A man and a women gaze at the shoreline as they paddle in a yellow canoe.
© Parks Canada

The uniquely accessible Bagwa Paddling Route gives visitors a chance to experience an iconic Canadian canoe trip – complete with plenty of paddling, portaging (carrying the canoe overland) and overnight camping – without requiring an extended time commitment.

Canoes and kayaks launch up the Kingsmere River (car-accessible via Kingsmere Road), portaging on a rail bed past a one-kilometre set of rapids to windy Kingsmere Lake. The route then loops through a string of pristine backcountry bodies of water (Bagwa, Lily and Clare Lakes) with some short portaging between. Anglers can even drop a line during the late-May to late-September fishing season.


Two young women portage a white canoe through the woods using a wheeled cart on rail tracks.
© Parks Canada

Spend the night at any of four lakeside backcountry campgrounds along the way, which come equipped with picnic tables, firewood and other basic amenities. Finally, plunge back into Kingsmere Lake for a paddle back down the shoreline to conclude this aquatic odyssey through Prince Albert National Park.

À bord d’un canot jaune, un homme et une femme observent la rive en pagayant.
© Parcs Canada

Venez vivre l’expérience canadienne par excellence! Quelques jours suffisent pour faire une excursion en canot de plusieurs jours, en suivant ce parcours unique et accessible. Pagayez, faites du portage (transport du canot sur l’épaule entre deux plans d’eau) et dormez sous les étoiles dans l’un des sites de camping en arrière-pays.

En canot ou en kayak, partez de la rivière Kingsmere (accessible en voiture par la route Kingsmere) et contournez les rapides du lac Kingsmere, qui s’étendent sur un kilomètre, grâce à un portage rendu facile grâce à une ingénieuse plate-forme sur rails. Faites ensuite une boucle en empruntant divers plans d’eau de l’arrière-pays (les lacs Bagwa, Lily et Clare) et faites de courts portages pour vous rendre de l’un à l’autre. En saison (de la mi-mai à la fin septembre), taquinez le poisson.


Deux jeunes femmes portagent un canot dans la forêt à l’aide d’un chariot monté sur des rails.
© Parcs Canada

Dormez sous les étoiles dans l’un des quatre terrains de camping situés le long du parcours. Ils sont équipés de tables à pique-nique, de bois pour le feu et offrent les commodités de première nécessité. Le lendemain, longez à nouveau les rives du lac Kingsmere pour terminer votre aventure nautique au parc national de Prince Albert.