What is ecological integrity?

Ecological integrity is a natural region’s characteristic condition that includes its abiotic components, the composition and abundance of its native species and biological communities, the rates of change, and their supporting processes.

Fifteen years of restoration

Before becoming protected, the lakes and waterways of La Mauricie National Park were heavily impacted by several decades of logging, log driving, and fishing. To restore their ecological integrity, Parks Canada launched a large-scale conservation and restoration initiative for these precious aquatic ecosystems in 2004. Now, after fifteen years of hard work, the project has helped return the lakes of La Mauricie National Park to their natural state, mainly by reintroducing native brook trout, restoring natural water levels by dismantling old log driving structures, and removing logs that had accumulated on shorelines and lakebeds.

Looking forward

Fifteen years of conservation and restoration efforts at La Mauricie National Park are helping return aquatic ecosystems to their natural state. Positive effects are already being felt on the first few restored lakes, particularly at Bouchard Lake, North Pimbina Lake, lac aux Chevaux, and Tessier Lake, where fishing was reopened to families in 2017. The restoration work therefore is beneficial not only for the ecosystems themselves, but also for current and future generations of visitors, as they can once again access the beaches and shorelines now that the logs are gone.

Related links

Qu’est-ce que l’intégrité écologique?

L’intégrité écologique est un état jugé caractéristique d’une région naturelle, qui comprend les composantes abiotiques, la composition et l’abondance des espèces indigènes et des communautés biologiques, les rythmes de changement et les processus qui les soutiennent.

Quinze années d’efforts de restauration

Avant d’être protégés, les lacs et cours d’eau du parc national de la Mauricie ont été grandement affectés par plusieurs décennies d’exploitation forestière, de drave et de pêche. Afin de rétablir leur intégrité écologique, Parcs Canada a lancé en 2004 une vaste initiative de conservation et de restauration de ces précieux écosystèmes aquatiques. Après maintenant quinze années d’efforts, le projet a contribué à redonner aux lacs du parc national de la Mauricie leur vraie nature, notamment en réintroduisant des populations d’ombles de fontaine indigènes, en rétablissant le niveau d’eau naturel des lacs par le démantèlement d’anciennes structures de drave et en retirant les billes de bois échouées sur les berges et au fond des lacs.

Perspective d’avenir

Les quinze années d’efforts en matière de conservation et de restauration au parc national de la Mauricie permettent aux écosystèmes aquatiques de retrouver leur état naturel. Les effets positifs se font déjà ressentir sur les premiers lacs restaurés, plus particulièrement aux lacs Bouchard, Pimbina-Nord, aux Chevaux et Tessier, où la pêche était de nouveau accessible aux familles en 2017. Ainsi, le travail de restauration est non seulement bénéfique pour les écosystèmes, mais aussi pour les générations actuelles et futures, notamment en redonnant accès aux plages et aux rivages par le retrait des billes de bois.

Liens connexes