The COVID-19 situation could result in additional delays in processing pass applications. Thank you for your understanding.

As of June 1, Forillon National Park began a gradual reopening of some outdoor areas, facilities and services. Please check our website regularly for the current status of this location and others.

Pass program for owners expropriated at the time of the creation of Forillon National Park and their descendants 

Frequently Asked Questions


How will expropriated families have access to Forillon National Park?

  • Parks Canada is introducing pass for owners expropriated at the time of the creation of a national park or a national historic site, as well as for their spouses and descendants.

  • This pass currently gives three generations (expropriated owners, their children, their grandchildren, as well as their spouses) the right to access the national park or national historic site whose creation gave rise to their expropriation.

  • Starting on November 1, 2020, the 4th, 5th and 6th generations of expropriated persons and their spouses will be able to apply to park management for a pass.

  • Upon presenting their pass at the toll kiosks in the North and South areas of the park, persons expropriated from Forillon will gain free access to the park. The pass only covers admission fees.
     


Why has this pass been created?

  • This pass will give family members of expropriated owners a way of revisiting the places that have special meaning to them, such as cemeteries, former residence sites, expropriation commemoration sites, and to take part in commemorative events organized or supported by Parks Canada in the national park or historic site whose creation gave rise to their expropriation.

  • This approach is part of a profound change in mentality within Parks Canada. Much more than an ideology, this new way of proceeding gives rise to concrete actions that help the reconciliation process here, at Forillon, but also across the country. 


Why are the admissibility requirements announced in August 2010 modified?

  • On January 23, 2020, Parks Canada gave a favourable response to a request by the Regroupement de personnes expropriées de Forillon et leur descendence (Persons expropriated by Forillon and their descendants) by granting passes to the 4th, 5th and 6th generations of expropriated persons. This new measure will be implemented and come into effect on November 1, 2020.

  • This decision is part of the Agency’s approach to rebuilding relationships with communities and with expropriated persons undertaken by Parks Canada.  At Forillon National Park, this process has notably included special reunion days, the creation of a permanent exhibit Gaspesians from Land's End and installing commemorative signs in the various locations of the park from where people were expropriated. This measure also reflects the apology motion voted for unanimously in favour at the House of Commons February 14, 2011.

  • This decision shows Parks Canada's willingness to recognize the contribution of these families and communities to the history of our region and country. It is a solid base upon which Parks Canada intends to continue to build on.


Who can obtain a pass for Forillon National Park?

  • The owners of permanent residences, cottages, land and lumber lots that were expropriated during the creation of  Forillon National Park, their children, grandchildren and spouses will be able to obtain a pass so that they can revisit the places that are dear to them, which are, today, within in the park.

  • Each eligible person is responsible for submitting their own application for a pass. People of the 4th, 5th and 6th generations cannot apply for a pass until fall 2020. Parks Canada will inform you when it will be possible to file an application.

  • Important: Applicants aged 17 years and under do not have to apply for a pass. As of January 1, 2018, entrance into Parks Canada sites is free for those aged 17 years and under.
     
  • The pass is valid for the Forillon national park, that is, the one whose creation gave rise to the expropriation of the applicant and his/her family. The pass is valid for Forillon National Park whose creation gave rise to the expropriation of the applicant and their family.


Who is the "first generation of expropriated persons"?

  • The expression "first generation of expropriated persons" refers to persons whose name appeared on the act of ownership of a permanent residence, a cottage, and land or lumber lots expropriated during the creation of a national park or a national historic site and their spouses.

  • The "Second generation of expropriated persons" refers to the children of the first generation of expropriated persons and their spouses.

  • The "Third generation of expropriated persons" refers to the grandchildren of the first generation of expropriated persons and their spouses.

  • The “fourth generation of expropriated persons” refers to the great-grandchildren of the first generation of expropriated persons and their spouses.

  • The “fifth generation of expropriated persons” refers to the great-great-grandchildren of the first generation of expropriated persons and their spouses.

  • The “sixth generation of expropriated persons” refers to the great-great-great-grandchildren of the first generation of expropriated persons and their spouses.
     


How does this pass for the Forillon National Park work?

  • At Forillon National Park, this pass will take the form of an identity card with photo and will be issued to any eligible person who applies for one. It is a personal non-transferable pass.

  • Upon presenting their pass at Forillon National Park toll kiosks, pass holders will have free access, all year round, to places within the park that have special personal or family significance to them. 


How do I make a request?

All Parks Canada facilities are temporarily closed and all visitor services are suspended until further notice.

