Waskesiu Main Beach

In the heart of Waskesiu is the 600-meter-long Waskesiu Main Beach. This sandy beach is a hub of activity, conveniently located next to a number of picnic shelters and across the street from restaurants and shopping. Beach house change rooms offer an accessible deck, bathroom facilities and hot water showers.

Beaver Glen Beach

Beaver Glen Beach is located adjacent to Beaver Glen Campground. This large sandy beach offers campers easy access to Waskesiu Lake. Although there are no picnic facilities at Beaver Glen Beach, there is a pit toilet for convenience and downtown Waskesiu is only a short hike from the beach.

Point View

Located on the Kingsmere Road just past the Waskesiu Marina, Point View offers visitors a quiet place for a picnic and a refreshing dip in the lake. Point View features a covered picnic shelter, fire pits and a pebble beach swimming area.

Birch Bay

Birch Bay is a great place to spend a day at the beach! Located on the north shore of Waskesiu Lake, Birch Bay offers great protection from north and westerly winds, making it an ideal location for water activates such as wakeboarding and waterskiing Birch Bay offers a covered picnic shelter and a large number of fire pits and tables. The mix of sand and pebbles makes the beach great for swimming and skipping stones.

South Bay/Mud Creek

South Bay is another excellent beach for the whole family. Located on the south shore of Waskesiu Lake on the Narrows Road, the beach offers protection from any south winds making it another great location to spend your day on and off the lake. South Bay offers a covered picnic shelter, numerous picnic tables nad fire pits, a long sandy beach and access to the Mud Creek hiking trail.

Trippes Beach

Located on the Narrows Road, Trippes Beach makes a great launching point for paddlers who wish to visit King Island on Waskesiu Lake. Launching from sandy Trippes Beach, King Island is only a short 2km paddle away. Trippes Beach features fire pits and tables for a convenient picnic setting.

Paignton Beach

A long white sand beach ending in a small, sandy peninsula makes Paignton Beach one of the most beautiful beaches in Saskatchewan. Paignton Beach offers breathtaking views of Waskesiu Lake and is a popular destination for picnickers and boaters alike. Paignton Beach offers two covered picnic shelters and a number of lakeside fire pits and tables.

Narrows Beach

The Narrows on Waskesiu Lake is a location of unique natural and cultural heritage. Amazing bird and wildlife sightings are frequent at The Narrows. Located at the end of the Narrows Road, the beach offers a covered picnic shelter and easy access to the Narrows Campground and marina facilities.

Beaches on other lakes

Beaches ranging from tiny spots of sand, gravel or organic matter with varying slopes to long, wide stretches of fine sand with gentle slope can be found on other park lakes. Some of the more popular include Namekus Lake, Sandy (Halkett) Lake and the Southend Beach on Kingsmere Lake. Kingsmere Lake and Crean Lake also offer a number of secluded backcountry beaches for those interested in exploring.

Swimming safety

The large lakes in Prince Albert National Park become ice-free about the middle to end of May. Water temperatures suitable for swimming are usually reached by end of June and continue until early September.

Remember, beaches are unsupervised and swimming in these areas is at your own risk. For the safety of swimmers, the use of boats and canoes is not allowed in buoyed swimming areas. Swimmer's Itch is a rare occurrence in large lakes but can be found in park waters. Contact the Visitor Centre staff for up-to-date reports or to learn more about visitor safety.

Soleil, baignade et châteaux de sable

Les journées passées à la plage sont une véritable tradition pour de nombreux visiteurs du parc. Que vous aimiez l’effervescence de la plage principale du lac Waskesiu ou le calme d’une plage plus intime, les 10 plages accessibles en véhicule dans le parc national de Prince Albert vous assureront une place sous le soleil.

La plupart des plages du parc sont également d’excellents endroits pour un pique-nique! Avec des tables de pique-nique, des foyers, du bois à brûler et des toilettes sèches, vous avez tout pour faire un pique-nique agréable et dans le confort.

Ces plages sont aussi un excellent port d’attache pour vos activités nautiques. Vivez une aventure sur l’eau dans un canot, un kayak ou sur une planche à pagaie. Sur le lac Waskesiu, vous pouvez faire le plein de votre bateau à moteur (ou en louer un à la marina du parc) et profiter d’une journée de pêche, de ski nautique, de planche nautique et d’autres amusements motorisés. 

Sécurité des baigneurs

Les grands lacs du parc national de Prince Albert sont libres de glace vers la mi-mai. La température de l’eau est habituellement acceptable pour la baignade entre la fin de juin et le début de septembre.

