What to know before you visit

As it had been announced in 2015, Parks Canada is investing $3 billion over five years to rehabilitate infrastructure assets within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada. This historic investment supports conservation while promoting visitor experience and making our infrastructure safer and more appealing to visitorsexperience and making our infrastructure safer and more appealing to visitors.

When visiting or driving through Forillon National Park, you may encounter one or more  construction zones or reduced services while we complete this important work. Please plan ahead before you travel to avoid inconvenience.

Parks Canada must take immediate action to improve a large part of its infrastructure. Repair, rehabilitation and restoration projects will be carried out as part of this historic investment. Visitors will thus be able to benefit from an experience that is both thought-provoking and safe, as well as magnificent vistas, and a pleasant commute on Route 132, the park's main roadway.

Please review the section below to see if any road or facility work might have an impact on your trip.

Infrastructure Projects in Forillon National Park

Work that may affect visitors

  • Partial closure of Cap-des-Rosiers Beach
    Spring 2017 to Spring 2018, due to the beach restoration project.
  • Blanchette House restoration
    September 2017: closure of the buildings in L’Anse-Blanchette. There may be noise, dust and impediments to road traffic in the South area and to the Grande-Grave wharf. There will be a slight deviation of Les Graves Trail nearby the works zone.

  • Refurbishment of service buildings
    From January 8, 2018 and until this spring, the access to the South sector (on the road beyond the gate) will be limited to authorized persons Monday to Friday and allowed to visitors on Saturdays and Sundays only. For more information, please visit the Visitor Safety section

Updated information on Facebook/ForillonNP

Projects description 

Rebuilding of the Road 132

A $22.7 M investment
Parks Canada has carried out major work rebuilding the Route 132 inside of the park’s limits, from Cap-des-Rosiers to Cap-aux-Os sectors. This project will make it possible to offer visitors new experiences in a safer, more environmentally friendly setting. Work is now completed. 

Video - 3D modeling - Phase 2 of Route132 rebuilding work

Restoration of natural dynamic and the enhancement of the coastal ecosystem of Cap-des-Rosiers

A $7 M investment
Objective 1: Restoring the coastal ecosystem of the Cap-des-Rosiers beach and the adjacent marsh by removing the human infrastructures that interfere with their natural dynamics.
Objective 2: Relocating the monument of the Carricks to a place where it will be protected from coastal erosion.
Objective 3: Enhancing the coastal ecosystem by creating a multi-purpose trail connecting the Cap-des-Rosiers village and the Interpretation Center. Work continues until summer of 2018.

Reconstruction work in Cap-des-Rosiers Harbour

A $11.3 M investment
Phase 1 : Upgrading the bassin at Cap-des-Rosiers Harbour. This work is designed to create an environment conducive to outings, in particular by promoting interaction between fishers and visitors and by offering opportunities for new experiences, such as a discovery cruise in the North Area. This work stream has now been completed.
Phase 2 : Major reconstruction work in Cap-des-Rosiers Harbour, including dredging of the harbour, reconstruction of the piers, the lighting system and sidewalks, reconstruction of the access roads and picnic shelters, construction of a floating pontoon and boardwalk providing easier access for visitors.

Rehabilitation of Fort-Peninsula

A $1.3 M investment
Infrastructure upgrading and updating of on-site interpretation, including consolidation of the shore battery’s wood and concrete walls, touch-up and finishing of wall surfaces, vegetation management, trail improvement, etc. Work is now completed. 

Upgrading of campsites

A $448 K investment
As part of work redeveloping Loop A at the Petit-Gaspé campground, sites have been reconfigured so as to accommodate bigger recreational vehicles (RVs). Electric and water hook-ups have been provided. Vegetation management work has been conducted. Work is now completed. 

Inspection of road bridges and footbridges

A $700 K investment
Several infrastructures are also slated for upgrading. The objective was to protect and repair bridge decks and abutments, as well as shores. Inspection is now completed. 

Inspection and Reconstruction of the Wastewater Treatment Systems

A $513 K investment
Inspection of Forillon Park's main wastewater treatment systems, replacement of the Des-Rosiers campsite dumping station and the design of a new wastewater treatment system to service a future services building at the park's entrance.

Reconstruction and Upgrading of the Interpretation Centre

A $7.2 M investment
The interpretation centre located in the northern sector will be renovated. Improvements will be made to the building’s configuration in order to optimize the services at the visitor centre and to enhance the service offer to visitors.

