Survey open

It's time to hear from you. Our online survey is now open for you to share your vision of the future of our park.

About the Management Plan

Forillon National Park is currently working hard to renew its management plan. A management plan is a strategic document that shapes a park's management measures and decisions, and which is used as a key tool for reaching the park's partners and the general public. It presents a long-term vision for the park and includes achievable short- and medium-term objectives and targets that enable us to measure if our expected results have been achieved. Management plans are a requirement of the Canada National Parks Act.

The Forillon National Park management plan will be finalized following the public consultations held with local residents and organizations, visitors, stakeholders, partners and Indigenous communities. These consultations will take place between February 12 and March 15, 2020. The plan will be presented in Parliament in the fall of 2020.

A draft plan has been created to be submitted for feedback from participants of the consultations. In particular, this draft plan puts forward a vision statement and four key management strategies:

Vision

The new management plan will include a long-term vision describing Forillon National Park’s aspirations for the coming 15 to 20 years. Here is one proposition:

In 2030, Forillon National Park will continue to be recognized for the authenticity of its majestic natural and cultural landscapes. With its towering cliffs, lush boreal forest, abundant marine and terrestrial wildlife, Forillon National Park will remain a symbol of harmony between the land and the sea. The rich history of the park's previous occupations, be it Indigenous, commercial or agricultural, will be remembered and valued through the ruins and through the constructions that have been preserved and which bear witness to the long-standing relationship human beings have maintained with the area.
Gaspesians and visitors alike will enjoy exploring the many different trails, magnificent points of view, and relaxing beaches where they can drift off to the sound of the waves. Forillon National Park will work hard with local communities to promote the park as a must-visit tourist destination and in order to offer the activities and services that visitors will appreciate.
Appreciation of Forillon National Park will be increased by:

  • working collaboratively with the communities that have links with the park;
  • sharing the human history of Forillon, the most important factors of which will become an integral part of the park's program;
  • incorporating the traditional culture and knowledge of the Mi'gmaq Nation in the park's operations, the activities offered, and in the decision-making process;
  • ensuring a constant balance between park use and the protection of its resources, between quantity and quality;
  • addressing the challenges of nature and climate change by implementing mitigative action and accommodations in harmony with the park's ecosystems;
  • improving the connectivity of the species that populate the park and its ecosystems with the Gaspé Peninsula as a whole;
  • renewing infrastructures and the visitor experience to increase their satisfaction and their sense of attachment. 

Key Strategies and Objectives

1. A vision to achieve together

This strategy relies on promoting the park through increased collaboration between Parks Canada and local communities and partners. The involvement and support of our partners, in particular of the Nation Mi'gmaq de Gespeg and the Regroupement de personnes expropriés de Forillon et leur descendance (persons expropriated from Forillon and their descendants), will result in a more cooperative management approach for the park. The expected outcomes of this strategy are:

  • a stronger sense of attachment to the park;
  • increased involvement from expropriated families and their descendants;
  • better integration of the values and traditional knowledge of the Mi'gmaq Nation in the management of the park;
  • increased education and outreach opportunities;
  • a stronger presence in the media and promotional campaigns.
2. An evolving and healthy natural environment

Conserving the ecological integrity of the park's ecosystems is at the forefront of our management priorities. We must be particularly vigilant with regard to Forillon's hyperabundance of moose (link: https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/pn-np/qc/forillon/decouvrir-discover/faune-wildlife/moose-orignal), to forest balance — 95% of the park's area is covered in forest — and to the coastal marine environment, which is increasingly vulnerable to the impacts of climate change. The expected outcomes of this strategy are:

  • a healthier forest ecosystem;
  • progress in the conservation of at-risk species;
  • the restoration of disrupted ecosystems;
  • the creation of up-to-date data regarding climate change that will help shape the management of the park;
  • greater outreach and recognition of conservation efforts and scientific progress made at Forillon.
3. A unique cultural heritage to protect and promote

We want to expand our knowledge about the many cultural resources in the park, better preserve them, and share their cultural value with the public, with the help of our regional partners. This strategy relates to the buildings, objects, landscapes and archaeological resources. We intend to develop a specific management approach for the Grande-Grave sector. The expected outcomes of this strategy are:

  • historical objects will be conserved in better conditions;
  • the value of the park's cultural resources will be better communicated to the public;
  • Mi'gmaq culture and heritage will be better protected and showcased;
  • cultural landscapes will be identified and conserved as a manner of sharing the park's history with the public;
  • archaeological resources will be better identified and protected.
4. A top destination due to its wealth of natural and cultural assets

By combining the natural and cultural components, this strategy addresses the creation of memorable occasions throughout the four seasons. It aims to broaden our range of services and activities, so that Forillon National Park can put itself forward as a must-visit recreational tourism destination. We plan to leverage the park's picturesque setting and its ecosystems, while sharing the history of its past occupants and their ways of life. The expected outcomes of this strategy are:

  • more spread out and better managed park attendance;
  • a revised interpretation program, which integrates natural, cultural and historical components with Indigenous knowledge.
  • increased accommodation choices in the park;
  • more diversified activities and related services;
  • improved visitor facilities.

