Fire creates the conditions that allow the regeneration of a variety of plant species. Over time, periodic fires create a vegetation mosaic of different ages and types. This provides a rich variety of habitats that supports many species of insects, mammals and birds. This is biodiversity — it indicates a thriving ecosystem that is likely to persist in the future. Of special note, fire is essential for a species in decline in the park. After years of logging and fire suppression, less than 1% of La Mauricie National Park’s forest is now dominated by the eastern white pine. The present situation is a far cry from the one described by explorers and loggers in the centuries prior to our own. 

So fire not only renews and recycles, but rearranges ecosystems in a continual cycle of change.


A burnt forest and, a few years later, a revered forest.

Effects on Forest

Fires burn with variable intensities and severity across the landscape due to changes in weather, terrain, wind and other factors. Areas where the forest is completely consumed by fire are interspersed by patches of unburned and lightly burned forest. In this way fire increases the diversity of the ecosystem over time. 

Fire is as crucial to forest renewal as the sun and rain. Forest fires release valuable nutrients stored in the litter on the forest floor. They open the forest canopy to sunlight, which stimulates new growth. . 



Flames burning on a forest floor.

Effects on Soil 

In cool temperate areas such as La Mauricie National Park, decay is slow and logs, leaves and needles pile up on the forest floor. Fire reduces this material to mineral-rich ash, releasing and recycling nutrients. Fire also creates openings in the forest. Sunlight penetrates these gaps, warming the soil and stimulating new growth from seeds and roots. 

Occasional fires also reduce the amount of accumulated fuel on the forest floor (woody debris, dead trees and leaves). This reduces the potential for extremely large, hot fires, which can result in increased erosion, and loss of soil fertility.Occasional fires also reduce the amount of accumulated fuel on the forest floor (woody debris, dead trees and leaves). This reduces the potential for extremely large, hot fires, which can result in increased erosion, and loss of soil fertility.



Un young black bear walks in the forest.

Effects on Wildlife

During a forest fire, animals that are able to, will flee, while others such as snakes, turtles and salamanders may simply burrow in the ground or under rocks to protect themselves. In fact, forest fires may actually help increase the abundance of certain wildlife.  

Fire increases the abundance of shrubs and grasses that herbivores such as moose feed on. Fire also results in increased availability of berries that form an important part of the diet of black bears. After a fire, woodpecker populations may increase fifty times! They come to feast on the insects that colonize the newly burned trees. Even the Canada lynx benefits from fires by using mature conifers for cover and hunts in recently burned areas that support large populations of its favorite prey – the snowshoe hare.

Le feu crée des conditions idéales à la croissance des végétaux et stimule leur régénération. En plus de renouveler et de diversifier la forêt, il crée une variété d'habitats pour différentes espèces d'insectes, de mammifères et d'oiseaux. Cette biodiversité est le signe d'un écosystème florissant, capable de perdurer. Aussi, le feu est essentiel à une espèce en déclin dans le parc : le pin blanc. En raison des coupes forestières et de la suppression des feux de forêt, ce dernier ne représente plus que 1 % de la forêt du parc national de la Mauricie. C’est loin des forêts de pin décrites par les explorateurs et les bûcherons des siècles derniers.

Le feu ne se contente donc pas de renouveler la forêt et de la recycler; il réorganise les écosystèmes au sein d’un cycle de changement perpétuel.


Une forêt brûlée et, quelques années plus tard, une forêt reverdie.

Les effets du feu sur la forêt

L’intensité et la gravité des feux varient selon la température, le relief, le vent et d’autres facteurs. Dans les secteurs où la forêt est complètement rasée par le feu, on trouve çà et là des îlots d’arbres intacts ou légèrement calcinés. C’est pourquoi l’on dit du feu qu’il accroît la diversité des écosystèmes au fil du temps. Les feux sont essentiels au rétablissement de la forêt, au même titre que le soleil et la pluie.

Les feux de forêt libèrent de précieux éléments nutritifs présents dans la litière du parterre forestier. Ils créent des ouvertures permettant à la lumière d’atteindre le sol, ce qui stimule la croissance de nouveaux arbres. 



Flammes sur un sol forestier.

Les effets du feu sur le sol

Dans les zones fraîches tempérées, comme au parc national de la Mauricie, la décomposition est lente, et les troncs, les feuilles et les aiguilles s’accumulent sur le tapis forestier. Le feu réduit ces matières en cendres riches en minéraux, recyclant et libérant ainsi des substances nutritives. Il crée également des trouées lumineuses qui permettent au soleil de réchauffer le sol et de stimuler la croissance des graines et des racines. 

Aussi, en réduisant la quantité de matières combustibles qui s’accumulent dans la forêt (branches, arbres morts, feuilles et aiguilles), le feu diminue les risques de feux de forêt de très forte intensité, lesquels peuvent endommager le sol et l’appauvrir.



Un jeune ours noir marche dans la forêt.

Les effets du feu sur la faune

Lorsqu’un incendie se déclenche dans une forêt, les animaux réagissent selon leur instinct. Les animaux qui le peuvent s’enfuiront; les autres, comme les serpents, les tortues et les salamandres, se cacheront simplement dans la terre ou sous des roches pour se protéger. Contrairement à ce que l’on peut penser, les feux de forêt peuvent favoriser l’abondance de certaines espèces sauvages. 

Le feu accroît l’abondance d’arbustes et de graminées dont les herbivores, comme l’orignal, se nourrissent. Le feu a aussi pour effet de favoriser la prolifération de petits fruits qui forment une partie importante du régime alimentaire de l’ours noir. À la suite d’un feu, la population de pics-bois peut se multiplier par cinquante! Ils viennent se régaler des insectes qui colonisent les arbres récemment brûlés. Même le lynx du Canada tire profit des incendies : les vieux conifères lui servent d’abri, et il chasse dans les brûlis, habitat favorable aux populations de lièvres d’Amérique, sa proie préférée.