Black-tailed prairie dogs are a daytime species. They usually spend the first two hours after sunrise foraging and eating, and the remainder of the day grooming, dustbathing, stretching, socializing and repairing their burrows. This playful and social little animal is a favourite among visitors to Grasslands National Park.

Life history and biology

Black tailed prairie dogs are large; up to 40cm (16") long and weigh as much as 0.5 to 1.5kg (1 to 3 lbs). They are easily distinguishable from the Richardson's Ground Squirrel, or common gopher. They are pale cinnamon buff in colour with a white underside and a black tipped tail.

Black-tailed prairie dogs are a daytime species. They usually spend the first two hours after sunrise foraging and eating, and the remainder of the day grooming, dustbathing, stretching, socializing and repairing their burrows. Prairie dogs feed primarily on vegetation, mainly grasses and roots, though occasionally they will feed on insects.
Prairie dogs molt twice a year. Their summer coat is light, with almost no underfur. Their winter coat has a thick, warm underfur. Prairie dogs do not undergo true hibernation. Instead, the northern prairie dogs will regulate their body temperature during the winter to control energy. This is called facultative torpor. They do not store food in preparation for the long winter but will live off the fat reserves stored in their body. On the occasional sunny winter day, they may venture out to forage for roots and grass.

Mating takes place underground in early spring (March to mid April). This is the only time of year when the prairie dog becomes aggressive. The dark red, wrinkled, hairless, blind young are born 35 days later. Besides being fairly unattractive, they are also very vulnerable. They remain in their burrow for five to six weeks and appear above ground in June to July. After two to three weeks above ground, the parents abandon their burrow to their young, while they establish a new burrow.

Black-tailed prairie dogs are very social animals, a feature which makes them a delight to watch. The dog colony is divided into a variety of social units. The borders of these social units are defined by natural features such as tall grass, rocky ground, creeks or brush. Each social unit is called a coterie and is comprised of one male, 3 to 4 females and their young up to one year of age. Members of the coterie identify each other by muzzling or 'kissing'. They also groom and play as a means of communicating. Prairie dogs have a varied vocabulary of barks and calls.
As a prairie dog colony grows in size, it becomes necessary for some prairie dogs to move out and establish a new town. When the adults move out, they may travel as far as 10km or more and even swim across rivers and lakes. Usually, members of the same coterie travel out to establish a new colony.

When a new colony is established, the prairie dogs make a home for themselves and a home for a whole host of other animals. Burrowing owls live in the burrows of the prairie dogs; rattlesnakes seek the protective shelter of the burrows and eat the young prairie dogs; short- horned lizards and black widow spiders also find food and refuge in the colony. Prairie dogs are preyed upon by badgers, eagles, hawks, coyotes, and foxes. Prairie dogs form a critical link in a complex prairie food web.

The critical link

Prairie dogs are seen as competing with cattle for food and being a danger to livestock. They have been poisoned, trapped, shot, flooded and dynamited out of their homes. With them went the owls, ferrets, snakes, foxes and badgers. The delicate balance of nature had once again been disrupted.
Aside from its curious social habits and behaviour, the black-tailed prairie dog is a key component of the grasslands ecosystem. In and around Grasslands National Park of Canada is the only place in Canada where they exist in the wild.

It was not until 1927 that the first prairie dog towns were discovered in Canada. The first colony was found six miles north of the village of Val Marie. Presently there are some 25 colonies in and around the park ranging from 0.55 ha to 171.56 ha in size. It is roughly estimated that the colonies may contain as many as 17,000 to 23, 000 animals. Eventually, the colonies may be large enough and close enough to each other to support a few families of reintroduced black-footed ferrets.
The black-tailed prairie dog is one of those critical species that acts as a link between a myriad of other species. Its very existence serves to demonstrate the complexity of natural systems and the interconnections among all things. The history of the prairie dog is also a lesson in stewardship: we have learned that by affecting the life of any one creature, we inevitably impact the lives of many others.

