Efforts to protect the grasslands of this area and its native species have been going on for over 50 years by various individuals and groups. During the 1950's and 60's prairie conservationists promoted the protection of a significant area of natural grasslands. In October 1963, members of the Saskatchewan Natural History Society passed a resolution urging the federal government to establish a national park in south-western Saskatchewan. A study of potential park areas was conducted in 1965 in southern Saskatchewan and southern Alberta, concluding that the Killdeer Badlands-Frenchman river area was the most suitable.

In 1975, a Memorandum-of-Intent setting out some of the terms and conditions for establishment of Grasslands National Park of Canada (GNPC) was signed by both governments. In accordance with the Memorandum, an independent Public Hearings Board was appointed in 1976 to determine the degree of support for the proposed Grasslands National Park. The Board reported that the Park proposal had the public's support and should proceed.

On June 19, 1981, Canada and Saskatchewan signed an agreement to establish the Park. Subsequently, Parks Canada purchased two ranches totaling 140 km 2 in the Frenchman river area. Acquisition of additional park lands ceased when the conditions in the agreement pertaining to oil and gas exploration and water resource management proved unworkable. Negotiations to resolve the impasse went on for five years.

In 1988, with help of a coalition of non-governmental conservation organizations , an agreement was reached between Canada and Saskatchewan to revise the 1981 accord and proceed with establishment of Grasslands National Park of Canada. The proposed park boundary encompasses approximately 900sq.km. in two blocks. Currently, Parks Canada has acquired approximately 80% of the land. The agreement allows Parks Canada to acquire land on a willing-seller, willing-buyer basis: allows Saskatchewan to uphold existing water use agreements and uphold international commitments: and, allows Parks Canada 30 years before Saskatchewan can terminate its obligations to the 1988 agreement. Grasslands National Park of Canada was officially proclaimed a national park under the new Canada National Parks Act on February 19, 2001.

The Saskatchewan Natural History Society (now Nature Saskatchewan) has played a significant role in advocacy of the park and in pro-active conservation measures. The Nature Conservancy of Canada has also assisted with establishment of the park. In 1991, Amoco Canada sold its title to mineral rights to Parks Canada.

Parks Classification

Grasslands National Park of Canada has been established to preserve and present a representative portion of the Canadian mixed grass prairie ecosystem.

Il y a maintenant plus de 50 ans que divers groupes et particuliers déploient des efforts pour protéger la région et ses espèces indigènes. Au cours des années 50 et 60, les écologistes firent campagne pour que l'on protège une vaste étendue de prairies naturelles. En octobre 1963, des membres de la Saskatchewan Natural Historic Society adoptèrent une résolution pour inciter le gouvernement fédéral à créer un parc national dans le Sud-Ouest de la Saskatchewan. En 1965, on mena une étude dans le Sud de la Saskatchewan et de l'Alberta qui permit de conclure que la région de la rivière Frenchman et des Killdeer Badlands était la plus propice.

En 1975, un exposé d'intention exposant certaines des modalités applicables à la création du parc national du Canada des Prairies du Canada fut signé par les deux ordres de gouvernement. Conformément à ce document, un comité d'audiences publiques indépendant fut mis sur pied en 1976 pour déterminer dans quelle mesure on était en faveur de la création du parc national du Canada des Prairies. Dans son rapport, le comité souligna que le projet avait l'appui de la population et qu'on devrait aller de l'avant.

Le 19 juin 1981, le Canada et la Saskatchewan signèrent une entente autorisant la création du parc. Par la suite, Parcs Canada acheta deux ranchs totalisant 140 km2 dans la région de la rivière Frenchman. L'acquisition de terres supplémentaires cessa lorsque les conditions établies dans l'entente concernant l'exploration pétrolière et gazière, et la gestion de ressources en eau, menèrent à une impasse. Des négociations eurent lieu pendant cinq ans.

En 1988, avec l'aide d'une coalition d'organismes de conservation non gouvernementaux, une entente fut conclue entre le gouvernement du Canada et la province de la Saskatchewan en vue de modifier l'accord de 1981 et de procéder à l'établissement du parc national des Prairies. Les limites du parc proposé englobaient environ 900 km2, répartis en deux secteurs. À l'heure actuelle, Parcs Canada est propriétaire d'environ 80% des terres. L'entente autorise Parcs Canada à acquérir les terres par le biais d'une vente à l'amiable. La province de la Saskatchewan s'occupe de la gestion des richesses minérales de la Couronne et Parcs Canada, de la gestion des cours d'eau. La province de la Saskatchewan doit se conformer à toutes les ententes concernant l'utilisation de l'eau et respecter ses engagements à l'échelle internationale. La province de la Saskatchewan doit attendre 30 ans avant de mettre fin à ses obligations en vertu de l'entente de 1988. Le parc national du Canada des Prairies a été officiellement proclamé parc national en vertu de la nouvelle Loi sur les parcs nationaux le 19 février 2001.

La Saskatchewan Natural History Society (maintenant appelée Nature Saskatchewan) a joué un rôle important dans la promotion du parc et l'adoption de mesures proactives de conservation. La Société canadienne pour la conservation de la nature a également participé à la création du parc. En 1991, la société Amoco Canada a vendu ses droits miniers à Parcs Canada.

Classification du parc

Le parc national du Canada des Prairies a été créé pour préserver et mettre en valeur une aire représentative de l'écosystème de prairie mixte du Canada.