Volunteering is a great way of giving back to your national park. Hands on or behind-the–scenes, there’s an opportunity waiting for you! Whether it’s just for a few hours or an entire summer season, check out some of these opportunities:


Parks Canada works with volunteers from a number of organizations in the surrounding community in addition to providing opportunities of its own. Friends of Prince Albert National ParkWaskesiu Community Council and many others have a wide range of volunteer opportunities available including special event support, clerical help, Arbour Day tree plantings and work bees.

For more information, contact the Prince Albert National Park Volunteer Program Co-ordinator at: panp.info@pc.gc.ca


Saskatchewan Breeding Bird Atlas

Enhance your next bird watching experience at Prince Albert National Park and survey breeding birds for the Saskatchewan Breeding Bird Atlas. Become a volunteer citizen scientist, and help assess how changes in the landscape affect wild bird habitats and populations. Your participation in the Saskatchewan Breeding Bird Atlas will contribute to an open access comprehensive digital account of the status of breeding birds in Saskatchewan.

For more information and to register, visit the Saskatchewan Breeding Bird Atlas website: https://sk.birdatlas.ca.


 Canadian Lakes Loon Survey

The common loon is one of Canada’s most recognisable birds. What many people don’t know is that the loon is a top level predator that feeds on small fish, minnows and other aquatic invertebrates. The presence of breeding loons can be an indication of lakes with high fish productivity and water quality and low levels of toxins and human disturbance. A decline in loon populations may be an early indication of larger problems within a lake ecosystem.

Since 1996 Prince Albert National park has been monitoring loon populations in the park. The park shares its loon survey data with the Canadian Lakes Loon Survey. Started in 1981 by Bird Studies Canada, the Canadian Lakes Loon Survey monitors loon hatching and survival rates across Canada.

Volunteer and help us monitor the health of Prince Albert National Park’s lakes and loon populations across the country!

There are 12 survey locations located throughout Prince Albert National Park. If you are planning a trip and would like to explore one of these lakes during the months of June, July or August you can help us collect important loon survey information.

To learn more or to volunteer contact panploon.pnpaplongeon@pc.gc.ca

Map – Prince Albert National Park loon survey lakes.
Map – Prince Albert National Park loon survey lakes.
© Parks Canada

The 12 loon survey lakes:

  • 1. Herzog Lake
  • 2. Hunters Lake
  • 3. Trappers Lake
  • 4. Shady Lake
  • 5. Amiskowan Lake
  • 6. Cabin Lake
  • 7. First Hanging Heart Lake
  • 8. Lost Lake
  • 9. Sanctuary Lake
  • 10. Bell Lake
  • 11. Nova Lake
  • 12. Trappers Slough


Additional Notes about Volunteering in Prince Albert National Park

  • Volunteers are responsible for all of their own costs when travelling to and from Prince Albert National Park (including park entry fees).
  • Parks Canada is typically unable to provide volunteer housing or assistance with living costs associated with volunteer activities in Prince Albert National Park.
  • International volunteers are responsible for ensuring they meet the proper requirements for their entry and stay in Canada. For more information, please consult the Citizenship and Immigration Canada website.

Volunteer in other protected places too!

Interested in volunteering elsewhere with Parks Canada? Check out the national volunteer webpage for a complete listing of Parks Canada opportunities across the country.

Le bénévolat est une excellente façon d’apporter votre contribution à votre parc national. Depuis les activités sur le terrain jusqu’aux tâches en coulisse, il y en a pour tous les goûts! Que ce soit seulement pour quelques heures ou pour tout l’été, voici quelques-unes de ces possibilités de bénévolat :


Parcs Canada collabore avec les bénévoles de différentes organisations des communautés voisines en plus d’offrir lui-même des possibilités de bénévolat. Les organismes Friends of Prince Albert National Park, Waskesiu Community Council (anglais seulement) et bien d’autres proposent une grande variété d’activités de bénévolat, notamment l’appui à des événements spéciaux, des tâches administratives ainsi que des corvées communautaires et la plantation d’arbres lors de la Journée de l’arbre.