The health and success of the black-tailed prairie dog means the survival of the coyote, the fox, and the badger. It means the potential for success of the swift fox, the ferruginous hawk and the burrowing owl. It also means a chance at life for the short-horned lizard, the prairie rattlesnake and the black-footed ferret. Finally, it means peace of mind for all of us stewards of the earth; and it means the opportunity to continue to observe this fascinating and amiable little rodent.
The black-tailed prairie dog is a member of the squirrel family. Large eye sockets give it the capacity to have a large range of vision, necessary for spotting danger. It is a primitive rodent, its large teeth are well suited to its diet of grass, roots and insects.

Protecting species

Only found in Canada in and around the west block of Grasslands National Park, the black-tailed prairie dog is a member of the squirrel family and is closely related to the ground squirrel. Prairie dogs are very social animals. They are active in the day and live in large colonies or towns which may have thousands of animals living in it.
Between 2007 and 2013, an overall decline in prairie dog numbers was observed in the west block of Grasslands National Park. This decline was likely due to a combination of factors including weather (i.e. drought), predation and disease - in particular sylvatic plague, which was first recorded in 2010. But thanks to Grasslands National Park conservation efforts such as plague mitigation, disease surveillance and habitat management, in addition to research programs carried out by our partners the Calgary's Zoo Centre for Conservation Research and the University of Saskatchewan, prairie dog numbers in the park have been steadily increasing for the last few years.

This is encouraging news since prairie dogs are considered a “keystone” species: their colonies create islands of habitats that benefit many other species who use their burrows as homes, such as the Burrowing owl. They are also a food source for many animals, including coyotes, eagles and badgers.

How you can help

Dogs are not permitted on prairie dog colonies and must be on a leash at all times.

More information

Connecting with nature

Did you know?

The West Block and neighbouring lands are the only places in Canada where Black-tailed Prairie Dogs exist in their natural habitat.

How to identify:

They are easily distinguished from the Richardson’s Ground Squirrel “gopher” as the Prairie Dogs are twice the size. Prairie Dogs are also highly social critters and live in extensive communal ‘dog towns’.

Where to view

Walk the Top Dogtown Trail to catch their antics announcing your presence from atop a burrow. These comical Black-tailed Prairie Dogs greet each other with an identifying ‘kiss’. While there, look out for Burrowing Owls and rattlesnakes that may have reclaimed an abandoned burrow for a home. Sneak a peek at the Prairie Dogs through the telescopes at Stop 2 and Stop 7 on Ecotour Road.

Les chiens de prairie sont des animaux diurnes, c'est-à-dire qu'ils s'activent durant la journée. Ils passent généralement les deux heures qui suivent le lever du soleil à fouir la terre et à manger, et consacrent le reste de la journée à faire leur toilette, à prendre des bains de poussière, à s'étirer, à rendre visite à leurs voisins et à réparer leurs terriers. Ce petit animal joueur et sociable est l'un des favoris auprès des visiteurs du parc national des Prairies.

Cycle biologique

Les chiens de prairie sont gros : ils mesurent jusqu'à 40 cm de long (16 po) et pèsent jusqu'à 0.5 à 1.5 kg (1 à 3 lb). Ils se distinguent facilement du spermophile de Richardson, ou spermophile commun. Leur fourrure est couleur cannelle claire, excepté pour le ventre blanc et le bout de la queue noir.

Les chiens de prairie sont des animaux diurnes, c'est-à-dire qu'ils s'activent durant la journée. Ils passent généralement les deux heures qui suivent le lever du soleil à fouir la terre et à manger, et consacrent le reste de la journée à faire leur toilette, à prendre des bains de poussière, à s'étirer, à rendre visite à leurs voisins et à réparer leurs terriers. Les chiens de prairie se nourrissent essentiellement de végétaux, surtout d'herbe et de racines, bien qu'occasionnellement ils mangent des insectes.

