Parks Canada – your partner in visitor safety

As your partner in safety, Parks Canada is responsible for delivering a public safety program specifically tailored to the incidents and issues that occur at each protected heritage area. To this end, Parks Canada takes care of visitor risk management and public safety planning, builds and maintains facilities (trails, signage, hazard warning signs, etc.), and works with other government departments and non-government organizations to provide trip planning and safety information, as well as search and rescue services. Although there is national coordination of the public safety program, levels of service and approaches to incidents vary from one location to another.

We do our part to ensure that your visit is safe by assessing risks, managing hazards and providing easily accessible information. As visitors, you can also help by ensuring you get the information you need to stay safe and make informed decisions while enjoying these exceptional places. To ensure a safe, enjoyable and memorable visit, you should be well prepared before undertaking any activity you wish to participate in. Visit our Web sites and talk to our staff for the latest information.

Parks Canada wants to help you enjoy your trip and feel safe.

Your responsibility as a visitor

Parks Canada believes that park visitors must take some responsibility for their own safety, and that risk management must become an integral part of their experience. Some visitors are aware of the potential risks of outdoor recreation activities and prepare accordingly, while others are completely unaware of what they are getting into. This means that they are unable to make an informed decision between taking a calculated risk or making a foolhardy decision in the face of danger. The growing popularity of adventure travel and outdoor activities has highlighted the importance of ensuring that visitors are able to take responsibility for their own safety. Parks Canada asks that you take shared responsibility for your own safety when visiting protected heritage areas to ensure a safe, enjoyable and memorable visit.

Enjoy your visit!

For an EMERGENCY: 1-888-762-1422

Parcs Canada votre partenaire en matière de sécurité des visiteurs

À titre de partenaire en sécurité, Parcs Canada a la responsabilité de présenter un programme de sécurité publique adapté spécifiquement aux incidents et aux problèmes qui se produisent dans chaque aire patrimoniale protégée. À cette fin, Parcs Canada s'occupe de la gestion des risques pour les visiteurs et des plans de sécurité publique, aménage et entretient des installations (sentiers, signalisation, panneaux indicateurs de dangers, etc.) et collabore avec d'autres ministères et organismes non gouvernementaux pour fournir des plans d'excursion et de l'information sur la sécurité, ainsi que des services de recherche et sauvetage. Même s'il existe une coordination nationale du programme de sécurité publique, les niveaux de service et les façons d'aborder les incidents varient d'un endroit à l'autre.

Nous fournissons notre part d'efforts pour veiller à ce que votre visite soit sécuritaire en évaluant les risques, en gérant les dangers et en offrant une information accessible à tous. En tant que visiteurs, vous pouvez également contribuer à cette démarche en vous assurant d'obtenir l'information dont vous avez besoin pour demeurer en sécurité et prendre des décisions éclairées, tout en appréciant ces lieux exceptionnels. Pour vous assurer d'une visite sécuritaire, favorable et mémorable, vous devez être bien préparé avant d'entreprendre toute activité à laquelle vous souhaitez participer. Visitez nos sites Web et parlez à nos employés pour obtenir l'information la plus récente.

Parcs Canada veut vous aider à apprécier votre excursion et à vous sentir en sécurité.

Votre responsabilité en tant que visiteur

Parcs Canada considère que les visiteurs des parcs doivent assumer une certaine part de responsabilité quant à leur propre sécurité, la gestion des risques doit faire partie intégrante de leur expérience. Certains visiteurs sont conscients des risques que peuvent comporter les activités récréatives en plein air et ils se préparent en conséquence, alors que d'autres ignorent totalement ce dans quoi ils s'engagent. Cela signifie qu'ils ne sont pas en mesure de faire un choix éclairé entre prendre un risque calculé ou affronter un danger de façon téméraire. La popularité grandissante des voyages d'aventure et des activités de plein air a fait surgir l'importance de s'assurer que les visiteurs soient en mesure d'assumer la responsabilité de leur propre sécurité. Parcs Canada demande d'assumer une responsabilité partagée quant à votre propre sécurité lors de votre visite des aires protégées du patrimoine, et ce, afin de s'assurer d'une visite sécuritaire, favorable et mémorable.

Bonne visite!

Pour une URGENCE : 1 888 762-1422