Climate change has a range of repercussions for Forillon Park.

Shore erosion has been aggravated by rising sea levels, changes in temperature and a decrease in sea ice. With the construction of roads and buildings that are not suited to a coastal environment, many shores have become fragile.

Shoreline erosion has damaged some of the park’s beachside facilities and threatened the integrity of natural and cultural components.

Not so long ago, a storm could be completely halted by the ice present when it hit. Now, however, because very often there isn’t any ice before early January, a bad storm will produce considerable impact. The other major factor is sea levels. There’s no doubt in anyone’s mind that sea levels are rising in Quebec.

Christian Fraser, Research Associate
Université du Québec à Rimouski


Christian Fraser, Research Associate


Solutions?
Redevelop facilities in consideration of the coastal dynamic and the risks of coastal erosion, and restore natural components.

Studying the shorelines before taking action


The expertise provided by the Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR) has played a critical role in efforts to better understand coastal erosion and develop methods for adapting to this new reality.

There are many benefits to this approach: a medium- and long-term decrease in maintenance and repair costs; the maintenance of a sand beach at Penouille and the return of the Cap-des-Rosiers beach for the enjoyment of visitors; and the protection of natural and cultural heritage.

Modifying beach access


Paved infrastructures are incompatible with an environment as dynamic as a shoreline.

 


In order to maintain the balance of the strip of land providing access to the sand spit, the paved trail was replaced by a raised boardwalk. In addition, the new route of access was laid out further from the beach

 

Dismantling the road on Cap-des-Rosiers beach


Roads and riprap protection built alongside shorelines only aggravate the phenomenon of erosion, causing beaches to disappear altogether.

 


Following the dismantling of the road and riprap structure at Cap-des-Rosiers, visitors will again discover a beach where they may enjoy a fabulous shoreline.

A new multipurpose trail will enable visitors to explore the sector's natural and cultural wealth.

 

The new Road 132 (in red) passes through the forest, far from the dynamic coastal landscape.

 

Greening backshores


Shoreline plants are essential for maintaining backshores and sand beaches. For that reason, the shoreline restoration project has incorporated the planting of beach grasses along the previously paved portion of the trail at Penouille and the old Cap-des-Rosiers road.

 


Driftwood and seaweed that have washed up on the beach also help to protect the beach from waves and promote the accumulation of sand. Such materials are not trash and should be left on the beach. Only real trash should be removed – i.e., trash created by humans (e.g., plastic, treated wood, etc.).

 

Developing facilities in keeping with beach dynamics

Constructing a service building on piles at Penouille

A sand spit like the one at Penouille is much too fragile and dynamic an environment for siting heavy buildings. That is why the new snack bar was built on the plateau located at the entrance to the peninsula and not on the sand spit proper.


According to projected sea levels, the area at the tip of the sand spit (i.e., the location of the former service building, already considerably damaged by erosion) will be completely under water by 2050.

 


Accordingly, a new building on piles was erected in the middle of the peninsula using materials from the former building.

 

Moving the monument commemorating of the Carrick


On April 28, 1847, the brig known as the Carricks wrecked offshore from Cap-des-Rosiers. One hundred and thirty-nine of the 187 Irish immigrant passengers fleeing famine and epidemics drowned. In 1977, a monument was erected to honour their memory on the upper portion of the Cap-des-Rosiers beach in Forillon Park.

However, due to the disappearance of the beach, storms washed in as far as the commemorative site. The monument has be moved further away from beach, to an area identified as stable, all with a view to protecting its integrity

Links

If you live in coastal environment and are concerned by shoreline erosion, here are some websites worth visiting:

  • The website of the Zone d'intervention prioritaire (ZIP) Baie des Chaleurs offers a section containing guides and education kits (in French) for better understanding shoreline erosion and the alternatives available for confronting this problem.

  • The website (in French) of the Laboratoire de dynamique et de gestion intégrée des zones côtières (UQAR) features a range of resources and offers visitors the opportunity of joining a network of coastal environment observers (in French)..

Les changements climatiques ont des répercussions sur le parc Forillon.

L’augmentation du niveau de la mer et la diminution du couvert de glace marine accentuent l’érosion des côtes. Celles-ci sont d’ailleurs souvent fragilisées par la présence de routes et de bâtiments non adaptés au milieu côtier.

L’érosion côtière a endommagé les installations du parc sur les plages et menace l’intégrité des éléments naturels et culturels.

Donc, par exemple, une tempête qui pouvait être complètement freinée par la présence de glaces auparavant, maintenant, puisqu’il n’y a plus de glace avant de début janvier [...], s’il y a une bonne tempête en fin décembre, elle va avoir beaucoup d’impact. L’autre facteur important c’est le niveau marin. Et hors de tout doute, maintenant au Québec, on sait que le niveau marin est en hausse.