Please note that this may result in additional time for processing applications.
  • Important: No applications for passes for the 4th, 5th and 6th generations of expropriated persons will be processed before November 1, 2020. Therefore it is pointless to apply for a pass at this time.

  • For passes for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd generations, you can, at this time, apply for a pass. Your application must include the following:

  • the Pass Application duly completed and signed,
    a copy of your birth (or baptismal) certificate in order to prove your identity and one recent colour photo.

  • The Pass Application form is available here: Application Form(PDF - 120 Kb) or a printed form can be obtained at the Parks Canada offices in Gaspé (122 De Gaspé Boul.), at Penouille reception and information centre, at the information and Discovery Centre in the North sector and at toll kiosks in the North and South sectors of the park.

  • The completed form can be mailed or dropped off in person at the following address:

    Pass Application
    Forillon National Park
    122 De Gaspé Boulevard
    Gaspé, Québec  G4X 1A9


  • You can also submit your application by e-mail to: info-expropriation.forillon@pc.gc.ca


Proof of identity: birth certificate or other document?

  •  Only copies of birth or baptismal certificates will be accepted as proof of identity for pass application purposes. Other identity documents, such as passports, driver’s licences, and health insurance cards, are not accepted because they do not show the names of the applicant’s parents


Blended families: who qualifies?

  • A person can qualify for the Pass Program either through a direct descendent relationship (up to three generations, and beginning November 1, 2020, up to six) with an owner whose property was expropriated at the time of the creation of Forillon National Park or a spousal relationship with someone qualifying for the pass.

    Please contact a Pass Program officer for more information on this subject at (418) 368-5505 or by emailing us the new information at info-expropriation.forillon@pc.gc.ca.


Is there a deadline for applying for a pass?

  • There is no deadline for applying for a pass.


How do I provide notification of a change of address, telephone number or email address?

  • In order to keep the information in your file up to date, you can notify us of any change of address, telephone number or email address by calling the Parks Canada office in Gaspé at (418) 368-5505 or by emailing us the new information at info-expropriation.forillon@pc.gc.ca.

    This will make it easier for us to contact you when it is time to renew your pass.


How do I notify a change of spouse?

  • Please contact a Pass Program officer for more information on this subject.


How much is the Pass replacement fee?

  • Forillon National Park hereby wishes to notify you that as of October 9, 2012, a $20 fee will be charged for replacing a pass. Note that the costs are of use to the processing of the demand and not for the replacement of the pass. 

    Any application to replace a pass must be accompanied by the "Pass Replacement Application" (PDF - 36Kb) form (duly completed and signed) and payment in full by cheque or cash. The form is available in a printer-friendly PDF version or can be obtained by calling the Parks Canada office in Gaspé, at (418) 368-5505.

Other useful information

  • Please note that incomplete pass application will be returned to the applicant unprocessed.

  • People waiting for a pass are required to pay park entrances fees.

  • For the sake of fairness, the processing procedure for all applications is the same.

How can I contact the Pass Program?

La situation liée à la COVID-19 pourrait entrainer des délais supplémentaires pour le traitement des demandes de laissez-passer. Merci de votre compréhension.

Le 1er juin, le parc national Forillon a commencé une réouverture progressive de certains services, emplacements extérieurs et de certaines installations. Veuillez consulter régulièrement ce site Web pour les conditions actuelles de ce lieu et des autres.

Programme de laissez-passer pour les propriétaires expropriés lors de la création du parc national Forillon et leurs descendants 

Foire aux questions


Comment les familles expropriées auront-elles accès au parc national Forillon?

  • Parcs Canada a créé un laissez-passer pour les propriétaires expropriés lors de la création d’un parc national ou d’un lieu historique national, pour leurs conjoints/conjointes ainsi que pour leurs descendants.

  • Ce laissez-passer donne actuellement à trois générations (les propriétaires expropriés, leurs enfants, leurs petits-enfants ainsi que leurs conjoints ou conjointes) un droit d’accès au parc national ou au lieu historique national pour la création duquel elles ont été expropriées.

  • Dès le 1er novembre 2020, les personnes expropriées de Forillon des 4e, 5e et 6e générations, de même que leurs conjoints ou conjointes, pourront à leur tour adresser une demande de laissez-passer à la direction du parc.

  • Sur présentation de leur laissez-passer aux postes de perception des secteurs Nord et Sud du parc, les personnes expropriées de Forillon se verront accorder l’entrée gratuite. Le laissez-passer est applicable uniquement pour les droits d’entrée. 
     


Pourquoi ce laissez-passer a-t-il été créé?

