Would you like to discover the Mingan islands riches? Several boat operators recognized by Parks Canada offer sea excursions, so that you can get in touch with all these larger than life landscapes. Whether from Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan or Havre-Saint-Pierre on the North Shore of Quebec, you will surely find the right service to satisfy your needs.


Île aux Perroquets and Île Nue de Mingan

An authentic maritime experience skimming across the water

Depart Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan heading for Île aux Perroquets. Approaching the island, spot the iconic red and white lighthouse buildings in the distance. See Atlantic puffins and razorbills—hundreds of them! Some form rafts on the water, while others fly low over the ocean surface.

While on the island, a Parks Canada Heritage Presenter leads you through the fascinating lives of lighthouse keepers who, since 1888, have helped prevent numerous shipwrecks. The tide begins to rise. Seabirds return to the steep cliffs, bringing home the catch of the day to feed their young. As you head back to sea via Île Nue de Mingan, curious seals frolic close to the boat. The captain slows to allow passengers to enjoy the show. Île Nue comes into view revealing surreal limestone monoliths. Exposed to the wind, the island’s vegetation has adapted to the arid conditions of this extraordinary habitat called the "barrens".

A quick visit from a friendly whale would add the finishing touch to an idyllic outing!

Île aux Perroquets, île Nue de Mingan et Grande Île

Seize the opportunity to discover the largest island of the archipelago by adding a stopover to your excursion on île aux Perroquets and île Nue de Mingan. There are two concentrations of monoliths: one looks like a zoo populated by stone animals and the other like a castle. Grande Île and its attractions will certainly amaze you! You will discover breathtaking landscapes where magnificence and freedom come together. "An authentic maritime experience skimming across the water " that lasts over 5 hours!

Escales sur l’île Quarry et l’île Niapiskau

Two islands: a million and one things to explore!

Approaching Île Quarry, the boat follows the limestone cliffs of both Île du Havre and Île du Fantôme. Just as you turn to watch seabirds flying overhead, a whale makes its presence known by breaking the surface to catch its breath.

On the island, you are greeted by a Parks Canada Heritage Presenter who, during a hike, explains the adaptations of the various plant species and unveils the impressive displays of treasures delivered by the tides.

Deep in the boreal forest with its diverse lichens, the aromas change. Suddenly, a grouse scurries across the boardwalk trail.

En route, marvel at ancient limestone cliffs sculpted by the sea, standing in solitary splendour in the middle of the forest. The path that leads to Anse des Érosions and its monoliths leads through intriguing barrens and bogs. The next stop is Île Niapiskau where, at Anse des Bonnes Femmes, there are fossils and more giant limestone rock formations - check out the crocodile! There’s an owl, an eagle. Is that a wedding cake? Then, become formally introduced to the breathtaking Madame de Niapisca.

Île Quarry

A short stop on Île Quarry, accompanied by a Parks Canada heritage presenter, allows you to discover the various natural habitats found on the islands. The shoreline, the boreal forest, the barrens, the peatland and the cliffs each have their own particularities. Anse des Érosions will certainly surprise you with the size of the flowerpot rocks, these well-known limestone giants of the archipelago.

Île Niapiskau

During your stopover on Île Niapiskau, discover the monoliths, these natural sculptures, located in Anse des Bonnes Femmes. A tribute to geology. Moreover, discover 465 million years old fossils! You will notice strange shapes in the limestone rocks such as a crocodile, an owl, an eagle, a wedding cake, the impressive Madame de Niapisca and much more ...

Île du Fantôme et île Niapiskau

Unusual flora and sculptures

Sail alongside Île du Havre and its cliffs before docking on Île du Fantôme. You will discover an unusual flora. Did you know that on the entire territory of the national park reserve, there are 491 species of plants? Enough to charm any botany enthusiast! As you walk along the maintained trail, you will meet, among other things, arctic and alpine plants known as rare or of interest, normally found in mountainous areas or beyond the 56th parallel in Quebec. The landscape of the island with its cliffs, monoliths and coastal ledges divided up like a chessboard will certainly surprise you!