Christian Fraser, professionnel de recherche en dynamique côtière
Université du Québec à Rimouski


Christian Fraser, Professionnel de recherche


Solutions?
Restaurer les composantes naturelles des plages et réaménager les installations en fonction des risques d’érosion côtière et de la dynamique du littoral.

Étudier le littoral avant d’agir


L'expertise de l'Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR) a été essentielle pour mieux comprendre l’érosion côtière et pour développer des méthodes afin de s’adapter à cette nouvelle réalité.

Les avantages sont nombreux : diminution à moyen et long termes des cots d’entretien et de réparation; maintien d’une plage de sable à Penouille; retour de la plage de Cap-des-Rosiers pour le plus grand bonheur des visiteurs et protection du patrimoine naturel et culturel.

Modifier l'accès aux plages


Les infrastructures en asphalte ne sont pas compatibles avec un milieu aussi dynamique que le littoral.

 


Le tracé du nouvel accès à la péninsule a également été éloigné de la plage.

 

Démanteler la route de la plage de Cap-des-Rosiers


Les routes et les ouvrages de protection construits le long des côtes ne font qu’amplifier le phénomène d’érosion entrainant la disparition des plages.

 


Avec le démantèlement de la route et de l’enrochement à Cap-des-Rosiers, les visiteurs profiteront d'un magnifique bord de mer. 

Un nouveau sentier multi-usage révèlera les richesses de ce secteur.

 

Le nouveau tracé de la route 132 (en rouge) passe dans la forêt, loin de la zone dynamique du littoral.

 

Reverdir le haut des plages


Les plantes de bord de mer sont essentielles au maintien des plages de sable et des hauts de plage. C’est pourquoi le projet de restauration intègre la plantation de végétaux sur la portion de l’ancien sentier asphalté de Penouille et de l’ancienne route de Cap-des-Rosiers.

 


Le bois et les algues échoués sur la plage favorisent l’accumulation de sable et contribuent à protéger la plage contre les vagues. Il faut donc les laisser sur place, contrairement aux objets de fabrication humaine, comme le plastique, qui doivent être ramassés.

 

Aménager les installations selon la dynamique des plages

Construire un bâtiment de services sur pilotis à Penouille

Une flèche de sable comme Penouille est un milieu beaucoup trop fragile et dynamique pour y installer des bâtiments lourds. C’est pourquoi le nouveau casse-croûte, nettement moins imposant, a été érigé sur le plateau d’entrée, en dehors des zones de submersion.


Selon les projections du niveau marin, la zone située au bout de la flèche de sable, là où se trouvait l'ancien bâtiment de services, déjà très abîmé par l’érosion, sera complètement submergée en 2050.

 


Un nouveau bâtiment de services monté sur pilotis a donc été construit plus au centre de la péninsule, et ce, à partir des matériaux de l’ancien bâtiment.

 

Déménager le monument commémoratif du Carrick


Le 28 avril 1847, le voilier le Carrick fait naufrage au large de Cap-des-Rosiers. Des 187 immigrants irlandais qui fuyaient la famine et les épidémies à bord de ce navire, 139 périront. Un monument est érigé en leur mémoire en 1977 sur le haut de la plage de Cap-des-Rosiers dans le parc Forillon.

Or, avec la disparition de la plage, les tempêtes ont atteint le site commémoratif. Pour en protéger l’intégrité, le monument a récemment été déplacé vers une zone stable.

Le 28 avril 1847, le voilier le Carrick fait naufrage au large de Cap-des-Rosiers. Des 187 immigrants irlandais qui fuyaient la famine et les épidémies à bord de ce navire, 139 périront. Un monument est érigé en leur mémoire en 1977 sur le haut de la plage de Cap-des-Rosiers dans le parc Forillon.

Or, avec la disparition de la plage, les tempêtes ont atteint le site commémoratif. Pour en protéger l’intégrité, le monument a récemment été déplacé vers une zone stable.

Liens

Vous habitez en milieu côtier et vous êtes préoccupé par l’érosion côtière? Voici des sites à consulter :

  • Le site Web de la Zone d'intervention prioritaire Baie-des-Chaleurs propose une section avec des guides et des trousses éducatives pour mieux comprendre l'érosion côtière et des solutions pour y faire face.

  • Le site du Laboratoire de dynamique et de gestion intégrée des zones côtières de l'UQAR offre plusieurs ressources et la possibilité de faire partie d'un réseau d'observateurs sur le milieu côtier.