To know how to react during an encounter with a black bear, you have to be able to put yourself in its position and learn the language of the black bear.


The black bear avoids fighting

Even among themselves, black bears prefer flight to fight – and the same applies in the case of encounters with humans. A fight with another bear represents a risk of serious injury for the individual.

As a rule, the black bear is afraid of humans

In many cases, even before you catch sight of it, a black bear will have put some distance between you and itself. The black bear is inherently afraid of humans. Black bears consider humans, as a species, to be stronger than themselves – a fact that humans should learn to take advantage of.


The black bear must survive six months without eating

Hibernation is a key factor in the behaviour of the black bear, as it must store up enough energy in order to survive through the long winter months.

Plants and berries remain bear's preferred food.
Black Bear eating Dandelion
Concerning a gestating female, she must also accumulate a sufficient quantity of energy during the summer and fall in order to be able not only to give birth to her cubs in the middle of winter but also to produce enough milk to feed them. Thus, the main concern of a black bear is to find food. Thanks to its excellent sense of smell and its intelligence, it is able to locate the berries and ants that it adores, tender shoots, animal carcasses, etc.

In order to stock energy without also expending too much of it, the bear seeks out easily accessible foods.

Hunting down a deer or a moose can be very energy-consuming. On the other hand, when given the opportunity, a bear may find it worthwhile to attack sick or newborn animals. They are easier to catch and the risks of fight-related injury are lower.

All in all, plants and berries remain the bear’s preferred food.

The black bear and human food

The black bear’s sense of smell sometimes leads it to food that humans have disposed of inappropriately or to odour sources that are not necessarily edible (e.g., a greasy barbecue).

Human food contains high concentrations of energy, and can thus be highly beneficial for a black bear seeking to build up its reserves. Not only is this energy source nutritious, the bear needn’t go to a lot of effort to gain access to it.

A bear that develops a taste for human food will also develop an association between humans and a source of easily accessible, high-energy food. In some situations, the bear eventually overcomes its fear of humans and seeks food sources that people inadvertently supply it with. At that point, the term “food-conditioned bear” is used.

That is when a black bear can become dangerous and will most likely end up having to be killed. Is the bear to be blamed for our negligence? It is our responsibility to dispose of our waste in a way that prevents any bear from gaining access to it. It’s a matter of safety for humans and a matter of survival for bears.

Bear-proof Garbage Bins Bear-proof garbage bins are located near service buildings.

Pour savoir comment réagir lors d’une rencontre avec l’ours noir, il faut se mettre dans sa peau et connaitre quelques éléments de son langage.


L’ours noir évite la confrontation

Même entre eux, les ours noirs préfèrent fuir plutôt que de se battre, et c’est la même chose avec les humains. Un combat avec un autre ours représente un risque de blessure grave pour un ours.

L’ours noir a généralement peur de l’humain

Dans bien des cas, avant même que vous l’ayez vu, l’ours noir se sera éloigné de vous. Il a une peur intrinsèque de l’humain. Le fait que l’ours noir considère l’être humain comme un animal plus fort que lui représente un avantage qu’il faut apprendre à utiliser.


L’ours noir doit survivre six mois sans manger

L’hibernation est un facteur clé dans le comportement de l’ours noir. Il doit emmagasiner assez d’énergie pour survivre durant les longs mois d’hiver.

Plants and berries remain bear's preferred food.
Ours noir mangeant des pissenlits
Pour une femelle gestante, la quantité d’énergie accumulée durant l’été et l’automne doit en plus lui permettre de donner naissance à ses petits en plein cœur de l’hiver et de produire le lait pour les nourrir.
La principale préoccupation de l’ours est donc de trouver de la nourriture. Grâce à son excellent odorat et son intelligence, il trouve sur son chemin les petits fruits et les fourmis dont il raffole, les jeunes pousses végétales, les carcasses animales, etc.

Afin d’accumuler de l’énergie sans trop en dépenser, il recherche les aliments facilement accessibles.

Pourchasser un animal comme un cerf de Virginie ou un orignal en santé peut être très énergivore. Toutefois, quand l’occasion se présente, il peut être avantageux pour l’ours de s’attaquer à des animaux malades ou à des nouveau-nés. Ils sont plus faciles à attraper et les risques de blessures dues au combat sont moindres.

Les plantes et les fruits demeurent donc la nourriture privilégiée par l’ours.

 

L’ours noir et la nourriture des humains

L’odorat de l’ours le mène parfois vers la nourriture des humains disposée inadéquatement, ou vers des sources odorantes qui ne sont pas nécessairement comestibles (ex. : un barbecue mal nettoyé).

La nourriture des humains est très concentrée en énergie et peut donc être très bénéfique pour l’ours dans sa quête d’emmagasiner des réserves. En plus d’être nutritive, cette source d’énergie ne demande pas d’efforts.

L’ours qui prend goût aux aliments des humains développera une association entre l’humain et une source de nourriture énergétique facilement accessible. Dans certaines situations, l’ours finit par vaincre sa peur de l’humain et recherche les sources alimentaires que celui-ci lui fournit involontairement. On parle alors d’un ours « conditionné » à la nourriture humaine.

C’est ainsi qu’un ours noir peut devenir dangereux et qu’il finira sans doute par être abattu. Est-ce l’ours qui est à blâmer pour notre négligence? C’est à nous de disposer correctement de nos déchets de manière à ce qu’aucun ours n’y ait accès. C’est une question de sécurité pour les humains et de survie pour les ours.