The natural way of learning

The Mingan Archipelago is a learning experience and you don't want to miss a thing! To help you fully appreciate these many islands, the park reserve provides a range of activities that are both educational and entertaining.

Embark on a voyage of discovery through the archipelago. On certain islands, take advantage of the presence of a Parks Canada Heritage Presenter and let yourself be guided. Your whims and preferences will help you choose from among the large variety of cruises and stopovers offered by local maritime transport services.


Île aux Perroquets

An island, a lighthouse, seabirds

Duration: 1 hour

The lighthouse station is now refurbished. Travel in the footsteps of the people who inhabited this island and meet fascinating seabirds. The exhibition inside the foghorn building will tell you more about the daily lives of the light keepers and their families. Interpretive panels will help you to discover the importance of the lighthouse station for navigation on the St.-Lawrence.

Île Nue de Mingan

Île Nue de Mingan

Gifts from the Sea

Duration: 1 hour

When you discover Île Nue de Mingan, you enter into a fascinating universe. With its vegetation prostrated to the ground, its lack of forests and its large surface of gravel, the island offers a strange setting that reminds us of arctic environments.

Let us guide you through its strange monoliths, its unique flora, its numerous shorebirds and its astonishing history on the presence of Innus, Paspayas and the Basques as early as in the 16th Century.

Île Quarry

A Diversity of Habitats

Duration: 1 hour 30 min or 2 hours 15 min

Forests, barrens, peat bogs and seashores: these are some of the habitats gathered to explain the diversity of the ecosystems on Île Quarry. Follow the Heritage Presenter through one discovery after another, as each step takes you into a different environment.

En route, make the acquaintance of the majestic monoliths who established the reputation of Île Quarry's Anse des Érosions.

La « Bonne femme » Niapiscau

Île Niapiskau

The Formation of the Monoliths

Duration: 1 hour

The « Anse des Bonnes Femmes » on Île Niapiskau is covered with strange rock formations called monoliths. Discover how these islands and their monuments, witnesses to the passing of time and the unceasing work of Nature, were formed over the millennia.

This is a place for geologists, and the Heritage Presenter will help you become one quickly and easily - at least with regards to limestone.

Cypriède Jaune

Île du Fantôme

Une beauté rare dans un milieu hostile

Duration: 1 hour

Walk along a path that follows the sea, you will discover an impressive flora and an abundant life.

Petite île au marteau

Eastern sector and Petite île au Marteau

An island hopping adventure

Duration: 4 hours including a 1-hour stopover

Observe and take in the cliffs of this area of the Mingan Archipelago. This is where you can find, among other interesting sites, the Betchouane Migratory Bird Sanctuary where you will be able to catch sight of some nesting seabird species, such as the Atlantic puffin and the Razorbill. Make a stopover on Petite île au Marteau to discover the evolution of the lighthouse station.

Note:

  • Interpretive activities are only offered on selected islands.
  • All interpretive activities are offered in French.
  • Activities may be available in English upon request and availability of staff.

L'archipel de Mingan, ça s'apprend!

De nombreuses activités alliant éducation et divertissement sont présentées afin de vous faire découvrir les particularités de ces multiples îles.

Un animateur-guide de Parcs Canada vous attend sur certaines de ces îles uniques pour vous en dire davantage sur la géologie, la flore, la faune et l'histoire. Selon vos goûts et vos attentes, choisissez parmi une grande variété d'excursions et d'escales offertes par les différents transporteurs maritimes reconnus par Parcs Canada.


Île aux Perroquets

Une île, un phare, des oiseaux

Durée : 1 heure

La station de phare s’est parée de ses plus beaux atours. Circulez sur les traces des gens qui ont habité cette île et côtoyez une faune ailée fascinante. L’exposition à l’intérieur du bâtiment du criard de brume vous en apprendra davantage sur le quotidien des gardiens et leur famille. Des panneaux d’interprétation vous feront comprendre l’importance et le rôle qu’occupe cette station de phare quant à la navigation dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Île Nue de Mingan

Île Nue de Mingan

Au-delà des apparences, une île riche

Durée : 1 heure

Découvrir l'île Nue de Mingan, c'est entrer dans un univers fascinant. Avec sa végétation prostrée au sol, son absence de forêt et ses étendues de cailloutis, l'île nous offre un décor étrange nous rappelant les milieux arctiques.

Laissez-vous guider à travers ses fascinantes sculptures naturelles, sa flore unique, ses nombreux oiseaux de rivage et son étonnante histoire sur la présence des Innus, des Paspayas et des Basques dès le XVIe siècle.

Île Quarry

Une mosaïque d’habitats

Durée : 1 heure et 30 minutes ou 2 heures 15 minutes

Forêt, lande, littoral, tourbière sont autant d'habitats réunis pour expliquer la diversité des écosystèmes retrouvés sur l'île Quarry. En compagnie de l’animateur-guide, vous irez de découverte en découverte. Chaque pas vous mènera vers un décor différent.

En chemin, faites la rencontre de ces majestueux monolithes qui font aujourd'hui la réputation de l'Anse des Érosions sur l'île Quarry.

La « Bonne femme » Niapiscau

Île Niapiskau

La formation des monolithes

Durée : 1 heure

L'île Niapiskau, c'est d'abord l’Anse des Bonnes Femmes parsemée de ces impressionnants blocs de pierre que l'on nomme monolithes. Venez découvrir l'origine des îles et de ces monuments, témoins du temps passé et du travail incessant de la nature.

La géologie est à l'honneur et l’animateur-guide vous apportera cette science sur un plateau... de calcaire!

Cypriède Jaune

Île du Fantôme

Une flore insolite

Durée : 1 heure

Venez respirer l'air salin du large tout en parcourant le sentier de l'île du Fantôme. Vous y découvrirez un milieu très particulier : la lande. Dans cet habitat rocailleux au climat rude et sévère, les plantes adoptent divers stratèges pour assurer leur survie. Elles réussissent tout de même à y étaler toute leur beauté et leurs couleurs au cours de la saison estivale.


Interprétation par le personnel du transporteur maritime

Petite île au marteau

Secteur est et Petite île au Marteau

Une aventure d’île en île

Durée : 4 heures dont une escale de 1 heure

Accompagné d’un animateur-guide, observez et appréciez les falaises de ce secteur de l’archipel de Mingan. On y retrouve, entre autres, le refuge d’oiseaux de Betchouane où vous apercevrez des oiseaux marins nichant dans les îles tels que le macareux moine et le petit pingouin. Faites escale sur la Petite île au Marteau pour y découvrir l’évolution de la station de phare.

Notez:

  • Les activités d’interprétation ne sont offertes que sur certaines îles.
  • Toutes les activités d'interprétation sur les îles sont présentées en français.
  • Possibilité d’être offertes en anglais sur préavis et selon la disponibilité du personnel.