Les chiens de prairie muent deux fois l'an. Leur pelage d'été est léger, pratiquement sans duvet, tandis que celui d'hiver est épais et constitué d'un chaud duvet. L'espèce n'hibernent pas, mais elle passe considérablement plus de temps sous la terre durant l'hiver. Les chiens de prairie ne stockent pas de nourriture en prévision du long hiver. Ils subsistent à même les réserves de graisse accumulées dans leur corps. À l'occasion, lorsqu'il fait beau, ils sortent pour se trouver quelques racines et de l'herbe.

L'accouplement a lieu sous terre au début du printemps (de mars à la mi-avril). C'est le seul moment de l'année où le chien de prairie devient agressif. Les petits naissent à la fin mai ou au début de juin, tout plissés et roux sombre, sans poil et aveugles. En plus d'être plutôt laids, ils sont très vulnérables. Ils demeurent dans le terrier pendant cinq à six semaines et en sortent au début de juillet. Après qu'ils ont passé deux ou trois semaines au-dessus de la terre, les parents abandonnent leur terrier aux jeunes et s'en aménagent un autre pour eux.

Les chiens de prairie sont des animaux très grégaires, une caractéristique qui les rend très agréables à observer. La colonie de chiens est divisée en une multitude de cellules sociales dont les limites sont définies par des éléments naturels : hautes herbes, terrain rocailleux, ruisseaux ou buissons. Chaque groupe, appelée coterie, comprend un mâle, de trois à quatre femelles et leurs petits de moins d’un an. Les membres d'une coterie disposent de différents moyens pour se reconnaître les uns les autres : les caresses sur le museau (sorte de baiser), leur toilette, leurs jeux et la communication vocale, le registre d'aboiements et de cris du chien de prairie étant en effet très varié.

À mesure qu'une colonie de chiens de prairie croît en taille, il devient nécessaire que certains animaux déménagent et fondent une autre colonie. Lorsque les adultes déménagent, ils peuvent parcourir des distances pouvant atteindre 10 km et même traverser des rivières et des lacs. Généralement, ce sont les membres d'une même coterie qui partent pour former une nouvelle colonie.
En formant une nouvelle colonie, les chiens de prairie ne se sont pas seulement aménagé un territoire pour eux, mais aussi pour une variété d'autres animaux. Avec eux en effet arrivent des chevêches des terriers qui demeurent dans les terriers convoités, des serpents à sonnettes à la recherche d'abri qui n'hésitent pas non plus à manger les petits chiens de prairie pour s'approprier leur terrier, des iguanes à petites cornes et des veuves noires (araignées) qui trouvent aussi nourriture et refuge dans la colonie. Par ailleurs, les chiens de prairie sont aussi la proie de blaireaux, d'aigles, de coyotes et de renards véloces. Les chiens de prairie constituent donc un anneau essentiel dans la chaîne alimentaire complexe des prairies.

L'anneau capital

Cependant, étant donné que les chiens de prairie sont considérés comme des rivaux des bovidés pour la nourriture et comme un danger pour le bétail, on les a empoisonnés, piégés, chassés, inondés et même dynamités, pour les faire sortir de leurs terriers. Seulement, leur disparition a aussi entraîné celle des hiboux, des furets, des serpents, des renards et des blaireaux. On avait perturbé une fois de plus l'équilibre fragile de la nature.

À part ses curieuses habitudes et son comportement social, le chien de prairie est un élément clé de l'écosystème des prairies. Le parc national du Canada des Prairies et les alentours sont les seules regions au Canada où l’on retrouve des chiens des prairies dans la nature.

Ce n'est qu'en 1927, qu'on a découvert les premières colonies de chiens de prairie au Canada. On a trouvé la première colonie à six milles au nord de Val Marie. Actuellement, on dénombre quelque 25 colonies dans le parc et les alentours qui sont réparties dans des zones ayant une superficie allant de 0,55 ha à 171,56 ha. . Au total, les colonies ne groupent pas moins de 17 000 à 23 000 animaux. Ce nombre impressionnant de chiens de prairie pourrait à la longue permettre la réintroduction de quelques familles de putois d'Amérique.
Le chien de prairie est l'une de ces espèces capitales qui servent de lien entre toute un éventail d'autres espèces. Son existence même sert à démontrer la complexité des systèmes naturels et les interelations qui existent entre les éléments. L'histoire du chien de prairie vaut aussi une leçon de gérance : en effet, nous voyons que le fait de toucher à la vie de n'importe laquelle des créatures de la nature a des répercussions sur de nombreuses autres.