Pour en savoir plus, communiquez avec le coordonnateur du programme de bénévolat du parc national de Prince Albert à l’adresse pc.princealbertinfo.pc@canada.ca


Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de la Saskatchewan

Enrichissez votre prochaine expérience d’observation d’oiseaux au parc national de Prince Albert et recensez les oiseaux nicheurs pour l’Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de la Saskatchewan. Devenez un citoyen de la science en aidant à évaluer en quoi les changements dans le paysage affectent les habitats des oiseaux sauvages et leurs populations. Votre participation au relevé de l’atlas des oiseaux nicheurs contribuera à présenter un compte rendu exhaustif de la situation des oiseaux nicheurs en Saskatchewan en version numérique, offerte en libre accès.

Pour obtenir plus d’information et pour vous inscrire, visitez le site Web de l’Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de la Saskatchewan : https://sk.birdatlas.ca/?lang=fr


Inventaire canadien des Plongeons huards

Le plongeon huard est l’un des oiseaux les plus reconnus au Canada. Par contre, peu de gens savent que le huard est un superprédateur qui se nourrit de petits poissons, de ménés et d’autres invertébrés aquatiques. La présence de huards sur un lac pendant la période de reproduction peut indiquer un taux élevé de productivité des poissons, une eau de bonne qualité et un faible taux de toxines et de perturbation humaine. À l’inverse, le déclin des populations de huards peut signaler l’émergence de problèmes plus graves dans l’écosystème lacustre

Depuis 1996, Parcs Canada surveille les populations de huards dans le parc national de Prince Albert. Les données recueillies sont intégrées à l’Inventaire canadien des Plongeons huards (anglais seulement). Lancé en 1981 par l’organisme Études d’oiseaux Canada, l’Inventaire permet de surveiller les taux d’éclosion et de survie du huard partout au Canada.

Devenez bénévole et aidez-nous à surveiller l’état de santé des lacs du parc national de Prince Albert et des populations de huards partout au pays!

L’inventaire se déroulera à douze endroits différents dans le parc national de Prince Albert. Si vous prévoyez un séjour au parc et souhaitez découvrir l’un de ces lacs pendant les mois de juin, de juillet ou d’août, vous pouvez nous aider à recueillir des données importantes pour l’inventaire des huards.

Pour en savoir plus ou pour devenir bénévole, envoyez un message à l’adresse pc.plongeonpnpa-panploon.pc@canada.ca

Carte – Lacs du parc national de Prince Albert où se déroulera l’inventaire des huards.
Carte – Lacs du parc national de Prince Albert où se déroulera l’inventaire des huards.
© Parks Canada

Les douze lacs où se déroulera l’inventaire des huards :

  • 1. Lac Herzog
  • 2. Lac Hunters
  • 3. Lac Trappers
  • 4. Lac Shady
  • 5. Lac Amiskowan
  • 6. Lac Cabin
  • 7. Lac First Hanging Heart
  • 8. Lac Lost
  • 9. Lac Sanctuary
  • 10. Lac Bell
  • 11. Lac Nova
  • 12. Marécage Trappers

Autres remarques sur le bénévolat dans le parc national de Prince Albert

  • Les bénévoles doivent assumer toutes leurs dépenses (y compris les droits d’entrée dans le parc) lorsqu’ils se rendent au parc national de Prince Albert et en reviennent.
  • Parcs Canada n’est habituellement pas en mesure de fournir un logement aux bénévoles ou une aide pour leurs frais de subsistance lors des activités de bénévolat dans le parc national de Prince Albert.
  • Les bénévoles étrangers ont la responsabilité de satisfaire à toutes les exigences liées à leur entrée et à leur séjour au pays. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site Web du ministère de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration.

Faites du bénévolat dans d’autres aires protégées!

Vous avez envie de faire du bénévolat dans d’autres lieux de Parcs Canada? Consultez la page Web nationale sur le bénévolat pour connaître toutes les possibilités de bénévolat offertes par Parcs Canada au pays.