Keeping an eye on the health of national parks is known as Ecological Integrity Monitoring. Walking in the forest to count animals, pouring over data gathered by cameras, or recording bird calls in the early morning! Ecological Integrity Monitoring is all that and more.

Like us, ecosystems are sensitive to stress. Human activity, exotic species and air pollution are some examples of pressures that disrupt natural processes. Ecological integrity monitoring is essential to understanding the effect these pressures have on the health of forest, freshwater and wetlands ecosystems within La Mauricie National Park.

Ecological integrity monitoring provide information on the state of some components of park ecosystems to determine if ecosystems are functioning normally. Data is used to monitor the overall health of the park. Based on this program, we are the able to determine whether, or what concrete measures should be taken to manage, restore and improved the quality of damaged ecosystems.


A young oak plant in a forest.

Forest

Covering 93% of the park’s territory, the forests are vital to supporting species diversity.


A waterfall on a sunny day.

Freshwater

Human activity has significantly altered the park’s aquatic environment.


Vegetation surrounds a small pond.

Wetlands

Wetlands are natural engineering systems, rich in wildlife, that keep our environment healthy.


Eurasian watermilfoil in the water

Exotic invasive species

Not all exotic species are a threat. However, some can cause significant ecological, economic or environmental damage.


Logo 50e anniversaire du Parc national de la Mauricie - La Mauricie ntional park 50th anniversary logo
Logo 50e anniversaire du Parc national de la Mauricie - La Mauricie ntional park 50th anniversary logo

Le fait de garder un œil sur la santé des parcs nationaux est ce qu’on appelle la surveillance de l’intégrité écologique. Parcourir la forêt et les lacs pour dénombrer des animaux, étudier des données recueillies par caméra ou enregistrer des chants d’oiseaux au petit matin! La surveillance de l’intégrité écologique, c’est tout cela et bien plus.

Tout comme nous, les écosystèmes sont sensibles au stress. L’activité humaine, les espèces exotiques et la pollution atmosphérique sont quelques exemples des pressions qui perturbent les processus naturels. La surveillance de l’intégrité écologique est essentielle pour comprendre l’effet de ces pressions sur la forêt, l’eau douce et les milieux aquatiques du parc national de la Mauricie.

La surveillance de l’intégrité écologique nous aide à déterminer si les composantes des écosystèmes du parc lui permettent de fonctionner normalement. Les données sont utilisées pour suivre l’état de santé globale du parc au fil du temps. On peut ensuite déterminer si des mesures concrètes doivent être prises, et lesquelles, pour gérer, restaurer et améliorer l’état des écosystèmes détériorés.


Un jeune plant de chêne dans une forêt.

Forêt

Couvrant 93% de la superficie du parc, la forêt est un habitat essentiel pour une foule d’espèces animales et végétales.

Une chute d’eau par une journée ensoleillée.

Eau douce

L’activité humaine a fortement modifié les écosystèmes aquatiques du parc.


De la végétation entoure un petit étang.

Milieux humides

Riches en biodiversité, les milieux humides sont des systèmes d’ingénierie naturels qui gardent notre environnement en santé.


Myriophylle à épis dans l’eau.

Espèces exotiques envahissantes

Toutes les espèces exotiques ne sont pas menaçantes. Certaines peuvent cependant causer des dommages écologiques, économiques ou environnementaux importants.


Logo 50e anniversaire du Parc national de la Mauricie - La Mauricie ntional park 50th anniversary logo
Logo 50e anniversaire du Parc national de la Mauricie - La Mauricie ntional park 50th anniversary logo