On Île Niapiskau, a Parks Canada heritage presenter will teach you more about geology and fossils. Anse des Bonnes Femmes is one of the ideal sites to discover the monoliths, these sculptures shaped by the sea. Why do we find them on the islands? Where do they come from? You will be blown away by the answers you will find! Let this enchanting scenery amaze you!

Visit of the Betchouanes with a stopover on Petite île au Marteau

An island-hopping adventure

Head to the eastern sector of the national park reserve accompanied by a Parks Canada Heritage Presenter, skirting alongside the islands, admiring their unique topography and distinct features. With a little luck, you may spot a whale spraying a plume of water just metres from your boat. A moment later, glance up to spot razorbills, black guillemots, common murres, and Atlantic puffins. A stopover at Petite Île au Marteau is a must on the way back to shore. Here, there is rare Nordic vegetation to explore as well as unexpected treasures along the beach. A hiking trail leads to an infamous light station where five lighthouse keepers worked from 1915 to 1987. On the ride back, watch for the festooned cliffs of Grosse Île au Marteau and the village of Havre-Saint-Pierre.

Vous désirez découvrir les richesses des îles de Mingan? Plusieurs transporteurs maritimes reconnus par Parcs Canada offrent des excursions en mer afin de partir à la rencontre de ces paysages tous plus grands que nature. Que ce soit à partir de Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan ou de Havre-Saint-Pierre sur la Côte-Nord, vous y trouverez certainement satisfaction.


Île aux Perroquets et Île Nue de Mingan

Une expérience maritime à fleur d'eau

Partez de Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan et mettez le cap vers votre première escale : l’île aux Perroquets! En vous approchant, vous remarquez une station de phare aux bâtiments rouge et blanc. Des centaines de macareux moines et de petits pingouins forment des radeaux sur l’eau, alors que d’autres volent au ras de la mer.

Sur l’île, l’animateur-guide de Parcs Canada vous présente l’histoire fascinante des gardiens de phare ayant aidé à prévenir de nombreux naufrages dès 1888. La marée commence à monter et les oiseaux marins rapportent des poissons vers les falaises escarpées pour nourrir leurs petits. Vous reprenez la mer jusqu’à l’île Nue de Mingan. Pendant ce temps, des phoques curieux sortent près du bateau. L’embarcation ralentit, le temps de vous permettre d’observer le spectacle. L’île se profile à fleur d’eau dévoilant les monolithes de calcaire. Très exposée au vent, la végétation de l’île s’est adaptée aux conditions de cet habitat particulier que l’on appelle la lande.

Ne reste plus qu’à espérer qu’une baleine vienne s’ajouter à ce décor!

Île aux Perroquets, île Nue de Mingan et Grande Île

Offrez-vous la possibilité de découvrir la plus grande des îles de l’archipel en termes de superficie en ajoutant une escale à votre excursion sur l’île aux Perroquets et l’île Nue de Mingan. On y retrouve deux concentrations de monolithes : l’une ressemble à un zoo peuplé d’animaux de pierre et l’autre à un château. La Grande Île et ses attraits vous émerveilleront assurément! Vous y trouverez des paysages à couper le souffle où s’agencent grandeur et liberté. « Une expérience maritime à fleur de l’eau » d’une durée de plus de 5 heures!

Île Quarry et l’île Niapiskau

Deux îles : mille découvertes

Le bateau longe les falaises de calcaire de l’île du Havre et de l’île du Fantôme. Vous vous approchez de votre destination : l’île Quarry. Vous tournez la tête pour tenter d’apercevoir les oiseaux marins et, soudain, une baleine vient reprendre son souffle à la surface de l’eau.

