Trails are one of the best ways for you to connect with the landscape and experience the unmeasurable beauty and solitude of this park. Grasslands is a prairie wilderness with limited services and preparation is key to having a safe and enjoyable experience.

Front country hiking

Front Country Trails are either built paths or marked routes. These trails are identified on the Park map and are easily accessible to visitors.

Backcountry hiking

A wilderness hiking experience for the free-spirited hiker! Hikers randomly explore and enjoy the native prairie landscape without the constraints of trails, markers or limits! Remember to bring your GPS, map and compass!

Know Before You Go

Your Limits – Choose a trail that suits your skills and experience, and those within your party.

Plan Ahead – Check with park staff for trail and road conditions, some roads within the park are impassable when wet. Inform friends or family of your itinerary and how to contact you. Check the weather forecast before leaving. Acquire a backcountry camping permit for all overnight trips.

Services in this area are limited. When travelling by vehicle, make sure to fuel up before heading into the park or traveling between the East and West Blocks.

Be Prepared – Hike with a group. One person in your party should be familiar with wilderness first aid. Ensure you have adequate water, food, clothing and equipment for at least one day longer than your intended trip. Carry a first-aid kit, cellphone, GPS/compass and map. Cell phone service in the park is limited.

Safety

You are responsible for your own safety.

Wayfinding

Be aware of your surroundings and become familiar with the area before heading out. Always carry a map and GPS/compass. Roads may become impassable when wet. Please check road and trail conditions at the Visitor Centres.

Water

Bring at least 2-3 litres/person/day. Surface water is not suitable to drink due to high salinity. Potable water is available at the Frenchman Valley and Rock Creek campgrounds.

Wildlife

Do not feed or approach wildlife – this harms their health, alters their natural behaviour, and exposes you to danger.

Rattlesnakes - Beware of rattlesnakes. Do not wear headphones so that you may hear the rattle sound. Wear boots or shoes that cover your ankles and long, loose fitting pants. Do not step on or over rocks or shrubs. Keep children close by. Protective snake gaiters can be borrowed from the West Block Visitor Centre and Campground Office.

Bison - Maintain 100 metre distance from bison (length of a football field). Startled or irritated bison can respond aggressively. If you encounter bison along the Ecotour Scenic Drive, remain in your vehicle and proceed slowly. Maintain extra caution during May and June when cows are very protective of newborn calves and in July and August during breeding season, when hiking with pets, cycling and when on horseback.

Weather

Be prepared for extreme heat and sudden weather changes. Severe winds and lightning storms are dangerous and it can be difficult to find shelter. Always check weather forecasts before leaving, plan your trip to avoid the heat of the day and make sure to pack all necessary supplies and equipment. Roads in the park can become impassable when wet.

Wildfire

Wildfire is common on the prairies and extremely dangerous. Lightning storms and strong winds are a contributing factor. If you see smoke, report it to 911 immediately. Fire travels quickly, be prepared to evacuate. If fire traps you, head for low vegetation areas (gravel roads, prairie dog colonies) or burned areas (the “black zone”).

Emergency

Call 911 or Park Dispatch 1-877-852-3100. Cell phone reception is limited.

Respect the environment

  • Pack out all garbage including food waste, diapers, and hygiene products.
  • To dispose of human waste, select a spot at least 70 m away from trails, campsites and water sources. Dig a shallow hole with a stick or heel of your boot. Cover the hole with soil or rocks afterwards. Pack out toilet paper.
  • Keep your pet on a leash at all times. Pets are not permitted on prairie dog colonies.
  • Wildflowers, horns, antlers, rocks, fossils, arrowheads, tipi rings and all other natural and historical objects in a national park are protected by law. Leave them in their natural setting for others to discover and enjoy.

More Information:

West Block Visitor Centre
306-298-2257
East Block Visitor Centre
306-476-2018
pc.infopnprairies-grasslandsnpinfo.pc@canada.ca

Les sentiers vous offrent l’un des meilleurs moyens de découvrir le paysage et de faire l’expérience de la solitude ainsi que de la beauté incommensurable du parc national des Prairies. Ce parc protège des étendues sauvages de prairie où seuls des services limités sont offerts. Il est donc essentiel de bien se préparer pour pouvoir vivre une expérience sécuritaire et agréable.

Randonnée pédestre dans l’avant-pays

Les sentiers de l’avant-pays sont des sentiers aménagés ou des parcours balisés. Ces sentiers sont identifiés sur le plan du parc et sont facilement accessibles aux visiteurs.

