Is your camping trip finally booked? Are you already dreaming of marshmallows around the fire? Parks Canada would like to remind you that bringing firewood into national parks is banned because of the risk of spreading pests and diseases that are harmful to our forests.

What is the problem?

Diseases and insects can survive in firewood and spread to the surrounding forest. A single log of wood can destroy millions of trees.

Beech bark disease, white pine blister rust and butternut canker are diseases present in some areas of the forests in La Mauricie National Park. In addition, two insect pests, the emerald ash borer and gypsy moth, are already present throughout Quebec.

The transport of wood is one of the primary ways these forest pests disperse, and it plays a role in accelerating their spread.

Parks Canada asks that you therefore leave your firewood at home and instead purchase local wood that is available in the park and burn it on site.

Why must we act now?

Once established, the spread of diseases and insect pests is very difficult to stop. The best method of control remains prevention.

Given the seriousness of these threats to the sustainability of the forests, all reasonable measures are being taken to ensure forest health and the ecological integrity of the park.

That is why Parks Canada bans the entry of firewood into the park. In doing so, the Agency supports the "Don't move firewood" campaign coordinated by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) to protect Canada’s forests.

How can you help us?

Protecting Canada’s forests is a shared responsibility. Keep these few rules in mind during your camping trip:

  • Never bring wood from outside the park;
  • Buy your wood in the park and burn it on site;
  • If you have some leftover logs, don’t bring them home.

Insects and diseases: the facts

Butternut canker (<em>Ophiognomonia clavigignenti-juglandacearum</em>)
Butternut canker (Ophiognomonia clavigignenti-juglandacearum)
Photo: Natural Resources Canada

Butternut canker

Butternut canker is an infection caused by a fungus (Ophiognomonia clavigignenti-juglandacearum) that mainly affects butternut trees.

No control for the fungal disease exists and butternut trees are not resistant to it. Therefore, the best strategy for controlling this pest remains prevention. The butternut tree has been protected under the Species at risk Act since 2005.


Emerald ash borer

Emerald ash borer (<em>Agrilus planipennis</em>)
Emerald ash borer (Agrilus planipennis)
© Debbie Miller USDA Forest Service

The emerald ash borer (Agrilus planipennis) is a torpedo-shaped beetle species.

Most species of North American ash trees are very vulnerable to this insect, which feeds on tree fibres. It has destroyed millions of trees in Canada in forested and urban areas. In La Mauricie National Park, it attacks the American white ash and the black ash, a species designated as threatened by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada since 2017.

No natural North American predators, such as woodpeckers, other insects or parasites, have been able to slow the spread of the emerald ash borer or prevent it from destroying trees.


White pine blister rust (<em>Cronartium ribicola</em> J. C. Fischer ex Rabenh)
White pine blister rust (Cronartium ribicola J. C. Fischer ex Rabenh)

White pine blister rust

This disease is caused by Cronartium ribicola J. C. Fischer ex Rabenh, a fungus first observed in Quebec in 1916. It is thought to have been introduced by contaminated but asymptomatic plants imported from Europe. The disease is now widespread throughout the white pine range.

Blister rust kills white pine trees of all ages. A high percentage of victims are under the age of 25. The disease can cause significant mortality among seedlings. Some trees die four years after the onset of infection, while others can survive for more than 20 years. Although it does not kill them, the disease weakens the stems of large trees and retards their growth.


Beech bark disease

Beech bark disease
Beech bark disease
Photo: Natural Resources Canada

Beech bark disease is the result of interaction with an insect, the beech scale, and two fungal pathogens.

The disease occurs when fungal spores enter through wounds in the bark, particularly those caused by the beech scale. These sucking insects create thousands of microscopic wounds in the bark in order to feed. A substance produced by the scale insect prevents wounds from healing. Spores of the fungal pathogens can germinate in them, without immediate reaction from the tree.

Beech tree damage affects, among other things, habitat and food availability for a number of animal species. For example, beech mortality can have a dramatic impact on the black bear, which loves to eat the fruit of the beech tree (called the beechnut). In fact, there is a cause and effect relationship between beechnut production and black bear populations.

Related links

Votre séjour de camping est enfin réservé et vous rêvez déjà de guimauves autour du feu ? Parcs Canada tient à vous rappeler qu’il est interdit d’apporter du bois pour le feu dans les parcs nationaux en raison des risques de propagation de ravageurs et de maladies néfastes pour nos forêts

Quel est le problème ?

Les maladies et les insectes peuvent survivre dans le bois à brûler et peuvent se propager à la forêt environnante. Une seule bûche de bois peut détruire des millions d’arbres.

La maladie corticale du hêtre, la rouille vésiculeuse du pin blanc et le chancre du noyer cendré sont des maladies présentes dans quelques secteurs des forêts du parc national de la Mauricie. Par ailleurs, l’agrile du frêne et la spongieuse sont deux insectes ravageurs déjà présents un peu partout au Québec.

Le transport de bois constitue une des principales causes de la dispersion de ces ravageurs des forêts et contribue à accélérer leur propagation.

