Join conservation efforts for species at risk. Learn something new and make a difference for Sage Grouse, Short-horned lizards and Black-tailed prairie dogs. Contact us for details on volunteer opportunities!

Parks Canada and the Calgary Zoo have partnered in the recovery of black-footed ferrets and the management of black-tailed prairie dogs since 2004, with the Calgary Zoo commencing field work in 2007. The primary objective of this partnership is for the Calgary Zoo to use its scientific and communications/outreach expertise and capacity to work collaboratively with Parks Canada to incorporate scientific research into conservation actions and to inspire Canadians to value Canada’s only Prairie Dog Ecosystem. Furthermore, the Calgary Zoo uses their expertise in species reintroductions to collaboratively further the process and increase the success of ferret recovery in Canada.

Who:

Grasslands National Park in partnership with the Calgary Zoo are looking for volunteers willing to participate in field research for the Canadian Prairie Dog Ecosystem Research Project.

Space is limited and will be filled with qualified applicants on a first come first serve basis. We will only be able to accommodate two volunteers for each time period.

What:

Fieldwork will involve primarily conducting visual counts of black-tailed prairie dogs on colonies in the West Block of Grasslands National Park. Once visual counts are completed (mornings), volunteers may also participate in burrow swabbing, burrow transects, and vegetation sampling, and may be able to observe live-trapping of black-tailed prairie dogs, depending on scheduling constraints.

As our field work is heavily dependent on the weather, the schedule of specific field activities will be determined on a daily basis. Field activities are limited on rainy or cold days and will likely be replaced with motion sensor camera maintenance and sorting photographs.

Why:

Black-footed ferret reintroductions began in Grasslands National Park in 2009. They are a specialist predator of black-tailed prairie dogs, a highly social and colonial keystone rodent. Two of the biggest threats to the recovery of black-footed ferrets in Canada are sylvatic plague (to which both black-footed ferrets and black-tailed prairie dogs are highly susceptible) and availability of prairie dogs as prey. In addition to plague, a potential limiting factor for black-tailed prairie dog populations is availability of forage. The research conducted by this volunteer program will contribute to learning about the distribution and abundance of fleas (burrow swabbing for fleas, which are the vector for sylvatic plague), prairie dog population density and pup production (visual counts and burrow counts) and prairie dog habitat quality and availability of forage (vegetation sampling). All of these research activities will contribute to better understanding the drivers of population dynamics of black-tailed prairie dogs, contributing to making strides in the recovery of this predator - prey system in Canada.

When:

Volunteers are needed for the following times:

  • June 7 to 13
  • June 14 to 20
  • June 21 to 27
  • August 18 to 23
  • August 25 to 30
  • September 8 to 13 

We will only be able to accommodate a maximum of five volunteers for the first (June 7-13) and second (June 14-20) week, and two volunteers all other weeks. 

Weeks in June – Please plan to arrive in Val Marie for orientation on Friday afternoon/evening (specific time TBD), and to be in the field from Saturday-Thursday.

Weeks in August and September – Please plan to arrive in Val Marie for orientation on Sunday afternoon/evening (specific time TBD), and to be in the field from Monday-Friday.

Comments from Past Volunteers:

“It’s an experience I would recommend to anyone with an interest in nature or the prairies.”

“I always felt as though my work was valued. The members of the group were so gracious towards the volunteers and constantly thanked us for our help. The work given to me made me feel as though I was a valued member of the team”

“It's hard to explain how privileged I felt joining you. It is so different to actually DO something rather than read about how it was done. It gives an entirely new appreciation of the park and how precious it is.”

To request an application for this volunteer event, contact:

Heather Facette, Volunteer Coordinator
Grasslands National Park
Email: heather.facette@canada.ca
Telephone: 306-774-2748

Participez aux efforts de conservation des espèces en péril. Apprenez du nouveau tout en améliorant le sort du tétras des armoises, de l’iguane à cornes courtes et du chien de prairie à queue noire. Communiquez avec nous pour en savoir davantage sur nos possibilités de bénévolat!

Parcs Canada et le Zoo de Calgary collaborent depuis 2004 à un programme de rétablissement du putois d’Amérique et de gestion du chien de prairie à queue noire. Le Zoo a entrepris des recherches sur le terrain en 2007. Ce partenariat vise principalement à ce que le Zoo de Calgary mette son expertise scientifique et ses capacités de communication et de diffusion externe à profit dans le cadre d’une collaboration avec Parcs Canada pour ajouter un volet de recherche scientifique aux mesures de conservation, et inciter les Canadiens à reconnaître la valeur du seul habitat de chiens de prairie au Canada. Par ailleurs, le Zoo de Calgary utilise ses connaissances en matière de réintroduction d’espèces pour pousser plus loin cette collaboration et améliorer les résultats des activités de rétablissement du putois d’Amérique au Canada.

