Prince Albert National Park Nature Centre

Bring your family to the Nature Centre for hands-on learning about the park's natural and cultural heritage. Here you’ll find a multitude of interactive exhibits that take you to the West Side, over the wetlands, through the forests and more! Staff are available to answer questions and provide suggestions about which trails to hike or lakes to paddle as you seek the wild nature of the park. The Nature Centre is also a place for celebration and learning about the rich Indigenous cultures and history that existed here long before it became part of our family of national parks in Canada.

The Nature Centre, located on Lakeview Drive in Waskesiu, is a beautiful, federally designated heritage building of spruce logs and fieldstone dating from the 1930's. It is the starting place for many interpretive programs and special events. The facility operates from mid-May to the end of September.


Waskesiu Heritage Museum and Friends of the Park bookstore

Sharing space in the historic warden’s headquarters building is the Waskesiu Heritage Museum and the Friends of Prince Albert National Park book store.

Waskesiu Heritage Museum

The Waskesiu Heritage Museum shares the history of the park and Town of Waskesiu since Prince Albert National Park was officially opened in 1928. Outdoor exhibits at the museum feature a canvas roof shack tent, a fire tower cupola and a railcar portage. Interior exhibits highlight generations of life in the park, including boating, fishing, golfing, dancing and more!

The Friends of Prince Albert National Park bookstore

Along with new and used books, crafts and art that highlight the natural and cultural heritage of the park, you will find a replica of Grey Owl’s cabin, also known as Beaver Lodge. A room was designed using interior photographs of Beaver Lodge taken when Grey Owl was living in the cabin at Ajawaan Lake and offers a rare glimpse into the life of one of Canada’s earliest environmentalists.

Centre de la nature du parc national de Prince Albert

Amenez votre famille au Centre de la nature pour découvrir le patrimoine naturel et culturel du parc par des activités pratiques. Vous y trouverez toutes sortes d’expositions interactives qui vous proposent une tournée du secteur ouest, des milieux humides, des forêts et plus encore! Le personnel est à votre disposition pour répondre à vos questions et vous faire des suggestions, notamment sur les sentiers et les lacs à explorer pendant vos excursions dans la nature sauvage du parc. Le Centre de la nature est également un endroit pour célébrer et pour étudier l’histoire et la riche culture des peuples autochtones qui habitaient sur ce territoire bien avant que le parc fasse partie du réseau d’aires protégées du Canada.

Le Centre de la nature, situé sur Lakeview Drive à Waskesiu, est un élégant édifice fédéral du patrimoine qui date des années 1930. Ce magnifique bâtiment construit en rondins d’épinettes et en pierres des champs est le point de départ de nombreux programmes d’interprétation et d’activités spéciales. L’installation est ouverte au public de la mi-mai à la fin de septembre.


Librairie de l’association coopérante et musée du patrimoine de Waskesiu

La librairie de l’association coopérante Friends of Prince Albert National Park et le musée du patrimoine de Waskesiu occupent conjointement l’ancien bureau des gardes de parc.

Musée du patrimoine de Waskesiu

Le musée du patrimoine de Waskesiu fait connaître l’histoire du parc et du village de Waskesiu depuis l’ouverture du parc national de Prince Albert en 1928. Parmi les pièces exposées à l’extérieur de ce musée se trouvent un abri de fortune au toit en toile, une coupole de tour de guet et un wagon de portage. Ce qui est exposé à l’intérieur, et qui porte entre autres sur la navigation, la pêche, le golf et la danse, témoigne des générations qui ont vécu dans le parc.

Librairie de l’association coopérante

En plus de livres neufs et d’occasion ainsi que d’œuvres d’art et d’artisanat qui mettent en valeur le patrimoine naturel et culturel du parc, vous trouverez une reproduction de la cabane de Grey Owl, également connue sous le nom de « Beaver Lodge ». Une pièce a été conçue à partir de photographies de l’intérieur du Beaver Lodge, prises lorsque Grey Owl vivait dans sa cabane au lac Ajawaan. Cette pièce donne un rare aperçu de la vie de l’un des premiers environnementalistes du Canada.