Grasslands National Park is Canada’s first national park established to represent the mixed-grass prairie. To many, the Canadian Prairie evokes images of boundless fields of grain. Few have seen a native mixed-grass prairie ecosystem. Only a small portion of this ecosystem remains, making Grasslands National Park and surrounding lands the most significant representation of the Prairie Grasslands Natural Region.

Environment

Grasslands National Park is a land of rolling hills, rugged coulees, and steep ravines. The West Block centres on the Frenchman River Valley and the East Block features the Killdeer "Badlands" and the Wood Mountain "Uplands". Grasslands National Park is where sky meets prairie at the northern extension of the great plains.

Discover unique features

Wildlife

In the dry hills, badlands and eroded river valleys in and around Grasslands National Park, a diversity of wildlife, including pronghorns, greater sagegrouse, prairie rattlesnakes and the only remaining black-tailed prairie dog colonies in Canada, can still be found.

Conservation

Grasslands National Park was established in 1981 with the Federal-Provincial agreement to conserve, protect and present a portion of the Prairie Grasslands.

Conservation projects

Plants

Cool and warm season grasses cover the upland prairie areas and some of the broad valley lowlands that are also vegetated with sagebrush, greasewood and prickly pear cactus.

Le parc national des Prairies est le tout premier parc national du Canada créé pour mettre en valeur la prairie mixte. Dans l'esprit de nombreuses personnes, la prairie canadienne évoque l'image de champs de céréales s'étendant à l'infini. Peu de gens ont déjà vu un écosystème indigène de la prairie mixte. Seule une petite partie de cet écosystème subsiste, ce qui fait du parc national des Prairies et des terres avoisinantes la représentation la plus significative de la région naturelle des Prairies.

Environnement

Le parc national des Prairies est un terrain ondulé et accidenté avec des ravines escarpées. Le secteur ouest est traversé par la vallée de la rivière Frenchman et le bloc est caractérisé par les badlands de Killdeer et les hautes- terres de Wood Mountain. Le parc national des Prairies est un endroit où le ciel rencontre la prairie dans la région des plaines du Nord.

Découvrir les éléments uniques

La faune

Dans les collines arides, les badlands et les vallées fluviales érodées du parc national des Prairies et des environs vivent toujours divers animaux sauvages, notamment des antilocapres, des tétras des armoises, des crotales des prairies et les dernières colonies de chiens de prairie à queue noire au Canada.

Conservation

Le parc national des Prairies a été fondé en 1981 en vertu d'une entente fédérale-provinciale visant à conserver, à protéger et à mettre en valeur une partie des prairies.

Projets

Les plantes

Des graminées des saisons fraîche et chaude recouvrent les prairies des hautes terres et une partie des vastes basses terres de la vallée où poussent également l'armoise argentée, le sarcobate vermiculé et la raquette le Rafinesque.