Restoration of the Heritage Infrastructures Used by Visitors in the Grande-Grave sector

A $2.4 M investment
The project involves the reconstruction and restoration of 13 heritage infrastructures in the Grande-Grave sector. These infrastructures, used by visitors, are at the core of the cultural, historical and natural activities offered.

Refurbishment of the Joseph-Gavey house

A $721K investment
The works include the repair of the foundations, the stabilization and reinforcement of the structure, the repair of the roof and the building’s exterior.

Rehabilitation of the Paved Roads

A $4.7 M investment
This project involves resurfacing and repairing the roadway in the South sector and the Cap-Bon-Ami Road, as well as the Penouille and Cap-Bon-Ami parking lots.

Reconstruction of the Operational Centre

A $8.4 M investment
The project involves the reconstruction of the Forillon National Park operational complex, the design of a new layout to improve operational and energy efficiency and to provide improved and secure access, and the demolition or disposal of residual buildings.

Rehabilitation of service buildings

A $6 M investment
The project involves the renovation of 10 service buildings in the three campgrounds (Petit-Gaspé, Des-Rosiers and Cap-Bon-Ami). The work will cover the exterior, doors and windows, porches, interiors (including toilets and showers) and foundations for some cases.

Rehabilitation of the belvedere and the staircase of Cap-Bon-Ami

A $982 K investment
The project involves the rehabilitation of the retaining wall and the replacement of railings over the wall, planned from November 2017 to May 2018. The project also involves to rebuild the staircase of the Cap-Bon-Ami beach, scheduled from September 2018 to May 2019.

For information

Michelle Sinnett
Public Relations and Communications Manager
Gaspésie Field Unit, Parks Canada
michelle.sinnett@pc.gc.ca
Telephone: 418-368-5509

Ce qu’il faut savoir avant votre visite.

Conformément à ce qui avait été annoncé en 2015, Parcs Canada investit 3 milliards de dollars sur cinq ans afin de remettre en état des éléments d’infrastructure se trouvant dans les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada. Cet investissement historique appuie la conservation tout en favorisant une expérience mémorable pour les visiteurs et en accroissant la sécurité et l’attrait de notre infrastructure.

Au cours de votre passage dans le parc national Forillon, vous pourriez devoir traverser un ou plusieurs chantiers de construction ou zones de services réduits pendant la réalisation de ces travaux importants. Veuillez planifier votre séjour pour éviter des désagréments.

Parcs Canada doit prendre des mesures dès maintenant pour améliorer une bonne partie de ses infrastructures. Des projets de réfection, de réhabilitation et de restauration  seront réalisés grâce à cet investissement historique. Les visiteurs pourront ainsi vivre une expérience à la fois contemplative et sécuritaire, admirer des points de vue magnifiques et circuler sans tracas sur la route 132, artère principale du parc.

Consultez la section ci-dessous pour vérifier si des travaux d’amélioration des routes ou des installations pourraient avoir une incidence sur votre voyage.

Projets d’infrastructure au parc national Forillon

Travaux avec incidences pour les visiteurs

  • Fermeture de la plage de Cap-des-Rosiers
    Du printemps 2017 au printemps 2018, en raison du projet de restauration de la plage.
  • Restauration de la maison Blanchette
    Septembre 2017 : fermeture des  bâtiments de L’Anse-Blanchette. Bruit, poussière et entraves possibles sur la circulation routière du secteur Sud. Légère déviation du sentier Les Graves près du site de L'Anse-Blanchette.

Mises à jour sur Facebook/PNForillon 

Description des projets

Réfection de la route 132 

Investissement de 22,7 millions de dollars
Parcs Canada a procédé à une importante réfection de la route 132 dans les limites du parc soit du secteur de Cap-des-Rosiers jusqu'à celui de Cap-aux-Os. Pour les visiteurs, ce projet signifie de nouvelles expériences dans un cadre plus sécuritaire et respectueux de l’environnement. Les travaux sont terminés. 

Vidéo - Modélisation 3D - Phase 2 de la réfection de la 132

Restauration de la dynamique naturelle et mise en valeur de l’écosystème côtier de Cap-des-Rosiers

Investissement de 7 millions de dollars
Objectif 1 : restaurer l’écosystème côtier de la plage de Cap-des-Rosiers et du marais adjacent en y retirant les infrastructures humaines qui interfèrent avec leur dynamique naturelle.
Objectif 2 : relocaliser, à un endroit où il est protégé contre l’érosion côtière, le monument de sépulture commémorant le naufrage de 1847 du navire le Carricks.
Objectif 3 : mettre en valeur de l’écosystème côtier en créant un sentier à usages multiples dans le haut-de-plage, reliant le village de Cap-des-Rosiers au centre d’interprétation. Les travaux se poursuivent jusqu’à l’été 2018. 