Specific Areas

Two areas (Grande-Grave and Cap-Bon-Ami) have been identified as requiring a more supported management approach than the rest of the park. This kind of approach is justified due to the rather unique management challenges and the areas' particular significance for the general public and local communities.

Specific objectives and targets for these areas will be presented in the management plan.

The expected outcomes for the Grande-Grave area are: improved condition of the heritage buildings and structures, a redefined layout, and improved accessibility to the area. These objectives intend not only to recognize the legacy left by the area's past occupants, but also to create a more authentic experience for visitors to the park.

The objectives for Cap-Bon-Ami, one of the park's most iconic and popular areas, aim to rethink the development of the area's facilities, taking into account the issue of coastal erosion, the unique character of the area, and the visitor experience.

Our accomplishments

Since the 2010 Management Plan, we have made multiple significant accomplishments in the park. Here are just some of them:

  • working collaboratively with our partners and the community: The Nation Micmac de Gespeg (e.g. interpretation activities), the Regroupement de personnes expropriées de Forillon et leur descendance [persons expropriated from Forillon and their descendants] (e.g. commemorative displays), the Advisory Board and other partners including Musique du Bout du Monde (sunrise concert), the Centre Culturel Le Griffon (winter activities), and the Traversées de la Gaspésie (ski, snowshoe and hike editions);
  • the restoration of several infrastructures, including Route 132, campsite service buildings, the Blanchette site, Fort Peninsula, and the welcome and discovery centre;
  • conservation projects, such as the restoration of the Penouille and Cap-des-Rosiers beaches;
  • an increase in visitor attendance due to collaborative promotional efforts (including collaborations with Tourisme Gapésie and Destination Gaspé) and increased accommodation choices (oTENTiks, Ôasis, campsites).

How can I take part in the consultations?

Open House

Come meet our team at one of our open houses to find out more and share your point of view about the management of Forillon National Park. As you move around the differently themed stations, you’ll learn more about our work and our future vision.

  • February 12* from 3 pm to 7 pm, in the Nation Micmac de Gespeg community hall
  • February 13* from 3 pm to 7 pm, at the Centre culturel le Griffon

* In the event of bad weather, the open houses will take place on February 17 and 18, 2020.

Online Survey

Share your point of view by completing our online survey between February 12 and March 15, 2020.

Email

Send your comments via email by March 15, 2020.

Send my opinion via email

Next Steps

  • Public Consultations (February 12 to March 15, 2020).
    Local residents, organizations, visitors, stakeholders, partners, Canadians and Indigenous communities are invited to share their opinions about the draft management plan.
  • Finalization of the management plan (spring 2020).
  • Revision, approval and presentation of the management plan in Parliament (summer/fall 2020).

Répondez au sondage

Votre opinion compte. Le sondage en ligne est l’occasion d’exprimer vos idées et vos réflexions sur la gestion du parc.

À propos du plan directeur

Le parc national Forillon est en pleine démarche de renouvellement de son Plan directeur. Le Plan directeur est un document stratégique qui orientera les mesures et les décisions de gestion et servira d’outil clé pour mobiliser les partenaires et le public. Il présente une vision à long terme pour le parc et comporte des objectifs atteignables à court et à moyen terme ainsi que des cibles permettant de mesurer l’atteinte des résultats escomptés. Il est une exigence de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada.

Le plan directeur du parc national Forillon sera finalisé à la suite de consultations publiques qui se tiendront du 12 février au 15 mars 2020 auprès des résidents du secteur, d’organisations locales, des visiteurs, des intervenants, des partenaires et des communautés autochtones. Il sera ensuite déposé au Parlement au cours de l’automne 2020.

