Club Parka

Parka is eagerly waiting to introduce you to the wonders of Grasslands National Park! Are you ready to explore, discover, and learn? Join this busy little beaver and complete some fun activities!

Parka is the proud founder of Club Parka, a series of activities which encourage your child to explore, discover, learn and have fun! Pick up your special Parka activity in the Visitor Centre. 

Recommended for children ages 2 to 5.

Visiting with Young Children? Explore with Club Parka!

With the Club Parka booklet kids can explore, learn and have fun! The booklets are available on site. With the Photo Missions App, kids are invited to help Parka and Chirp find and photograph specific items found at our place! Download the app for free before visiting. Once one or both activities are completed, they will receive a reward!

Learn more about Parka and download other activities! Download the free Photo Missions App
Activities for Explorers

At Parks Canada, we do our very best to offer our “explorer” visitors a memorable experience. That is why we set up a special nation-wide program designed with these young people in mind. A whole array of fun, educational activities will enable them to explore the natural and historical treasures of each park.

Xplorers Booklet (for children aged 6 to 11 years)

The Xplorers booklet contains a range of activities that will help to inspire young people to have fun and learn about their surroundings as they experience Grasslands National Park.

Upon arriving at the park, children may request their booklets from the West Block Visitor Centre in Val Marie and the Rock Creek Visitor Centre in the East Block.

A surprise for each explorer!

All young explorers who have completed at least three of the booklet’s proposed activities before the end of their visit will get a surprise. Show your booklet at either Visitor Centre locations to collect your prize!

Geocaching for Kids

Do you like treasure hunts? Then you will love geocaching in Grasslands National Park! Discover three hidden caches around both the Frenchman Valley Campground in the West Block and along the Creek to Peak Trail leaving from the Rock Creek Campground in the East Block. Watch for wildlife, learn about the Indigenous Peoples, the homesteaders and perhaps discover a dinosaur fossil! GPS units available to borrow from either Visitor Centre locations.

Discovery Packs

Stop by the West Block Visitor Centre in Val Marie or the Rock Creek Visitor Centre in the East Block and borrow a Discovery Pack! Full of fun, hands on activities, these packs allow you to learn more about the history of the Indigenous Peoples, the dark sky, and wildlife of the prairies!

Guided Tours and Programs

Join us for one of our guided tours and programs! Watch the grasslands come alive as you discover what makes Grasslands National Park special!

Club Parka

La mascotte Parka t’attend impatiemment pour te présenter les merveilles du parc national des Prairies! Es-tu prêt à explorer, à découvrir et à apprendre des choses? Prends part à cette activité en compagnie de Parka et amuse-toi!

Parka est la fière fondatrice du Club Parka qui offre une série d’activités incitant les enfants à explorer, à découvrir, à s’instruire et à s’amuser. Passe au centre d’accueil pour savoir quelle est ton activité spéciale de Parka.

Activité recommandée pour les enfants de 2 à 5 ans.

Vous planifiez une visite avec de jeunes enfants? Parka les invite à explorer!

Avec un livret du Club Parka offert sur place, vos enfants pourront découvrir, apprendre et s’amuser! Avec l’application Missions Photo, ils seront invités à aider Parka et Chirp à trouver et photographier des éléments distinctifs de notre endroit! Téléchargez gratuitement l’application avant votre visite. Une fois les activités complétées, ils obtiendront une récompense.

Découvrez Parka et téléchargez d’autres activités! Téléchargez l’application Missions Photo
Activités pour les explorateurs

À Parc Canada, nous faisons tout notre possible pour offrir des expériences de visite mémorables à nos « explorateurs ». C’est pourquoi nous avons mis en place un programme national spécial conçu expressément pour les jeunes visiteurs. La multitude d’activités éducatives et amusantes offertes leur permettra de découvrir les trésors naturels et historiques des blocs Est et Ouest du parc.

Livret des Xplorateurs (pour les enfants de 6 à 11 ans)

Le livret des Xplorateurs contient différentes activités qui nourrissent l’inspiration des jeunes et leur permettent de s’amuser et d’en apprendre plus sur ce qui les entoure pendant qu’ils explorent le parc national des Prairies.

À leur arrivée, les jeunes peuvent demander leur livret au Centre d’accueil de Val Marie, dans le bloc Ouest, ou au Centre d’accueil du Ruisseau-Rock, dans le bloc Est.

Une surprise pour chaque explorateur!

Les jeunes qui, avant la fin de leur visite, feront au moins trois des activités proposées dans le livret se verront offrir un cadeau. Rapportez votre livret dans l’un de nos centres d’accueil pour recevoir votre prix!

Les enfants font de la géocachette

Les chasses au trésor, vous aimez? Alors l’activité de géocachette du parc national des Prairies vous plaira assurément! Trouvez trois caches au terrain de camping de la Vallée-de-la-Frenchman, dans le bloc Ouest, ainsi que le long du sentier du Ruisseau-au-Sommet, qui part du camping du Ruisseau-Rock dans le bloc Est. Observez la faune, apprenez-en plus au sujet des Autochtones et des homesteaders, et tentez de découvrir un fossile de dinosaure! Empruntez un appareil GPS à l’un de nos centres d’accueil.

Trousse de decouvertes

Faites un arrêt au Centre d’accueil de Val Marie, dans le bloc Ouest, ou au Centre d’accueil du Ruisseau-Rock, dans le bloc Est, et empruntez une trousse de découvertes! Ces trousses d’activités pratiques et amusantes permettent d’en apprendre plus sur l’histoire des Autochtones, le ciel étoilé et les animaux sauvages des prairies.

Visites guidées et programmes

Participez à l’une de nos visites guidées ou à l’un de nos programmes! Voyez les prairies prendre vie sous vos yeux en parcourant le parc national des Prairies, et découvrez ce qui rend celui-ci si spécial!