One of the most accessible and user friendly places to experience the park by canoe or kayak is the Bagwa Canoe Route. This timeless canoe route begins on the Kingsmere River, northwest of Waskesiu. The entire route, starting from the parking lot, takes approximately 7 to 10 hours to paddle, but is much more enjoyable when stretched into an overnight trip.

There are four backcountry camping campgrounds located along the Bagwa Canoe Route. Two of these, the Bagwa and Lily Lake Campgrounds are only accessible by canoe or kayak and offer visitors a true backcountry experience.

All of the Bagwa Canoe Route Campsites offer:

  • Raised sand or gravel tent sites
  • Pit toilets
  • Picnic table & fire-pit at each site
  • Bear cache
  • Firewood

Be aware that Kingsmere Lake is large and presents wide fetches of open water. In extremely windy weather, it may be necessary to wait for calmer conditions before attempting to cross the lake.

Southend Campground

The Southend Campground is located at the end of the Kingsmere River Trail (1.5km from trailhead) on the southern shore of Kingsmere Lake. Located only a short distance away from the Kingsmere River the Southend Campground often becomes the first stop on many trips across Kingsmere Lake or to the Bagwa Canoe Route. In addition to the designated campsites Southend Campground features a shared kitchen shelter for use by campers, day hikers and boaters.

Located 1.5km from the Kingsmere River trailhead, Southend Campground offers:

  • 4 single and 3 double campsites
  • Kitchen shelter 

Pease Point Campground

The Pease Point Campground lies upon the western shore of Kingsmere Lake near the mouth of the Bagwa Channel. This campground makes an excellent base camp for anglers on Kingsmere Lake and marks the entrance to Bagwa Lake Channel. Although motor boats can access the Pease Point Campground motorised vessels are not permitted beyond the white marker in the Bagwa Channel south of the campground.

Located on the western shore of Kingsmere Lake, Pease Point Campground offers:

  • 4 single and 1 double campsites

Bagwa Lake Campground

On the southern shore of Bagwa Lake resting on a small peninsula this campground offers campers breathtaking sunset and sunrise views. Bagwa Lake is home to a large numbers of red-necked grebes and other water fowl making it an excellent place for bird watching. Don’t forget to bring a fishing rod, Bagwa Lake offers visitors excellent northern pike and walleye fishing!

Located on the southern shore of Bagwa Lake near the Lily Lake channel, Bagwa Lake Campground offers:

  • 2 single campsites

Lily Lake Campground

A top a small plateau on the eastern shore of Lily Lake this campground offers visitors an amazing lakescape view. Being accessible only by paddling craft, staying at Lily Lake makes each backcountry adventure seem like a journey back in time. Only a few hundred meters to the south is the portage access to Clair Lake, adding to a voyageur-like experience.

Located on the northeast shore of Lily Lake, Lily Lake Campground offers:

  • 2 single campsites

Map of the Bagwa Canoe Route campgrounds

Le parcours de canotage Bagwa est l'un des plus accessibles et accueillants du parc. Le point de départ se situe au lac Kingsmere, au nord-ouest de Waskesiu. À partir du terrain de stationnement, il est possible de faire le parcours en 7-10 heures, mais il est plus agréable d'y accorder plus d'une journée.

Quatre campings de l’arrière-pays jalonnent le parcours de canotage Bagwa. Deux d’entre eux, le camping du Lac-Bagwa et le camping du Lac-Lily, ne sont accessibles qu’en canot ou en kayak, et ils offrent aux visiteurs une véritable expérience de l’arrière-pays.

Tous les campings du parcours de canotage Bagwa sont pourvus des installations suivantes :

  • Emplacements surélevés pour tentes avec surface en sable ou en gravier
  • Toilettes extérieures
  • Table de pique-nique et foyer sur chaque emplacement
  • Cache à l'épreuve des ours
  • Bois de chauffage

Sachez que le lac Kingsmere est très grand et qu’il présente de vastes étendues d’eaux non abritées. Les jours où il vente très fort, il pourrait être nécessaire d’attendre une accalmie avant d’en entreprendre la traversée.

Camping de l’Extrémité-Sud

Le camping de l’Extrémité-Sud se trouve au bout du sentier de la Rivière-Kingsmere (à 1,5 km du point de départ), sur la rive sud du lac Kingsmere. Situé à faible distance de la rivière Kingsmere, ce camping sert souvent de première halte pour de nombreuses excursions sur le lac Kingsmere ou sur le parcours de canotage Bagwa. En plus des emplacements désignés, le camping de l’Extrémité-Sud renferme un abri-cuisine collectif que peuvent utiliser les campeurs, les randonneurs d’une journée et les plaisanciers.

Situé à 1,5 km du point de départ du sentier de la Rivière-Kingsmere le camping de l’Extrémité-Sud abrite :

  • quatre emplacements pour une tente et trois emplacements pour deux tentes;
  • un abri-cuisine

Camping de la Pointe-Pease

Le camping de la Pointe-Pease est situé sur la rive ouest du lac Kingsmere, non loin de l’embouchure du chenal Bagwa. Il s’agit d’un camp de base idéal pour les pêcheurs à la ligne qui veulent taquiner le poisson dans le lac Kingsmere. Ce camping marque aussi l’entrée du chenal Bagwa. Les bateaux à moteur peuvent s’y rendre, mais ils ne sont pas autorisés au-delà du repère blanc du chenal Bagwa, au sud du camping.

Situé sur la rive ouest du lac Kingsmere, le camping de la Pointe-Pease renferme :

  • quatre emplacements pour une tente et un emplacement pour deux tentes

Camping du Lac-Bagwa

Blotti sur une petite péninsule de la rive sud du lac Bagwa, ce camping offre aux canoteurs la possibilité d’admirer des levers et des couchers de soleil spectaculaires. Le lac Bagwa sert d’habitat à un grand nombre de grèbes jougris et à d’autres espèces de la sauvagine, ce qui en fait une excellente destination pour l’observation des oiseaux. N’oubliez pas votre canne à pêche : le lac Bagwa regorge de grand brochet et de doré jaune!

Situé sur la rive sud du lac Bagwa, près du chenal du lac Lily, le camping du Lac-Bagwa renferme :

  • deux emplacements pour une tente.

Camping du Lac-Lily

Trônant sur un petit plateau de la rive est du lac Lily, ce camping offre aux visiteurs des vues splendides sur les eaux environnantes. Comme il n’est accessible que par embarcation sans moteur, le camping du Lac-Lily donne à votre aventure dans l’arrière-pays des allures de retour dans le passé. À quelques centaines de mètres au sud s’étend le portage menant au lac Clair, qui ajoute à votre expérience de « coureur des bois ».

Le camping du Lac-Lily se trouve à peu près aux deux tiers de la longueur du lac, sur sa rive nord-est. Il abrite :

  • deux emplacements pour une tente.

Carte des campings du parcours de canotage Bagwa.