Une ébauche a été rédigée en vue d’être soumise pour commentaires aux participants des consultations. Elle propose notamment un énoncé de vision et quatre stratégies clés de gestion :

Vision

Le nouveau plan directeur contiendra une vision à long terme décrivant les aspirations du parc national Forillon pour les 15 à 20 prochaines années. Voici une proposition:

En 2030, le parc national Forillon continuera d’être reconnu pour l’authenticité de son majestueux paysage naturel et culturel. Avec ses falaises vertigineuses, sa riche forêt boréale et sa faune marine et terrestre abondante, le parc Forillon demeurera un symbole d’harmonie entre la terre et la mer. La riche histoire des occupations antérieures du territoire du parc, qu’elles soient autochtones, commerciales ou agricoles, y sera racontée grâce aux vestiges et constructions d’époque qui ont été préservés pour témoigner de l’harmonie de l’être humain avec le territoire.

Les gaspésiens et les visiteurs apprécieront parcourir ses sentiers variés, profiter de points de vue magnifiques, se prélasser sur ses plages et dormir au son des vagues. Le parc Forillon combinera ses efforts avec ceux des collectivités locales afin de le promouvoir comme destination touristique incontournable et d’y offrir des activités et services qui agrémentent le séjour de ses visiteurs.

« L’appréciation envers le parc national Forillon sera rehaussée en :

  • travaillant en collaboration avec les communautés liées au parc;
  • racontant l’histoire humaine de Forillon, dont les témoins les plus significatifs deviendront un produit intégré à la programmation du parc;
  • en incorporant la culture et les connaissances traditionnelles de la Nation Mi’gmaq dans les opérations, l’offre d’activités et la prise de décision;
  • assurant un équilibre constant entre la fréquentation du parc et la protection de ses ressources, entre la quantité et la qualité.
  • faisant face aux défis de la nature et des changements climatiques en mettant de l’avant des mesures d’atténuation et d’adaptation harmonieuses avec les écosystèmes;
  • améliorant la connectivité des espèces peuplant le parc et des écosystèmes avec l’ensemble du territoire gaspésien.
  • renouvelant les infrastructures et l’offre d’expérience offertes aux visiteurs afin d’accroître leur satisfaction et leur sentiment d’attachement. »

Stratégies clés et objectifs visés

1. Une vision à réaliser ensemble

Cette stratégie repose sur une collaboration accrue entre Parcs Canada et les communautés et les partenaires locaux dans le but de faire rayonner le parc. La mobilisation et l’appui de l’ensemble des différents partenaires, notamment la Nation Mi’gmaq de Gespeg ainsi que le Regroupement de personnes expropriées de Forillon et leur descendance, mèneront à une gestion plus concertée du parc. Les résultats attendus de cette stratégie sont :

  • Un plus grand sentiment d’appartenance envers le parc;
  • Davantage d’implication des familles expropriées et leurs descendants;
  • Une meilleure intégration des valeurs et connaissances traditionnelles Mi’gmaq dans la gestion du parc;
  • Davantage d’occasions d’éducation et de sensibilisation;
  • Une présence accrue de Forillon dans les médias et campagnes promotionnelles.
2. Un milieu naturel en évolution et en santé

La préservation de l’intégrité écologique des écosystèmes est au premier rang des priorités de gestion. Il faudra porter une attention particulière à l’abondance des orignaux de Forillon, à l’équilibre de sa forêt dont l’étendue couvre 95% du territoire du parc, ainsi qu’au milieu marin côtier, davantage vulnérables aux impacts des changements climatiques. Les résultats attendus de cette stratégie sont :

  • Un écosystème forestier en meilleure santé;
  • La conservation des espèces en péril progresse;
  • Les écosystèmes perturbés sont restaurés;
  • Des données à jour concernant les changements climatiques pour orienter la gestion du parc;
  • Une plus grande diffusion et reconnaissance des efforts de conservation et des avancées scientifiques réalisés à Forillon.
3. Un patrimoine culturel unique à protéger et à valoriser

Nous avons la volonté d’accroître les connaissances sur les nombreuses ressources culturelles dans le parc, de mieux les conserver et de communiquer davantage leur valeur patrimoniale, avec le soutien de partenaires régionaux. Cette stratégie concerne les bâtiments, les objets, les paysages et les ressources archéologiques. Une approche de gestion spécifique pour le secteur de Grand-Grave est prévue. Les résultats attendus de cette stratégie sont :

  • Les objets historiques sont conservés dans de meilleurs conditions;
  • La valeur des ressources culturelles du parc est mieux communiquée;
  • La culture et le patrimoine Mi’gmaq est davantage protégé et mis en valeur;
  • Les paysages culturels sont identifiés et conservés en vue de témoigner de l’histoire du parc;
  • Les ressources archéologiques sont mieux identifiées et protégées.
4. Une destination de premier choix en raison de ses riches atouts naturels et culturels