Qui?

Le parc national des Prairies et le Zoo de Calgary sont à la recherche de gens souhaitant participer bénévolement à des recherches sur le terrain dans le cadre du projet de recherche sur l’écosystème du chien de prairie au Canada.

Le nombre de places est limité. Les participants qualifiés seront choisis selon l’ordre des inscriptions. Nous ne prendrons que deux volontaires pour chaque période.

Quoi?

Les travaux sur le terrain consisteront principalement à faire un dénombrement visuel des chiens de prairie à queue noire des colonies du bloc Ouest du parc national des Prairies. Une fois les dénombrements effectués (dans l’avant-midi), les bénévoles pourraient également faire des prélèvements dans les terriers, des transects des terriers et l’échantillonnage de la végétation. Ils pourraient également assister au piégeage de chiens de prairie à queue noire vivants, suivant les contraintes d’horaire.

Étant donné que nos travaux sur le terrain sont largement tributaires de la météo, le calendrier des activités à mener sur le terrain sera établi au jour le jour. Par pluie et par temps froid, les activités sur le terrain seront limitées et pourraient bien être remplacées par le triage de photos et l’entretien des caméras à détecteur de mouvement.

Pourquoi?

Les activités de réintroduction du putois d’Amérique dans le parc national des Prairies ont commencé en 2009. Cet animal est un prédateur spécifique du chien de prairie à queue noire, un rongeur grégaire et colonial essentiel à l’écosystème. Le rétablissement du putois d’Amérique au Canada se heurte à deux grandes menaces : la peste sylvatique (qui peut frapper à la fois le putois et le chien de prairie à queue noire) et l’absence de chiens de prairie, sa proie de prédilection. Outre la peste, la disponibilité du fourrage peut être un facteur limitatif pour les populations de chiens de prairie à queue noire. Les recherches menées dans le cadre de ce programme de bénévolat permettront de connaître la distribution et l’abondance des puces (prélèvement dans les terriers de ces vecteurs de transmission de la peste sylvatique), la densité de population des chiens de prairie et la production de petits (dénombrements visuels et recensement des terriers) ainsi que la qualité et la disponibilité du fourrage (échantillonnage de la végétation). Toutes ces activités de recherche permettront de mieux connaître les facteurs qui jouent sur la dynamique des populations de chiens de prairie à queue noire et de franchir de grands pas dans le rétablissement de ce système prédateur-proie au Canada.

Quand?

On cherche des bénévoles pour les dates suivantes :

  • Du 7 au 13 juin
  • Du 14 au 20 juin
  • Du 21 au 27 juin
  • Du 18 au 23 août
  • Du 25 au 30 août
  • Du 8 au 13 septembre 

Nous ne pourrons accepter qu’au plus cinq bénévoles pour la première et la deuxième semaines (7 au 13 et 14 au 20 juin), et deux bénévoles pour les autres semaines.
En juin : comptez arriver à Val Marie le vendredi après-midi ou soir (heure précise à déterminer) pour une séance d’orientation, et être sur le terrain du samedi au jeudi.
Semaines d’août et de septembre : comptez arriver à Val Marie le dimanche après-midi ou soir (heure précise à déterminer) pour une séance d’orientation, et être sur le terrain du lundi au vendredi.
Commentaires de bénévoles des années passées

« Je recommande cette expérience à quiconque s’intéresse à la nature ou aux Prairies. »

« J’ai eu l’impression de faire un travail important. Les membres du groupe étaient si gentils avec les bénévoles et n’arrêtaient pas de nous remercier de notre aide. Le travail qu’on m’a confié m’a donné l’impression d’être un membre important de l’équipe. »

« C’est difficile d’exprimer à quel point je me suis senti privilégié de me joindre à vous. C’est tellement différent de FAIRE quelque chose plutôt que de lire sur la façon dont c’est fait. Ça donne une toute nouvelle appréciation du parc et de son importance. »

Pour demander un formulaire de demande pour cet événement de bénévolat, communiquez avec:

Heather Facette, Coordonnatrice des bénévoles
Parc national des Prairies
Courriel : heather.facette@canada.ca
Téléphone : 306-774-2748