Un animateur-guide de Parcs Canada vous accueille à votre arrivée sur l’île. Au cours de la randonnée, il présente les trésors apportés par la mer et les diverses adaptations des plantes.

Au cœur de la forêt boréale, les odeurs changent. La biodiversité des lichens est un gage d’air pur. Soudain, vous apercevez un tétras du Canada qui traverse le trottoir de bois.

D’anciennes falaises de calcaire, jadis sculptées par la mer, surgissent au milieu de la forêt. Après avoir traversé la lande et la tourbière, vous découvrez l’Anse des Érosions et ses monolithes. Le bateau vous emmène ensuite vers l’île Niapiskau où des fossiles et d’autres géants de calcaire vous attendent à l’Anse des Bonnes Femmes. Voyez-vous le Crocodile? Et que dire du Hibou, de l’Aigle, du Gâteau de noce et de l’impressionnante Madame de Niapisca!

Île Quarry

Une courte escale sur l’île Quarry vous permet de découvrir, en compagnie de l’animateur-guide de Parcs Canada, les différents habitats naturels présents sur les îles. Le littoral, la forêt boréale, la lande, les tourbières et les falaises ont chacun leurs particularités. À l’Anse des Érosions, vous serez certainement surpris par l’ampleur des Pots de fleurs, ces géants de calcaire bien connus de l’archipel.

Île Niapiskau

Lors de votre escale sur l’île Niapiskau, découvrez les monolithes, ces sculptures naturelles, situés dans l’Anse des Bonnes Femmes. La géologie est à l’honneur. Découvrez également des fossiles vieux de 465 millions d’années! Vous apercevrez des formes insolites présentes dans la roche calcaire : un crocodile, un hibou, un aigle, un gâteau de noce, l’impressionnante Madame de Niapisca et plus encore…

Île du Fantôme et île Niapiskau

Une flore et des sculptures insolites

Longez l’île du Havre et ses falaises avant de faire escale sur l’île du Fantôme. Vous découvrirez une flore inusitée. Saviez-vous que sur l’ensemble du territoire de la réserve de parc, on retrouve 491 espèces de plantes? De quoi séduire les amateurs de botanique! En vous promenant le long du sentier aménagé, vous rencontrerez, entre autres, des plantes arctiques et alpines dites rares ou d’intérêt, normalement retrouvées en milieux montagneux ou au-delà du 56e parallèle au Québec. Le paysage de l’île avec ses falaises, ses monolithes et son platier en damier vous étonnera à coup sûr!

Sur l’île Niapiskau, l’animateur-guide de Parcs Canada vous en apprendra davantage sur la géologie et les fossiles. L’Anse des Bonnes Femmes est l’un des endroits privilégiés pour découvrir les monolithes, ces sculptures façonnées par la mer. Pourquoi les retrouve-t-on sur les îles? D’où viennent-ils? Vous serez époustouflé des réponses que vous y trouverez! Laissez ce décor enchanteur vous émerveiller!

Visite du secteur des Betchouanes avec escale sur la Petite île au Marteau

Une aventure d’île en île

En compagnie d’un animateur-guide de Parcs Canada, mettez le cap vers l’est de la réserve de parc! En longeant l’île de la Fausse Passe et l’île Saint-Charles, découvrez et admirez leur relief unique et leurs spécificités. Restez à l’affût, vous verrez peut-être une baleine. Plus loin, en levant les yeux, vous apercevrez des petits pingouins, des guillemots à miroir, des guillemots marmettes et des macareux moines. Sur le chemin du retour, une escale sur la Petite île au Marteau est prévue. Une végétation nordique inusitée et une plage aux trésors insoupçonnés vous y attendent. Un sentier vous mènera vers une station de phare où cinq gardiens se sont succédé entre 1915 et 1987. Au retour, les falaises festonnées de la Grosse île au Marteau attireront votre attention et, déjà, vous apercevrez le village de Havre-Saint-Pierre.