En conjuguant les deux volets naturels et culturels, Cette stratégie porte sur la création d’occasions mémorables, et ce, en toutes saisons. Elle vise à enrichir l’offre de services et d’activités disponibles afin que le parc national Forillon se positionne comme une destination récréotouristique incontournable. Nous misons sur les paysages grandioses et les écosystèmes présents dans le parc tout en racontant l’histoire des occupants antérieurs du territoire et sur la façon dont ils y ont vécu. Les résultats attendus de cette stratégie sont :

  • Une meilleure répartition et gestion de la fréquentation;
  • Un programme d’interprétation renouvelé, intégrant les volets naturels, culturels et l’histoire ainsi que les connaissances autochtones.
  • Une offre d’hébergement bonifiée dans le parc;
  • Une plus grande diversité d’activités et davantage de services connexes;
  • Des installations destinées aux visiteurs améliorées.

Secteurs particuliers

Deux secteurs ont été identifiés comme nécessitant une approche de gestion plus appuyée que le reste du parc, soit le secteur de Grande-Grave et celui de Cap-Bon-Ami. Une telle approche spécifique est justifiée en raison de leurs enjeux de gestion plutôt uniques et de leur signification particulière pour le public et les communautés locales.

Des objectifs et des cibles spécifiques à ces secteurs seront présentés dans le plan directeur.

Pour le secteur de Grande-Grave, les résultats visés sont : Une amélioration de la condition des bâtiments et des ouvrages patrimoniaux ainsi qu’un aménagement redéfini et une meilleure accessibilité au secteur. Ces objectifs visent non seulement à reconnaitre le legs laissé par les occupants antérieurs de ce territoire mais également à développer une expérience plus authentique pour les visiteurs.

Pour le Cap-Bon-Ami, un des endroits les plus prisés et emblématique du parc, les objectifs visent à repenser l’aménagement des infrastructures du secteur en tenant compte de la problématique d’érosion côtière, du cachet unique de celui-ci et de l’expérience offerte aux visiteurs.

Nos réalisations

Depuis le plan directeur de 2010, on dénombre plusieurs réalisations importantes dans le parc. En voici quelques-unes :

  • Travail en collaboration avec les partenaires et la communauté : Nation Micmac de Gespeg (ex. : activités d’interprétation), le Regroupement de personnes expropriées de Forillon et leur descendance (ex. : panneaux commémoratifs), comité consultatif et autres partenaires dont Musique du Bout du Monde (spectacle au lever du soleil), Centre culturel Le Griffon (offre hivernale), Traversées de la Gaspésie (TDLG skis, raquettes et bottines);
  • Renouvellement de plusieurs infrastructures telles la route 132, les bâtiments de services des campings, l’ensemble Blanchette, Fort-Péninsule, centre d’accueil et de découverte
  • Réalisation de projets en conservation comme la restauration des plages de Penouille et de Cap-des-Rosiers;
  • Augmentation de l’achalandage grâce à des efforts de promotion réalisés en concertation (dont Tourisme Gaspésie, Destination Gaspé) et au développement de l’offre (oTENTiks, Ôasis, campings).

Comment participer aux consultations?

Portes ouvertes

Venez rencontrer notre équipe pour vous informer et partager votre point de vue concernant la gestion du parc national Forillon, lors de 2 rencontres portes ouvertes. En vous promenant d’une station thématique à l’autre, vous en apprendrez davantage sur nos réalisations et notre vision future.

  • 12 février* de 15 h à 19 h, à la salle communautaire de la Nation Micmac de Gespeg
  • 13 février* de 15 h à 19 h, au Centre culturel le Griffon

* En cas de mauvais temps, les activités auront lieu les 17 et 18 février 2020.

Sondage en ligne

Partagez votre point de vue du 12 février au 15 mars 2020 en répondant au sondage en ligne.

Courriel

Envoyez-nous un message ou vos commentaires par courriel d’ici au 15 mars 2020.

Envoyer mon opinion par courriel

Les étapes à venir

  • Consultations publiques (12 février au 15 mars 2020).
    Les résidents du secteur, les organisations locales, les visiteurs, les intervenants, les partenaires, les Canadiens et les communautés autochtones sont invités à partager leur opinion concernant l’ébauche du plan directeur.
  • Finalisation du plan directeur (Printemps 2020).
  • Révision, approbation et dépôt du plan directeur (Été/automne 2020).