An invitation to participate!
Parks Canada logo
The sun rises on a foggy lake with a canoe on the beach

Parks Canada is currently working on a revised management plan for La Mauricie National Park. This is important work, as the plan will guide decisions about the protection, enhancement and operation of the park for the next ten years (2021–2031).

Following several meetings and concept development activities with partners, stakeholders, Indigenous communities and various groups and institutions related to the park, a draft management plan has been developed.

We now invite you to participate in the reflection on the future of La Mauricie National Park by giving us your opinion on the draft management plan. Share your views and suggestions through a virtual public consultation period from May 25 to June 25, 2021.

 

Your opinions and comments will be received, reviewed and incorporated into the management plan to the extent possible. While Parks Canada will not be able to incorporate every suggestion and detail into this strategic management plan, your ideas and comments will be heard and will help shape future park decisions and operations.

La Mauricie National Park is a collective asset – it belongs to you! Join the Parks Canada team in developing a common vision, continuing to protect and promote the discovery of this unique place.

Geneviève Caron
Superintendant
La Mauricie and Western Quebec Field Unit

Parks Canada mandate
On behalf of the people of Canada, we protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada's natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations.

La Mauricie National Park is...
  • Rock paintings on granite representing a turtle and a red triangle
    A territory that has been fre-
    quented for thousands of years
  • A lake landscape in autumn with reddish forests
    Typical forests and iconic
    landscapes
  • The waterfalls and swirls of a tumultuous river
    A profusion of lakes and
    waterways
  • A wolf
    A diversified fauna and flora,
    sometimes rare or unique
  • A conservation worker pulls a log out of a lake
    Protected and restored
    nature
  • A young family canoe-camping
    Adventures and unforgettable
    moments
  • A naturalist shows a frog to a group of children
    A place of renewal and
    of discoveries
  • A young woman on a wooded hilltop in winter
    Accessible experiences in
    all seasons

1970-2020

Transcript

50 years - 1970-2020.

A beaver logo appears on screen.
"La Mauricie National Park, 50 years" appears on a wide shot of a lake criss-crossing a giant park.
Someone is paddling a canoe. A great blue heron flies above the surface of the water.
The camera flies over a body of water edged by evergreens. Several canoeists paddle across a lake.
Mist covers a body of water, caressing a docked canoe.
"Celebrate with us half a century of conservation, experiences and memories" appears on screen.
parkscanada.gc.ca/mauricie50 appears,followed by the Parks Canada logo.
Copyright Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada represented by Parks Canada, 2019 appears, followed by the Government of Canada logo.

HAVE YOUR SAY!

It's time to speak up, what you have to say is important! You can influence the management of La Mauricie National Park for the next ten years!

Discover
Discover the Management Plan

The draft of the new management plan

The following is a summary of the contents of the next management plan that will guide the management of La Mauricie National Park for ten years. Discover the park's vision for the future! See how this beautiful place will be protected and enhanced for years to come!


Future vision for the park

Guardian

La Mauricie National Park is the guardian of a splendid, authentic and wild nature. It offers a seemingly endless panorama of hills covered with forests whose colours change with the seasons. A constellation of majestic lakes, streams, waterfalls and rivers completes this landscape and makes it very attractive.

Preserved nature

Representative of the Precambrian region of the St. Lawrence River and the Great Lakes, the national park's forest, lake and wetland ecosystems have been preserved and are recovering with human support. Biodiversity is vibrant, species at risk are protected and the park as well as the surrounding areas offer them an environment conducive to their recovery and free movement. Environmental protection efforts are reinforced by the adoption of clean technologies and sustainable practices, both in operations and in visitor experience programs.

Connecting to nature and sustainable tourism

The national park is a place to recharge and connect with nature. Aware of the value of the exceptional natural spaces that surround them, visitors engage in activities in a manner that is consciously respectful of the environment. Parks Canada and community initiatives to restore and preserve ecosystems are an integral part of the visitor experience and are understood and supported by the public. The park is recognized as a model of sustainable and environmentally friendly tourism.

Experiences for all

Easily accessible, the national park welcomes visitors in all seasons. The quality and diversity of visitor experience attract a varied audience, regardless of their familiarity or interest in outdoor activities. In addition, each area of the park offers a different vibe that satisfies even the most varied tastes and interests, making the park an idyllic place where every visitor can have a unique experience.