Réfection au havre de Cap-des-Rosiers

Investissement de 11,3 millions de dollars
Phase 1 : revitalisation du bassin du havre. Parcs Canada proposera aux visiteurs une expérience bonifiée dans ce secteur, notamment en créant un nouvel environnement propice à la promenade, en favorisant les interactions entre les pêcheurs et les visiteurs et en développant éventuellement des activités enrichissantes, comme une croisière découverte dans le secteur Nord.
Phase 2 : réfection majeure du havre de Cap-des-Rosiers, incluant le dragage du havre, la reconstruction de jetées, du système d'éclairage et de trottoirs, la réfection de voies d'accès et de l'abri de pique-nique, et la construction d'un ponton flottant et d'une passerelle facilitant l’accès des visiteurs à l’infrastructure.

Réhabilitation de Fort-Péninsule

Investissement de 1,3 millions de dollars
Les travaux consistaient à remettre à niveau l’infrastructure. Nous avons procédé à la consolidation des murs de bois et de béton de la batterie côtière, au rafraichissement des surfaces, à la gestion de la végétation et à l'amélioration des sentiers. Les travaux sont maintenant terminés. 

Mise à niveau de sites de camping

Investissement de 448 000 $
La boucle A du camping Petit-Gaspé a été réaménagée et les sites ont été reconfigurés afin d’accueillir de plus gros véhicules récréatifs. Le réaménagement touchait également l’électrification, l’alimentation en eau et la gestion de la végétation. Les travaux sont maintenant terminés.

Inspection des ponts routiers et des passerelles

Investissement de 700 000 $
Différents travaux ont été réalisés, tels que la mise à niveau des infrastructures; la protection et la réparation des culées; la protection des berges ainsi que la réfection des tabliers. Les inspections ont été réalisées.

Inspection et réfection des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées

Investissement de 513 000 $
Inspection des principaux systèmes de traitement des eaux usées du parc Forillon, remplacement de la station de vidange du camping Des-Rosiers, et conception d'un nouveau système de traitement des eaux usées pour desservir un futur bâtiment de services à l'entrée du parc. 

Réfection et mise à niveau du centre d'interprétation

Investissement de 7,2 millions de dollars
Rénovation du centre d'interprétation situé dans le secteur Nord. Des améliorations seront apportées à la configuration du bâtiment dans le but d’optimiser les services d’accueil et de bonifier l’offre pour les visiteurs.

Restauration des infrastructures patrimoniales utilisées par les visiteurs dans le secteur de Grande-Grave 

Investissement de 2,4 millions de dollars
Le projet consiste à procéder à la réfection et à la restauration de 13 infrastructures patrimoniales du secteur de Grande-Grave. Ces infrastructures, qui sont utilisées par les visiteurs, sont au coeur de l'offre d'activités culturelles, historiques et naturelles.

Revêtement des routes asphaltées

Investissement de 4,7 millions de dollars
Resurfaçage et réparations de la route du secteur Sud et de la route de Cap-Bon-Ami, ainsi que des stationnements de Penouille et de Cap-Bon-Ami. 

Réfection du centre opérationnel

Investissement de 8,4 millions de dollars
Le projet consiste à procéder à la réfection du complexe opérationnel du parc national Forillon, à le réaménager pour en améliorer l'efficacité opérationnelle et énergétique, à améliorer et à sécuriser son accès, puis de démolir ou aliéner les biens immobiliers résiduels.

Réfection des bâtiments de services

Investissement de 6 millions de dollars
Le projet consiste en la rénovation complète de dix bâtiments de services, soit ceux des trois campings (Petit-Gaspé, Des-Rosiers et Cap-Bon-Ami). Les travaux toucheront les enveloppes extérieures, les portes et fenêtres, les galeries, les intérieurs (incluant toilettes et douches) et les fondations pour certains cas.

Réfection du belvédère et de l’escalier de Cap-Bon-Ami

Investissement de 982 000 $
Le projet vise à effectuer la réfection majeure du mur de soutènement et le remplacement des garde-corps au-dessus du mur, prévu de novembre 2017 à mai 2018. Le projet vise aussi la reconstruction de l’escalier de la plage du Cap-Bon-Ami, prévue de septembre 2018 à mai 2019.

Pour information

Michelle Sinnett
Gestionnaire, relations publiques et communications 
Unité de gestion de la Gaspésie, Parcs Canada
michelle.sinnett@pc.gc.ca
Téléphone : 418 368-5509