Randonnée dans l’arrière-pays

Une expérience de randonnée dans la nature sauvage pour les randonneurs qui ont l’esprit d’aventure! Les randonneurs peuvent explorer la prairie indigène à leur gré, sans les contraintes liées aux sentiers, aux balises et aux limites! N’oubliez pas d’apporter un appareil GPS, une carte et une boussole!

Avant de partir

Connaissez vos limites – Choisissez un sentier adapté à vos compétences et à votre expérience ainsi qu’à celles de votre groupe.

Planifiez votre excursion – Consultez le personnel du parc pour connaître l’état du sentier et des routes. Certaines routes du parc sont impraticables par temps mouillé. Communiquez votre itinéraire à des amis ou à des parents et indiquez-leur comment vous contacter. Consultez les prévisions météorologiques avant de partir. Obtenez un permis d’accès à l’arrière-pays pour toutes vos excursions avec coucher.

Les services sont limités dans ce secteur. Si vous vous déplacez en véhicule, n’oubliez pas de faire le plein avant d’arriver dans le parc ou avant de vous déplacer entre le bloc Est et le bloc Ouest. 

Préparez-vous adéquatement – Faites de la randonnée en groupe. L’un des membres du groupe devrait connaître les techniques de secourisme en milieu sauvage. Prévoyez suffisamment d’eau, de nourriture, de vêtements et d’équipement pour au moins un jour de plus que la durée prévue de votre excursion. Apportez une trousse de premiers soins, un téléphone cellulaire, un GPS ou une boussole et une carte. Les services de téléphonie cellulaire sont limités dans le parc.

Sécurité

Vous êtes responsable de votre propre sécurité.

Orientation

Soyez conscient de votre entourage et familiarisez-vous avec le secteur avant de partir. Prenez l’habitude de transporter une carte et un GPS ou une boussole. Les routes peuvent devenir impraticables par temps humide. Vérifiez l’état du sentier et des routes à l’un des centres d’accueil.

Eau

Apportez au moins 2-3 litres d’eau par personne par jour. L’eau de surface n’est pas bonne à boire en raison de son haut degré de salinité. Vous trouverez de l’eau potable dans les campings de la Vallée-de-la-Frenchman et du Ruisseau-Rock.

Faune

Abstenez-vous de nourrir des animaux sauvages ou de vous en approcher, pour éviter de nuire à leur santé, de modifier leur comportement naturel et de compromettre votre sécurité.

Serpents à sonnettes – Attention aux serpents à sonnettes. Évitez de porter des écouteurs, de façon à pouvoir entendre le bruit de hochet. Portez des bottes ou des chaussures qui couvrent les chevilles ainsi qu’un pantalon long et ample. Évitez les roches et les buissons. Gardez les enfants à portée de vue. Vous pouvez emprunter des guêtres au Centre d’accueil du Bloc-Ouest ou au poste d’accueil du camping.

Bisons – Restez à au moins 100 m de distance des bisons (la longueur d’un terrain de football). Les bisons pris par surprise ou irrités peuvent réagir de façon agressive. Si vous rencontrez un bison le long de la promenade panoramique de l’Écocircuit, restez dans votre véhicule et roulez lentement. Redoublez de prudence en mai et en juin, période où les bisonnes protègent farouchement leurs nouveau-nés, ainsi qu’en juillet et en août, pendant la période de l’accouplement, si vous faites du vélo, de l’équitation ou de la randonnée avec des animaux de compagnie.

Météo

Préparez-vous à affronter de la chaleur extrême, et sachez que le temps peut se gâter rapidement. Les vents violents et les orages sont dangereux, et il peut être difficile de trouver un abri. N’oubliez pas de consulter les prévisions météorologiques avant de partir, planifiez votre randonnée de manière à éviter la chaleur du milieu de la journée et apportez toutes les fournitures et tout l’équipement nécessaires. Les routes du parc peuvent devenir impraticables par temps mouillé.

Incendies

Les feux de prairie sont un phénomène courant, mais extrêmement dangereux. Les orages et les vents forts peuvent y contribuer. Si vous voyez de la fumée, composez immédiatement le 911. Le feu se propage vite. Tenez-vous prêt à évacuer les lieux. Si vous êtes coincé par un incendie, dirigez-vous vers des secteurs de végétation basse (chemins de gravier, colonies de chiens de prairie) ou des brûlis (« zone noire »).

Urgences

Faites le 911 ou appelez le Service de répartition du parc au 1-877-852-3100. Les services de téléphonie cellulaire sont limités.

Pour en savoir davantage :

Centre d’accueil du Bloc-Ouest
306-298-2257
Centre d’accueil du Bloc-Est
306-476-2018
pc.infopnprairies-grasslandsnpinfo.pc@canada.ca