The boat will bring you to Niapiskau Island first, where fossils and limestone giants await. On Quarry Island, the paths will lead you through a mosaic of natural habitats and a rich variety of flora. Along these same paths, ancient limestone cliffs sculpted by the sea rise up in the middle of the boreal forest. After traversing the intriguing barrens and bogs, you will discover stunning monoliths.

Dates

From July to September – every day

Departure at 9:00 a.m.

Price Contact the maritime transport services companies for commercial rates
Details

Approaching Île Quarry, the boat follows the limestone cliffs of both Île du Havre and Île du Fantôme. Just as you turn to watch seabirds flying overhead, a whale makes its presence known by breaking the surface to catch its breath.

On the island, you are greeted by a Parks Canada Heritage Presenter who, during a hike, explains the adaptations of the various plant species and unveils the impressive displays of treasures delivered by the tides.

Deep in the boreal forest with its diverse lichens, the aromas change. Suddenly, a grouse scurries across the boardwalk trail.

En route, marvel at ancient limestone cliffs sculpted by the sea, standing in solitary splendour in the middle of the forest. The path that leads to Anse des Érosions and its monoliths leads through intriguing barrens and bogs. The next stop is Île Niapiskau where, at Anse des Bonnes Femmes, there are fossils and more giant limestone rock formations - check out the crocodile! There’s an owl, an eagle. Is that a wedding cake? Then, become formally introduced to the breathtaking Madame de Niapisca.

Reserve

Contact the maritime transport services companies to make a reservation.

Travel trade
  • Interpretation given in French
  • Available in English upon reservation
  • Suitable for small and large groups
  • Suitable for FIT (Fully Independent Travelers)
  • Reservation recommended

Le bateau vous amène d’abord vers l’île Niapiskau où des fossiles et des géants de calcaire vous attendent. Sur l’île Quarry, une flore riche et une mosaïque d’habitats naturels sont observées le long des sentiers. Lors de la randonnée, d’anciennes falaises surgissent au milieu de la forêt boréale. Après avoir traversé la lande et la tourbière, vous découvrez d’impressionnants monolithes.

Dates

De juillet à septembre – tous les jours

Départ à 9 h

Tarifs Communiquez avec les entreprises de transport maritime pour les tarifs commerciaux
Détails

Le bateau longe les falaises de calcaire de l’île du Havre et de l’île du Fantôme. Vous vous approchez de votre destination : l’île Quarry. Vous tournez la tête pour tenter d’apercevoir les oiseaux marins et, soudain, une baleine vient reprendre son souffle à la surface de l’eau.

Un animateur-guide de Parcs Canada vous accueille à votre arrivée sur l’île. Au cours de la randonnée, il présente les trésors apportés par la mer et les diverses adaptations des plantes.

Au cœur de la forêt boréale, les odeurs changent. La biodiversité des lichens est un gage d’air pur. Soudain, vous apercevez un tétras du Canada qui traverse le trottoir de bois.

D’anciennes falaises de calcaire, jadis sculptées par la mer, surgissent au milieu de la forêt. Après avoir traversé la lande et la tourbière, vous découvrez l’Anse des Érosions et ses monolithes. Le bateau vous emmène ensuite vers l’île Niapiskau où des fossiles et d’autres géants de calcaire vous attendent à l’Anse des Bonnes Femmes. Voyez-vous le Crocodile? Et que dire du Hibou, de l’Aigle, du Gâteau de noce et de l’impressionnante Madame de Niapisca!

Réservations

Communiquez directement avec les entreprises de transport maritime pour faire votre réservation.

Remarques spéciales

  1. Interprétation donnée en français.
  2. Disponible anglais sur réservation à l’avance
  3. Convient aux petits et gros groupes
  4. Convient aux voyageurs indépendants
  5. Réservations recommandées
Professionnels de voyage
  • Convient aux groupes (de 10 à 30 personnes)
  • Il est nécessaire de réserver
  • Offert en français sur demande préalable
  • Stationnement disponible pour autocars
  • Toilettes sur place