Rappelez-vous que les plages ne sont pas surveillées et que vous vous baignez à vos propres risques. Pour la sécurité des baigneurs, les bateaux et les canots sont interdits dans les lieux de baignade balisés. Les cas de dermatite du baigneur sont rares dans les grands lacs, mais le parasite peut se trouver dans les eaux du parc. Communiquez avec le personnel du Centre d’accueil afin d’obtenir des rapports à jour ou d’en apprendre davantage sur la sécurité des visiteurs.

Un bateau à moteur est rangé au bord de l’eau, et de nombreuses personnes s’adonnent à diverses activités sur la plage principale de Waskesiu.

Plages du lac Waskesiu

Plage principale du lac Waskesiu

Au cœur de Waskesiu se trouve la plage principale, qui s’étale sur 600 m. Cette plage sablonneuse est un carrefour d’activité; elle est parfaitement située près d’un certain nombre d’abris de pique-nique et en face de restaurants et de magasins. Au pavillon de plage se trouvent des vestiaires, une terrasse d’accès facile, des toilettes et des douches chaudes.

Plage Beaver Glen

La plage Beaver Glen est adjacente au terrain de camping Beaver Glen. Cette grande plage sablonneuse permet aux campeurs d’accéder facilement au lac Waskesiu. Bien qu’il n’y ait pas d’aire de pique-nique sur cette plage, une toilette sèche a été installée, et le centre du village de Waskesiu n’est situé qu’à une petite distance de marche.

Plage Point View

Sur la route Kingsmere, juste après la marina de Waskesiu, la plage Point View offre aux visiteurs un endroit tranquille pour un pique-nique et une baignade rafraîchissante dans le lac. Cette plage renferme un abri de pique-nique couvert, des foyers et un lieu de baignade bordé de galets.

Plage de la baie Birch

La baie Birch est un excellent endroit pour passer la journée à la plage! Sur la rive nord du lac Waskesiu, la baie Birch offre une bonne protection contre les vents du nord et de l’ouest, ce qui en fait un lieu idéal pour les activités telles que la planche nautique et le ski nautique La baie Birch comprend un abri de pique-nique couvert et un grand nombre de foyers et de tables. Le mélange de sable et de galets fait de cette plage une excellente destination pour la baignade et les jeux de ricochet.

Plage de la baie South et du ruisseau Mud

La plage de la baie South est une autre excellente destination pour toute la famille. Située sur la rive sud du lac Waskesiu, sur le chemin Narrows, la plage offre une protection contre les vents du sud, ce qui en fait un autre endroit formidable pour passer une journée sur le lac ou sur la plage. La baie South comprend un abri de pique-nique couvert, de nombreuses tables de pique-nique et des foyers. Elle abrite une longue plage sablonneuse et vous donne accès au sentier du Ruisseau-Mud.

Plage Trippes

Située sur le chemin Narrows, la plage Trippes est un excellent point de départ pour les pagayeurs qui veulent visiter l’île King sur le lac Waskesiu. Depuis cette plage sablonneuse, l’île King n’est qu’à 2 km. La plage Trippes abrite des foyers et des tables pour faciliter les pique-niques.

Plage Paignton

La longue rive de sable blanc qui prend fin dans une petite péninsule sablonneuse fait de la plage Paignton l’une des plus belles de Saskatchewan. Elle vous offre des vues splendides sur le lac Waskesiu et se prête merveilleusement bien aux pique-niques et à la navigation de plaisance. La plage Paignton comprend des abris de pique-nique couverts et un grand nombre de foyers et de tables aménagés près du lac.

Plage Narrows

Sise en bordure du lac Waskesiu, la plage Narrows revêt une grande importance naturelle et culturelle. Des animaux et des oiseaux fascinants y sont vus fréquemment. Située au bout du chemin Narrows, la plage offre un abri de pique-nique couvert ainsi qu’un accès facile au camping Narrows et aux installations de la marina. 

Plages d’autres lacs

Plusieurs autres lacs du parc sont bordés de plages de toutes sortes, depuis de petites sections de sable, de gravier ou de matière organique présentant des inclinaisons diverses, jusqu’à de longues et larges bandes de sable fin en pente douce. Les plus fréquentés sont le lac Namekus, le lac Sandy (Halkett) et le lac Kingsmere avec sa plage Southend. Les lacs Kingsmere et Crean offrent aussi plusieurs plages reculées pour ceux qui ont envie d’explorer. 

Espèces aquatiques envahissantes

Pour s’assurer que les lacs et les rivières du parc national de Prince Albert demeurent sains, Parcs Canada et ses partenaires déploient de nombreux efforts pour empêcher les espèces aquatiques envahissantes comme la moule zébrée d’entrer dans les lacs et rivières du parc. Apprenez-en davantage sur la façon dont vous pouvez aider!