De la santé et de la prolifération du chien de prairie dépend la survie du coyote, du renard et du blaireau, ce qui fournit le potentiel pour la prolifération du renard véloce, de la buse rouilleuse et de la chevêche des terriers. Le chien de prairie, c'est également la chance de survie de l'iguane à petites cornes, du serpent à sonnettes des prairies et du putois d'Amérique. Finalement, il en va de la paix de l'esprit pour nous tous, gérants de la terre, car c'est la condition pour pouvoir continuer à observer ce fascinant et aimable petit chien.
Le chien de prairie appartient à la famille des écureuils. Grâce à de grandes cavités orbitaires, il jouit d'un angle de vision évasé, bien utile pour repérer le danger. C'est un rongeur primitif, ses grandes dents conviennent bien à son régime alimentaire compose d'herbes de racines et dèinsectes .

Protection des espèces

Retrouvé uniquement au Canada dans de la partie ouest du parc national des Prairies et aux environs, le chien de prairie est un membre de la famille des Sciuridés (écureuils) et est étroitement apparenté aux spermophiles. Le chien de prairie est un animal très sociable. Il est actif durant le jour et vit dans de grandes colonies organisées (villes) pouvant comprendre des milliers d’animaux.
Entre 2007 et 2013, un déclin général du nombre de chiens de prairie a été observé dans la partie ouest du parc national des Prairies. Ce déclin était vraisemblablement attribuable à une combinaison de facteurs, y compris les conditions météorologiques (c.-à-d. la sécheresse), la prédation et la maladie, plus particulièrement la peste sylvatique, enregistrée pour la première fois en 2010. Cependant, grâce aux mesures de conservation prises par le parc national des Prairies, comme l’atténuation de la peste, la surveillance de la maladie et la gestion de l’habitat, en plus des programmes de recherche mis en œuvre par nos partenaires du Centre du zoo de Calgary pour la recherche sur la conservation (Calgary's Zoo Centre for Conservation Research) et l’Université de la Saskatchewan, le nombre de chiens de prairie a augmenté de façon constante au cours des dernières années.

Ce sont des nouvelles encourageantes, car les colonies de chiens de prairie jouent un rôle clé : dans la création de milieux qui profitent à de nombreuses autres espèces qui utilisent leur terrier comme résidence, comme la chevêche des terriers. Les chiens de prairie constituent aussi une source de nourriture pour de nombreux animaux, notamment les coyotes, les aigles et les blaireaux.

Ce que vous pouvez faire

Les chiens ne sont pas admis dans les colonies de chiens de prairie et doivent être tenus en laisse dans tous les secteurs du parc.

Pour plus d’information

Se rapprocher de la nature

Le saviez-vous?

Le bloc Ouest et les terres avoisinantes sont les seuls endroits au Canada où le chien-deprairie à queue noire existe toujours dans son habitat naturel.

Comment le reconnaître :

On peut le distinguer facilement du spermophile vu qu’il fait deux fois sa taille. Les chiens-de-prairie à queue noire sont hautement sociables et vivent en grandes colonies.

Où les observer

Empruntez le sentier de la Colonie-d’en-Haut pour observer les bouffonneries des chiens-deprairie à queue noire qui annoncent votre arrivée du sommet de leur terrier. Ces petits personnages cocasses se saluent d’un bisou particulier. Avez-vous réussi à le prendre en photo avec votre téléphone intelligent? Pendant que vous y êtes, prêtez attention à la chevêche des terriers ou au serpent à sonnettes qui pourrait avoir récupéré un terrier abandonné et s’en servir comme abri. Observez le chiende- prairie à queue noire au télescope qui se trouve aux arrêts nos 2 et 7 de l’Écocircuit.