Thousands of years of history to discover

The park is the scene of several thousand years of human occupation and bears witness to a past that is filled with history. Each period has left its mark, from use of the land by First Nations, through logging and hunting and fishing clubs, to the more recent period before the creation of the national park. The traces of these adventures can be found at the bend of a path, deep in the forest or on the banks of lakes and rivers. The most important ones are accessible to visitors, showcased and protected. The diversity of perspectives and stories reinforces the uniqueness of this territory. As a place of dissemination and collaboration, the national park allows First Nations to perpetuate their cultures, their knowledge and their values as they relate to the territory, and to make them known to visitors. It is also a place where the Mauricie cultural community can express itself and where local traditions, past and present, can be showcased. In this way, the park raises the regional profile and allows visitors to discover its rich living heritage.

A partner of choice

A recognized regional player and partner in terms of tourism, conservation, economy and culture, La Mauricie National Park works with communities, First Nations, partners, local organizations and the general public. Concerted actions generate positive spin-offs for all and strengthen the region's reputation and allure.

Memories of a lifetime

La Mauricie National Park charms with its authenticity and beauty of its wilderness, its history and its traditions. Inspirational experiences and memories that can be created here lead to a strong sense of attachment and enthusiasm among visitors, partners, community organizations, First Nations, employees, the general public and local residents.

Proposed strategies

1. Protecting natural heritage and acting to restore its integrity

This strategy focuses on protecting the integrity of the park's natural heritage through conservation programs, participatory activities, and outreach integrated with visitor experience. Parks Canada will work closely with managers of the surrounding lands, local partners and organizations, stakeholders, First Nations and the general public.

2. Protecting the traces of the past and sharing stories

This strategy underscores Parks Canada's commitment to continue its efforts to document the rich history of the park and to share its stories with visitors and the general public. This approach will include cooperation and participation of First Nations, partners, community organizations and the public. The strategy also consists of continued efforts to protect the most significant elements of cultural heritage.

3. A diversity of experiences in all seasons, in a unique natural and cultural setting

This strategy consists of improving and diversifying the national park experience according to the needs and expectations of traditional and new national park target audiences such as families, youth, cultural communities and newcomers. This approach will be applied in a manner that is sustainable and consistent with the conservation and environmental protection objectives of the national park.

4. A national park that is accessible and well integrated into the regional community

This strategy aims at continuing to work closely with the community and to take part in a concerted regional development approach. All parties benefit from the positive spin-offs and improve their positioning. In order to be regionally and even nationally relevant, the park will also seek to provide experiences to a greater diversity of visitors, regardless of their ability, culture, social status, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation or age.

For more information on the strategies and their implementation, please refer to the draft management plan below.

Draft Management Plan

Download the Complete Draft Management Plan (PDF, 828 KB)

Reply

A survey to express your opinion

In this survey, we present key strategies and seek your input on several objectives of the draft management plan. Help us evaluate their level of importance to you and tell us what you think. Click on the icon.

Suggest

Do you have any other ideas?

Did we forget something important? Do you have any ideas for us? This section is for you! Click on the icon and let your inspiration flow.



discover

Step 1: Discover the draft management plan

Down arrow

Reply

Step 2: Take the survey

Down arrow

Suggeset

Step 3: Propose an idea

Express yourself on social media

Twitter Facebook Instagram YouTube

Une invitation à participer !
Logo de Parcs Canada
Le soleil se lève sur un lac brumeux avec un canot sur la plage

Parcs Canada travaille actuellement à la révision du plan directeur du parc national de la Mauricie. Il s’agit d’un travail important, car ce plan guidera les décisions concernant les mesures de protection, de mise en valeur et d’exploitation du parc pour les dix prochaines années (2021-2031).

À la suite de plusieurs rencontres et activités d’idéation menées avec les partenaires, les intervenants, les communautés autochtones et les divers groupes et institutions liés au parc, une ébauche de plan directeur a été élaborée.

Nous vous invitons maintenant à participer à la réflexion sur l’avenir du parc national de la Mauricie en nous donnant votre opinion sur l’ébauche du plan directeur. Faites-nous part de vos points de vue et de vos suggestions dans le cadre d’une période de consultation publique virtuelle qui aura lieu du 25 mai au 25 juin 2021.

 

Vos opinions et vos commentaires seront reçus, examinés et intégrés, dans la mesure du possible, au plan directeur. Bien que Parcs Canada ne soit pas en mesure d’intégrer toutes les suggestions et tous les détails dans ce plan directeur stratégique, vos idées et vos commentaires seront entendus et contribueront à éclairer la prise de décisions et les futures opérations du parc.

Le parc national de la Mauricie est une richesse collective – il vous appartient! Joignez-vous à l’équipe de Parcs Canada afin de développer une vision commune, de poursuivre la protection et de favoriser la découverte de cet endroit unique.