  • Ce laissez-passer donnera aux membres de familles expropriées un moyen de retourner sur les lieux qui leur sont chers, tels les cimetières, l’ancien lieu d’un domicile familial, les lieux où sont commémorées les expropriations et pour participer aux événements commémoratifs organisés ou appuyés par Parcs Canada, dans le parc national ou le lieu historique national pour la création duquel ils ont été expropriés.

  • Cette approche fait partie d’un profond changement de mentalité au sein de Parcs Canada. Bien plus qu’une idéologie, cette façon de procéder donne lieu à des actions concrètes qui aident au processus de rétablissement des relations avec les collectivités ici même, à Forillon et également un peu partout au pays.


Pourquoi les critères d’admissibilité annoncés en août 2010 ont-ils été modifiés?

  • Le 23 janvier 2020, Parcs Canada a donné une suite favorable à la demande du Regroupement de personnes expropriées de Forillon et leur descendance en accordant des laissez-passer aux personnes expropriées des 4e, 5e et 6e générations. La mesure sera effective et mise en place le 1er novembre 2020.

  • Cette décision s’inscrit dans la démarche de rétablissement des relations avec les collectivités entreprises par Parcs Canada. Au parc national Forillon, cette démarche comprend notamment la tenue de journées retrouvailles, la réalisation de l'exposition permanente Ces Gaspésiens du bout du monde et la mise en place de panneaux commémoratifs dans les différents endroits où il y a eu expropriation. Cette mesure reflète également la motion d’excuse votée unanimement à la Chambre des communes le 14 février 2011.

  • Cette décision témoigne de la volonté de Parcs Canada de reconnaître l’apport de ces familles et de ces communautés dans l’histoire de notre région et de notre pays. Elle constitue une assise solide sur laquelle Parcs Canada entend continuer de bâtir.


Qui peut se prévaloir d’un laissez-passer au parc national Forillon?

  • Les propriétaires de résidences permanentes, de chalets, de terrains et de lots boisés qui furent expropriés lors de la création du parc national Forillon, leurs enfants, petits-enfants et conjoints ou conjointe pourront recevoir un laissez-passer afin qu’elles puissent renouer avec les endroits qui leur sont chers et qui se trouvent, aujourd’hui, à l’intérieur du parc.

  • Chaque personne admissible est responsable de présenter sa propre demande de laissez-passer. Les personnes des 4e, 5e et 6e générations n’ont pas à déposer de demandes avant l’automne 2020. Parcs Canada communiquera ultérieurement le moment où il sera possible de déposer une demande. 

  • Important : Les demandeurs âgés de 17 ans et moins n’auront pas à déposer de demandes. Depuis le 1er janvier 2018, l'entrée aux sites de Parcs Canada est gratuite pour les jeunes de 17 ans et moins.

  • Le laissez-passer est valide pour le parc national Forillon, pour la création duquel le demandeur et sa famille ont été expropriés.


Qui sont les « expropriés de 1re génération »?

  • L’expression « expropriés de 1re génération » désigne les personnes dont le nom figurait sur l’acte de propriété d’une résidence permanente, d’un chalet, d’un terrain ou d’un lot boisé exproprié lors de la création d’un parc ou d’un lieu historique national, ainsi que leur conjoint ou conjointe.

  • Les « expropriés de 2e génération » désignent les enfants des expropriés de 1re génération ainsi que leurs conjoints ou conjointes.

  • Les « expropriés de 3e génération » désignent les petits-enfants des expropriés de 1re génération ainsi que leurs conjoints ou conjointes.

  • Les « expropriés de 4e génération » désignent les arrière-petits-enfants des expropriés de 1re génération ainsi que leurs conjoints ou conjointes.

  • Les « expropriés de 5e génération » désignent les arrière-arrière-petits-enfants des expropriés de 1re génération ainsi que leurs conjoints ou conjointes.

  • Les « expropriés de 6e génération » désignent les arrière-arrière-arrière-petits-enfants des expropriés de 1re génération ainsi que leurs conjoints ou conjointes.
     


Comment fonctionne ce laissez-passer au parc national Forillon ?

  • Au parc national Forillon, ce laissez-passer prendra la forme d’une carte d’identité avec photo et sera émis à toute personne admissible qui en fait la demande. Il s’agit d’un laissez-passer individuel et non transférable.

  • Le détenteur qui présentera son laissez-passer aux postes de perception du parc national Forillon aura droit d’accéder gratuitement aux endroits du parc revêtant pour eux une importance personnelle ou familiale, et ce, en toutes saisons.