Parcs Canada vous demande donc de laisser votre bois à brûler à la maison, d’acheter plutôt le bois provenant de sources locales qui est mis à votre disposition dans le parc et de le faire brûler sur place.

Pourquoi faut-il agir maintenant ?

Une fois établie, la propagation des maladies et des insectes ravageurs est très difficile à arrêter. La meilleure méthode de contrôle reste la prévention.

Compte tenu de la gravité de ces menaces pour la pérennité des forêts, toutes les mesures raisonnables sont prises pour assurer la santé de la forêt et l’intégrité écologique du parc.

C’est pourquoi Parcs Canada interdit l’importation de bois à brûler dans le parc. En agissant ainsi, l’Agence souscrit à la campagne « Ne déplacez pas de bois de chauffage », coordonnée par l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA) et qui a pour objectif de protéger les forêts du pays.

Comment nous aider ?

Protéger les forêts du Canada est une responsabilité partagée. Lors de votre séjour en camping, ayez ces quelques règles en tête :

  • N’apportez pas de bois de l’extérieur du parc ;
  • Achetez votre bois dans le parc et faites-le brûler sur place ;
  • S’il vous reste quelques bûches, ne les rapportez pas à la maison.

Insectes et maladies, les faits

Le chancre du noyer cendré (<em>Ophiognomonia clavigignenti-juglandacearum</em>)
Le chancre du noyer cendré (Ophiognomonia clavigignenti-juglandacearum)
Photo : Ressources naturelles Canada

Chancre du noyer cendré

Le chancre du noyer cendré est une infection causée par un champignon (Ophiognomonia clavigignenti-juglandacearum) qui s’attaque principalement aux noyers cendrés.

Il n’existe aucun moyen de combattre l'infection du champignon et les noyers cendrés ne sont pas résistants à la maladie. La meilleure stratégie de lutte contre ce ravageur demeure donc la prévention. Le noyer cendré est protégé par la Loi sur les espèces en péril depuis 2005.


Agrile du frêne

L’agrile du frêne (<em>Agrilus planipennis</em>)
L’agrile du frêne (Agrilus planipennis)
© Debbie Miller USDA Forest Service

L’agrile du frêne (Agrilus planipennis) est une espèce de coléoptère en forme de torpille.

La plupart des frênes nord-américains sont très vulnérables à cet insecte qui se nourrit des fibres de l’arbre. Il a détruit des millions d’arbres dans des zones forestières et urbaines au Canada. Au parc national de la Mauricie, il s’attaque au frêne d’Amérique et au frêne noir, une espèce désignée comme étant menacée par le comité sur la situation des espèces en péril du Canada depuis 2017.

Aucun prédateur naturel nord-américain, comme le pic-bois, les autres insectes ou les parasites, n’a pu ralentir la propagation de l’agrile du frêne ou l’empêcher de détruire les arbres.


Rouille vésiculeuse du pin blanc (<em>Cronartium ribicola</em> J. C. Fischer ex Rabenh)
Rouille vésiculeuse du pin blanc (Cronartium ribicola J. C. Fischer ex Rabenh)

Rouille vésiculeuse du pin blanc

Cette maladie est causée par Cronartium ribicola J. C. Fischer ex Rabenh, un champignon observé pour la première fois au Québec en 1916. Il aurait été introduit par des plants contaminés, mais asymptomatiques importés d'Europe. La maladie est aujourd'hui répandue dans toute l'aire de distribution du pin blanc.

La rouille vésiculeuse tue des pins blancs de tous les âges. Un fort pourcentage de victimes ont moins de 25 ans. Sur les jeunes semis, la maladie peut entraîner une mortalité importante. Certains arbres meurent quatre ans après le début de l'infection, alors que d'autres peuvent survivre plus de 20 ans. Même si elle ne les tue pas, la maladie affaiblit la tige des gros arbres et retarde leur croissance.


Maladie corticale du hêtre

La maladie corticale du hêtre
La maladie corticale du hêtre
Photo : Ressources naturelles Canada

La maladie corticale du hêtre est le fruit d’une interaction avec un insecte, la cochenille du hêtre, et deux champignons pathogènes.

La maladie survient lorsque les spores des champignons s'introduisent par des blessures faites à l'écorce, notamment celles causées par la cochenille du hêtre. Ces insectes suceurs créent des milliers de microblessures dans l'écorce afin de se nourrir. Une substance produite par la cochenille empêche la cicatrisation des blessures. Les spores des champignons pathogènes peuvent y germer, et ce, sans réaction immédiate de l'arbre.

La dégradation des hêtres touche entre autres l’habitat et la disponibilité de nourriture de plusieurs espèces animales. Pour l’ours noir par exemple, qui adore manger les fruits du hêtre (appelés faînes), la mortalité des frênes peut entraîner des conséquences dramatiques. Il y aurait d’ailleurs une relation de cause à effet entre la production de faînes et les populations d'ours noirs.


Pour en savoir plus