Geneviève Caron
Directrice
Unité de gestion de la Mauricie et de l’Ouest du Québec

Mandat de Parcs Canada
Au nom de la population canadienne, nous protégeons et mettons en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et en favorisons chez le public la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

Le parc national de la Mauricie, c'est...
  • Des peintures rupestre sur du granit représentant une tortue et un triangle rouges
    Un territoire fréquenté
    depuis des millénaires
  • Un paysage de lac en automne avec des forêts rougeoyantes
    Des forêts typiques et
    des paysages iconiques
  • Les cascades et remous d'une rivière tumultueuse
    Une profusion de lacs
    et de cours d’eau
  • Un loup
    Une faune et flore diversifiées,
    parfois rare ou unique
  • Un travailleur en conservation retire une billot de bois d'un lac
    Une nature protégée
    et restaurée
  • Une jeune famille en canot-camping
    Des aventures et des
    moments inoubliables
  • Une naturaliste montre une grenouille à un groupe d'enfants
    Un lieu de ressourcement et
    de découvertes
  • Une jeune femme sur le sommet d'une colline boisée en hiver
    Des expériences accessibles
    en toute saison

1970-2020

Transcription

50 ans - 1970-2020.

Le logo d'un castor apparaît à l'écran.
« 50 ans du parc national de la Mauricie » s'affiche sur un plan large d'un lac sillonnant un immense parc.
Une personne se promène en canot. Un grand héron vole au ras de l'eau.
La caméra survole le cours d'eau bordé de conifères. De nombreux canoteurs se promènent sur le lac.
Un homme marche sur la berge. Un autre montre une tortue.
De la brume flotte sur un cours d'eau. Elle caresse un canot jaune à quai.
« Célébrez avec nous un demi-siècle de conservation, d'expériences et de souvenirs! » s'affiche à l'écran.
parcscanada.gc.ca/mauricie50 s'affiche à l'écran,
suivi du logo de Parcs Canada.
Copyright: Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada représenté par Parcs Canada, 2019 apparaît à l'écran. Suivi du logo du gouvernement du Canada.

À VOUS LA PAROLE !

C'est le temps de vous exprimer, ce que vous avez à dire est important! Vous pouvez influencer la gestion du parc national de la Mauricie pour les dix prochaines années!

Découvrez
 
Découvrez le plan directeur

L'ébauche du nouveau plan directeur

Voici un résumé du contenu du prochain plan directeur qui guidera la gestion du parc national de la Mauricie pour dix ans. Découvrez la vision d’avenir du parc! Voyez comment ce lieu magnifique sera protégé et mis en valeur pour les prochaines années!


Vision d'avenir pour le parc

Gardien

Gardien d’une nature splendide, authentique et sauvage, le parc national de la Mauricie offre à perte de vue un panorama de collines couvertes de forêts dont les couleurs changent au gré des saisons. Une constellation de lacs majestueux, de ruisseaux, de cascades et de rivières complète ce paysage et lui confère un fort pouvoir d’attraction.

Une nature préservée

Représentatifs de la région précambrienne du Saint-Laurent et des Grands Lacs, les écosystèmes de forêts, de lacs et de milieux humides du parc national sont préservés et se rétablissent avec le soutien des humains. La biodiversité est pleine de vitalité, les espèces en péril sont protégées et trouvent, dans le parc ainsi que dans les zones périphériques, un environnement propice à leur rétablissement et à leur libre circulation. Les efforts de protection de l’environnement sont renforcés par l’adoption de pratiques et de technologies propres et durables, tant au niveau des opérations que de l’offre d’expériences.

Connexion à la nature et tourisme durable

Le parc national est un lieu favorisant le ressourcement et la connexion avec la nature. Sensibilisé à la valeur des espaces naturels exceptionnels qui l’entourent, le visiteur pratique ses activités d’une manière consciente et respectueuse de l’environnement. Les initiatives de Parcs Canada et du milieu pour restaurer et préserver les écosystèmes font partie intégrante de l’expérience de visite, et elles sont comprises et soutenues par le public. Le parc est reconnu comme un modèle en matière de tourisme durable et respectueux de l’environnement.

Des expériences pour tous

Facilement accessible, le parc national accueille les visiteurs en toute saison. La qualité et la diversité des expériences attirent un public varié, peu importe le niveau de pratique ou d’intérêt pour les activités en pleine nature. De plus, chaque secteur offre une ambiance différente qui satisfait les goûts et les intérêts les plus variés, faisant du parc un endroit de rêve où chaque visiteur peut vivre des moments uniques.