Comment faire une demande?

Toutes les installations de Parcs Canada sont temporairement fermées et tous les services aux visiteurs sont temporairement suspendus jusqu'à nouvel ordre.
Veuillez noter que cette situation pourrait entraîner des délais supplémentaires pour le traitement des demandes.
  • Important : Aucune demande de laissez-passer concernant les 4e, 5e et 6e générations ne sera traitée avant le 1er novembre 2020. Il est donc inutile d’en faire la demande maintenant.
  • Pour les laissez-passer concernant les 1re, 2e et 3e générations, vous pouvez, dès aujourd’hui, présenter une demande de laissez-passer. Votre demande devra comprendre :
    • le formulaire Demande de laissez-passer dûment rempli et signé,

    • une copie de votre extrait de naissance (ou baptistère) afin d’attester de votre identité, et

    • une photo récente en couleur.

  • Le formulaire Demande de laissez-passer est disponible ici : Formulaire de demande (PDF - 120 Ko) ou en version imprimée au bureau de Parcs Canada à Gaspé (122 boul. de Gaspé), ainsi qu’au centre d’accueil et de renseignements de Penouille, au centre d’accueil et de découverte du secteur Nord, et aux postes de perception des secteurs Nord et Sud du parc.

  • Votre demande complétée peut être postée ou déposée en personne à l’adresse suivante :

  • Demande de laissez-passer
    Parc national Forillon
    122, boulevard de Gaspé
    Gaspé (Québec) G4X 1A9

  • Vous pouvez également nous transmettre votre demande par courriel à l’adresse suivante : info-expropriation.forillon@pc.gc.ca


Preuve d’identité : extrait de naissance ou autres documents?

  • Seules les copies de certificat de naissance ou de baptistère sont acceptées comme preuve d’identité lors d’une demande de laissez-passer. Les pièces d’identité telles les passeports, permis de conduire et les cartes d’assurance maladie ne sont pas acceptés parce que l’on y retrouve pas les noms des parents du demandeur.


Familles recomposées : qui est éligible?

  • Une personne est éligible au Programme de laissez-passer soit par un lien de descendance direct avec un propriétaire exproprié lors de la création du parc national Forillon (jusqu’à trois et dès le 1er novembre 2020 à six générations) ou parce qu’elle est le conjoint(e) d’une personne éligible.

    S.V.P joindre un responsable du Programme de laissez-passer pour avoir plus de renseignements à ce sujet au (418) 368-5505 ou en communiquant par courriel à info-expropriation.forillon@pc.gc.ca.


Y a-t-il une date limite pour faire une demande de laissez-passer?

  • Il n’y a pas de date limite pour faire une demande de laissez-passer.


Comment signaler un changement d’adresse, de téléphone et de courriel?

  • Afin de garder à jour l’information contenue dans votre dossier, vous pouvez nous faire part de tout changement d’adresse, de numéro de téléphone et de courriel en appelant le bureau de Parcs Canada à Gaspé au (418) 368-5505 ou en communiquant par courriel à info-expropriation.forillon@pc.gc.ca

    Ceci nous permettra de communiquer plus facilement avec vous lors du renouvellement de votre laissez-passer.


Comment signaler un changement de conjoint/conjointe?

  • Veuillez nous contacter pour plus d'information à ce sujet.


Quels sont les frais de remplacement de laissez-passer?

  • Le parc national Forillon désire vous aviser que, depuis le 9 octobre 2012, des frais de 20 $ s’appliquent pour tout remplacement de laissez-passer. Notez que les coûts servent au traitement de la demande et non pour le remplacement du laissez-passer.

    Toute demande de remplacement de laissez-passer devra être accompagnée du formulaire Demande de remplacement de laissez-passer (PDF - 32Ko) (complété et signé) ainsi que du paiement complet par chèque ou comptant. Le formulaire est disponible en version PDF imprimable ou en contactant le bureau de Parcs Canada à Gaspé au 418 368-5505.

Autres informations pertinentes

  • Prenez note que toute demande incomplète ne pourra être traitée et sera retournée à son expéditeur.

  • Les personnes en attente de l’obtention de leur laissez-passer doivent acquitter les droits d’entrée au parc durant le délai.

  • Par souci d'équité, toute demande passera par le même processus de traitement.

Comment joindre le Programme de laissez-passer?

  • Par la poste : Programme de laissez-passer, 122 boulevard de Gaspé, Gaspé (Québec) G4X 1A9
    Par courriel :  info-expropriation.forillon@pc.gc.ca
    Par téléphone : (418) 368-5505