Des histoires millénaires à découvrir

Théâtre d’une occupation humaine plusieurs fois millénaire, le parc témoigne d’un passé chargé d’histoires. Chaque période a laissé sa marque, depuis l’utilisation du territoire par les Premières Nations, en passant par l’exploitation forestière et les clubs de chasse et de pêche et, enfin, la période plus récente précédant la création du parc national. Les traces de ces aventures se découvrent au détour d’un chemin, au fond de la forêt ou sur les bords des lacs et des rivières. Les plus importantes sont accessibles aux visiteurs, mises en valeur et protégées. La diversité des perspectives et des histoires qui sont présentées renforce le caractère unique de ce territoire. Lieu de diffusion et de collaboration, le parc national permet aux Premières Nations de faire perdurer leurs cultures, leurs savoirs et leurs valeurs en lien avec le territoire et de les faire connaître aux visiteurs. C’est également un lieu d’expression pour le milieu culturel de la Mauricie et pour la présentation des traditions mauriciennes passées et actuelles. Ainsi, le parc fait rayonner la région et permet au visiteur d’en découvrir le patrimoine riche et vivant.

Un partenaire de choix

Acteur et partenaire reconnu de la région, tant au niveau du dynamisme touristique que des efforts de conservation, de l’économie et de la culture, le parc national de la Mauricie collabore avec les collectivités, les Premières Nations, les partenaires, les organismes du milieu et le public. Des actions concertées génèrent des retombées positives pour tous et renforcent le rayonnement et l’attractivité de la région.

Des souvenirs mémorables

Le parc national de la Mauricie charme donc par l’authenticité et la beauté de sa nature sauvage, de ses histoires et de ses traditions. Les expériences inspirantes qu’il est possible d’y vivre et les souvenirs que l’on y crée engendrent un fort sentiment d’attachement et d’enthousiasme, tant auprès des visiteurs que des partenaires, des organismes du milieu, des Premières Nations, des gens qui y travaillent, du grand public et des habitants de la région.

Stratégies proposées

1. Protéger le patrimoine naturel et agir pour rétablir son intégrité

Protéger le patrimoine naturel et agir pour rétablir son intégrité Cette stratégie met l’accent sur la protection et l’intégrité du patrimoine naturel du parc grâce à des programmes de conservation, à des activités participatives et à des actions de sensibilisation intégrées à l’offre d’expérience. Parcs Canada travaillera en étroite collaboration avec les gestionnaires des territoires environnants, les partenaires et organismes du milieu, les intervenants, les Premières Nations et le grand public.

2. Protéger les traces du passé et en raconter les histoires

Cette stratégie souligne la volonté de Parcs Canada de poursuivre les efforts en matière de documentation du riche passé du territoire du parc et d’en partager les histoires avec les visiteurs et le grand public. Cette approche comprendra la collaboration et la participation des Premières Nations, des partenaires, des organismes du milieu et du public. La stratégie consiste aussi à poursuivre les actions de protection des éléments les plus significatifs du patrimoine culturel.

3. Une diversité d'expériences en toute saison, dans un cadre naturel et culturel unique

Cette stratégie consiste à bonifier et à diversifier l’offre d’expériences du parc national en fonction des besoins et attentes des clientèles traditionnelles et des nouveaux publics cibles du parc national tels que les familles, les jeunes et les communautés culturelles et les nouveaux arrivants. Cette approche s’appliquera selon des principes de durabilité et d’adéquation avec les objectifs de conservation et de protection de l’environnement du parc national.

4. Un parc national accessible et bien intégré au milieu régional

Cette stratégie vise à poursuivre la collaboration étroite avec le milieu et prendre part à une approche de développement régional concerté. Toutes les parties bénéficient ainsi de retombées positives et améliorent leur positionnement. Afin d’être pertinent à l’échelle régionale et même nationale, le parc travaillera également à offrir des expériences à une plus grande diversité de visiteurs, sans égard à l’habileté, à la culture, au statut social, à l’identité et à l’expression de genre, à l’orientation sexuelle et à l’âge.

Pour plus d’informations sur les stratégies et leur mise en œuvre voir l’ébauche du plan directeur ci-dessous.

Ébauche du plan directeur

Téléchargez l'ébauche complète du plan directeur (PDF, 1,3 Mo)

Répondez
 

Un sondage pour donner votre avis

Dans ce sondage, nous présentons les stratégies clés et nous sollicitons votre avis sur plusieurs objectifs de l’ébauche du plan directeur. Aidez-nous à évaluer leur niveau d’importance pour vous et dites-nous ce que vous en pensez. Cliquez sur l’icône.

Proposez
 

Avez-vous d’autres idées ?

Nous avons oublié quelque chose d’important? Vous avez des idées à nous proposer? Cette section est pour vous! Cliquez sur l’icône et allez-y selon votre inspiration.



évaluez

Étape 1 : Découvez l'ébauche du Plan directeur

Down arrow

Répondez

Étape 2 : Répondez au sondage

Down arrow

Proposez

Étape 3 : Proposez une idée

Exprimez-vous sur les médias sociaux

Twitter Facebook Instagram YouTube